LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Kids' Sport Stories Pack B of 4

Kids' Sport Stories Pack B of 4

Author: Cari Meister, Cristina Oxtra, Nevien Shaabneh, Shawn Pryor Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 04/02/2021

New readers will cheer for this series of fictional sports stories made just for them. From the football field to the gymnastics floor, these early chapter books focus on learning skills, having fun and making friends.

Sport Stories Graphic Novels Pack C of 4

Sport Stories Graphic Novels Pack C of 4

Author: Jake Maddox Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 04/02/2021

Combining exciting sports stories with a dynamic graphic novel format, these fast-paced tales of sportsmanship and teamwork come to life in full-colour graphic novels. Supportive back matter, including comprehension questions, writing prompts and non-fiction sports info, helps young readers and sports enthusiasts step up their game.

Aim High

Aim High

Author: Shawn Pryor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Friends Kerry and Zack can't get enough of their favourite superhero, a bow-and-arrow-toting character named Brave Bowie. His magic arrows always save the day. But when the friends sign up for archery lessons, they soon learn that practice and hard work make real-life archers great in the sport, not cartoon tricks.

Basketball Buddies

Basketball Buddies

Author: Elliott Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Gregory dreams of basketball stardom, of being on TV and basking in the crowd's applause for single-handedly winning every game. When he signs up for a local youth team, however, Gregory gets a quick lesson in what it means to play a team sport. You can't win it all alone. You need your teammates!

Game Changer

Game Changer

Author: Tommy Greenwald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2021

Tommy Greenwald is the author of many books for children, including the Crimebiters! and Charlie Joe Jackson series. Greenwald is also the cofounder of SpotCo Advertising and the lyricist and co-writer (with Andrew Lippa) of John & Jen, an off-Broadway musical and book. To read more about Greenwald, visit tommygreenwald.com.

Ready, Set, Swim!

Ready, Set, Swim!

Author: Elliott Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2021

Sibling rivalry gets even more intense when twins are involved! Brothers and swimming team-mates Ty and Tristan have always tried to one-up the other, especially in the pool. When their competitiveness threatens to cost the team the big relay race, the swimming twins need to rethink, reset and work together to spur the team on to victory.

Ice Hockey Hero

Ice Hockey Hero

Author: Elliott Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2021

Grace loves the sport of ice hockey. Out on the ice, no one can touch her speed. But she can't shoot, and her frustration tempts her to quit the team. With help from her teammate Myles, Grace strengthens her skills. Then she leans on his encouragement when an injury takes him out of a playoff game and requires Grace to be the team hero.

Knockout

Knockout

Author: Sajni Patel Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/01/2021

A rising star in Muay Thai figures out what (and who) is worth fighting for in this #ownvoices YA debut full of heart. If seventeen-year-old Kareena Thakkar is going to alienate herself from the entire Indian community, she might as well do it gloriously. She's landed the chance of a lifetime, an invitation to the US Muay Thai Open, which could lead to a spot on the first-ever Olympic team. If only her sport wasn't seen as something too rough for girls, something she's afraid to share with anyone outside of her family. Despite pleasing her parents, excelling at school, and making plans to get her family out of debt, Kareena's never felt quite Indian enough, and her training is only making it worse. Which is inconvenient, since she's starting to fall for Amit Patel, who just might be the world's most perfect Indian. Admitting her feelings for Amit will cost Kareena more than just her pride--she'll have to face his parents' disapproval, battle her own insecurities, and remain focused for the big fight. Kareena's bid for the Olympics could very well make history--if she has the courage to go for it.

Slamdown Town (Slamdown Town Book 1)

Slamdown Town (Slamdown Town Book 1)

Author: Maxwell Nicoll, Matthew Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/01/2021

A boy's wish to be a star wrestler is granted in this wacky middle-grade fantasy Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their blood: Their mom was a pro whose dreams of stardom were dashed by a devious opponent. Now she's an overworked, underpaid ref at Slamdown Town, the local arena. Ollie's goal in life is to win the golden championship belt for his mom-immediately followed by his other goal: to hang his bully of a brother from the roof by his tightie-whities. But there's one problem: Ollie inherited their estranged dad's puny frame, while Hollis got their mom's brawn. Thus Ollie has resigned himself to a fate of wrestling mediocrity and wet willies . . . until the day Hollis gifts him a piece of stale gum and forces him to chew it. Ollie soon discovers that the gum-bought on eBay and formerly chewed by a wrestling legend- has an unusual side effect: the ability to physically transform Ollie into a pro wrestler. As Big Chew, Ollie's finally able to put Hollis in his place and be a star. But when trouble befalls his family, being Big Chew gets a lot more complicated. In the end, Ollie knows he can't have it all; and it's only when he asks himself who he really is that he learns what it means to be a champion.

Get In the Game Set 2 (Set of 6)

Get In the Game Set 2 (Set of 6)

Author: Bill Yu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2021

Katie Flanagan, Lucy Andia, Isabella Clemente, Keith Evans, Artie Lieberman, and Tony Andia are best friends at Peabody Middle School. Join them as they learn about life and themselves through playing the sports they love! Titles include discussion prompts and a quiz and fun facts for the title's sport. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.

Footy Dreaming

Footy Dreaming

Author: Michael Hyde Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/12/2020

Ben and Noah play on opposing teams in a footy-obsessed town. They each dream of playing on the G and this is their make or break season. Tensions rise as sledging goes too far. Will Noah lose his cool, and his chance, in the face of prejudice? Will Ben reject racism and forge his own path? Noah and Ben have the potential to play in the AFL. Its up to each of them whether they make it.

Bouncing Back

Bouncing Back

Author: Scott Ostler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Thirteen year-old Carlos Cooper is used to being the star of the team. Back in his old basketball league, he took every shot he possibly could--even if he had to steal it from a teammate--and he made every single one of them. But on his new wheelchair basketball team, he's back to being just one of the players--nothing special, nothing talented. But when his team's gym is closed down by the city, Carlos soon finds himself even more adrift. Without the gym, they can't practice, and if they can't practice, they might as well kiss their dreams of the State Championship goodbye. It's only by learning to work together--as a team--that Carlos and the Rollin' Rats will be able to save their gym. And it's only by learning what it takes to be a member of that team that Carlos will be able to fully embrace his new friends. With action-packed basketball scenes, plenty of humour, and lots of heart, this debut novel from a beloved sports writer is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.