LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

School stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from School stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the School stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great School stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

School of Roars: Monster Book Day

School of Roars: Monster Book Day

Author: School of Roars Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

It's time to go to the School of Roars! Join the monsters for a roarsome day. It's Monster Book Day and the monsters are having fun dressing up as their favourite book characters. But Icklewoo doesn't like her silly, frilly Cinderella dress. Can Wufflebump help her transform her outfit into something suitably monstrous? Brilliantly exploring first experiences and featuring themes of kindness, friendship and problem-solving, this School of Roars story is perfect for little monsters everywhere! Also available: School of Roars: Show and Tell, School of Roars: Bestest Friends and School of Roars: Icky Sticky Stickers

Get Me Out of Here 2

Get Me Out of Here 2

Author: Andy McNab, Phil Earle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Life has changed for Danny and his mates since surviving the horrors of their disastrous school trip. Footage of Danny zip-lining out of the most savage storm of the year went viral, making him, and the others, local celebrities. Next thing they know, Danny's whole class wins a prestigious award that celebrates bravery, and are flown out on an all-expenses-paid trip to a fancy resort in Iceland. The kids can't believe their luck. Their flight, the resort and all of the amazing things they get to do and see - it all seems too good to be true. Which is exactly what makes Danny suspicious...

Weird Little Robots

Weird Little Robots

Author: Carolyn Crimi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

An illustrated fantasy story with science themes; friendship and science bring tiny magical robots to life for nine-year-old Penny Rose! In a new town with only the robots she creates for company, it only takes a little bit of magic to change everything for nine-year-old Penny Rose. With her new friend Lark--an eccentric tinkerer herself--the promise of joining a secret science club and her newly sentient robots, Penny Rose can't imagine how she was ever lonely. But a fateful misstep means Penny Rose will have to choose between the club she's always dreamed of and the best friend she'd always hoped for. And in the end, it may be her beloved little robots who pay the price. A magical story of friendship, growing up and how our choices affect those we care most about.

The Unteachables

The Unteachables

Author: Gordon Korman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher-perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby's Last Day. The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can't read; Kiana, who doesn't even belong in the class-or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117. Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was shattered by a cheating scandal that still haunts him. After years of phoning it in, he is finally one year away from early retirement. But the superintendent has his own plans to torpedo that idea-and it involves assigning Mr. Kermit to the Unteachables. The Unteachables never thought they'd find a teacher who had a worse attitude than they did. And Mr. Kermit never thought he would actually care about teaching again. Over the course of a school year, though, room 117 will experience mayhem, destruction-and maybe even a shot at redemption.

TBH #3: TBH, Too Much Drama

TBH #3: TBH, Too Much Drama

Author: Lisa Greenwald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell. Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can't wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they're already making plans for the best summer ever-including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook. But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece's most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it's no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama-even if that means taking a break from her best friends.

Foul is Fair

Foul is Fair

Author: Hannah Capin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/01/2020

Fierce, vicious, and electric. If books had teeth, Foul Is Fair would have fangs. - Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of Last Girl Lied To An unapologetic feminist battle-cry that leaves you breathless and thirsting for vengeance. - Sonia Hartl, author of Have a Little Faith in Me Foul is Fair delivers the story of a girl who snatches control back from a world that stole it away, through whatever means necessary. - Sophie Gonzales, author of Only Mostly Devastated In the morning I put on going-out makeup, and I go to Nailed It with a coffee so hot it burns my throat. The old lady gives me new nails and looks at the bruises on my neck and the scratches across my face, but she doesn't say anything. So I point at my hair, and I say, This color. You know what it's called? She shakes her head: No. I say, REVENGE. Jade Khanjara and her three best friends rule their glittering LA circle. They decide how the party ends - every night but one. The night four boys spike Jade's drink, lock her in a room and brutally attack her. The night they try to ruin her. But they chose the wrong girl. Certain that the boys will face no consequences, Jade and her friends take vengeance into their own hands. There's no mercy left: and now Jade won't rest until she gets bloody satisfaction . . . An extraordinary voice-driven thriller with a heroine you'll never forget - perfect for fans of Killing Eve and One of Us Is Lying.

The Magic Violin

The Magic Violin

Author: Christine Platt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2020

Ana & Andrew are learning to play the violin! They are excited to join the youth orchestra. At first it is fun. But when they start to lose interest, Ana & Andrew learn from an important African American about the importance of practicing. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.

Maddie in the Middle

Maddie in the Middle

Author: Julia Lawrinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2019

Sloth to the Rescue

Sloth to the Rescue

Author: Leanne Shirtliffe Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

Sloth and friends teach kids how to combat first-day-of-school shyness in this humorous and heartfelt picture book. At the Rainforest Rescue Center, Sloth loves when Patti comes to visit. But when Patti forgets her class report, it's up to Sloth, with the help of his other (faster) rain-forest friends, to return Patti's notebook to her-at school! Will they be able to find her among all the other kids in a new environment? The first day of school can be scary-especially if you forget your summer assignment-but in Sloth to the Rescue, Sloth, Peccary, Boa, Capuchin, and Ocelot overcome their fears and realize that what makes them unique is what helps them fit right in!

Look Both Ways

Look Both Ways

Author: Jason Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/11/2019

Parents, siblings, teachers, coaches, nosy neighbours, babysitters - there's not much of your day that isn't dictated by someone else. Unless you walk home from school - walkers have independence - those fifteen-minutes from school to home, completely unsupervised. What waits for them is the mischief of curiosity, allies and enemies, a taste of freedom, and plenty of humour.

Our Emotions and Behaviour: Not Fair, Won't Share - A book about sharing

Our Emotions and Behaviour: Not Fair, Won't Share - A book about sharing

Author: Sue Graves Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/11/2019

Miss Clover has made a space station. Posy, Ben and Alfie must take turns to play with it. But Posy doesn't want to share, and everyone gets cross. Can the children learn to enjoy it together? This series introduces young children to different aspects of our emotions and behaviour. A fictional story is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk about, while a wordless storyboard encourages children to tell another story related to the subject, encouraging speaking and listening skills. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Yasmin's Hammer

Yasmin's Hammer

Author: Ann Malaspina Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019