eleanor oliphant newgen books for YA readers rebus 30th anniversary
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Reader Reviewed
Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson
  

Orkney Twilight

Crime / Mystery   Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

December 2014 eBook of the Month.

Our narrator is Sam, an eighteen-year old girl just accepted at Oxford, who goes with her father and a fellow school chum, Tom, to the Orkneys to ‘keep an eye’ on her dad for her mother is unable to go. We get odd little gems from Sam’s childhood as she grows up with a father who may be an undercover cop, a detective or even a spy. Whatever he is Sam has always known his work is secret. Now, with Tom, she turns detective herself and with the magic, history and myth of the Orkneys the backdrop, stalks her father becoming more and more worried. The menacing tension ratchets up and we follow trails and red-herrings with our heart in our mouth. A most enjoyable read.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. This debut crime novel explores the ambiguous world of undercover police work. Sam, the rebellious daughter of undercover policeman, Jim, is about to go to university. When the opportunity arises for her to return, with her father, to the scene of childhood holidays in Orkney she decides to go and find out more about his secretive world. Once there, she is determined to discover why he goes off on endless errands, what the meaning of his interest in Norse mythology implies and who he is meeting in secret. However, Sam’s inquisitiveness is drawing her into a dangerous world and she begins to suspect that she is being watched. Who can she trust? Moving between south London and Orkney, this compelling plot keeps the reader engaged not only as a chilling thriller but also as an exploration of father/daughter relationships and the impact of working life on family life.
~ Alison Smith

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lisa Redmond - 'Full of references to Norse mythology and the gorgeous twilight of an Orkney summer, perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Ann Cleves and Peter May.' Read full review >
  • Cathy Burman - 'the ending was very fast paced and unpredictable and I think that this book will appeal to readers who enjoy thrillers and mysteries.' Read full review >
  • Edel Waugh - 'I recommend this to everyone who likes a thrilling good spy story that will keep you guessing. You will love this!' Read full review >
  • Malcolm Heyhoe - 'with plenty of twists and turns and in the end Orkney Twilight is a satisfying slow-burner rather than a page-turning thriller.' Read full review >
  • Ray Orgill - 'It is a fascinating but believable book filled with dark happenings, none of which tell the truth about what is happening.' Read full review >
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'I enjoyed this book, read it in two days! You can tell by that it captured my imagination.' Read full review >
  • Debbie Patrick - 'I have no idea what is missing in the book but it just didn’t keep me as interested as I thought it should.' Read full review >
  • Jane Brown - 'This was a real page turner, scary and haunting; it keeps you guessing and the reader just has to read this book to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Joanne Baird - 'Intriguing story when a hidden past comes to light...it was a well written book and I never felt it was one I couldn't finish.' Read full review >
  • Joy Bosworth - 'It's different.  Very slow except when at breakneck speed.' Read full review >
  • Joan Hill - 'Enigmatic, haunting and shadowy thriller set against the long summer twilight of beautiful Orkney. A must read for lovers of this genre.' Read full review >
  • Alan Brown - 'How can an author combine a teenage daughter, Orkney, different time frames, Norse mythology, teenage angst and a spy thriller. Read the book to see how brilliantly it can be done.' Read full review >
  • Ann Peet - 'Original stylish thriller...With the occasional interweaving of myths and folk tales from Orkney it makes a haunting and original story.' Read full review >
  • Phylippa Smithson - 'A real page turner but looking back, I am not sure what age of reader it was trying to attract.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Hamid - 'An atmospheric, and sometimes dark, thriller that draws you in towards its gripping climax... Overall, an exciting read though rather emotionally unengaging.' Read full review >
  • Ann - 'This is an intriguing story with believable characters in a world of secrets. Descriptions of the island, the London streets and an underground passageway in the capital are superb.' Read full review >
  • Sharon Matthews - 'An interesting idea set in an interesting place that didn't quite live up to the promise...However, I did like the author style and her characters and the book ending was satisfying so I would read other books by Clare Carson.' Read full review >
  • Sophia Ufton - 'Wow, super scary thriller. Brilliant book, wanted to read right to the very end.' Read full review >
  • Nicola Kingswell - 'The first three quarters were not as gripping as I’d hoped...However, the last quarter of the book once Sam, Tom and Jim had returned to London was a proper page-turner of a thriller.'  Read full review >
  • Ruth Carson - 'It was a well written book but disappointing as a thriller.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson

Jim is an undercover policeman with alcohol issues and the gift of the gab - but he never talks about his past. His daughter Sam is a rebellious eighteen-year-old with an inquisitive streak. She is determined to find out the truth about her father.

On holiday in Orkney, beneath an endless midsummer sky, Sam spies on Jim as he runs secretive errands across the island. What did he take from the old watchtower on the edge of a cliff? Why is he so interested in Norse mythology? And why does Sam have the eerie feeling that she too is being watched? When Sam finally discovers the truth, it will draw her into a dangerous world of deception and double-dealing... and bring her closer to her dad than ever before.

Set between the streets of south London, and the remote coastlines of Scotland, ORKNEY TWILIGHT is an original, haunting thriller about fathers, daughters and the ghosts of the past.

About the Author

Clare Carson

Clare Carson is an anthropologist and works in international development, specialising in human rights. Her father was an undercover policeman in 1970s London.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st December 2014

Author

Clare Carson

More books by Clare Carson
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Head of Zeus

Format

Ebook

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

ISBN

9781784080938