LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Lulu the Llamacorn

Lulu the Llamacorn

Author: Rosina Mirabella Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Be glamorous YOU! This charming self-love picture book includes over 40 stickers. Lulu is a llamacorn, which means she's half llama, half unicorn, and 100% glamorous magic. Lulu is also 100% sure that she's the most glamorous creature in all of Magic of Meadows...until she spots a mermaid with a shiny, sparkly, shimmery tail. Lulu decides she must have one of those in order to protect her title as most glamorous. With some help from her best friend, Karen the Flower Fairy, Lulu learns what it truly takes to make her glamour wishes come true. Lulu the Llamacorn will remind everyone who meets her to let their own magic shine!

Daisy and the Trouble with School Trips

Daisy and the Trouble with School Trips

Author: Kes Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Another hilarious DAISY adventure from the bestselling author behind the OI FROG series. Daisy is going on a school trip to Bobbington Hall, with lots of other children and few teachers. There'll be suits of armour, there'll be olden toilets and there may even be secret passages. Trouble is, can anyone find them? And what happens if they do? The perfect, laugh-out-loud adventure for readers 6+

Totally Epic! Burp! Monster! Disco!

Totally Epic! Burp! Monster! Disco!

Author: Alan MacDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

A Dirty Bertie collection to delight everyone who revels in his revolting ways! Enjoy the comic capers of Dirty Bertie - the world's grubbiest trouble magnet - in this bumper book of nine revolting stories from BURP!, MONSTER! and DISCO! DIRTY BERTIE is a hugely popular series featuring the character created by David Roberts and written by Alan MacDonald. With each hilarious story split into bitesize chapters, DIRTY BERTIE is ideal for building reading confidence.

Jonathan Meres Untitled 1

Jonathan Meres Untitled 1

Author: Jonathan Meres Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Opie Jones Talks to Animals

Opie Jones Talks to Animals

Author: Nat Luurtsema Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, Charlie Changes into a Chicken, My Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl 10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don't count the cat that gives her funny looks from next door (which she doesn't). So she is naturally very surprised when she is recruited to join The Resistance - a team of superheroes who can read minds, and have a dastardly brainwashing villain to defeat. HOWEVER... it turns out Opie can't read human minds, she can read ANIMAL ones. The other members of the Resistance are very disappointed. And a whole world of animal chat and demands is opening up to her. She's still a superhero, just one on her hands and knees in the mud, chatting to a pedantic worm. But when the Resistance find themselves captured, it might just be that listening to all the creatures great and small is what makes Opie Jones the right person to save the world.

The Naughtiest Unicorn on the Beach

The Naughtiest Unicorn on the Beach

Author: Pip Bird Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Blow up your inflatable, apply the factor 50 and polish those sunnies... Mira and Dave the naughtiest unicorn are going to the BEACH! Mira can't wait to build a GIANT sandcastle (although Dave is more interested in eating a GIANT GLITTERY ICE-CREAM). But when Mira and her Unicorn School friends go exploring and spot a little narwhal in BIG trouble, the fun day out turns into a super-adventurous rescue mission... it's Dave and Mira to the RESCUE! Pip Bird is a children's author living in London. When she's not writing magical stories, she dreams of going to Unicorn School and having her own Unicorn Best Friend Forever. The Naughtiest Unicorn series: The Naughtiest Unicorn The Naughtiest Unicorn at Sports Day The Naughtiest Unicorn and the School Disco The Naughtiest Unicorn at Christmas The Naughtiest Unicorn on a School Trip The Naughtiest Unicorn on the Beach The Naughtiest Unicorn and the Spooky Surprise Perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, The Adventures of Pug and Pamela Butchart

Squishy McFluff: On with the Show

Squishy McFluff: On with the Show

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

'In a change to our scheduled programme tonight, I proudly present, for your joy and delight . . .' (in the glare of the bulbs, Ava tipped her tall hat) 'AMAZING AVA! AAAAAAND . . . HER INVISIBLE CAT!' Ava and Squishy are going to see the circus, but when one of the acts doesn't turn up they must perform in his place! Another joyful, hilarious, instant classic of a tale for five year olds and upwards, stunningly illustrated by Ella Okstad.

Eric and the Voice of Doom

Eric and the Voice of Doom

Author: Barbara Mitchelhill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

Eric is stressed out! A new baby in the family is bad enough - but this baby is seriously weird. He soon discovers why. His crazy Auntie Rose has sent a present from South America which has incredible powers. But how can Eric get hold of it before the baby goes too far?

The Horrifyingly Haunted Hack-A-Ween (The Epic Tales of Captain Underpants TV: Comic Reader)

The Horrifyingly Haunted Hack-A-Ween (The Epic Tales of Captain Underpants TV: Comic Reader)

Author: Meredith Rusu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

Captain Underpants's spookiest - and stretchiest - adventure yet! George Beard and Harold Hutchins are back in a new Halloween adventure! Piqua's biggest pranksters are getting ready for the best holiday ever - Halloween, of course. But their dreams of costumes, candy and haunted houses go down the drain when Mr Krupp and Melvin start a campaign to make Halloween illegal! That's when George and Harold come up with HACK-A-WEEN, a totally legal spin-off of Halloween. But will disguises, hack-o'-lanterns and sneak-or-snacking fill the pumpkin-shaped holes in their lives? Find out in this comic reader based on the Hack-A-Ween episode of the hit Netflix show.

Veg Patch Party

Veg Patch Party

Author: Clare Foges Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

The vegetables start waking up They stretch and rise and shine - They set up lots of stages, Cos it's VEGGIE PARTY time! Mud, rain, vegetables. A winning combination from the team behind the bestselling Kitchen Disco!

The Bolds Go Wild

The Bolds Go Wild

Author: Julian Clary Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

The Bolds are very surprised to be visited by Fred's mother, Granny Imamu. She's travelled all the way from the Serengeti, and now she's here, she does not approve of what she finds. Hyenas, living as people - whatever next! Granny Imamu starts to stir up mischief with the twins, encouraging them to get in touch with their beastly side at school. And then the twins' teacher comes to the Bolds with a rather unusual problem: her grown-up son Jeffrey just isn't like other people. He's rather hairy, doesn't much like to talk, and loves to monkey about. If animals can become people, could it happen the other way around . . . ?

The Summer I Robbed A Bank

The Summer I Robbed A Bank

Author: David O'Doherty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

Rex's parents have split up, he's about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island - with lots of unruly sheep for company. The only upside: he'll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm. Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet - to rob the island's travelling bank! Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O'Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island. And he needs Rex's help . . . A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams. Praise for David O'Doherty's Danger is Everywhere series: 'I dislocated my jaw laughing' Eoin Colfer 'Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid' The Times 'Brilliantly funny' Gransnet