LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abuse (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abuse (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abuse (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Personal & social issues: bullying, violence & abuse (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Autism, Bullying and Me The Really Useful Stuff You Need to Know About Coping Brilliantly with Bullying

Autism, Bullying and Me The Really Useful Stuff You Need to Know About Coping Brilliantly with Bullying

Author: Emily Lovegrove Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/05/2020

It's not always easy to stand out from the crowd, especially if you're a teenager. There's a lot of information out there on how to deal with bullying, but a lot of it is contradictory or seems like it won't work... But this guidebook is different! Helping you sort fact from fiction, the book looks at the different forms bullying can take and debunks commonly held myths such as 'bullying makes you stronger' and 'ignore it and it will stop'. You'll learn techniques to clear your mind so that you can respond to bullying situations calmly and confidently and be positive about who you are. Finally, it's packed with self-empowering strategies for coping with being autistic in a neurotypical world, and practical tips so you can handle any bullying scenario.

Roman and Iris A Story about Bullying

Roman and Iris A Story about Bullying

Author: Nancy Loewen, Elisa Paganelli Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/05/2020

Roman was having a great time at summer camp ... until he accidentally bumped into Iris. Every day Iris found a new way to trouble Roman until eventually Roman dreaded going to camp. Why is Iris being so mean and what should Roman do to stop it happening? Providing a picture book approach to PSHE topics, A Helping Hand helps children understand and cope with upsetting situations they might face. Bullying is difficult to deal with and A Helping Hand provides advice and guidance for both parents and children. Roman's story will enable children to talk about their own situation and express how they are feeling while notes for parents and teachers will help care-givers provide answers and support children in the best way possible.

Keep Your Cool: How to Deal with Life's Worries and Stress

Keep Your Cool: How to Deal with Life's Worries and Stress

Author: Dr Aaron Balick (Dr) Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Does life keep making you stressed, worried and unable to achieve what you want? Then this book is for you! Deal with bullying, family strife, exam panic and what it means to be you, as well as many other issues with Keep Your Cool. A vast selection of exercises, including yoga, breathing exercises and rationalising activities, will help you to stay focused and in control. Written by clinical psychotherapist Dr Aaron Balick, who has nearly 20 years in the field, this book draws on his experience with working with young people directly in schools, providing answers to real-life issues. By to building your life skills and resilience, this book will keep you cool, calm and collected in the modern world.

If These Wings Could Fly

If These Wings Could Fly

Author: Kyrie McCauley Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Mindy McGinnis, Kyrie McCauley's stunning YA debut is a powerful story about the haunting specter of domestic violence and the rebellious forces of sisterhood and first love. Tens of thousands of crows invading Auburn, Pennsylvania, is a problem for everyone in town except seventeen-year-old Leighton Barnes. For Leighton, it's no stranger than her house, which inexplicably repairs itself every time her father loses his temper and breaks things. Leighton doesn't have time for the crows-it's her senior year, and acceptance to her dream college is finally within reach. But grabbing that lifeline means abandoning her sisters, a choice she's not ready to face. With her father's rage worsening and the town in chaos over the crows, Leighton allows herself a chance at happiness with Liam, her charming classmate, even though falling in love feels like a revolutionary act. Balancing school, dating, and survival under the shadow of sixty thousand feathered wings starts to feel almost comfortable, but Leighton knows that this fragile equilibrium can only last so long before it shatters.

Questions and Feelings About: Bullying

Questions and Feelings About: Bullying

Author: Louise Spilsbury Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/04/2020

Picture book stories on tough topics handled with sensitivity and care Bullying can sadly affect many children and have a dramatic impact on their daily life. This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.

I Care About: My Friends

I Care About: My Friends

Author: Liz Lennon Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/04/2020

A charming non-fiction book that promotes a caring attitude, confidence, self-esteem and gives children a way to discuss emotions. The book explores topics such as what makes a good friend, best friends and friendship groups and explains what bullying is. It includes practical advice for making and keeping friends. The book is an ideal starting point for discussing friendship issues. It is part of a series 'I care about' for children aged 4+. The titles are: My Friends, My Planet, Animals, My Family, My Growing Brain, My Body. The illustrations by Michael Buxton are quirky and fun and are designed to inspire a child's imagination.

Coping with Bullying

Coping with Bullying

Author: Claire Throp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Have you ever had an argument with your friends? Have you been bullied before? If you haven't, perhaps you don't even know what bullying is. This useful book gives lots of information about bullying and falling out with your friends and how to deal with it. Characters Ali and Annie will guide you through the issues and give you advice and 'top tips', while Charlie the dog shows that he understands how you might feel.

Preventing Sexual Assault and Harassment

Preventing Sexual Assault and Harassment

Author: H W Poole Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Coping with Sexual Violence and Harassment

Coping with Sexual Violence and Harassment

Author: H W Poole Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Abuse Among Family and Friends

Abuse Among Family and Friends

Author: H W Poole Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

You Too? 25 Voices Share Their #Metoo Stories

You Too? 25 Voices Share Their #Metoo Stories

Author: Janet Gurtler Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/02/2020

A timely and heartfelt collection of essays inspired by the #MeToo movement, edited by acclaimed author Janet Gurtler. Featuring Beth Revis, Mackenzi Lee, Ellen Hopkins, Saundra Mitchell, Jennifer Brown, Cheryl Rainfield and many more. When #MeToo went viral, Janet Gurtler was among the millions of people who began to reflect on her past experiences. Things she had reluctantly accepted--male classmates groping her at recess, harassment at work--came back to her in startling clarity. She needed teens to know what she had not: that no young person should be subject to sexual assault, or made to feel unsafe, less than or degraded. You Too? was born out of that need. By turns thoughtful and explosive, these personal stories encompass a wide range of experiences and serve as a reminder to readers that they, too, have a voice worthy of being heard--and that only by listening and working together can we create change.

I Don't Want to Go to Justin's House Anymore

I Don't Want to Go to Justin's House Anymore

Author: Heather Classen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2020

Collin's mother doesn't understand why he is reluctant to go to his best friend's house. Justin's dad lost his job and can't find a new one. Unfortunately, he is taking out his frustration on his son. Once Collin's mom realizes that Justin is being abused, she and Collin decide to help his friend. For children aged 4 to 8.