Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like the Hunger Games....you'll love Scythe

Scythe by Neal Shusterman
Reader Reviewed Scythe
Neal Shusterman
Wow! This was a gripping, thought-provoking read. Totally compelling, Scythe is a dark, original take on the ultimate power – the power over life and death. Death and disease have been eradicated and life can continue quietly without fear of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/02/2018
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games
Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games is a searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present. In a dark vision of the near future, The Hunger Games is set in the ruins of a place once known as North...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/12/2011

Back to top

Like One Day...you'll love The Story of Our Lives

The Story of Our Lives by Helen Warner
Reader Reviewed The Story of Our Lives
Helen Warner
A dynamic, dramatic, and deliciously entertaining tale exposing friendship flaws, secrets and lies. Sophie, Emily, Amy, and Melissa go away for a weekend break once a year, and we see how their lives change for both better and worse between...
Format: Hardback - Released: 08/02/2018
One Day by David Nicholls
One Day
David Nicholls
Featured on The Book Show on Sky Arts on 23 February 2012. One of Richard Bacon's favourite books. A 2011 World Book...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2010

Back to top

Like Andy McNab...you'll love James Deegan

Once A Pilgrim by James Deegan
Reader Reviewed Once A Pilgrim
James Deegan
February 2018 Debut of the Month. Simply superb, this is a dark, gritty and stormingly fast read with real attitude. Formerly of the SAS, John Carr is now working in private security for a Russian, however the past is stalking...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/01/2018
Street Soldier by Andy McNab
Street Soldier
Andy McNab
August 2017 Book of the Month Criminal turned soldier - Now he must stop a war on London's streets. London gang member Sean Harker is down on his luck. After a car heist gone wrong, he finds himself in a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins...you'll love A. J. Finn

The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn
Reader Reviewed The Woman in the Window
A. J. Finn
February 2018 Debut of the Month. Oh my word, this is an absolutely cracking psychological thriller. Anna is unable to leave her house, she views the world from her...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/01/2018
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
Shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award 2015. A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/01/2015

Back to top

Like Victoria Hislop...you'll love Lucy Foley

Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley
Reader Reviewed Last Letter from Istanbul
Lucy Foley
Just gorgeous, this is a story to shine a light in the darkness, even in moments of despair. Constantinople in 1921 is a confusing, often frightening place to be, in the first few pages, two reports from 1918, perfectly sum...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/03/2018
The Island by Victoria Hislop
The Island
Victoria Hislop
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Winner of Newcomer of the Year at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007.Something a bit different, a bit special. A well-researched family history which takes the present day characters back to...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 10/04/2006

Back to top

Like Ian Ross....you'll love The Fate of Kings

The Fate of Kings by Mark Stibbe, G. P. Taylor
The Fate of Kings
Mark Stibbe, G. P. Taylor
An authoritative yet easy to read, absolute romp of a novel set during the turbulence of the French Revolution. This is the first adventure in ‘The Chronicles of Thomas Pryce’, a vicar who studied at Oxford and is trained in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/11/2017
War at the Edge of the World by Ian Ross
Reader Reviewed War at the Edge of the World
Ian Ross
A well-written and interesting account of the Romans in Britain to join the many. It begins a series, Twilight of Empire, set here in AD305 and features an old Roman campaigner, Aurelius Castus, who feels he’s been put out to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/07/2015

Back to top

Like Mary Ann Shaffer...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
It's 1946 and author Juliet Ashton can't think what to write next. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams of Guernsey - by chance, he's acquired a book that once belonged to her - and, spurred...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/06/2010
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/01/2018

Back to top

Like Martina Cole...You'll Love Kimberley Chambers

Life of Crime by Kimberley Chambers
Reader Reviewed Life of Crime
Kimberley Chambers
January 2018 Book of the Month A thoroughly entertaining, raw, and fast-paced read, stuffed full of tension and drama. Jason Rampling didn’t have the best start in life, he is determined that with his charm, intelligence and good looks,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/01/2018
Betrayal by Martina Cole
Betrayal
Martina Cole
Martina Cole’s twenty-third East End thriller is as raw and involved as one has come to expect. With huge family betrayals and some very nasty goings-on indeed. It fair pounds along leaving you breathless and probably shattered. We are introduced...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Why I love @lovereadinguk? It's in the name - as dedicated lovers of reading, they are perfect matchmakers for helping me find my next read!

Catherine Jenkins

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Dawn French
Kathy Lette
Carole Matthews
Fern Britton
John le Carre
Paul Vidich
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Tim Weaver
Mark Sennen
Paula Hawkins
Claire Kendal
Robert Harris
Mark Mills
Rachel Joyce
Ruth Hogan
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools