LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Personal & social issues (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Zero to 60

Zero to 60

Author: Michael A. Tompkins Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/11/2020

High performance cars can go from zero to sixty in just a few seconds. Anger can feel a lot like that for teens. One minute they are calm, but the next, something sets them on a course to speed out of control. Getting to anger's edge too fast can get teens in trouble. Expert author Michael Tompkins offers tips and tricks to help stall anger and leave it by the side of the road. Teens will learn how to calm their body, derail thoughts that fuel anger and learn how to communicate and de-escalate situations.

Big Nan's Last Adventure

Big Nan's Last Adventure

Author: Alex Waldron Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/11/2020

Big Nan's Last Adventure

Big Nan's Last Adventure

Author: Alex Waldron Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/11/2020

Life Toolkit Pack A of 5

Life Toolkit Pack A of 5

Author: Louise Spilsbury Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 26/11/2020

The Life Toolkit series confronts the most pressing issues for today's teens and pre-teens. From family arguments to the risks of drinking and from teenage spots to making money, readers will benefit from sound advice and practical, up-to-date solutions to problems.

My Heart Underwater

My Heart Underwater

Author: Laurel Flores Fantauzzo Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Fans of Adib Khorram and Randy Ribay will love this coming-of-age debut about a Filipina American teen drowning under pressure and learning to trust her heart. My Heart Underwater is a lovely, magnificent wonder of a novel that will leave you with the rarest of tender heartaches: life-affirming, life-inspiring, life-loving; a heartache of joy and becoming. You won't walk freely, or willingly, from these pages. - New York Times bestselling author Marjorie Liu Corazon Tagubio is an outcast at the Catholic school she attends on scholarship. Her crush on her teacher, Ms. Holden, doesn't help. At home, Cory worries that less-than-perfect grades aren't good enough for her parents, who already work overtime to support her distant half-brother in the Philippines. After an accident leaves her dad comatose, Cory feels like Ms. Holden is the only person who really understands her. But when a crush turns into something more and the secret gets out, Cory is sent to her relatives in Manila. She's not prepared to face strangers in an unfamiliar place, but she discovers how the country that shaped her past might also redefine her future. This #ownvoices novel takes readers on a journey across the world as Cory comes to understand her family, her relationships, and ultimately, herself.

The Hero Handbook

The Hero Handbook

Author: Matt Langdon Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/10/2020

Heroes take chances, do hard things, and sometimes even change the world. To become a hero, kids can surround themselves with supportive people, boost their self-esteem and self-awareness, find their passion, and have the courage make things happen. This book shows them how to be the hero of their own story and discover their own hero journey. What makes a hero? Activists. advocates, allies, and friends. Sometimes heroes are our parents, teachers, or siblings. The truth is, heroes are inside everyone, and kids can and discover their inner hero, too!

Real Talk About Sex and Consent

Real Talk About Sex and Consent

Author: Cheryl M Bradshaw Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Sex is complicated. Like, really complicated. And as a teen, you need trusted resources to help you navigate sexual issues without shame, guilt, or judgement. But if you're like many teens, you may not have someone in your life that you can talk to openly about complicated sexual situations, and what consent really means-and this information is crucial for your health, safety and happiness. Real Talk About Sex and Consent is a comprehensive guide with essential information about setting boundaries, coercion, reciprocity, and communication. You'll also find hard facts about sex and trauma, the effects of pornography and cultural expectations, and much more. With this book, you'll learn how to make sexual decisions that honour your sense of values and cultivate rewarding and emotionally supportive relationships throughout your life. This book goes past simple definitions of sex and consent and explores the hidden pressures, misrepresented expectations, and realities of sex--and what to do about it all. It's time to get informed and take control of your sexual self. This book will give you the tools you need to make decisions that are right for you.

Afraid of the Dark

Afraid of the Dark

Author: Lucy Farfort, Isabel Otter, Sarah Shaffi Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Today we are moving house but my new room is strange and scary. I don't think I'll ever be able to sleep... A gentle first experience story about new beginnings, friendship and finding ways to cope with fear.

Our Uncles the Cruncles

Our Uncles the Cruncles

Author: Alex Waldron Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/09/2020

Our Uncles the Cruncles

Our Uncles the Cruncles

Author: Alex Waldron Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/09/2020

Dyslexia and Me (Mindful Kids)

Dyslexia and Me (Mindful Kids)

Author: Amy Rainbow Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/09/2020

This book is for dyslexic people. You can share this book with important people such as family and friends. The activities in this book explore what it means to be dyslexic. It is full of fun activities including colouring and drawing. The activities are designed for dyslexic people and their friends and family to enjoy. Some ideas might be useful to practice outside of the book in real life, every day situations. There is also guidance for parents and caregivers. Written by Amy Rainbow, a qualified teacher with lots of experience of working with dyslexic people and their families and caregivers. Amy is an Associate of the Dyslexia Guild.

A Girl's Guide to Being Awesome

A Girl's Guide to Being Awesome

Author: Suzanne Virdee Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/09/2020

Teenage life doesn't come with a rule book, so here is the next best thing. Let's face it: growing up is confusing. You're expected to get good grades at school, maintain an insta-worthy social life and somehow also hone a range of life skills which you definitely don't want to ask your parents about... This book is here to act as your go-to guide on everything from social media to sexting and from body image to self-esteem. Acting as your personal cheerleader, this book will teach you everything you need to navigate your teens with sass and style. Remember, there is nothing more awesome than being you.