LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

School stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from School stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the School stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great School stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Princess at Heart

Princess at Heart

Author: Connie Glynn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2021

Return to the magical world of The Rosewood Chronicles in the fourth instalment of this gorgeous series for fans of The Princess Diaries and Harry Potter. Ellie is a rebellious princess hiding her real identity. Lottie is her Portman, acting as the princess for the public to shield Ellie from scrutiny. Jamie is Ellie's Partizan, a lifelong bodyguard sworn to protect the princess at any cost. Lottie, Ellie and Jamie are back for another year at Rosewood - but nothing will ever be the same again. They're still reeling from their discovery that someone rather close to home is leader of Leviathan - the group determined to take the princess down at any cost. Together they must piece together clues to Leviathan's evil plans. But this is far from simple - especially as an undercover Leviathan agent is now attending the school. Friendships are at stake, families must be reunited and hearts are at risk of breaking . . . --------------------------------------------------------------------------- Praise for Undercover Princess: 'With a fake princess, a rogue royal and fairytale twists aplenty, this is the start of a fun new series' - The Sun 'Once Upon A Time fans will love this new book' - Buzzfeed 'The book is a great example of friendship and bravery' - First News 'A fun blend of school story, adventure and mystery' - Week Junior

Scribble Witch: Paper Friends

Scribble Witch: Paper Friends

Author: Inky Willis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2021

A hilarious double-act like no other! Accidentally naughty nine-year-old Molly and Notes, the secret scribble witch who lives in her pen pot discover all things ancient Egypt, including a mysterious new friend. Molly often experiences some magic to brighten up her school day - thanks to Notes, the tiny paper witch who lives in her pen pot. Notes loves to help her friends ... though her helping often gets Molly into trouble with her grouchbag teacher! And when Notes decides to go with Molly on their school trip to the local ancient Egypt exhibition, Molly knows Notes is bound to get up to her usual tricks. Will Notes use her magic powers to help Molly sort out her best friends' problems? Who is Notes's secret paper friend? And what ancient treasure is the class going to uncover back at school? With a vibrant, unique voice, and amazing illustrations to match, Inky Willis conjures up magic for every reader! Have you read the first two books in the series, Notes in Class and Magical Muddles?

Princess at Heart

Princess at Heart

Author: Connie Glynn Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/02/2021

Return to the magical world of The Rosewood Chronicles in the fourth instalment of this gorgeous series for fans of The Princess Diaries and Harry Potter. Ellie is a rebellious princess hiding her real identity. Lottie is her Portman, acting as the princess for the public to shield Ellie from scrutiny. Jamie is Ellie's Partizan, a lifelong bodyguard sworn to protect the princess at any cost. Lottie, Ellie and Jamie are back for another year at Rosewood - but nothing will ever be the same again. They're still reeling from their discovery that someone rather close to home is leader of Leviathan - the group determined to take the princess down at any cost. Together they must piece together clues to Leviathan's evil plans. But this is far from simple - especially as an undercover Leviathan agent is now attending the school. Friendships are at stake, families must be reunited and hearts are at risk of breaking . . . --------------------------------------------------------------------------- Praise for Undercover Princess: 'With a fake princess, a rogue royal and fairytale twists aplenty, this is the start of a fun new series' - The Sun 'Once Upon A Time fans will love this new book' - Buzzfeed 'The book is a great example of friendship and bravery' - First News 'A fun blend of school story, adventure and mystery' - Week Junior

Have Trouble at School

Have Trouble at School

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2021

Revenge of the Sluts

Revenge of the Sluts

Author: Natalie Walton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Double standards are about to get singled out. As a lead reporter for The Warrior Weekly, Eden has covered her fair share of stories at St. Joseph's High School. And when intimate pictures of seven female students are anonymously emailed to the entire school, Eden is determined to get to the bottom of it. In tracking down leads, Eden is shocked to discover not everyone agrees the students are victims. Some people feel the girls brought it on themselves. Even worse, the school's administration seems more concerned about protecting its reputation than its students. With the anonymous sender threatening more emails, Eden finds unlikely allies: the seven young women themselves. Banding together to find the perpetrator, the tables are about to be turned. The Slut Squad is fighting back! Natalie Walton's empowering and sparky debut is a feminist mystery story - perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder and Netflix's Sex Education.

School Friendship Solutions

School Friendship Solutions

Author: Dara Oginni Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2021

Everybody thinks primary school is the easiest thing in the world. That the kids are sweet and all get along, that lessons aren't hard and everybody skips home having had the best day ever (until the following day anyway...) Boy, would they be surprised. Being the new girl can be hard. It sure feels that way for Amy Millison who starts at a new school and ends up in a world of drama as she finds herself at the attention of the mean girls. Join Amy as she tries to navigate through finding new friendships, understanding new lessons and learning how to deal with people who might just be misunderstood. Utterly relatable, full of warm humour and heart, this is an interesting story about a young girl who has to face the challenges of being a kid these days!

The Famoux

The Famoux

Author: Kassandra Tate Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

Fame can be deadly. Out of the wreckage of environmental collapse, the country of Delicatum emerged. Its most popular celebrities are the Famoux, uniquely beautiful stars of a reality TV show called the Fishbowl. In a world still recovering from catastrophe, they provide a 24/7 distraction. Sixteen-year-old Emilee Laurence is obsessed with the Famoux - they provide a refuge from her troubled home life and the bullies at school. When she receives an unimaginable offer to become a member herself, she takes it. Leaving behind everything she's ever known, Emilee enters a world of high glamour and even higher stakes. Because behind their perfect image lies an ugly truth - an anonymous stalker has been dictating the Famoux's every move, and being popular really is a matter of life or death. If the item details above aren't accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info. A thrilling dystopian take on fame and celebrity culture, perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins' A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes.

Vote For Effie (NE)

Vote For Effie (NE)

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2020. Join Effie Kostas as she fights to become Student Council President in her new school. With a campaign team of loveable misfits, she tackles the truly important subjects: gender imbalance outdated school conventions... and good-looking boys stealing the last slice of chocolate cake at lunchtime. A laugh-out-loud rallying call for switched-on kids everywhere.

Effie the Rebel

Effie the Rebel

Author: Laura Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Effie is changing the world, one classroom at a time. Dark forces are at work at Highworth Grange school: the student council has been taken over by a tyrannical villain with his own agenda. But Effie Kostas isn't about to stand by and watch democracy crumble! She's leading the resistance - but politics can be a dirty game and Effie will need to keep her wits about her as she faces down the enemy. With the help of her brilliant band of misfit friends, a bad-tempered parrot, and a former nemesis, can Effie save the school she loves before it's too late?

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse

The Worst Class in the World Gets Worse

Author: Joanna Nadin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

'HILARIOUS! Proper laughs!' Pamela Butchart 'Deliciously silly, with hilarious catchphrases, Joanna Nadin's The Worst Class in the World, illustrated with grubby glee by Rikin Parekh, is a great cheer-up book.' Guardian A brand new, laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin. Perfect for fans of Horrid Henry and the Trouble with Daisy series. According to head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt, 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at it. But Stanley and Manjit didn't LITERALLY mean to flood the toilets when they should have been monitoring the playground. And they definitely didn't LITERALLY mean to bring a penguin home from the zoo on their school trip. These things just happened even though they had a FOOLPROOF plan to get away with them.

Tiny and the 100th Day of School

Tiny and the 100th Day of School

Author: Cari Meister Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/12/2020

Celebrate the 100th day of school with Tiny in this fun 8x8 story! Everyone in Eliot's class has to bring in one hundred items as part of their 100th day of school celebration, but he doesn't have any ideas. Of course, Tiny has plenty! But when he follows Eliot to school to join the festivities, he winds up making a mess of things. How will he make things right again?