birdcage walk helen dunmore the plague charmer make the most of Lovereading when i was invisible shadow land elizabeth kostova
Vouchers


Fantasy Fantasy

Outrageous flights of imagination, bloody tales of war and magic, sweeping epic adventure, strange other worlds or just the wonderful at the bottom of the garden; fantasy is the genre where there really are no limits.

This Month's Featured Books

Smoke by Dan Vyleta
Smoke
Dan Vyleta
Darker than dark but tonally lighter than light, this is a keeper and a bolt from nowhere, almost like an adult version of the Harry Potter books with a touch of Dickensian dystopia. Set in a Victorian England that never...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/04/2017
Gilded Cage by Vic James
Gilded Cage
Vic James
Vic James’ magical yet chilling debut novel describes an alternate contemporary world in which, since the 1640s, Britain has been divided between the Equals, a ruling Aristocracy who have magical skills at their fingertips, and the commoners, the vast majority...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/01/2017
Keeping it Real by Justina Robson
Keeping it Real
Justina Robson
A heroine who's half robot and all attitude, a world of quantum strangeness; SF that has remembered how to have fun from the UK's most successful female SF writer. Special agent Lila Black used to be pretty but now she's...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/03/2017

Last Month's Featured Books

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn

Emperor of the Eight Islands
Lian Hearn
Set in a mythical medieval Japan inhabited by warriors and assassins, ghosts and guardian spirits, Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn is a brilliantly imagined novel, full of...

Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner

Swordspoint
Ellen Kushner
This is a welcome UK outing for Kushner’s 1987 novel that launched her acclaimed Swords of Riverside series. Fans of Scott Lynch’s Locke Lamora novels will adore Kushner’s artful, witty...

Pantomime by Laura Lam

Pantomime
Laura Lam
This is a welcome reissue for Pantomime, the first volume of Laura Lam’s sparkling and original fantasy trilogy. Set in a world not unlike our own 19th century it tells...

Empress of the Fall by David Hair

Empress of the Fall
David Hair
Desperate for the next Game of Thrones? Pick up Empress of the Fall for your full-on fix of epic fantasy drama and adventure, politicking and romance, blood and guts and...

The Month Before's Featured Books

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them The Original Screenplay by J. K. Rowling

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them The Original Screenplay
J. K. Rowling
J.K. Rowling's screenwriting debut is captured in this exciting hardcover edition of the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic,...

A Monster Calls: Special Collector's Edition by Patrick Ness

Reader Reviewed A Monster Calls: Special Collector's Edition
Patrick Ness
This is a gorgeous illustrated hardback of the award-winning novel complete with added interviews with author, illustrator director and cast and photos from the production. Grown from an original...

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Truthwitch
Susan Dennard
The first in the Witchlands series, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is a brilliantly imagined coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas and Trudi Canavan. In a...

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

Carve the Mark
Veronica Roth
In a Nutshell: Deadly dilemmas amidst Star Wars-esque intergalactic enmity | First book in an ambitiously epic sci-fi duology from the author of the Divergent series. Akos lives in...

The Witch's Tears (Sequel to the Witch's Kiss) by Katharine Corr, Elizabeth Corr

Reader Reviewed The Witch's Tears (Sequel to the Witch's Kiss)
Katharine Corr, Elizabeth Corr
February 2017 NewGen Book of the Month. In a nutshell: spell-binding drama of teenage witch faced with life-or-death choices | Readers who loved authors Katherine and...

The Dark Days Pact A Lady Helen Novel by Alison Goodman

Reader Reviewed The Dark Days Pact A Lady Helen Novel
Alison Goodman
February 2017 NewGen Book of the Month. In a Nutshell: Supernatural Regency Extravaganza | This second book in the lavishly entertaining Lady Helen trilogy -...

Get Rich or Get Lucky by Max Nowaz

Get Rich or Get Lucky
Max Nowaz
Get Rich or Get Lucky by Max Nowaz is a darkly comical fantasy thriller that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett. Adam has had plenty of plans to get...

Ariadnis by Josh Martin

Ariadnis
Josh Martin
In a nutshell: two girls, a life or death struggle in a vivid other-world | Aula was born in Athenas, City of the Nine Pillars; she’s never met Joomia, who...

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

Reader Reviewed Traitor to the Throne
Alwyn Hamilton
In a Nutshell: Fantastical feast of espionage, revenge, rebellion and romance | Steeped in magic and myth, this sequel to Rebel of the Sands tingles with tension and the...

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval
Stephanie Garber
Welcome to Caraval, where nothing is quite as it seems. A mesmerising, magical and stunningly imaginative debut novel for anyone who loved The Night Circus and Daughter of...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow
  
Add to favourites

Simon Spanton, formerly Associate Publisher of Gollancz, the oldest specialist SF & Fantasy publisher in the UK, joined the editorial team of Lovereading in 2016 with a brief to select and review the very best titles in the fields of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror including those he believes may become the stars of tomorrow.

Whether you want to join Jonathan Strange on the magic-haunted streets of London or Jon Snow and the rest of the Night’s Watch on the wall Fantasy is the genre for you. Authors from Joe Abercrombie to Zen Cho have turned the modern fantasy genre into one of the most exciting and imaginative genres around. They’ve brought magic and wonder, heroes, heroines and people like you and me, together in stories that will delight, scare and mystify you. Whether you want the romance and deceit of court, the shadows of a great city’s alleyways, the clear air of a mountain range, the terrors of a bloody field let fantasy take you to new realities.

There are characters for everyone; Scott Lynch’s charming conmen, Liz William’s artful magicians. Fantasy has worlds for all; Ursula le Guin’s Earthsea, George RR Martin’s brutal Westeros, Ben Aaronovitch’s contemporary London, Naomi Novik’s dragon haunted version of our 19th century. And the genre has a style for each and every reader; whether the playful literary trickery of Angela Carter or the imaginative epic adventures of Peter Brett. Somewhere here there is a story for everyone, so follow us and let your imagination run wild.

_______________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

 

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

 

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.


A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

 

Scott Lynch
Liz William
Ursula le Guin
George R.R. Martin
Ben Aaronovitch
Naomi Novik
Angela Carter
Peter Brett

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools