summer reading lovereading canvas bags am i normal series the swimming pool debuts of the month
Vouchers


If You Like...You'll Love If You Like...You'll Love

Handpicked, interesting connections from the Lovereading team.


Like Dorothy Koomson?...You'll Love Sinead Moriarty

That Girl from Nowhere by Dorothy Koomson
Reader Reviewed That Girl from Nowhere
Dorothy Koomson
April 2016 Book of the Month. What a terrific and powerful book, I reckon it is her best yet. It covers race, adoption, rejection and even murder (or does it?). Our hero, Smitty, a black girl,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/03/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39
The Way We Were by Sinead Moriarty
Reader Reviewed The Way We Were
Sinead Moriarty
A gorgeous loveable book, to make you cry, smile and even, with perfect timing, roar with laughter. Alice, Dan, and their two daughters are a practically perfect family, when the unthinkable happens, their world is thrown into chaos. Each chapter...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/03/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Graeme Simsion?...You'll Love Gavin Extence

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
Reader Reviewed The Rosie Project
Graeme Simsion
One of the Top 10 Lovereading Reader Review Panel Summer Read selections. A thoroughly charming book from this witty and intelligent Australian writer. Don leads a very ordered life. He does not consider himself odd, does not notice how much...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/01/2014
Lovereading Price: £6.39
The Empathy Problem by Gavin Extence
The Empathy Problem
Gavin Extence
August 2016 eBook of the Month. A must read if ever there was one, this is just stunning. A simple premise, yet it slams with impact, 32 year old banker Gabriel has a malignant brain tumour...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/08/2016
Lovereading Price: £13.59

Back to top

Like Jojo Moyes?...You'll Love Hina Belitz

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Reader Reviewed Me Before You
Jojo Moyes
A gifted, high achiever walks out of his flat one morning and gets hit by a taxi. We pick up on him a few years later when he is finding it impossible to accept and adapt to his paraplegic life....
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/01/2012
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Set Me Free by Hina Belitz
Reader Reviewed Set Me Free
Hina Belitz
A 17 year old Muslim girl relates this story of her childhood in Lahore, Pakistan, her flight to Clerkenwell, London, the loss of her mother, her arranged marriage at 16 and her extraordinary ability to pour out love. She clings...
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/08/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Victoria Hislop?...You'll Love Lucy Foley

The Island by Victoria Hislop
The Island
Victoria Hislop
A 2013 World Book Night selection. Winner of Newcomer of the Year at the Galaxy British Book Awards 2007.Something a bit different, a bit special. A well-researched family history which takes the present day characters back to Crete...
Format: Paperback (b Format) - Released: 10/04/2006
Lovereading Price: £7.19
The Invitation by Lucy Foley
Reader Reviewed The Invitation
Lucy Foley
A sophisticated, expressive, and emotional story set in the glamorous Italian film promotion world of the 1950’s. Hal and Stella meet at a party, an immediate connection flares into life, yet the spectre of war holds both in a devastating...
Format: Hardback - Released: 14/07/2016
Lovereading Price: £10.39

Back to top

Like Kimberley Chambers?...You'll Love Julie Shaw

Tainted Love by Kimberley Chambers
Reader Reviewed Tainted Love
Kimberley Chambers
An audacious, fast moving, dark but oh so entertaining tale. Prepare yourself… the Butler Family are back, and we observe as they battle their way through life from 1986 to 2001. From the unwavering matriarch Queenie, to her hard as...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/02/2016
Lovereading Price: £10.39
Bad Blood by Julie Shaw
Bad Blood
Julie Shaw
Another provocative, edgy and at times unbelievably sad story from the author of ‘The Tales of the Notorious Hudson Family’ series. Julie Shaw really has hit on a winner with her bold and girtty stories based on her family...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/07/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Gillian Flynn?...You'll Love Nicci Cloke

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Gone Girl
Gillian Flynn
The book that has taken the world by storm, now a huge film starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. Brilliant, scintillating, dark and manipulative, packed with twists and turns this is every bit as good as everyone says it is....
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/09/2014
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Follow Me Back by Nicci Cloke
Follow Me Back
Nicci Cloke
“I've built myself too many identities and now they're imploding,” remarks the main character of this gripping novel, encapsulating the main motif that runs through its veins.Aiden Kendrick is promising football prospect who trains with the Norwich youth...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/02/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Paula Hawkins?...You'll Love Holly Seddon

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
Paula Hawkins
In the footsteps of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and S.J. Watson's Before I Go to Sleep, the unreliable narrator domestic drama of untruths is the new 'hot' genre. The author was best known under another name for chick...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39
Try Not to Breathe Shocking. Page-Turning. A Breath-Taking Psychological Thriller by Holly Seddon
Reader Reviewed Try Not to Breathe Shocking. Page-Turning. A Breath-Taking Psychological Thriller
Holly Seddon
July 2016 Debut of the Month Penetrating and intense, ‘Try Not to Breathe’ is a chokingly dark debut thriller. Amy and Alex are the same age, Alex is divorced and drinking herself to an early grave,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/07/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Nicci French?...You'll Love Nikki Owen

Thursday's Child: A Frieda Klein Novel by Nicci French
Reader Reviewed Thursday's Child: A Frieda Klein Novel
Nicci French
Writing as Nicci French, husband and wife team Nicci Gerrard and Sean French have quickly established themselves as leading lights in the murky waters of psychological crime writing and have now embarked on their first series, featuring psychotherapist Frieda Klein,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
Lovereading Price: £6.39
The Killing Files by Nikki Owen
Reader Reviewed The Killing Files
Nikki Owen
A piercing, fast-paced and absolutely riveting read, the second book in ‘The Project Trilogy’ lives up to expectations. Having been gripped by the first in the series, I really do recommend starting with ‘Subject 375’ which was previously titled ‘The...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/06/2016
Lovereading Price: £6.39

Back to top

Like Jennifer Worth?...You'll Love Pam Weaver

Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s by Jennifer Worth
Call The Midwife : A True Story of the East End in the 1950s
Jennifer Worth
Great stories about the lost world of London’s East End in the 50s, before the slum clearances, when community was all-important and no one locked their doors. Jennifer Worth, attached to an order of nuns, was the midwife. This...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/01/2012
Lovereading Price: £7.19
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s by Pam Weaver
Bath Times and Nursery Rhymes The Memoirs of a Nursery Nurse in the 1960s
Pam Weaver
A wonderful memoir about life as a nursery nurse and nanny in the 1960s, for fans of Call the Midwife. The stories of the children Pam looked after are heart-warming and heartbreaking, sad and uplifting. This is the story...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/01/2013
Lovereading Price: £5.59

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Insightful reader reviews and unbiased recommendations. I don't know how I chose books before Lovereading! An essential for all book lovers.

Sarah Harper

I love Lovereading for the wonderful like for like author recommendations and for highlighting new books, it's a great resource for readers!

Lindsay

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright
  

New Author Recommendations from Passionate Book Experts

_________________________

We’ve all got friends who read more than we do and sometimes these friends are useful in helping us work out what to read next. But do bear us in mind as well! At Lovereading, we hope you’ll consider our guidance as a ‘friend’ too! Of course, for the full service you just need to go to the Lovereading site and use the exclusive ‘Author Like for Like’ tool … Then go to a dinner party and show off a little! (www.lovereading.co.uk/authorrec)

Dorothy Koomson
Sinead Moriarty
Graeme Simsion
Gavin Extence
Jojo Moyes
Hina Belitz
Victoria Hislop
Lucy Foley
Kimberley Chambers
Julie Shaw
Paula Hawkins
Holly Seddon
Nicci French
Nikki Owen
Jennifer Worth
Pam Weaver

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools