Harry Potter House Eds desmond elliott 2017 Maxim Jakubowskis Selection granchester debuts of the month
Search our site
The Music Shop by Rachel Joyce Read the opening extract of the brand new Rachel Joyce book before its publication on 13/07/2017

If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like Dawn French?...You'll Love Kathy Lette

According to Yes by Dawn French
According to Yes
Dawn French
21st century family life - love, death, grief, childhood, motherhood, parenthood - delivered head on by none other than comic genius Dawn French. Rosie, after a sad occurrence in Cornwall, takes herself off to New York to work as a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Best Laid Plans by Kathy Lette
Reader Reviewed Best Laid Plans
Kathy Lette
July 2017 Book of the Month. Gosh, what a funny, emotional, romp of a story this is. Lucy begins her tale with the moment she gets arrested for picking up an undercover...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

Back to top

Like Carole Matthews?...You'll Love Fern Britton

The Difference a Day Makes by Carole Matthews
The Difference a Day Makes
Carole Matthews
A really lovely feel-good read about two professional townies, William and Amy, who chuck it all in and decamp to Yorkshire with their children. Enter an assortment of crazy animals and an enormous culture shock. Then William dies and Amy...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/09/2013
The Postcard by Fern Britton
The Postcard
Fern Britton
Penny is a TV producer who, when filming in Cornwall, met and fell in love with the local vicar. Now, five years and a small child later, life is not treating her well. Coupled with her present hopelessness is her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017

Back to top

Like Victoria Hislop?...You'll Love Lucy Foley

The Island by Victoria Hislop
The Island
Victoria Hislop
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Winner of Newcomer of the Year at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007.Something a bit different, a bit special. A well-researched family history which takes the present day characters back to...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 10/04/2006
The Invitation by Lucy Foley
Reader Reviewed The Invitation
Lucy Foley
A sophisticated, expressive, and emotional story set in the glamorous Italian film promotion world of the 1950’s. Hal and Stella meet at a party, an immediate connection flares into life, yet the spectre of war holds both in a devastating...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

Back to top

Like John le Carre?...You'll Love Paul Vidich

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John le Carre
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
John le Carre
In le Carre's breakthrough work of 1963, the spy story is reborn as a gritty and terrible tale of men who are caught up in politics beyond their imagining. Alec Leamas is tired. It's the 1960s, he's been out in the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2016
The Good Assassin by Paul Vidich
The Good Assassin
Paul Vidich
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Reluctant 1950s spy George Mueller whom we first encountered in the impressive An Honorable Man, is posted to pre-Castro Cuba to investigate the possibility that an old friend, Toby Graham,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/07/2017

Back to top

Like Tim Weaver?...You'll Love Mark Sennen

Broken Heart by Tim Weaver
Broken Heart
Tim Weaver
A truly captivating and bold story that stings and provokes with fierce intensity. David Raker is back in his seventh missing person enquiry, a woman has apparently vanished into thin air, can Raker find her, or will he in fact...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/07/2016
The Boneyard by Mark Sennen
The Boneyard
Mark Sennen
A hair-raising, chilling and thrilling tale, full of drama and fast-paced action. A suspected serial killer arrives in the UK and settles in Devon, one step out of place and the police are ready to pounce. This is the sixth...
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins?...You'll Love Claire Kendal

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, the unreliable narrator domestic drama of untruths is the new 'hot' genre. The author was best known under another name for chick...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
The Second Sister by Claire Kendal
The Second Sister
Claire Kendal
A sublimely intense, and heart-pumping psychological thriller. Ten years on from the disappearance of her older sister, Ella begins to uncover some potential leads, yet she feels that someone is watching her, waiting. The story is set over 20 days,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017

Back to top

Like Robert Harris?...You'll Love Mark Mills

An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris
An Officer and a Spy
Robert Harris
Winner of the Specsavers CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger - Thriller of the Year 2014. Open this book and you know immediately that you are in good hands. Harris’ fluent style, careful plotting and cranked up tension leave you breathlessly...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/05/2014
Where Dead Men Meet by Mark Mills
Reader Reviewed Where Dead Men Meet
Mark Mills
Absolutely thrilling… this is a fast-paced, firecracker of a read, set in Europe as the Second World War is brewing. Why is Luke Hamilton, intelligence officer at the British Embassy in Paris the target of an assassination attempt? As Luke...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/07/2017

Back to top

Like Rachel Joyce?...You'll Love Ruth Hogan

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
Rachel Joyce
Winner of the Specsavers National Book Awards 'New Writer of the Year' 2012. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012. This is one of those books that you can’t help but fall in love with. Experienced radio playwright...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/01/2013
The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
The Keeper of Lost Things
Ruth Hogan
Oh my, this is totally and completely gorgeous, in fact, an absolute treasure! An author leaves all his worldly possessions, and a hoard of lost lonely items, to his assistant Laura, can Laura reunite the lost things with their owners?...
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/01/2017

Back to top

Like Helen Simonson?...You'll Love Jennifer Ryan

The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonson
Reader Reviewed The Summer Before the War
Helen Simonson
Despite the title – The Summer Before the War – which this terrific novel does indeed trace, it also spills into the horrors of the war years and eventually releases us back into some sort of very different peace. Set...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/03/2017
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan
Reader Reviewed The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Jennifer Ryan
An engaging and charmingly bittersweet slice of fiction set during the Second World War. In a Kent village during 1940, the vicar closes the choir, as the ladies of the village start their own choir, the small rebellion creates a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 23/02/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

 

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next.  But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Dawn French
Kathy Lette
Carole Matthews
Fern Britton
John le Carre
Paul Vidich
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Tim Weaver
Mark Sennen
Paula Hawkins
Claire Kendal
Robert Harris
Mark Mills
Rachel Joyce
Ruth Hogan
Helen Simonson
Jennifer Ryan

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools