LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Get In the Game Set 2 (Set of 6)

Get In the Game Set 2 (Set of 6)

Author: Bill Yu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2021

Katie Flanagan, Lucy Andia, Isabella Clemente, Keith Evans, Artie Lieberman, and Tony Andia are best friends at Peabody Middle School. Join them as they learn about life and themselves through playing the sports they love! Titles include discussion prompts and a quiz and fun facts for the title's sport. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Bouncing Back

Bouncing Back

Author: Scott Ostler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Thirteen year-old Carlos Cooper is used to being the star of the team. Back in his old basketball league, he took every shot he possibly could--even if he had to steal it from a teammate--and he made every single one of them. But on his new wheelchair basketball team, he's back to being just one of the players--nothing special, nothing talented. But when his team's gym is closed down by the city, Carlos soon finds himself even more adrift. Without the gym, they can't practice, and if they can't practice, they might as well kiss their dreams of the State Championship goodbye. It's only by learning to work together--as a team--that Carlos and the Rollin' Rats will be able to save their gym. And it's only by learning what it takes to be a member of that team that Carlos will be able to fully embrace his new friends. With action-packed basketball scenes, plenty of humour, and lots of heart, this debut novel from a beloved sports writer is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

World Cup Heroes

World Cup Heroes

Author: David Bedford, Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

The Team have achieved everything Harvey had dreamed they would. They've won a silver trophy, medals, league titles, and they hold the Superstars Record. Harvey, though, has been having a new dream. In it, The Team are playing in the World Cup final... and they're winning! Can Harvey's impossible dream be about to come true?

Soccer Superstars

Soccer Superstars

Author: David Bedford, Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

The Team are on a high. They have just won the Superstars Record for the most unbeaten matches. It's one of the oldest records in the league. The problem is, the record is jinxed.

Football Rules

Football Rules

Author: David Bedford, Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

Harvey is having a bad match. It's too hot. The Team can't score. And then when they do, the Ref says it wasn't a goal. Harvey gets so angry he tells the Ref he isn't doing his job properly... Then Harvey gets his first ever Red Card. He has to leave the field. He won't be able to play in next week's Cup Final. And the worst punishment of all is - he has to go to Referee School!

Gordon's Game: Blue Thunder

Gordon's Game: Blue Thunder

Author: Paul Howard, Gordon D'Arcy Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Gordon is back for more mayhem and mischief in the second book in the laugh-out-loud Gordon's Game series! __________ Gordon D'Arcy - the only kid at school with a Six Nations medal hidden under his pillow! Though helping Ireland to win the Grand Slam feels like it was just a dream. Now, he's been given a brand new challenge - the chance to play for Leinster. After learning so many lessons playing for Ireland - including how to make a complete eejit of himself in front of millions of people - fitting in at Leinster should be a breeze. Right? Unfortunately, not. After his first training session, he sees why the team is mocked for being 'soft' (those stories about players wearing fake tan? All true!). Now he knows why so many people from Leinster support Munster. But Gordon settles down to work under an inspiring coach named Joe Schmidt. Joe promises that, with hard work, discipline and a bit of self-belief, Leinster can win the European Cup. Maybe another dream can come true!

Diary of a Golf Pro

Diary of a Golf Pro

Author: Shamini Flint Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Marcus is a maths whiz who is not good at sport. His dad is a self-help author who thinks Marcus can achieve anything he sets his mind to, with hilarious results. In illustrated diary format, Marcus's gentle, satiric humour and comic drawings will have readers laughing out loud while learning a surprising amount about sport.

Chasing a Rugby Dream

Chasing a Rugby Dream

Author: James Hook, David Brayley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Zayd Saleem, Chasing the Dream

Zayd Saleem, Chasing the Dream

Author: Hena Khan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Discover the struggles and triumphs of fourth-grader Zayd Saleem as he pursues his dream of being a basketball star in this bind-up of the complete middle grade series from the acclaimed author of Amina's Voice and More to the Story. Zayd Saleem has serious hoop dreams. He's going to be a basketball star. A legend. There are only a few small things in his way. For starters, Zayd's on the scrawny side and gets stomach aches when he's nervous. He has to convince his coach that he has what it takes to join his best friend Adam on the elite Gold Team. His mom and dad want him to practice his violin way more than his jump shot. Plus, it doesn't help that his older sister Zara is amazing at every sport she tries. But Zayd has a lot going for him, too. His grandmother is willing to supply him with all the mango milkshakes he wants. His grandfather has a few tricks up the sleeve of his velour track suit. And his favorite uncle keeps Zayd laughing, even if it's sometimes so hard he needs to pee. Zayd's family, combined with his friends, teammates, and his own determination, means he's got everything he needs to chase his dream. Will he reach it?

When Lions Were Kings

When Lions Were Kings

Author: Richard Bak Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/09/2020

During the 1950s, the Detroit Lions were one of the most glamorous and successful teams in the National Football League, winning championships in 1952, 1953, and 1957, and regularly playing before packed houses at Briggs Stadium. In When Lions Were Kings: The Detroit Lions and the Fabulous Fifties, journalist and sports historian Richard Bak blends a deeply researched and richly written narrative with many rare color images from the decade, re-creating a time when the Motor City and its gridiron heroes were riding high in the saddle. Representing a city at its postwar peak of population and influence, coach Raymond Buddy Parker and such players as Les Bingaman, Bob Hunchy Hoernschemeyer, Yale Lary, Joe Schmidt, Jack Christiansen, Jim Doran, Lou Creekmur, and Leon Hart helped sell the game to a country discovering the joys of watching televised football on Sunday afternoons and Thanksgiving Day. Quarterback Bobby Layne and halfback Doak Walker were celebrity athletes during this golden age of pro football-a decade when the game first started to replace its slower-paced cousin, baseball, as the national pastime. While the quietly modest Walker was a darling of Madison Avenue advertisers, the swaggering Layne became the first NFL player ever to grace the cover of Time magazine. Along with detailed profiles of the players, coaches, and games that defined the Lions' only dynastic era, Bak explores such varied topics as the team's languid approach to desegregation, the wild popularity of bubble gum trading cards, and the staggering physical cost players of the period have suffered in retirement. When Lions Were Kings is a lively portrait of the golden age of professional football in Detroit that will delight younger fans and inform die-hard followers of one of the NFL's oldest franchises.

A Milo No Le Gustan las Mananas

A Milo No Le Gustan las Mananas

Author: Sasha Graham Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/09/2020

Superteam

Superteam

Author: David Bedford, Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/09/2020

Harvey has spent his entire life savings on a pair of Armadillo Aces - the best soccer bots money can buy. But when Professor Gertie melts them, and rich kid Jackie Spoyle starts trying to buy up The Team, Harvey is desperate. He needs to play. He needs to keep The Team together. He needs boots - Now