Harry Potter House Eds twitter
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Costa Book Awards 2017 Costa Book Awards 2017

The Shortlist for the Costa Book Awards 2017 has just been announced! To find out more about the shortlisted books just click on the award category you are interested in.


Costa Novel Award 2017 Shortlisted titles

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor
Reader Reviewed Reservoir 13
Jon McGregor
One of our Books of the Year 2017 | Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award April 2017 Book of the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/04/2017
Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie
Home Fire
Kamila Shamsie
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award | Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017 A contemporary reimagining of Sophocles' Antigone, Home Fire is an urgent, fiercely compelling...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/08/2017
Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney
Reader Reviewed Under a Pole Star
Stef Penney
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award Flora Mackie leads a remarkable life. Daughter of a whaling captain, with her mother dead, she spent many of her teenage years...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017
The Tin Man by Sarah Winman
The Tin Man
Sarah Winman
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Novel Award Tin Man sees Sarah Winman follow the acclaimed success of When God Was A Rabbit and A Year Of Marvellous...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/07/2017

Back to top

Costa First Novel Award 2017 Shortlisted titles

The Haunting of Henry Twist by Rebecca F. John
The Haunting of Henry Twist
Rebecca F. John
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award The Costa Judges said: ‘Grabs you from the very first chapter and draws you through with its wonderful characters and unexpected twists.’...
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/07/2017
The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times by Xan Brooks
The Clocks in This House All Tell Different Times
Xan Brooks
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award May 2017 Debut of the Month. This magnetic debut evokes the social and emotional landscapes of interwar England with an abundance of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/04/2017
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman
Reader Reviewed Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Gail Honeyman
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award June 2017 Debut of the Month. It is the standard reply when people ask, “How are you?” ....you...
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017
Montpelier Parade by Karl Geary
Montpelier Parade
Karl Geary
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, First Novel Award Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2017. A deeply affecting debut about limitations and longing, lust and devotion between a working class boy and an enigmatic...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/01/2017

Back to top

Costa Biography Award 2017 Shortlisted titles

In the Days of Rain by Rebecca Stott
In the Days of Rain
Rebecca Stott
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/05/2017
A Bold and Dangerous Family The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini by Caroline Moorehead
A Bold and Dangerous Family The Rossellis and the Fight Against Mussolini
Caroline Moorehead
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award Caroline Moorehead has spent time with surviving members of the Rosselli family, researching letters and diaries never previously translated into English to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017
Once Upon A Time in the East A Story of Growing up by Xiaolu Guo
Once Upon A Time in the East A Story of Growing up
Xiaolu Guo
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award Xiaolu Guo meets her parents for the first time when she is six. They are strangers to her. When she is born...
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/01/2017
Fragile Lives by Stephen Westaby
Fragile Lives
Stephen Westaby
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Biography Award February 2017 Non-Fiction Book of the Month. Heart surgery is by its very nature...
Format: Hardback - Released: 09/02/2017

Back to top

Costa Poetry Award 2017 Shortlisted titles

Useful Verses by Richard Osmond
Useful Verses
Richard Osmond
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award This is a fiercely inventive, darkly witty and brilliantly observed debut from a voice unlike any other you have read before -...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/03/2017
On Balance by Sinead Morrissey
On Balance
Sinead Morrissey
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award Winner of the 2017 Forward Prize for Best Collection. Winner of the 2017 Poetry Book Society Choice Award. Set against a backdrop...
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/05/2017
Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore
Inside the Wave
Helen Dunmore
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award New collection by prizewinning poet and novelist: poems about mortality, illness, being alive and the borderline between the living human world and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 27/04/2017
Kumukanda by Kayo Chingonyi
Kumukanda
Kayo Chingonyi
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Poetry Award Translating as 'initiation', kumukanda is the name given to the rites a young boy from the Luvale tribe must pass through before...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Back to top

Costa Children's Book Award 2017 Shortlisted titles

The Explorer by Katherine Rundell
The Explorer
Katherine Rundell
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award After crashing hundreds of miles from civilisation in the Amazon rainforest, Fred, Con, Lila and Max are utterly alone and in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017
The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
The Island at the End of Everything
Kiran Millwood Hargrave
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award In a nutshell: beautifully told story of courage and hope and an unforgettable...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/05/2017
Wed Wabbit by Lissa Evans
Wed Wabbit
Lissa Evans
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award Wed Wabbit is a tour de force! Lissa Evans’s hilarious, madcap adventure is both effervescent and tautly plotted making it impossible...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/01/2017
Moonrise by Sarah Crossan
Moonrise
Sarah Crossan
Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards 2017, Costa Children's Book Award In a Nutshell: Death row injustice | Undying brotherly love A book to break your heart, quicken your blood and...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/09/2017

Back to top See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

Lovereading tells me about new books before they hit the shelves, lets me find other authors I may like and has great prize draws!

Sheila Dale

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch
  

 

Costa Book Awards 2017

 

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

------------------------------------------------------------------

The overall winner of the Costa Book of the Year 2016 was Days Without End by Sebastian Barry.

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

What the Judges said: “A miracle of a book – both epic and intimate – that manages to create spaces for love and safety in the noise and chaos of history."

_________________________________________

 


costa 2007 logo

 

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

The judging panel for the 2017 Costa Book Awards includes: Sandeep Mahal, Sophie Raworth, Simon Garfield, Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Nicholas Wroe, Fiona Noble and Piers Torday.

The judges will select their favourite book in each category in early January and these books will then be shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Book of the Year. The overall winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in central London on Tuesday 30th January 2018.

The winner receives a £30,000 prize.

For more information visit www.costa.co.uk/costa-book-awards and keep up with the latest news @CostaBookAwards

_________________________________________

Sebastian Barry
Maggie O'Farrell
Sarah Perry
Rose Tremain
Susan Beale
Kit de Waal
Guinevere Glasfurd
Francis Spufford
Keggie Carew
John Guy
Hisham Matar
Sylvia Patterson
Melissa Lee-Houghton
Alice Oswald
Denise Riley
Kate Tempest
Brian Conaghan
Patrice Lawrence
Francesca Simon
Ross Welford

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools