Search our site
I Stop Somewhere by T. E. Carter Read the opening extract of the brand new T. E. Carter book before its publication on 19/04/2018

The Desmond Elliott Prize The Desmond Elliott Prize

The Desmond Elliott Prize was founded in 2007 to celebrate the best 1st novel by a new author and to support writers just starting what will be long and glittering careers. It has succeeded in its mission in a manner that would make Elliott proud. 


The Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 Longlist

The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks
The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times
Xan Brooks
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 | Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award May 2017 Debut of the Month. This magnetic debut evokes the social and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/04/2017
How to be Human by Paula Cocozza
How to be Human
Paula Cocozza
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 | April 2017 Debut of the Month. Here is a woman, Mary, who desperately needs something and even we, the reader, are not entirely sure what. She has...
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/04/2017
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
Imogen Hermes Gowar
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 `A brilliantly plotted story of mermaids, madams and intrigue in 1780s London and I wouldn't be surprised to see it become the Essex Serpent of 2018' - The Pool'Imogen Hermes Gowar is a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/01/2018
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Reader Reviewed Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 Category Winner for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award June 2017...
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017
Seven Days of Us  by Francesca Hornak
Seven Days of Us
Francesca Hornak
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 For fans of David Nicholls and Richard Curtis movies, this is an observational, tender and heart-warming drama about the trials and tribulations of spending a week with your family at Christmas. What...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/10/2017
Peculiar Ground by Lucy Hughes-Hallett
Reader Reviewed Peculiar Ground
Lucy Hughes-Hallett
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 A huge book both in scope and length, it begins with the journals of a landscape gardener building a great park in 1663 then moves to 1961 and follows the lives of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/03/2018
How Saints Die by Carmen Marcus
How Saints Die
Carmen Marcus
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 Gosh, this is provocative, powerful, and actually rather beautiful, I will admit to being completely bewitched. Ellie Fleck is ten years old, she lives with her father Peter on the North Yorkshire coast,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017
One Star Awake by Andrew Meehan
One Star Awake
Andrew Meehan
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 A gorgeously expressive, intriguing, and compelling tale… it powered into my thoughts and turned them upside down. A woman in Paris dealing with memory loss, tells her own story during a Parisian summer....
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/09/2017
Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney
Conversations with Friends
Sally Rooney
Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 A searing, sometimes painful, yet fully rich and fascinating read. 21 year old student Frances, and her ex-girlfriend Bobbi are interviewed by Melissa about their spoken word performances. They are invited to enter...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/03/2018

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges
  

“The most prestigious award for 1st-time novelists” - Daily Telegraph

dep

The Desmond Elliott Prize 2018 Longlist Announced!

The longlist for the 11th annual Desmond Elliott Prize has been announced! The 10-strong collection that have made the cut this year include two Guardian journalists: Xan Brooks and Paula Cocozza and a former Sunday Times Style columnist Francesca Hornak.This year’s longlist also sees the return of Galley Beggar Press, whose books have featured as a part of the longlist for the fifth year in a row. This literary prize has been described by the Daily Telegraph as the “UK’s most prestigious award for debut novelists”. Check out the longlist below to see who is one step closer to the prize.

The Longlisted titles are:

The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks (Salt)
How to be Human by Paul Cocozza (Hutchinson)
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar (Harvill Secker)
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman (HarperCollins)
Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak (Piatkus)
Peculiar Ground by Lucy Hughes-Hallett (4th Estate)
How Saints Die by Carmen Marcus (Harvill Secker)
One Star Awake by Andrew Meehan (New Island)
Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney (Faber & Faber)
We That Are Young by Preti Taneja (Galley Beggar Press)

 

__________________________________________

Desmond Elliott’s own story began in an Irish orphanage. In 1947, aged 16 and with just two pounds in his pocket, he left for England to start his publishing career at Macmillan. Thereafter, he set up as an agent and subsequently went on to establish his own publishing company, Arlington Books, in 1960. The charismatic, witty and waspish Elliott – who drank only champagne, flew regularly by Concorde and used Fortnum & Mason as his local grocer – nurtured numerous blockbuster authors, including Jilly Cooper, Anthony Horowitz and Penny Vincenzi. He died in August 2003 at the age of 73.

Desmond Elliott

 __________________________________________

 


Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools