LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Roy of the Rovers Fiction 4

Roy of the Rovers Fiction 4

Author: Tom Palmer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The smash-hit phenomenon reboot returns for an all-new second season!

Chessboxer

Chessboxer

Author: Stephen Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

'Gripping and surprising. I gulped it down' Sarah Crossan Leah Baxter is a genius. She's a few wins away from becoming a junior chess grandmaster, and her life is on course to achieve everything her mom and coach want for her. But Leah is at stalemate - grieving for her father, and feeling suffocated. She decides to make the ultimate sacrifice and quit chess. But chess doesn't want to quit her. Soon Leah discovers her new gambit: chessboxing, a dangerous hybrid sport which will test her body and mind to their limits. Can the pawn become the queen?

Legacy and the Queen

Legacy and the Queen

Author: Kobe Bryant, Annie Matthew Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/09/2019

From the mind of basketball legend and Academy Award-winning storyteller Kobe Bryant comes a new tale of finding your inner magic against all odds. GAME. SET. MAGIC. Game - Tennis means life and death for the residents of the magical kingdom of Nova, and for twelve-year-old Legacy, it's the only thing getting her through the long days taking care of the other kids at the orphanage. That's all about to change when she hears about Silla's tournament. Set - Silla, the ruler of Nova, hosts an annual tournament for the less fortunate of her citizens to come and prove themselves and win entrance to the Academy, where they can train to compete at nationals. The prize is Silla's favor and enough cash to keep open the orphanage, and Legacy has her heart set on both. Magic - What Legacy has yet to know is that the other players have something besides better skills and more money than she does. In Nova, tennis can unlock magic. Magic that Silla used to save the kingdom long ago and magic that her competitors have been training in for months already. Now, with the world turned against her and the orphanage at stake, Legacy has to learn to use her passion for the game to rise above those around her and shine.

Hooper

Hooper

Author: Geoff Herbach Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena. For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam's basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he's tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future. But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam's finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that's given him everything.

Zero to Hero

Zero to Hero

Author: Seb (Author) Goffe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Will is football mad. He practises every day and he's got great skills - but he's the shortest in his year. He knows he would be great on the football pitch, if only he could show the coach that skill can beat size. Will Will ever get a chance to play on the team? Zero to Hero is a football-filled adventure about determination, overcoming the odds and being a team player. Bloomsbury High Low books encourage and support reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, those with dyslexia, or those with English as an additional language. Printed on tinted paper with a dyslexia friendly font, Zero to Hero is aimed at readers aged 10+ and has a manageable length (64 pages) and reading age (8+). Produced in association with reading experts at Catch Up, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.

Atlantis United Sports Academy Book 1

Atlantis United Sports Academy Book 1

Author: Gerard Siggins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/08/2019

Five kids with one dream: to become the greatest sports stars in the world! Joe knows he has no chance of catching the mysterious scout's eye - he loves football, but he's by far the worst player in his club. Despite this, he's whisked away to a remote island and teamed up with four other kids: Kim, Craig, Ajit and Jess. But there's more to this island than meets the eye, as Joe learns it is home to the world's greatest Sports Academy. With the help of eccentric, genius coaches, he and his new friends are gradually transformed into serious players in their own sports. But the Academy's secrets are wanted by many others ... Is someone tracking them? Will Joe and Atlantis United escape the clutches of their mysterious pursuers? And can they possibly win their first big game deep in the jungles of Brazil?

Rugby Redzone Sports Academy Book 2

Rugby Redzone Sports Academy Book 2

Author: Gerard Siggins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/08/2019

Five kids with one dream: to become the greatest sports stars in the world! Follow Kim as she trains to be the best at her favourite sport: rugby! Kim has been at the best - and most mysterious! - sports academy in the world for a few months now. She and the rest of her class were selected because they all shared a determination and willingness to improve. Now the gang are on their way to Japan for the rugby World Cup - but they're going to need some more teammates. The best place to find them is another cutting-edge sports school like theirs. But is there another in the world? And can they form a team in time? Read all about Kim and her friends at Sports Academy where, with the help of eccentric, genius coaches, they are transformed into serious players in their own sports.

Patina

Patina

Author: Jason Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2019

It's not the taking part, it's the winning that counts for Patina! Patty, as she's known to her friends and family, has lost a lot in her life - her dad died when she was young, her mum has lost her legs and now she has to live with her uncle and his wife. On top of that Patty has to go to the poshest school that ever existed. Now her running team has become a relay team and independent I can do everything by myself Patty has to work with her team mates to win.

Driven

Driven

Author: Will Hallewell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/07/2019

The Greatest

The Greatest

Author: Alan Gibbons Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/07/2019

Great sporting title, packed with facts about Muhammad Ali. When Ali's bike is stolen by a local bully, he turns to the story of Muhammad Ali for inspiration - the greatest boxer of all time, inspiring the fight of Ali's young life. A brilliant read about standing up to bullies and overcoming the odds. From firm favourite Alan Gibbons. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 12+

Go-Kart Rival

Go-Kart Rival

Author: Jake Maddox Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

When Sheldon spends the day with his aunt, he has no idea he's about to enter the fast-paced world of go-kart racing. Sheldon's not keen on sports, but the combination of technical skill and adrenalin, along with an opposing bully, pulls him onto the track. Will Sheldon cross the finish line first, or will his dreams of go-kart racing break down?

Football Struggle

Football Struggle

Author: Jake Maddox Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

Liv's temper is causing problems, on and off the football field. When one outburst gets her kicked off the team, Liv knows it's time for a change, or she'll never lace up her boots again. Can she learn to control her temper and overcome this football struggle? With plenty of action and extra back matter materials including discussion questions and bonus football facts, this Teen Sport Story is sure to be a hit with any young athlete.