LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Sporting stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Bouncing Back

Bouncing Back

Author: Scott Ostler Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/11/2019

Thirteen year-old Carlos Cooper is used to being the star of the team. Back in his old basketball league, he took every shot he possibly could - even if he had to steal it from a teammate - and he made every single one of them. But on his new wheelchair basketball team, he's back to being just one of the players - nothing special, nothing talented. But when his team's gym is closed down by the city, Carlos soon finds himself even more adrift. Without the gym, they can't practice and if they can't practice, they might as well kiss their dreams of the State Championship goodbye. It's only by learning to work together - as a team - that Carlos and the Rollin' Rats will be able to save their gym. And it's only by learning what it takes to be a member of that team that Carlos will be able to fully embrace his new friends. With action-packed basketball scenes, plenty of humour and lots of heart, this debut novel from a beloved sports writer is perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

Gordon's Game

Gordon's Game

Author: Paul Howard, Gordon D'Arcy Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/10/2019

A rugby-mad boy. A huge game. And a chance for an epic win ... or an epic fail! Gordon D'Arcy is an ordinary boy, but he's not so ordinary once he gets a rugby ball in his hands. He's the star player for Wexford Wanderers and dreams of one day wearing the Ireland jersey. A dream like that means hard work, raw talent and never losing sight of your goals. But Gordon has a wild streak that often lands him in trouble. Mum and Dad think that if he can just channel his energy, all will be well. Then something utterly mad happens and he gets a chance to live his biggest dream. Can he stay on his game and do everyone proud? Or will trouble follow him ... like it usually does? Gordon's Game is a funny and inspiring adventure for rugby lovers of all ages!

The Hike

The Hike

Author: Alison Farrell Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/10/2019

With lyrical language that captures the majesty of the natural world coupled with fun narrative featured throughout, this spirited picture book tells the victorious story of three girls' friendship-and their tribulations and triumphs in the great outdoors. Here is the best and worst of any hike: from picnics to puffing and panting, deer-sighting to detours. Featuring a glossary, a sketchbook by one of the characters, abundant labels throughout, and scientific backmatter, this book is a must-have for budding scientists, best friends, and all adventurers. And it proves, as if proof were needed, what epic things can happen right in your own backyard.

Chessboxer

Chessboxer

Author: Stephen Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

'Gripping and surprising. I gulped it down' Sarah Crossan Leah Baxter is a genius. She's a few wins away from becoming a junior chess grandmaster, and her life is on course to achieve everything her mom and coach want for her. But Leah is at stalemate - grieving for her father, and feeling suffocated. She decides to make the ultimate sacrifice and quit chess. But chess doesn't want to quit her. Soon Leah discovers her new gambit: chessboxing, a dangerous hybrid sport which will test her body and mind to their limits. Can the pawn become the queen?

Roy of the Rovers Fiction 4

Roy of the Rovers Fiction 4

Author: Tom Palmer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Roy Race is living the dream. After a whirlwind season that saw him become centre forward for his beloved Melchester Rovers and score a bagful of goals, helping them secure promotion into League One, he's now recognised as one of the best young footballers in the country. But something strange is afoot. As Rovers head off on a pre-season tour, Roy's treated differently, and kept apart from the team. What's going on, and why are Rovers bringing in new players? With his family life hitting a rough patch and everything in flux at Mel Park, it's time for Roy of the Rovers to fight for his team, his family - and his career in football... This fourth volume of the smash-hit phenomenon reboot sees the start of an all-new second season!

Hooper

Hooper

Author: Geoff Herbach Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

From Geoff Herbach, the critically acclaimed author of the Stupid Fast series, comes a compelling new YA novel about basketball, prejudice, privilege, and family, perfect for fans of Jordan Sonnenblick, Andrew Smith, and Matt de la Pena. For Adam Reed, basketball is a passport. Adam's basketball skills have taken him from an orphanage in Poland to a loving adoptive mother in Minnesota. When he's tapped to play on a select AAU team along with some of the best players in the state, it just confirms that basketball is his ticket to the good life: to new friendships, to the girl of his dreams, to a better future. But life is more complicated off the court. When an incident with the police threatens to break apart the bonds Adam's finally formed after a lifetime of struggle, he must make an impossible choice between his new family and the sport that's given him everything.

Cyfres Academi Pel-Droed: Taro Nol

Cyfres Academi Pel-Droed: Taro Nol

Author: Tom Palmer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/09/2019

Rugby Redzone Sports Academy Book 2

Rugby Redzone Sports Academy Book 2

Author: Gerard Siggins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/09/2019

Five kids with one dream: to become the greatest sports stars in the world! Follow Kim as she trains to be the best at her favourite sport: rugby! Kim has been at the best - and most mysterious! - sports academy in the world for a few months now. She and the rest of her class were selected because they all shared a determination and willingness to improve. Now the gang are on their way to Japan for the rugby World Cup - but they're going to need some more teammates. The best place to find them is another cutting-edge sports school like theirs. But is there another in the world? And can they form a team in time? Read all about Kim and her friends at Sports Academy where, with the help of eccentric, genius coaches, they are transformed into serious players in their own sports.

Football Fiesta Sports Academy Book 1

Football Fiesta Sports Academy Book 1

Author: Gerard Siggins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/09/2019

Five kids with one dream: to become the greatest sports stars in the world! Joe knows he has no chance of catching the mysterious scout's eye - he loves football, but he's by far the worst player in his club. Despite this, he's whisked away to a remote island and teamed up with four other kids: Kim, Craig, Ajit and Jess. But there's more to this island than meets the eye, as Joe learns it is home to the world's greatest Sports Academy. With the help of eccentric, genius coaches, he and his new friends are gradually transformed into serious players in their own sports. But the Academy's secrets are wanted by many others ... Is someone tracking them? Will Joe and Atlantis United escape the clutches of their mysterious pursuers? And can they possibly win their first big game deep in the jungles of Brazil?

Zero to Hero

Zero to Hero

Author: Seb (Author) Goffe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Will is football mad. He practises every day and he's got great skills - but he's the shortest in his year. He knows he would be great on the football pitch, if only he could show the coach that skill can beat size. Will Will ever get a chance to play on the team? Zero to Hero is a football-filled adventure about determination, overcoming the odds and being a team player. Bloomsbury High Low books encourage and support reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, those with dyslexia, or those with English as an additional language. Printed on tinted paper with a dyslexia friendly font, Zero to Hero is aimed at readers aged 10+ and has a manageable length (64 pages) and reading age (8+). Produced in association with reading experts at Catch Up, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.

Legacy and the Queen

Legacy and the Queen

Author: Kobe Bryant, Annie Matthew Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2019

From the mind of basketball legend and Academy Award-winning storyteller Kobe Bryant comes a new tale of finding your inner magic against all odds. GAME. SET. MAGIC. Game - Tennis means life and death for the residents of the magical kingdom of Nova, and for twelve-year-old Legacy, it's the only thing getting her through the long days taking care of the other kids at the orphanage. That's all about to change when she hears about Silla's tournament. Set - Silla, the ruler of Nova, hosts an annual tournament for the less fortunate of her citizens to come and prove themselves and win entrance to the Academy, where they can train to compete at nationals. The prize is Silla's favor and enough cash to keep open the orphanage, and Legacy has her heart set on both. Magic - What Legacy has yet to know is that the other players have something besides better skills and more money than she does. In Nova, tennis can unlock magic. Magic that Silla used to save the kingdom long ago and magic that her competitors have been training in for months already. Now, with the world turned against her and the orphanage at stake, Legacy has to learn to use her passion for the game to rise above those around her and shine.

Letas Play Soccer!

Letas Play Soccer!

Author: Giuliano Ferri Format: Board book Release Date: 01/09/2019