LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Horror, Fantasy and Sci Fi Books

Reach for the stars, get dropped into strange worlds, or shut your eyes and dive into the darkest recesses of the imagination of horror. Enjoy!

Willful Child

Willful Child

Author: Steven Erikson Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/11/2014

These are the voyages of the starship, A.S.F. Willful Child. Its ongoing mission: to seek out strange new worlds on which to plant the Terran flag, to subjugate and if necessary obliterate new life life-forms, to boldly blow the...And so we join the not-terribly-bright but exceedingly cock-sure Captain Hadrian Sawback - think James T Kirk crossed with 'American Dad' - and his motley crew on board the Starship Willful Child for a series of devil-may-care, near-calamitous and downright chaotic adventures through 'the infinite vastness of interstellar space'...The bestselling author of the acclaimed Malazan Book of the Fallen sequence has taken a life-long passion for 'Star Trek' and transformed it into a hugely entertaining spoof on the whole mankind-exploring-space-for-the-good-of-all-species-but-trashing-stuff-with-a-lot-of-hi-tech-kit-along-the-way type over-blown science fiction adventure. The result is smart. inventive, occasionally OTT and often very funny - a novel that both deftly parodies the genre and pays fond homage to it.

ebook of the month
Timebomb

Timebomb

Author: Scott K. Andrews Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/10/2014

Perfect for fans of Alex Scarrow and Michael Grant, this is the first in an incredible new time-travel trilogy by the author of The Afterblight Chronicles: School's Out Forever. New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground. Cornwall, 1640: gentle young Dora Predennick, newly come to Sweetclover Hall to work, discovers a badly-burnt woman at the bottom of a flight of stairs. When she reaches out to comfort the dying woman, she's flung through time. On a rainy night in present-day Cornwall, seventeen-year-old Kaz Cecka sneaks into the long-abandoned Sweetclover Hall, in search of a dry place to sleep. Instead he finds a frightened housemaid who believes Charles I is king and an angry girl who claims to come from the future. Thrust into the centre of a war that spans millennia, Dora, Kaz and Jana must learn to harness powers they barely understand to escape not only villainous Lord Sweetclover but the forces of a fanatical army...all the while staying one step ahead of a mysterious woman known only as Quil

ebook of the month
Thief's Magic

Thief's Magic

Author: Trudi Canavan Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/05/2014

In a world where an industrial revolution is powered by magic, Tyen, a student of archaeology, unearths a sentient book called Vella. Once a young sorcerer-bookbinder, Vella was transformed into a useful tool by one of the greatest sorcerers of history. Since then she has been collecting information, including a vital clue to the disaster Tyen's world faces. Elsewhere, in a land ruled by the priests, Rielle the dyer's daughter has been taught that to use magic is to steal from the Angels. Yet she knows she has a talent for it, and that there is a corrupter in the city willing to teach her how to use it - should she dare to risk the Angels' wrath. But not everything is as Tyen and Rielle have been raised to believe. Not the nature of magic, nor the laws of their lands. Not even the people they trust.

ebook of the month
The Woman in Black: Angel of Death

The Woman in Black: Angel of Death

Author: Martyn Waites Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/10/2013

Autumn 1940, World War Two, the Blitz. Bombs are raining down, destroying the cities of Britain. In London, children are being removed from their families and taken to the country for safety. Teacher Eve Parkins is in charge of one such group, and her destination is an empty and desolate house that appears to be sinking into the treacherous tidal marshes that surround it. EEL Marsh House - Far from home and with no alternative, Eve and the children move in. But soon it becomes apparent that there is someone else in the house; someone who is far deadlier than any number of German bombs...The Woman in Black.

ebook of the month
The Three

The Three

Author: Sarah Lotz Format: Hardback Release Date: 22/05/2014

They're here ...The boy. The boy watch the boy watch the dead people oh Lordy there's so many ...They're coming for me now. We're all going soon. All of us. Pastor Len warn them that the boy he's not to---- The last words of Pamela May Donald (1961 - 2012) Black Thursday. The day that will never be forgotten. The day that four passenger planes crash, at almost exactly the same moment, at four different points around the globe. There are only four survivors. Three are children, who emerge from the wreckage seemingly unhurt. But they are not unchanged. And the fourth is Pamela May Donald, who lives just long enough to record a voice message on her phone. A message that will change the world. The message is a warning.

ebook of the month

 Boldly Going … with a Bump!

__________________________

Mankind has always looked to the heavens and wondered what’s out there. We have always lapped up stories of strange visitors, of gods and monsters, of things going bump under the bed. Using the extremes of human imagination to conjure worlds at the far reaches of darkness and light, this is a collection of authors who have the power to transport us to the vastest plains or the smallest black holes.

 

Horror fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Peter Straub, James Herbert will find a bloody pool of psychological mind-meddlers here to keep them shaking with delight.

 

Sci-fi lovers of Asimov, Phillip K Dick, Arthur C Clarke, and Ray Bradbury will find others to launch them to new beginnings. Using our Book of the Month recommendations or ‘Author Like for Like’ tool, your next bone shaking book is just a click away… if you dare, that is.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: