debuts of the month birdcage walk helen dunmore book price comparison when the sky fell apart rebus 30th anniversary
Vouchers


If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like Paul Hawkins?...You'll Love Alice Feeney

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, the unreliable narrator domestic drama of untruths is the new 'hot' genre. The author was best known under another name for chick...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney
Reader Reviewed Sometimes I Lie
Alice Feeney
A novel to meddle with your reasoning and taunt your gut instincts… Amber is in hospital in a coma, her thoughts are knocking at the door of her awareness as she attempts to remember what has happened to her. The...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Louis de Bernieres?...You'll Love Caroline Lea

Birds Without Wings by Louis de Bernieres
Birds Without Wings
Louis de Bernieres
I liked this. I didn’t expect another Captain Corelli’s Mandolin for, after all the hype and fuss, how could he write an equal? So I was pleasantly surprised this ambitious novel was so engrossing and intriguing. I found the world...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/07/2005
Lovereading Price: £7.19
When the Sky Fell Apart by Caroline Lea
Reader Reviewed When the Sky Fell Apart
Caroline Lea
March 2017 Debut of the Month. Prepare for your heart to break… this is a powerful, evocative tale of life during the Nazi occupation of Jersey in the 1940’s. The first page made me flinch, yet...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.19

Back to top

Like Maeve Binchy?...You'll Love Patricia Scanlan

A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy
A Week in Winter
Maeve Binchy
Chicky is whisked off to America by a man who soon deserts her. She tells her parents they had married and he was then killed in a car crash so she can return to Ireland a respectable widow. She buys...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/10/2013
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Orange Blossom Days by Patricia Scanlan
Reader Reviewed Orange Blossom Days
Patricia Scanlan
A large collection of multi-national, mostly retired couples, invest in a new development of luxury apartments, La Joya, in Andalucia on the Costa del Sol in Spain. We follow a securely married Irish couple with a demanding family, an American...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £13.59

Back to top

Like Sophie Kinsella?...You'll Love Rachel Featherstone

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic
Sophie Kinsella
A 2012 World Book Night selection. Meet Rebecca Bloomwood, financial journalist, financial disaster. She is also one of the most hilarious characters you’ll meet for a long time and one you can truly empathise with. It is the same book...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/01/2012
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Puzzle Girl by Rachael Featherstone
Puzzle Girl
Rachael Featherstone
A lovely, fresh, and entertaining feel-good debut. Cassy is determined to shoot up the career ladder, she stumbles at her big chance, will she regain her footing and find love in the process? Cassy is such a likeable character, she...
Format: Paperback - Released: 16/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Helen Simonson?...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson
Reader Reviewed The Summer Before the War
Helen Simonson
Despite the title – The Summer Before the War – which this terrific novel does indeed trace, it also spills into the horrors of the war years and eventually releases us back into some sort of very different peace. Set...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017
Lovereading Price: £10.39

Back to top

Like Santa Montefiore?...You'll Love Tasmina Perry

Songs of Love and War by Santa Montefiore
Songs of Love and War
Santa Montefiore
Lose yourself in a sweeping story of love, friendship and family from the bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Daughter...Perfect for all fans of Victoria Hislop and The Tea Planter's Wife.
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39
The House on Sunset Lake by Tasmina Perry
The House on Sunset Lake
Tasmina Perry
A stirring and intoxicating story of love and twisted secrets waiting… lurking. Spanning twenty years, this tale introduces Jim and Jennifer in 1995 when they meet in Savannah, before a traumatic event forces them apart. In 2015 they meet again,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Jojo Moyes?...You'll Love Dani Atkins

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Reader Reviewed Me Before You
Jojo Moyes
A gifted, high achiever walks out of his flat one morning and gets hit by a taxi. We pick up on him a few years later when he is finding it impossible to accept and adapt to his paraplegic life....
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/01/2012
Lovereading Price: £6.39
This Love by Dani Atkins
This Love
Dani Atkins
How one book can hold such aching heartbreak, beautiful tenderness, and vibrant emotion, I really don’t know. Sophie works from home and keeps her heart hidden, then in one life-changing night she meets Ben. Dani Atkins’s words have the ability...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Nicci French?...You'll Love Nikki Owen

Thursday's Child: A Frieda Klein Novel by Nicci French
Reader Reviewed Thursday's Child: A Frieda Klein Novel
Nicci French
Writing as Nicci French, husband and wife team Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have quickly established themselves as leading lights in the murky waters of psychological crime writing and have now embarked on their first series, featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
Lovereading Price: £6.39
The Killing Files by Nikki Owen
Reader Reviewed The Killing Files
Nikki Owen
One of our Books of the Year 2016. A piercing, fast-paced and absolutely riveting read, the second book in ‘The Project Trilogy’ lives up to expectations. Having been gripped by the first in the series, I really do recommend starting...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/06/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Jennifer Worth?...You'll Love Pam Weaver

Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s by Jennifer Worth
Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s
Jennifer Worth
Great stories about the lost world of London’s East End in the 50s, before the slum clearances, when community was all-important and no one locked their doors. Jennifer Worth, attached to an order of nuns, was the midwife. This...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/01/2012
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s by Pam Weaver
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s
Pam Weaver
A wonderful memoir about life as a nursery nurse and nanny in the 1960s, for fans of Call the Midwife. The stories of the children Pam looked after are heart-warming and heartbreaking, sad and uplifting. This is the story...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/01/2013
Lovereading Price: £5.59

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Paula Hawkins
Alice Feeney
Louis de Bernieres
Caroline Lea
Maeve Binchy
Patricia Scanlan
Sophie Kinsella
Rachel Featherstone
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan
Santa Montefiore
Tasmina Perry
Jojo Moyes
Dani Atkins
Nicci French
Nikki Owen
Jennifer Worth
Pam Weaver

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools