LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

School stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from School stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the School stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great School stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Maddie in the Middle

Maddie in the Middle

Author: Julia Lawrinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2019

Sloth to the Rescue

Sloth to the Rescue

Author: Leanne Shirtliffe Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

Sloth and friends teach kids how to combat first-day-of-school shyness in this humorous and heartfelt picture book. At the Rainforest Rescue Center, Sloth loves when Patti comes to visit. But when Patti forgets her class report, it's up to Sloth, with the help of his other (faster) rain-forest friends, to return Patti's notebook to her-at school! Will they be able to find her among all the other kids in a new environment? The first day of school can be scary-especially if you forget your summer assignment-but in Sloth to the Rescue, Sloth, Peccary, Boa, Capuchin, and Ocelot overcome their fears and realize that what makes them unique is what helps them fit right in!

Yasmin's Hammer

Yasmin's Hammer

Author: Ann Malaspina Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019

Saving Everest

Saving Everest

Author: Sky Chase Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/10/2019

From the outside, Everest has it all, but there's only one girl who can see him for who he truly is... High school senior Everest is the most popular guy in school. On the surface, handsome, wealthy and captain of the football team, but inside, desperately unhappy. Depressed and suicidal, he tries to take his life. Beverly is the exact opposite. Quiet, shy, and hard-working, she'd rather spend her time in the library, distracting herself from her less-than-perfect home life. Everest returns to school, in more pain than ever. Discarded by his friends and girlfriend, he is totally isolated. But when Beverly and Everest meet unexpectedly in a dusty corner of the library, together they discover how just how rich life can be - how love, tenderness and acceptance can change their lives forever... A sensitive, heartfelt #ownvoices love story about finding your inner strength, perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jennifer Niven.

Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)

Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)

Author: Liz Pichon Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The seventeenth laugh-out-loud, fully illustrated Tom Gates adventure! Tom's doing everything possible to stay out of trouble but somehow he's got THREE sad faces on the school achievement chart! And getting another sad face means Mr Fullerman won't let him go onthe SCHOOL TRIP! Moany Marcus Meldrew is making things worse and now Tom's annoyed his grumpy sister Delia. Can his best friend Derek help? Will Rooster the dog stop eating his homework? ABOUT THE SERIES: Written in diary form Full of Tom's doodles and pictures & his amazing sense ofhumour The Brilliant World of Tom Gates, was the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize! Perfect gifts for boys & girls who love to laugh themselves silly

Plans Gone Wrong

Plans Gone Wrong

Author: Molly Beth Griffin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Stella the Mouse, Nico the Toad, Delilah the Spider and Bo the Parakeet all love every child at school, so they decide to do something nice for the kids. After all, showing your love to your friends can feel really good. Unfortunately, none of their ideas seem to work out.

Party Time

Party Time

Author: Molly Beth Griffin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The last week of the school year is one party after another! Stella the Mouse, Nico the Toad, Delilah the Spider and Bo the Parakeet are animal best friends who live in a school, and they LOVE parties. The four friends are so excited to take part in the fun. But then, oh no! When the students get on the bus, the teachers all wave GOODBYE! They will be gone all summer long! How will the four friends make it until they see their human friends again in the autumn?

Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider

Cyborg Cat and the Night Spider

Author: Ade Adepitan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Ade loves playing football and he's amazing in goal, despite the heavy metal caliper he has to wear on his leg. He can save any ball that's sent his way, from any direction, so his friends have nicknamed him the Cyborg Cat. But when the Parsons Road Gang stumble upon some unusual graffiti it starts to have a really weird effect on Ade. Somehow, the art is drawing him into another dimension, where he really is Cyborg Cat! But that's not all - after seeing the Night Spider's art, Ade starts to feel weak and everything begins to go wrong. He's banned from a school trip to a safari park because of his disability, and the doctors have some bad news about his legs. How can Ade overcome his challenges and what power does the mysterious Night Spider have over Cyborg Cat? Ade needs all his friends' help to uncover the truth. An amazing adventure full of fun and friendship from the inspirational Paralympian wheelchair basketball star Ade Adepitan.

Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush

Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush

Author: Jane Cabrera Format: Board book Release Date: 01/10/2019

Backstagers and the Final Blackout (Backstagers #3), The

Backstagers and the Final Blackout (Backstagers #3), The

Author: Andy Mientus Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/09/2019

Based on the show-stopping graphic novels, the Backstagers return for more action-packed, paranormal theater adventures! The Backstagers are back for a thrilling third act! They've dealt with the ghost haunting their theater and faced o against the sinister siblings trying to steal the famous Designer's Journal during their production of Tammy, but now, a mysterious masked man has taken all the ancient theater artifacts that they've collected. They don't know what he wants or how to stop him-but the Backstagers will have to use all their skills and know-how to solve the mystery and save the day! Each Backstager brings their own unique skills to the team: Mischievious Sasha can always spare a smile; no-nonsense Aziz keeps everyone on task; over-caffeinated Beckett is organized like no other; flirtatious Hunter is their official stage manager and unofficial leader; sweet Jory can work his way through any problem; and clever Reo is an expert on all things spooky. Effortlessly inclusive and full of fun, The Backstagers and the Final Blackout is sure to get a standing ovation!

Pop the Bronze Balloon

Pop the Bronze Balloon

Author: Jackie Yeager Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/09/2019

The Crimson Five make their International Debut! Kia Krumpet and the rest of the Crimson Five team of young inventors embark on the Swirl and Spark Creativity Tour, where they're tasked with creating one final invention. But there's a catch. They must create one with the teams from France and Switzerland-an ultimate test of teamwork.

Icarus Was Ridiculous

Icarus Was Ridiculous

Author: Pamela Butchart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/09/2019

Izzy LOVES all the stories the Ancient Greeks told! She can't wait to tell her friends about Icarus, who was a TOTAL NUMPTY, and the Trojan Horse, which ended a war and wasn't even REAL! So pull up a plinth and enjoy all the DRAMA of the original Greek myths, as told by Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham, in collaboration with the British Museum. Now with even more SANDALS!