LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

What's the T?

What's the T?

Author: Juno Dawson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2021

Discover what it means to be a young transgender or non-binary person in the twenty-first century in this frank and funny guide for 14+ teens, from the author of This Book is Gay. In What's the T?, Stonewall ambassador, bestselling trans author and former PSHE teacher Juno Dawson defines a myriad of labels and identities and offers uncensored advice on coming out, sex and relationships with her trademark humour and lightness of touch. Juno has also invited her trans and non-binary friends to make contributions, ensuring this inclusive book reflects as many experiences as possible, and features the likes of Travis Alabanza and Jay Hulme. The companion title to the groundbreaking This Book Is Gay, What's the T? tackles the complex realities of growing up trans with honesty and humour, and is joyfully illustrated by gender non-conforming artist Soofiya.

Can We Talk About Consent?

Can We Talk About Consent?

Author: Justin Hancock Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2021

What exactly is consent? Why does it matter? How can you negotiate your place in the world while respecting other people's boundaries, and have them respect yours? Can We Talk About Consent? breaks down the basics of how to have healthy relationships in every aspect of life for readers aged 14 years and older. Consent is a powerful word, but not everyone understands exactly what it means. This clearly written, stylishly illustrated guide explains clearly what consent means and why it matters - for all of us. With honest explanations by experienced sex and relationships educator Justin Hancock, children will learn how consent is a vital part of how we connect with ourselves and our self-esteem, the people close to us and the wider world. Readers will uncover how to develop and maintain relationships, how to manage and avoid negative relationships and will learn more about equality and respect. Covers a broad range of topics, including: how we greet each other; how to choose things for ourselves; how we say no to things we don't want to do; communicating and respecting choices in sexual relationships; the factors that can affect a person's ability to choose; and how to empower other people by giving them consent. Colourful, striking illustrations by Fuchsia MacAree help children relate what they read to the world around them. This guide to consent will set young people on the path to a lifetime of healthy relationships.

Coming Out

Coming Out

Author: Kezia Endsley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/12/2020

Coming Out: Insights and Tips for Teenagers offers compassionate insight into the hows and whys of coming out. Whether you are struggling with coming out yourself or wanting to help a friend or family member, this book seeks to provide answers to some of the questions you may have. Written from the perspective of the LGBTQIA+ community with firsthand accounts from fellow teenagers, this book addresses the issues and concerns of today that will resonate with anyone wishing to come out and live a happy, fulfilled life surrounded by people who love and accept them. You will learn -how to know when you or a loved one is ready to come out -who to tell first -how to deal with unsupportive people -how to deal with homophobia -how to move into loving self-acceptance With helpful tips and a list of online resources for making connections and more, this book will provide you with all the important information you might need to come out successfully and build a strong relationship with those around you.

Invisible Boys

Invisible Boys

Author: Holden Sheppard Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/12/2020

Drawn to Sex Vol. 2:

Drawn to Sex Vol. 2:

Author: Erika Moen, Matthew Nolan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/11/2020

Erika and Matthew are here to talk about bodies and sexual health! Have you ever wanted to learn exactly how pregnancy works? How about what to expect at your next doctor's visit? Or even just really understanding what's down there ? Erika and Matthew are ready to help out with their second book in the Drawn to Sex series. Utilizing their many years of experience and the input of some amazing guest experts, they've jam-packed this book with funny, sex-positive, inclusive, judgment-free comics all about your body and its sexual health. They explore the details of reproductive health, from STIs to anatomy, abortion to pregnancy, and as many other topics they could fit in! Pick up this fun book if you're looking to improve upon your initial sex education, or need a book to help someone new along. This is a great introduction to your body and health, and an approachable resource to learn more about yourself!

Will You Be Friends with Me?

Will You Be Friends with Me?

Author: Kathleen Long Bostrom Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/11/2020

Celebrate the differences that make life richer and more interesting with this inclusive board book about a budding friendship. Making friends is something all children do, but sometimes it can feel scary. They might worry that no one will like them or that they are too different to find a friend. In this sweet board book, the narrator lists all the ways children can be different from a prospective friend: I wake early. You're up late. My hair's curly. Yours is straight. I can swim, but you can skate. Will you be friends with me? Instead of worrying that these differences will make friendship impossible, the narrator decides that: We are different. That's okay! Life is much more fun that way. Perfect for children heading to school or any child in a new situation trying to make friends, this encouraging book reassures readers that diversity is what makes friendship--and life--so interesting.

Dealing with Dating and Romance

Dealing with Dating and Romance

Author: H W Poole Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/10/2020

Bear and the Duck

Bear and the Duck

Author: May Angeli Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/10/2020

Turning Point

Turning Point

Author: Paula Chase Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2020

When being yourself isn't good enough, who should you be? Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson. Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt's every rule. For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she's been accepted to. But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo's older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo's success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible? What happens when you discover that being yourself isn't good enough? How do you fight back? Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys. Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson.

Kindness... Pass It On

Kindness... Pass It On

Author: Riley Preston Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/10/2020

A Friend in Need

A Friend in Need

Author: Stephanie a Kilgore-White, Ginger Marks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Alize Unlocked Diary

Alize Unlocked Diary

Author: Doreen Ngemera Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/09/2020