LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Action, Adventure, Spy and Espionage Books

Looking for your next literary adrenaline rush? Or to live vicariously through a thrill-seeking hero/heroine? Have a look at the titles in our Action/Adventure/Spy section for the latest danger and intrigue-filled novels.

This Month's Featured Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books

Other Action / Adventure / Spy / Espionage Books

Grand Theft Auto V Signature Series Guide

Grand Theft Auto V Signature Series Guide

Author: Format: Paperback Release Date: 17/09/2013

Get five times the action with the only official guide to the biggest Grand Theft Auto game ever! BradyGames has teamed up with Rockstar Games to bring you Grand Theft Auto V Signature Series Guide, a comprehensive guide to the biggest and most anticipated game of the year. Provides a step-by-step walkthrough of the entire single-player story and strategy for every action-packed mission, enabling you to get the most out of GTA and complete the game faster than your friends! Get complete coverage of all off-mission activities and sophisticated mini-games. Maps identify key objectives, specify targets, and chart the fastest path to success in this enormous world that's bigger than Red Dead Redemption, GTA IV, and GTA: San Andreas combined. Plus, get the inside story on the three playable characters and learn about their personalities, motivations, and skill-sets. Set in the sprawling, sun-soaked metropolis of Los Santos, Grand Theft Auto V centres around three very different criminals all plotting and scheming for their own chance of survival and success. Running out of options, Franklin, Michael, and Trevor risk everything in a series of daring and dangerous heists that could set them up for life or send them straight to the slammer. GTA V is available for XBox360 and PS3 and perfect for fans of this record-breaking game series. Take your game further with Grand Theft Auto Signature Series Guide and BradyGames.

The Dead Sea Deception

The Dead Sea Deception

Author: Adam Blake Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/08/2011

Ex-mercenary Leo Tillman and ambitious cop Heather Kennedy investigate a series of baffling deaths, the trail leads them to the Dead Sea Scrolls - and the deadly gospel hidden within them. But soon Tillman and Kennedy are running for their lives from a band of sinister assassins who weep tears of blood and believe themselves descended from Judas. These 'fallen angels' will stop at nothing to expose the world-changing secret of the Scrolls ...the secret of who really died on Christ's cross. Rocketing from a spectacular plane crash in the American desert to a brutal murder at a London university to a phantom city in Mexico, The Dead Sea Deception is the most gripping, revelatory thriller since The Da Vinci Code.

ebook of the month
Near Enemy

Near Enemy

Author: Adam Sternbergh Format: Paperback Release Date: 02/07/2015

The sequel to SHOVEL READY, featuring kill-for-hire antihero Spademan. Perfect for fans of INCEPTION, LOOPER and Hugh Howie. 'Anyone who still lives in Manhattan and has anything of real value to protect does it with a shotgun, not a deadbolt. So the problem isn't getting in, it's getting out.' When New York was hit by a dirty bomb, the city became a burnt-out shell and only the wealthy were able to escape, to a virtual reality quite different from the world around them. Former garbage man, Spademan, lost his wife and his livelihood - in a city comprised entirely of garbage, there's little one man can do. So he became a hit man, clearing up in a whole new way. But now the virtual world is under threat from elite terrorists operating from somewhere in New York and Spademan is tasked with tracking them down. He's not used to having enemies - his foes usually end up dead pretty quickly - but he's about to find out just how close they are, and how dangerous they can be...

ebook of the month
Send Me Safely Back Again

Send Me Safely Back Again

Author: Adrian Goldsworthy Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/08/2012

The third novel in the series sees new challenges for the men of the 106th Foot, as the British army attempts to recover from the disaster of Corunna and establish a foothold in the Peninsula. Featuring the battles of Medellin and Talavera, the 106th will have their mettle severely tested on the battlefield. But if Napoleon is to be ejected from Spain, war must also be waged in more covert ways. For Hanley, the former artist who is a more natural observer than fighter, the opportunity to become an 'exploring officer' leads him into even more dangerous territory, the murky world of politics and partisans. And while Ensign Williams seeks to uncover the identity of the mysterious 'Heroine of Saragossa', a conspiracy of revenge within the regiment itself threatens to destroy him before he's even faced a shot from the French.

ebook of the month

Let Bernard Cornwell sweep you back to Arthurian times, or into the heat of battle with Richard Sharpe. Sail the high seas with Patrick O'Brian. Raise your pulse-rate with Michael Crichton. Experience the adrenaline of combat with Andy McNab. Feel the clear and present danger of Tom Clancy's thrilling Jack Ryan stories... Live on the edge with Lee Child's itinerant hero Jack Reacher? Navigating your way through all the twists and turns of this roller-coaster genre can be an adventure in itself.

So, let us help you find your next fuel-injected foray into the fields of battle, espionage, danger,heroism and even history rewritten. From Dan Brown, Tom Clancy and Ken Follett to Wilbur Smith, David Gibbins and Stieg Larsson, you’ll be over the waves, under the radar, up mountains, outside the law, beyond help, dicing with danger, battling monsters, rescuing the stricken, flying through flack, laying mines, playing political parlour-games, conning Congress, kidnapping commandos clashing with conquistadors and crossing swords with Crusaders … and all from the safety of your favourite chair.