desmond elliott 2017 when i was invisible win prizes lyrebird book price comparison
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like Dinah Jefferies?...You'll Love Julia Gregson

Monsoon Summer by Julia Gregson
Monsoon Summer
Julia Gregson
From the bestselling author of the Richard and Judy Book Club summer read, East of the Sun, Julia Gregson returns with this compelling love story set in India - perfect for fans of The Tea Planter's Wife.
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/08/2017
The Tea Planter's Wife by Dinah Jefferies
Reader Reviewed The Tea Planter's Wife
Dinah Jefferies
September 2015 Book of the Month. Chosen as a Richard and Judy Book Club selection Autumn 2015. An exotically intense, vibrant and memorable tale, set in Ceylon from 1925 and covering a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/09/2015

Back to top

Like Katie Fforde?...You'll Love Cathy Bramley

The Lemon Tree Cafe by Cathy Bramley
The Lemon Tree Cafe
Cathy Bramley
Originally published in four parts, this is the story in a single volume. If you are familiar with The Plumberry School of Comfort then you will recognise some of the characters here. We concentrate on Rosie Featherstone, her sister and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/08/2017
A Secret Garden by Katie Fforde
Reader Reviewed A Secret Garden
Katie Fforde
March 2017 Book of the Month. Another joyful hug of a read from Katie Fforde, what more could you want, than to settle down with her latest book! Philly, Lorna and Anthea, all wonderful ladies, in...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017

Back to top

Like Jenny Colgan?...You'll Love Annie Darling

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling
True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop
Annie Darling
It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it? Another delightful novel from the author...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017
Christmas at the Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan
Christmas at the Little Beach Street Bakery
Jenny Colgan
A delightful tasty treat of a Christmas (or any time of the year) read, set on a fascinating Cornish tidal-island village. Polly, Huckle and friends return, with Neil the Puffin often stealing the limelight, this could though, easily be a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 20/10/2016

Back to top

Like John le Carre?...You'll Love Paul Vidich

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carre
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
John le Carre
In le Carre's breakthrough work of 1963, the spy story is reborn as a gritty and terrible tale of men who are caught up in politics beyond their imagining. Alec Leamas is tired. It's the 1960s, he's been out in the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2016
The Good Assassin by Paul Vidich
The Good Assassin
Paul Vidich
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Reluctant 1950s spy George Mueller whom we first encountered in the impressive An Honorable Man, is posted to pre-Castro Cuba to investigate the possibility that an old friend, Toby Graham,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/07/2017

Back to top

Like Tim Weaver?...You'll Love Mark Sennen

Broken Heart by Tim Weaver
Broken Heart
Tim Weaver
A truly captivating and bold story that stings and provokes with fierce intensity. David Raker is back in his seventh missing person enquiry, a woman has apparently vanished into thin air, can Raker find her, or will he in fact...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/07/2016
The Boneyard by Mark Sennen
The Boneyard
Mark Sennen
A hair-raising, chilling and thrilling tale, full of drama and fast-paced action. A suspected serial killer arrives in the UK and settles in Devon, one step out of place and the police are ready to pounce. This is the sixth...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins?...You'll Love Claire Kendal

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, the unreliable narrator domestic drama of untruths is the new 'hot' genre. The author was best known under another name for chick...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
The Second Sister by Claire Kendal
The Second Sister
Claire Kendal
A sublimely intense, and heart-pumping psychological thriller. Ten years on from the disappearance of her older sister, Ella begins to uncover some potential leads, yet she feels that someone is watching her, waiting. The story is set over 20 days,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

Back to top

Like Robert Harris?...You'll Love Mark Mills

An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
An Officer and a Spy
Robert Harris
Winner of the Specsavers CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger - Thriller of the Year 2014. Open this book and you know immediately that you are in good hands. Harris’ fluent style, careful plotting and cranked up tension leave you breathlessly...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/05/2014
Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills
Reader Reviewed Where Dead Men Meet
Mark Mills
Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

Back to top

Like Rachel Joyce?...You'll Love Ruth Hogan

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
Rachel Joyce
Winner of the Specsavers National Book Awards 'New Writer of the Year' 2012. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012. This is one of those books that you can’t help but fall in love with. Experienced radio playwright...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/01/2013
The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
The Keeper of Lost Things
Ruth Hogan
Oh my, this is totally and completely gorgeous, in fact, an absolute treasure! An author leaves all his worldly possessions, and a hoard of lost lonely items, to his assistant Laura, can Laura reunite the lost things with their owners?...
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/01/2017

Back to top

Like Helen Simonson?...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson
Reader Reviewed The Summer Before the War
Helen Simonson
Despite the title – The Summer Before the War – which this terrific novel does indeed trace, it also spills into the horrors of the war years and eventually releases us back into some sort of very different peace. Set...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

What can I say, the clue is in the title Lovereading - and awesome books.

Sarah Davis

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Dawn French
Kathy Lette
Carole Matthews
Fern Britton
John le Carre
Paul Vidich
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Tim Weaver
Mark Sennen
Paula Hawkins
Claire Kendal
Robert Harris
Mark Mills
Rachel Joyce
Ruth Hogan
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools