LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Horror, Fantasy and Sci Fi Books

Reach for the stars, get dropped into strange worlds, or shut your eyes and dive into the darkest recesses of the imagination of horror. Enjoy!

Beauty

Beauty

Author: Sarah Pinborough Format: Paperback Release Date: 10/04/2014

BEAUTY is a beautifully illustrated re-telling of the Sleeping Beauty story which takes all the elements of the classic fairytale that we love (the handsome prince, the ancient curse, the sleeping girl and, of course, the haunting castle) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It's fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of ONCE UPON A TIME, GRIMM, SNOW WHITE AND THE HUNTSMAN and more.

ebook of the month
Channel Blue

Channel Blue

Author: Jay Martel Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/01/2014

Earth used to be Galaxy Entertainment's most lucrative show. The inhabitants of the Western Galaxy - the saviest, richest demographic in the Milky Way - just couldn't get enough of the day-to-day details of the average Earthling's life. But Channel Blue's ratings are flagging and its producers are planning a spectacular finale. In just three weeks, their TV show will go out with a bang. The trouble is, so will Earth. Only one man can save our planet and he's hardly a likely hero...

ebook of the month
Dead Ever After A True Blood Novel

Dead Ever After A True Blood Novel

Author: Charlaine Harris Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2013

Sookie Stackhouse has one last adventure in store. Life has taken her from a waitress in Merlotte's Bar, Bon Temps, to part owner; from social outcast to the heart of her community; from a vampire's girlfriend to the wife of one of the most powerful vampires in the state. She has survived explosions, revolutions and attempts on her life. Sookie has endured betrayal, heartbreak and grief...and she has emerged a little stronger, and little wiser, every time. But with life comes new trials...

Doctor Sleep

Doctor Sleep

Author: Stephen King Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/09/2013

An epic war between good and evil, a gory, glorious story that will thrill the millions of hyper-devoted readers of The Shining and wildly satisfy anyone new to the territory of this icon in the King canon. King says he wanted to know what happened to Danny Torrance, the boy at the heart of The Shining, after his terrible experience in the Overlook Hotel. The instantly riveting Doctor Sleep picks up the story of the now middle-aged Dan, working at a hospice in rural New Hampshire, and the very special twelve-year old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals. On highways across America, a tribe of people called The True Knot travel in search of sustenance. They look harmless - mostly old, lots of polyester, and married to their RVs. But as Dan Torrance knows, and tween Abra Stone learns, The True Knot are quasi-immortal, living off the 'steam' that children with the 'shining' produce when they are slowly tortured to death. Haunted by the inhabitants of the Overlook Hotel where he spent one horrific childhood year, Dan has been drifting for decades, desperate to shed his father's legacy of despair, alcoholism, and violence. Finally, he settles in a New Hampshire town, an AA community that sustains him and a job at a nursing home where his remnant 'shining' power provides the crucial final comfort to the dying. Aided by a prescient cat, he becomes 'Doctor Sleep.' Then Dan meets the evanescent Abra Stone, and it is her spectacular gift, the brightest shining ever seen, that reignites Dan's own demons and summons him to a battle for Abra's soul and survival ...

ebook of the month
Dreams of Gods and Monsters

Dreams of Gods and Monsters

Author: Laini Taylor Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/03/2015

A limited signed hardback edition, with an exclusive illustration by Laini Taylor, is available for the first print run of the book. Pre-order now to avoid disappointment! It began with DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE It continued with DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT It ends with DREAMS OF GODS AND MONSTERS Common enemy, common cause. When Jael's brutal seraph army trespasses into the human world, the unthinkable becomes essential, and Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people. And, perhaps, for themselves. But there are bigger threats than Jael in the offing. A vicious queen is hunting Akiva, and, in the skies of Eretz ...something is happening. Massive stains are spreading like bruises from horizon to horizon; the great winged stormhunters are gathering as if summoned, ceaselessly circling, and a deep sense of wrong pervades the world. What power can bruise the sky? From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theatre that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy. At the very barriers of space and time, what do gods and monsters dream of? And does anything else matter?

ebook of the month
Dust (Wool Trilogy 3)

Dust (Wool Trilogy 3)

Author: Hugh Howey Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/10/2013

This is the much-anticipated final instalment of the Wool trilogy. The next Hunger Games . (The Sunday Times). Thrilling, thought-provoking and memorable...one of dystopian fiction's masterpieces alongside the likes of 1984 and Brave New World. (Daily Express). In the aftermath of the uprising, the people of Silo 18 are coming to terms with a new order. Some embrace the change, others fear the unknown; none have control of their fate. The Silo is still in danger. There are those set on its destruction. Jules knows they must be stopped. The battle has been won. The war is just beginning.

 Boldly Going … with a Bump!

__________________________

Mankind has always looked to the heavens and wondered what’s out there. We have always lapped up stories of strange visitors, of gods and monsters, of things going bump under the bed. Using the extremes of human imagination to conjure worlds at the far reaches of darkness and light, this is a collection of authors who have the power to transport us to the vastest plains or the smallest black holes.

 

Horror fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Peter Straub, James Herbert will find a bloody pool of psychological mind-meddlers here to keep them shaking with delight.

 

Sci-fi lovers of Asimov, Phillip K Dick, Arthur C Clarke, and Ray Bradbury will find others to launch them to new beginnings. Using our Book of the Month recommendations or ‘Author Like for Like’ tool, your next bone shaking book is just a click away… if you dare, that is.

_______________________________

 

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include: