LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Viking Invasion

Viking Invasion

Author: Stuart Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

I Was There... is a perfect introduction for younger readers into stories from the past, allowing children to imagine that they were really there. I Was There... Viking Invasion is an exciting account of a young boy helping to defend his village against fearsome Viking invaders. Brilliantly reimagined, readers aged 7+ will love this vivid first-hand account of a child's experience of the Vikings.

Alone in the Trenches

Alone in the Trenches

Author: Vince Cross Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

I Was There... is a perfect introduction for younger readers into stories from the past, allowing children to imagine that they were really there. I Was There... Alone in the Trenches tells the incredible true story of a young girl lost in the trenches and how the soldiers she met there helped her find her family. Brilliantly reimagined by My Story author, Vince Cross, readers aged 7+ will love this vivid first-hand account of a child's experience of WWI.

Boudica's Army

Boudica's Army

Author: Hilary McKay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

I Was There... is a perfect introduction for younger readers into stories from the past, allowing children to imagine that they were really there. I Was There... Boudica's Army is a fast-paced and fascinating account of a young girl in the Iceni tribe in AD 60. As Queen Boudica leads her people to march on Roman-occupied Colchester, young Kassy's beloved pony, Honey, is stolen away and taken towar. Will Kassy be able to find her and bring her home safely? Brilliantly reimagined, readers aged 7+ will love this vivid first-hand account of a child's experience of life in ancient Britain.

Tutankhamun's Tomb

Tutankhamun's Tomb

Author: Sue Reid Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

I Was There... is a perfect introduction for younger readers into stories from the past, allowing children to imagine that they were really there. I Was There... Tutankhamun's Tomb tells the thrilling story of a young Egyptian boy assisting Howard Carter's team of archaeologists in 1922 as they make a life-changing discovery in the Valley of the Kings. Brilliantly reimagined, readers aged 7+ will love this vivid first-hand account of a child's experience of one of history's most exciting archaeological finds. The perfect read for children intrigued by all things Ancient Egypt.

The Trenches (reloaded)

The Trenches (reloaded)

Author: Jim Eldridge Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

My Story: The Trenches is a thrilling wartime tale about the Great War. It's 1917 and Billy Stevens is a telegraph operator stationed near Ypres. The Great War has been raging for three years when Billy finds himself taking part in the deadly Big Push forward. But he is shocked to discover that the bullets of his fellow soldiers aren't just aimed at the enemy... Experience history first-hand with My Story in this all-new look!

Titanic (reloaded)

Titanic (reloaded)

Author: Ellen Emerson White Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

My Story: Titanic is the thrilling story of a young orphan on board the most famous sinking ship. Margaret Anne dreams of leaving the orphanage behind, and she can hardly believe her luck when she is chosen to accompany wealthy Mrs Carstairs aboard the great Titanic. But when the passengers are woken on a freezing night in April 1912, she finds herself caught up in an unimaginable nightmare. With the Titanic sinking fast, she must fight for survival. Experience history first-hand with My Story in this all-new look!

Lucky Button

Lucky Button

Author: Sir Michael Morpurgo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

A moving historical story inspired by the Foundling Museum, written by acclaimed children's author Michael Morpurgo and illustrated by Michael Foreman. From award-winning master storyteller Michael Morpurgo, author of the acclaimed War Horse, comes a moving historical story inspired by the Foundling Museum. A lonely boy struggles to cope with school bullies and caring for his mother, until a mysterious encounter reveals life in the Foundling Hospital in the eighteenth century and unravels a touching tale about the power of music. Beautifully illustrated by Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Michael Foreman.

The Great Plague (reloaded)

The Great Plague (reloaded)

Author: Pamela Oldfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

The Great Plague is a thrilling story of a young girl during the epidemic of 1665. It's 1665, and Alice is looking forward to being back in London. But the plague is spreading quickly, and as each day passes more red crosses appear on doors. When her aunt is struck down with the plague, she is forced to make a decision that could change her life forever... Alice's chilling diary brings alive one of the darkest moments in British history: the Great Plague of 1665-1666. Experience history first-hand with My Story in this all-new look!

Between Before and After

Between Before and After

Author: Maureen Doyle McQuerry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

A mother being dragged ever deeper into the icy waters of depression. A daughter who finds a devastating secret about a shadowy past buried in her mom's dresser. And the key to unlocking a long-hidden family mystery that could save or destroy much more than their two lives. Fourteen-year-old Molly worries about school, friends, and her parents' failed marriage, but mostly about her mother Elaine's growing depression. Molly knows her mother, who shuts herself off from human connections and instead buries herself in the lives and deaths of the strangers she writes about, is nursing her own carefully-kept secret. But in Elaine's raw and fragile state, Molly knows not to pry too deeply. Until her Uncle Stephen is thrust into the limelight because of his miracle cure of a young man and her mother can no longer hide behind other people's stories. As Molly digs into her mother's past, she finds a secret hidden in her mother's dresser that may be the key to unlocking a family mystery dating to 1918 New York-a secret that could save or destroy their future. Between Before and After is: A riveting YA story told in dual narratives during the flu epidemic in 1918 New York City and 1955 San Jose, California An historical coming-of-age novel about the complex bonds between mothers and daughters. Written by award-winning poet, novelist, and teacher Maureen McQuerry Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Laurie Halse Anderson

Queen's Champion

Queen's Champion

Author: Jessamy Taylor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2019

Following his hairsbreadth escape from his enemies at the end of King's Company, young William d'Amory is now in France enjoying a life of hunting and jousting as a close friend of Prince Henry of Anjou. He has put off completing his pledge to deliver a mysterious casket to the heir to an estate in Sicily - but his past catches up with him and he is forced to flee across France pursued by armed men. Once in Sicily he believes his duty - and the danger - will be over. But he finds the heir is a young girl every bit as spirited and willful as he is himself - and only by collaborating can they save their own lives and that of the Queen to whom they have sworn allegiance.

The Stalking Jack the Ripper Series Hardcover Gift Set

The Stalking Jack the Ripper Series Hardcover Gift Set

Author: Kerri Maniscalco Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2019

With writing hailed as masterful, engrossing, compelling, and marvellous, Kerri Maniscalco presents her wholly addictive and incredibly suspenseful, #1 bestselling mystery series in a complete gift set. Gorgeously packaged with an exclusive poster signed by the author, it's the perfect present for readers who love heart-pounding thrills, twists and romance. Stalking Jack the Ripper In this spine-chilling gothic murder mystery set in gritty Victorian-era London, a resourceful lord's daughter named Audrey Rose Wadsworth and her brilliant friend Thomas Cresswell find themselves inescapably embroiled in the investigation of a ghastly serial killer known as Jack the Ripper. Hunting Prince Dracula In this haunting sequel, Audrey Rose and Thomas uncover bizarre murders deep in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer...or has the depraved prince been brought back to life? Escaping From Houdini In their third harrowing adventure, Audrey Rose and Thomas find themselves aboard a luxurious ocean liner that becomes a floating prison of scandal, madness and horror when passengers are murdered one by one...with nowhere to run from the killer. Capturing the Devil In the shocking finale to the bestselling series, Audrey Rose and Thomas are on the hunt for the elusive, sickening killer known as the White City Devil. A deadly game of cat-and-mouse has them fighting to stay one step ahead of the brilliant serial killer - or see their fateful romance cut short by unspeakable tragedy.

Our Jacko

Our Jacko

Author: Sir Michael Morpurgo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/11/2019

A deeply personal and tender story of war, peace and those who are left behind. One hundred years after the war to end all wars, Jacko's descendants discover his notebook and the untold stories tucked in its pages. This war is a nightmare that one day I shall wake from and then forget. And if I don't wake, then you shall never know. I don't want you ever to know. No one seems to know where the scruffy tin hat came from - just that it is very old, from some war or other long ago. To young Michael and his family it has its uses today: as a child's toy, a feeding bowl for the hens, a hanging basket... Then Michael discovers that it belonged to his great-great-grandfather, Our Jacko , who lost his life at Ypres in 1915. As the boy digs deeper, he finds the young soldier's diary and learns more about his forgotten ancestor - husband, father, poet, actor - who died so tragically young. And it becomes clear exactly how Our Jacko should be commemorated.