LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

School stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from School stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the School stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great School stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

A Good Kind of Trouble

A Good Kind of Trouble

Author: Lisa Moore Ramee Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramee comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renee Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real.

My Weirder-est School #5: Mr. Marty Loves a Party!

My Weirder-est School #5: Mr. Marty Loves a Party!

Author: Dan Gutman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

With more than 23 million books sold, the My Weird School series really gets kids reading! Put on your party hats! It's time for a birthday celebration you'll never forget in this fifth book in the My Weirder-est School series. A.J. is turning nine! So he's inviting all his family, friends, and favorite teachers over for a backyard birthday bash. His parents even hire a popular party planner, Mr. Marty. But what happens when Mr. Marty accidentally orders rival clowns, a bubble blower, and even a singing cowboy to entertain guests? This will be one weird party! Perfect for reluctant readers and all kids hungry for funny school stories, Dan Gutman's hugely popular My Weird School chapter book series has something for everyone. Don't miss the hilarious adventures of A.J. and the gang!

Libby Loves Science

Libby Loves Science

Author: Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Cece Loves Science

Cece Loves Science

Author: Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life's most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out. This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions. Cece's parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask-do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun! Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and What Do You Do with an Idea?, and for anyone who loves to learn.

Max and Zoe's Very Best Art Project

Max and Zoe's Very Best Art Project

Author: Shelley Swanson Sateren Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

It's time for Max and Zoe to learn how to draw self portraits in their art class. But Zoe tries to draw too fast and can't get hers right. She needs to learn to slow down so she can finish her portrait in time to put it on the big canvas.

Max and Zoe Pack A of 6

Max and Zoe Pack A of 6

Author: Shelley Swanson Sateren Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

This delightful series features Max and his best friend Zoe. The terrific twosome learn lots of life's little lessons as they experience new places and adventures. Likeable characters and relatable experiences make this perfect for early readers!

Unicorn Academy: Phoebe and Shimmer

Unicorn Academy: Phoebe and Shimmer

Author: Julie Sykes Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Imagine a school where you meet your own unicorn and have amazing adventures together! That's what happens for the girls at Unicorn Academy on beautiful Unicorn Island. Following the purple tornadoes that threatened Unicorn Academy, and amidst reports of freak high tides, flooding and earth tremors, Amethyst dorm join the rest of Unicorn Academy on a field trip to the coast. But when Phoebe makes up a story to lead Alice on in her investigations of the floods, the dorm become very upset. How can Phoebe and Shimmer make up with the others and help to save Unicorn Island? Have you read the other Unicorn Academy stories? Sophia and Rainbow Scarlett and Blaze Ava and Star Isabel and Cloud Layla and Dancer Olivia and Snowflake Rosa and Crystal Ariana and Whisper Matilda and Pearl Freya and Honey Violet and Twinkle Isla and Buttercup Lily and Feather

My Big Mouth

My Big Mouth

Author: Steven Camden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2020

Funny and tender, My Big Mouth, Steven Camden's brilliant first novel for readers of 8 and over, is about storytelling, lies, friendship, family and the currency of cool, illustrated by Scott Garrett. 'They think I'm cool.' Dom's face wrinkled up, 'Who does? Who cares?' But I did. I cared. When Dad leaves, ten-year-old Jay has questions. Where has he gone? Why did he go? When no one can give Jay the answers he needs, he makes up his own stories, setting off a chain reaction that sees regular old Jay go from just another face in the crowd, to the centre of attention. But being the coolest kid in school comes at a cost. And as things spiral out of control, can the most unlikely person help him learn the most important lesson of all?

Princess Incognito: Nightmare at the Museum

Princess Incognito: Nightmare at the Museum

Author: NJ Humphreys Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/05/2020

When Princess Sabrina is sent away from her family, the king and queen of Mulakating, she must hide away in a dull, working-class town, living undercover to keep her blue-blooded identity secret. A school trip to a museum in the big city promises to be a welcome escape from Sabrina's big fat lie of a life. But when the museum guide hands the students a map, Sabrina's most terrifying fears are realised: There's an exhibition on her home country, Mulakating, and its royal family - her family! Her deepest, darkest secret could be revealed! In one long, breathless race around the museum, the secret princess must call upon her devious Uncle Ernie, her dopey friend Charlie and even Awful Agatha to keep the class away from the shocking truth.

Good Knight, Bad Knight and the Flying Machine

Good Knight, Bad Knight and the Flying Machine

Author: Tom (Illustrator and Author) Knight Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Cousins Good Knight (Godwin) and Bad Knight (Berk) are helping their friends Willow and Warrick and their families fix up their falling-down cottage. When Warrick botches a spell, he and his sister are banned from doing magic. Desperate for something to bring him fame and fortune, Warrick decides to build a flying machine. The friends' early test flights all end in disaster, so they travel to the mountains to study the best flyers of all - eagles. What they find there is a dragon with a dangerous grudge and very bad breath. Will they make the machine, tame the vengeful dragon and get back to Godwin's island in time to defeat marauding barbarians? Hold onto your helmets for a new armour-rattling adventure from Tom Knight!

M is for Autism

M is for Autism

Author: The Students of Limpsfield Grange School, Vicky Martin, Robert Pritchett Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2020

M. That's what I'd like you to call me please. I'll tell you why later. Welcome to M's world. It's tipsy-turvy, sweet and sour, and the beast of anxiety lurks outside classrooms ready to pounce. M just wants to be like other teenagers her age who always know what to say and what to do. So why does it feel like she lives on a different plane of existence to everyone else? Written by the students of Limpsfield Grange, a school for girls with Autism Spectrum Disorder with communication and interaction difficulties, M is for Autism draws on real life experiences to create a heartfelt and humorous novel that captures the highs and lows of being different in a world of normal.

My Friend Kaden

My Friend Kaden

Author: Erin Ondersma Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020