Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

rebus 30th anniversary books of the month desmond elliott 2017 win prizes

True stories (Children's / Teenage) books

See below for a selection of the latest books from True stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the True stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great True stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

Into the White Scott'S Antarctic Odyssey by Joanna Grochowicz Into the White Scott'S Antarctic Odyssey

If you're into happy endings, best look someplace else. This story does not end well. This is a story where men die and their dreams of greatness with them. But it is a fine story and one that is worth...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/11/2017

Amelia Earhart by Ann Carroll Amelia Earhart


Format: Paperback - Released: 01/11/2017

Terrifyingly Talented Artistes, Fartistes and Funambulists by Andy Winters Terrifyingly Talented Artistes, Fartistes and Funambulists


Format: Paperback - Released: 28/10/2017

Shoe Dog (Young Readers Edition) by Phil Knight Shoe Dog (Young Readers Edition)

A revised and amended version of the international bestseller Shoe Dog, aimed at younger readers.
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/09/2017

Betty Greene Courage Has Wings by Irene Howat Betty Greene Courage Has Wings


Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2017

Meet... the Flying Doctors by George Ivanoff Meet... the Flying Doctors


Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2017

Cher Ami The Incredible True Story of the Pigeon That Saved Two Hundred Soldiers by Anita Ganeri Cher Ami The Incredible True Story of the Pigeon That Saved Two Hundred Soldiers

This book tells the true story of Cher Ami's astonishing courage in the face of overwhelming odds. But Cher Ami was not alone. She was one of tens of thousands of pigeons that flew on heroic missions during World War...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Finding Gobi (Younger Readers edition) The True Story of One Little Dog's Big Journey by Dion Leonard Finding Gobi (Younger Readers edition) The True Story of One Little Dog's Big Journey

For fans of A Streetcat Named Bob comes Finding Gobi, the heart-warming true story of a dog who captured the hearts of the world. Younger readers' edition.
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/05/2017

Coming Soon

True Stories of Escape by Paul Dowswell True Stories of Escape

Eight true stories of daring breakouts from infamous institutions such as Alcatraz and Devil's Island, detailing the risks the prisoners faced in attempting to make their escapes, including savage dogs, armed guards and shark-infested waters.
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/01/2018

Other books in this genre

Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us A Johnny Wander Collection by Ananth Hirsh, Yuko Ota, Yuko Ota Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us A Johnny Wander Collection
, ,
In 2008, Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota launched the auto-bio webcomic Johnny Wander. Inthis book, eight years, four cats, and three moves are chronicled. It is a reverie about new adulthood that is suitable for fans of Kate Beaton, Bryan...
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/04/2017

Balderdash! John Newbery and the Boisterous Birth of Children's Books by Michelle Markel Balderdash! John Newbery and the Boisterous Birth of Children's Books

A picture book biography about John Newbery, pioneering author and publisher--for whom the prestigious Newbery medal is named--and the revolution in children's books that he led.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/04/2017

Razia's Ray of Hope One Girl's Dream of an Education by Elizabeth Suneby Razia's Ray of Hope One Girl's Dream of an Education

Razia's Ray of Hope is the story of one girl's dream of getting an education and attending a new school in her village in Afghanistan. But her father and brother are against the idea. Can she persuade them that it...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/11/2016

Able Seacat Simon: The True Story of a Very Special Cat by Lynne Barrett-Lee Able Seacat Simon: The True Story of a Very Special Cat

The abridged, junior edition of the story of Able Seacat Simon, beloved hero of the high seas. A must for Michael Morpurgo fans!
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/11/2016

Cai Lun, The Creator of Paper A Story in English and Chinese by Li Jian Cai Lun, The Creator of Paper A Story in English and Chinese

Cai Lun was called into the Palace to serve the Emperor at the age of 15. He was smart and studied hard. Soon he was promoted to be an attending official in charge of documentation. At that time, documents were...
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/10/2016

Maralinga's Long Shadow Yvonne's Story by Maralinga's Long Shadow Yvonne's Story

Yvonne Edwards was just six years old when the first nuclear bomb of the British nuclear tests was detonated in 1956. The consequences of these tests which continued until 1963 had a devastating and lasting effect on her life and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/08/2016

Martin Luther Reformation Fire by Catherine MacKenzie Martin Luther Reformation Fire

What made an ordinary monk become a catalyst for the Reformation in Europe in the 1500s? Discover how a fresh understanding of the Scriptures transformed Martin Luther's life and had a enormous impact on Europe.
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2016

Lilias Trotter Daring in the Desert by Irene Howat Lilias Trotter Daring in the Desert

'You could become the greatest living painter. Your paintings would be treasured for ever.'Those were the words Lilias Trotter heard from John Ruskin, one of the world's most established art critics. But, God's work for Lilias was in the desert...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2016

Ulrich Zwingli Shepherd Warrior by William Boekestein Ulrich Zwingli Shepherd Warrior

By the end of his brief life Ulrich Zwingli would change the religious landscape of his home and the world. It wasn't until the last few years of his life that he became a reformer. At the age of forty-seven,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/07/2016

Barack Obama: The Making of a President by Dawne Allette Barack Obama: The Making of a President

But my family gave me love, they gave me education, and most of all they gave me hope... Barack Obama's story of hope and determination culminates with an account of his historic Inauguration Day and his first 100 days in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/06/2016

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now