lyrebird when i was invisible join us on facebook eleanor oliphant granchester

If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like B. A. Paris?...You'll Love Alice Feeney

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris
Reader Reviewed Behind Closed Doors
B. A. Paris
February 2016 Debut of the Month. ‘Behind Closed Doors’ is an intriguing, sharply gripping debut thriller, where for a fairly short novel, there’s an...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/02/2016
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
Reader Reviewed Sometimes I Lie
Alice Feeney
A novel to meddle with your reasoning and taunt your gut instincts… Amber is in hospital in a coma, her thoughts are knocking at the door of her awareness as she attempts to remember what has happened to her. The...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017

Back to top

Like C. J. Sansom?...You'll Love Karen Maitland

Lamentation by C. J. Sansom
Lamentation
C. J. Sansom
This magnificent series continues with one of the best. New readers will miss out a little on the character development but still be captivated by the tale … then read the rest. Here Henry VIII is in his final days...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/09/2015
The Plague Charmer by Karen Maitland
Reader Reviewed The Plague Charmer
Karen Maitland
Told by many voices, some wise, some wicked, this is the story of a close community under unbearable strain. What is the breaking point where neighbours and even sisters will turn against each other? The older people remember the Great...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/04/2017

Back to top

Like Erica James?...You'll Love Veronica Henry

The Dandelion Years by Erica James
The Dandelion Years
Erica James
A meatier read than is the author’s norm with a lot of research into the World War II years at Bletchley Park for our present day protagonist, Saska, discovers a hidden love affair while valuing an estate’s library with her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/06/2015
The Forever House by Veronica Henry
The Forever House
Veronica Henry
Gorgeously affectionate, loving, and generous, this is a read to escape into and really enjoy. Hunters Moon is a forever home, yet the current occupants are selling up and when Belinda takes on the sale, she finds herself becoming emotionally...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Back to top

Like Victoria Hislop?...You'll Love Lucy Foley

The Island by Victoria Hislop
The Island
Victoria Hislop
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Winner of Newcomer of the Year at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007.Something a bit different, a bit special. A well-researched family history which takes the present day characters back to...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 10/04/2006
The Invitation by Lucy Foley
Reader Reviewed The Invitation
Lucy Foley
A sophisticated, expressive, and emotional story set in the glamorous Italian film promotion world of the 1950’s. Hal and Stella meet at a party, an immediate connection flares into life, yet the spectre of war holds both in a devastating...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

Back to top

Like Rachel Joyce?...You'll Love Ruth Hogan

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
Rachel Joyce
Winner of the Specsavers National Book Awards 'New Writer of the Year' 2012. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012. This is one of those books that you can’t help but fall in love with. Experienced radio playwright...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/01/2013
The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
The Keeper of Lost Things
Ruth Hogan
Oh my, this is totally and completely gorgeous, in fact, an absolute treasure! An author leaves all his worldly possessions, and a hoard of lost lonely items, to his assistant Laura, can Laura reunite the lost things with their owners?...
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/01/2017

Back to top

Like Helen Simonson?...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson
Reader Reviewed The Summer Before the War
Helen Simonson
Despite the title – The Summer Before the War – which this terrific novel does indeed trace, it also spills into the horrors of the war years and eventually releases us back into some sort of very different peace. Set...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins?...You'll Love Claire Kendal

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, the unreliable narrator domestic drama of untruths is the new 'hot' genre. The author was best known under another name for chick...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
The Second Sister by Claire Kendal
The Second Sister
Claire Kendal
A sublimely intense, and heart-pumping psychological thriller. Ten years on from the disappearance of her older sister, Ella begins to uncover some potential leads, yet she feels that someone is watching her, waiting. The story is set over 20 days,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

Back to top

Like Jennifer Worth?...You'll Love Pam Weaver

Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s by Jennifer Worth
Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s
Jennifer Worth
Great stories about the lost world of London’s East End in the 50s, before the slum clearances, when community was all-important and no one locked their doors. Jennifer Worth, attached to an order of nuns, was the midwife. This...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/01/2012
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s by Pam Weaver
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s
Pam Weaver
A wonderful memoir about life as a nursery nurse and nanny in the 1960s, for fans of Call the Midwife. The stories of the children Pam looked after are heart-warming and heartbreaking, sad and uplifting. This is the story...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/01/2013

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

B. A. Paris
Alice Feeney
C. J. Sansom
Karen Maitland
Erica James
Veronica Henry
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Rachel Joyce
Ruth Hogan
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan
Paula Hawkins
Claire Kendal
Jennifer Worth
Pam Weaver

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools