LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Personal & social issues: drugs & addiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Personal & social issues: drugs & addiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Personal & social issues: drugs & addiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Personal & social issues: drugs & addiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Not Alone

Not Alone

Author: Frederic Martin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2020

Not Alone

Not Alone

Author: Frederic Martin Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2020

Why Is Mommy Acting Funny?

Why Is Mommy Acting Funny?

Author: Robert Sky Allen Ph D Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/01/2020

June, Into the Light

June, Into the Light

Author: P D Workman Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/12/2019

June, Into the Light

June, Into the Light

Author: P D Workman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/12/2019

The Liars

The Liars

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars. How can one family have so many secrets? Every year, summer begins when the Callahans arrive on Mariposa Island. That's when Elena Finney gets to escape her unstable, controlling mother by babysitting for their two children. And the summer of 1986 promises to be extra special when she meets J.C., the new boy in town, whose kisses make Elena feel like she's been transported to a new world. Joaquin Finney can't imagine why anyone would want to come to Mariposa Island. He just graduated from high school and dreams about going to California to find his father and escape his mother's manipulation. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Foundations of Addictions Counseling

Foundations of Addictions Counseling

Author: David Capuzzi, Mark D. Stauffer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/05/2019

A practical collection of tools and strategies for prospective addictions counselors that includes a solid foundation of research, theory, and history. Practical and comprehensive, Foundations of Addiction Counseling explores an array of techniques and skills that a new practitioner will need in the real world while providing a thorough review of the research, theory, and history of addiction counseling. With chapters written by expert scholars, this text covers many topics in depth often ignored by other comparable books, such as multiple chapters on cross-cultural counseling, professional issues in addictions counseling, the assessment of client strengths, gender issues in substance use, working in rehabilitation centers, and working with clients with disabilities. Combining practice, research, and theory, the 4th Edition of this unique text offers students the tools and strategies they need for successful practice. The revised edition includes new case studies, extended discussion in the chapters dedicated to substance and process addictions (Chs. 2-3), a thoroughly updated chapter on maintenance and relapse prevention (Ch. 13), and an expanded chapter on substance use and families (Ch 14). Also available with MyLab Counseling By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Counseling organizes all assignments around essential learning outcomes and the CACREP standards - enabling easy course alignment and reporting. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Counseling does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Counseling, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab Counseling, search for: 013516687X / 9780135166871 Foundations of Addictions Counseling plus MyLab Counseling with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 4/e Package consists of: 0135166934 / 9780135166932 Foundations of Addictions Counseling 013518455X / 9780135184554 MyLab Counseling with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- Foundations of Addictions Counseling, 4/e

Son Down, Son Up

Son Down, Son Up

Author: Brenda Seals Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/03/2019

Son Down, Son Up

Son Down, Son Up

Author: Brenda Seals Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/03/2019

High: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Drugs, Alcohol and Addiction

High: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Drugs, Alcohol and Addiction

Author: David Sheff Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/01/2019

From David Sheff, author of Beautiful Boy (2008), and Nic Sheff, author of Tweak: Growing Up on Methamphetamines (2008), comes the ultimate resource for learning about the realities of drugs and alcohol for middle grade readers. This book tells it as it is, with testimonials from peers who have been there and families who have lived through the addiction of a loved one, along with the cold, hard facts about what drugs and alcohol do to our bodies. From how to navigate peer pressure to outlets for stress to the potential consequences for experimenting, Nic and David Sheff lay out the facts so that middle grade readers can educate themselves.

Dark Man Set 3

Dark Man Set 3

Author: Peter Lancett, Helen Bird Format: Multiple copy pack Release Date: 01/01/2019

Dark Man is a hugely successful series for teens and young adults with very low reading levels. The gritty and mysterious books grip readers even though the text is limited. The sinister atmosphere and strong black-and-white illustrations entice even the most reluctant of teen readers. The dark tales have a 'grown-up' style which doesn't patronise the reader. Set Three provides a higher level of readers. The books can be read in any order and can be used just as great age appropriate reads for those new to the Dark Man or as progression from Sets One and Two. This pack contains the third six books in the series: Killer in the Dark Dying for the Dark The Day is Dark The Dark Candle The Dark Machine The Dark Words