LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Personal & social issues: sexuality & relationships (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Turning Point

Turning Point

Author: Paula Chase Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2020

When being yourself isn't good enough, who should you be? Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson. Best friends Rasheeda and Monique are both good girls. For Sheeda, that means keeping her friends close and following her deeply religious and strict aunt's every rule. For Mo, that means not making waves in the prestigious and mostly White ballet intensive she's been accepted to. But what happens when Sheeda catches the eye of Mo's older brother, and the invisible racial barriers to Mo's success as a ballerina turn out to be not so invisible? What happens when you discover that being yourself isn't good enough? How do you fight back? Paula Chase explores the complex and emotional issues that affect many young teens in this novel set in the same neighborhood as her acclaimed So Done and Dough Boys. Friendship, family, finding yourself, and standing your ground are the themes of this universal story that is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renee Watson.

Queerfully and Wonderfully Made

Queerfully and Wonderfully Made

Author: Jennifer Knapp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/08/2020

Are you LGBTQ+? Not sure? Whether you're queer or questioning, understanding sexuality and gender identity can be confusing. And if you're a Christian, questions of identity can be even scarier. Is there something wrong with you? Will your friends accept you? When should you tell your family? What about church? Queerfully and Wonderfully Made: A Guide for LGBTQ+ Christian Teens has answers to all these questions and more. You'll get insight and support from an amazing group of LGBTQ+ professionals, as well as testimonies from young adult queer Christians who've recently been exactly where you are. You'll walk away with a lot of answers, prepared with tools to help. But most importantly, you'll hear the good news: God loves you exactly as you are. No matter your identity or where in your journey of self-discovery you find yourself, you got this.

Pugtato Finds a Thing

Pugtato Finds a Thing

Author: Sophie Corrigan Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/08/2020

Enchanting illustrations. Giggle-inducing text. Unique and loveable characters. Join Pugtato and his cute and quirky pack of pals in this heartwarming picture book that celebrates the power of friendship, compassion, and believing in your own unique gifts. When Pugtato's simple, quiet life is disrupted after he digs up a strange object in his garden, he enlists his best spuddies to help (they are more clever than he is, after all). Tweetroot is certain it's a new egg for her nest. Tomatoad is quite sure it's a toy just for him. And Purrsnip simply won't stop scratching it! Luckily, Pugtato has another very special spuddy to ask ... Pugtato Finds a Thing: Introduces kids 4-8 to a hilarious mash-up of pet and vegetable characters by the inimitable illustrator Sophie Corrigan Written in delightful, giggle-inducing, rhyming text Eye-catching cover features spot gloss and embossing

Dealing with Dating and Romance

Dealing with Dating and Romance

Author: H W Poole Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Ask First, Monkey!

Ask First, Monkey!

Author: Juliet Clare Bell Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/07/2020

Meet Monkey. Tickletastic Monkey. He's the best tickler in the world, ever; even his mum says so. And there's nothing he loves more than tickling ALL his friends at playtime! But what happens if some of his friends don't want to be tickled? This picture book shows children aged 3-6 what consent is and why it's so important. With parent and teacher guidance included, it is an ideal resource to use in the classroom to help young children understand issues of consent and personal boundaries, and to teach them to consider the feelings of others. The book can be used in a variety of contexts - as an entertaining story, or as part of a lesson with the included guide for parents and carers - and its fun pictures and humour are guaranteed to keep the attention of young children across multiple readings. An ideal tool to encourage early understanding of consent, Ask First, Monkey! helps to empower children to respect themselves and others, and teach them that a reason for 'no' is never needed - it just needs to be respected.

Rainbow Road

Rainbow Road

Author: Alex Sanchez Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/07/2020

The 57 Bus

The 57 Bus

Author: Dashka Slater Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/07/2020

Winner of the Stonewall Young Adult Literature Award One teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both their lives forever. Two teenagers growing up in Oakland, California. One, Sasha, was born male but identifies as agender, wears skirts and attends a private school. The other, Richard, is an African American from a poor part of Oakland who attends a rough public school. They have no reason to meet, except for eight minutes every day, they catch the same bus home. And one day, messing about, Richard spies Sasha napping. He flicks the flame of his lighter to Sasha's skirt, and Sasha wakes up in a ball of flame. What happens next, as the victim, the perpetrator and the community struggle to come to terms with their sadness and shock, is a story of recovery, reconciliation, forgiveness and, above all, hope. It's about the power of being true to yourself, bravery and the good and bad in all of us. And, remarkably, it's all true.

The Green Ray of the Sun

The Green Ray of the Sun

Author: Reinhardt Suarez Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/07/2020

The Green Ray of the Sun

The Green Ray of the Sun

Author: Reinhardt Suarez Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/07/2020

Rainbow Revolutionaries

Rainbow Revolutionaries

Author: Sarah Prager Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/06/2020

One of Time Out's LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month, this groundbreaking, pop-culture-infused illustrated biography collection takes readers on an eye-opening journey through the lives of fifty influential queer figures who have made a mark on every century of human existence. Rainbow Revolutionaries brings to life the vibrant histories of fifty pioneering LGBTQ+ people from around the world. Through Sarah Prager's (Queer, There, and Everywhere) short, engaging bios, and Sarah Papworth's bold, dynamic art, readers can delve into the lives of Wen of Han, a Chinese emperor who loved his boyfriend as much as his people, Martine Rothblatt, a trans woman who's helping engineer the robots of tomorrow, and so many more! This book is a celebration of the many ways these heroes have made a difference and will inspire young readers to make a difference, too. Featuring an introduction, map, timeline, and glossary, this must-have biography collection is the perfect read during Pride month and all year round. Biographies include: Adam Rippon, Alan L. Hart, Alan Turing, Albert Cashier, Alberto Santos-Dumont, Alexander the Great, Al-Hakam II, Alvin Ailey, Bayard Rustin, Benjamin Banneker, Billie Jean King, Chevaliere d'Eon, Christina of Sweden, Christine Jorgensen, Cleve Jones, Ellen DeGeneres, Francisco Manicongo, Frida Kahlo, Frieda Belinfante, Georgina Beyer, Gilbert Baker, Glenn Burke, Greta Garbo, Harvey Milk, James Baldwin, Johanna Sigurdardottir, Jose Sarria, Josephine Baker, Juana Ines de la Cruz, Julie d'Aubigny, Lili Elbe, Ma Rainey, Magnus Hirschfeld, Manvendra Singh Gohil, Marsha P. Johnson, Martine Rothblatt, Maryam Khatoon Molkara, Natalie Clifford Barney, Navtej Johar, Nzinga, Pauli Murray, Renee Richards, Rudolf Nureyev, Sally Ride, Simon Nkoli, Storme DeLarverie, Sylvia Rivera, Tshepo Ricki Kgositau, Wen of Han, We'wha *A Junior Library Guild Selection*

LGBTQ+ Matters

LGBTQ+ Matters

Author: Matthew Anniss Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

What exactly does being lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender mean? How has the gay rights movement helped to change society's view of the LGBT community during the past century? What is it like to have same-sex parents? How do people come out to their friends? What is homophobia? Find out all this and much more. Using real-life case studies, this book gives sensitive insights into what it means to be LGBT in 21st century Britain.

Gender Explorers

Gender Explorers

Author: Juno Roche, Susie Green, Cara English, Jay Stewart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/06/2020

'I believe that children who are questioning and exploring their gender are the gender bosses that we all so desperately need. I believe that they are our future.' In this life-affirming, heartening and refreshing collection of interviews, young trans people offer valuable insight and advice into what has helped them to flourish and feel happy in their experience of growing up trans. Speaking openly and candidly about their gender, their experiences of coming out, their aspirations, and their fears - accompanied by interviews and support from their parents and carers - this book is beautiful proof of the potential for trans children to live rich and fulfilling lives when given the support and love they need. With their trademark candour and empathy, Juno Roche gives voice to a generation of gender explorers who are making gender work for them, and in the process, reveals a kinder, more accepting world, that we should all be fighting for.