make the most of Lovereading finding gobi eligible curtis sittenfeld lyrebird debuts of the month
Search our site
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Read the opening extract of the brand new Steven Rowley book before its publication on 05/10/2017

Second World War fiction books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Second World War fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Second World War fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Second World War fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

Dance Your Troubles Away by Pamela Evans Dance Your Troubles Away

Pam Evans' wartime saga will lift your spirits as the people at the Cherry Ballroom in West London dance their troubles away.
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett Eye of the Needle

A special edition of Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett reissued with a bright retro design to celebrate Pan's 70th anniversary. It is 1944 and weeks before D-Day. The Allies are disguising their invasion plans with a phony armada...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Fateless by Imre Kertesz Fateless

'While the average reader cannot pretend truly to understand the reality of those who suffered in concentration camps, Kertesz draws us one step closer' ObserverGyuri, a fourteen-year-old Hungarian Jew, gets the day off school to witness his father signing over...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Night in the Front Line And Other Second World War Stories by Ann-Marie Einhaus Night in the Front Line And Other Second World War Stories

This anthology introduces a selection of stories from the Second World War, unique representations of individual war experiences.
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

Airborne by Robert Radcliffe Airborne

The story of the Second World War as seen through the eyes of an extraordinary young man in quite extraordinary circumstances.
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

To Die in Spring by Ralf Rothmann To Die in Spring

'The haunting portrayal of conflict and carnage in the final weeks of the second world war makes this German novel a modern classic.... This remarkable work charts a most terrible coming of age . . . The central relationship is...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

Of Earth and Sky From farmer's boy to wartime service with the RAF by Owen Crispin Of Earth and Sky From farmer's boy to wartime service with the RAF

Based on the author's personal experiences, this is a vivid portrait of life in the RAF during the second world war.
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/07/2017

Red Sky at Noon by Simon Sebag Montefiore Red Sky at Noon

Imprisoned in the Gulags for a crime he did not commit, Benya Golden joins a penal battalion made up of Cossacks and convicts to fight the Nazis. He joins the Russian cavalry, and on a hot summer day in July...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

Coming Soon

The Boy Made of Snow by Chloe Mayer The Boy Made of Snow

If you go down to the woods today...For fans of Atonement and Suite Francaise comes the electrifying debut from a talented new voice. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front, battles of the heart.
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/10/2017

The Boy Made of Snow by Chloe Mayer The Boy Made of Snow

If you go down to the woods today...For fans of Atonement and Suite Francaise comes the electrifying debut from a talented new voice. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front, battles of the heart.
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/11/2017

Other books in this genre

Aurore by Graham Hurley Aurore

Continuing Graham Hurley's trilogy charting the shadowy and often lethal pas de deux between rival Allied and German intelligence services during World War II.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

Aurore by Graham Hurley Aurore

Continuing Graham Hurley's trilogy charting the shadowy and often lethal pas de deux between rival Allied and German intelligence services during World War II.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Aurore by Graham Hurley Aurore

Barely half of the Bomber Command's aircrews survive a full tour, but wireless operator Billy Angell has beaten the odds and completed his 30th - and final - mission. Now, Billy is due two-weeks leave, a posting to a training...
Format: eBook - Released: 01/06/2017

A View Across the Mersey by Anne Baker A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker's dramatic Liverpool saga, A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY, is set between the First and Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

The Constant Soldier by William Ryan The Constant Soldier

'Haunting, passionate, William Ryan's The Constant Soldier is a subtle WW2 thriller of horror and love with an utterly gripping countdown to Gotterdamerung. One of my favourites of the year' Simon Sebag Montefiore -- Shortlisted for the HWA Endeavour Ink...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/05/2017

Hunting The Hangman by Howard Linskey Hunting The Hangman


Format: Paperback - Released: 25/05/2017

The Iron Age by Arja Kajermo The Iron Age

A girl grows up in the shadow of WWII Finland.
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/05/2017

Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel by Mark T. Sullivan Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel


Format: Paperback - Released: 01/05/2017

Goodnight from London A Novel by Jennifer Robson Goodnight from London A Novel

From USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Robson-author of Moonlight Over Paris and Somewhere in France-comes a lush historical novel that tells the fascinating story of Ruby Sutton, an ambitious American journalist who moves to London in 1940 to report on...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/05/2017

Dance Your Troubles Away by Pamela Evans Dance Your Troubles Away

Pam Evans' wartime saga will lift your spirits as the people at the Cherry Ballroom in West London dance their troubles away.
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/04/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now