LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man

Author: Michael Chabon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Awesome Man can shoot positronic rays out of his eyeballs, fly as straight as an arrow, and hug mutant Jell-O! Even villains like Professor Von Evil and the Flaming Eyeball are no match for this caped crusader. But Awesome Man also has a secret. . . . Can you guess what it is? The first picture book from Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Michael Chabon perfectly captures the fantasy life of young superhero fans. A great gift for the superhero obsessed, this book also models for kids a fun way to deal with their emotions-by being positronic!

Awesome Man: The Mystery Intruder

Awesome Man: The Mystery Intruder

Author: Michael Chabon Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Awesome Man, our favorite superhero, is back, and in this fantastic sequel from New York Times bestselling author Michael Chabon, he must prepare for his greatest threat yet! Awesome Man's secret identity has stayed safe, and he's still the coolest superhero around. He loves protecting the people of Awesome City from evildoers, like the giant Plutonian octolizard, with his trusty sidekick, Moskowitz. But there have been reports that a new hero is coming to town soon. What if the people of Awesome City no longer need Awesome Man? With 40 pages of awesome text and illustrations, this book is a great gift for the superhero-obsessed and any kid adjusting to life with a new sibling!

LEO, Inventor Extraordinaire

LEO, Inventor Extraordinaire

Author: Luke Xavier Cunningham Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Really Stupid Stories for Really Smart Kids

Really Stupid Stories for Really Smart Kids

Author: Alan Katz Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

For fans of Rob Elliott and Jon Scieska, this collection of ridiculous stories will have readers rolling on the floor with laughter. A collection of twenty outrageously funny short stories for younger middle grade readers, Really Stupid Stories for Really Smart Kids is full of puns, bad jokes, and tall tales that will have you rolling on the floor with laughter. From snowpeople falling from the sky to a boy who only communicates through singing, there's a story for every fan of Alan Katz's signature humor.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Author: Jeff Kinney Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/10/2020

In The Deep End, book 15 of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney, Greg Heffley and his family hit the road for a cross-country camping trip, ready for the adventure of a lifetime. But things take an unexpected turn, and they find themselves stranded at an RV park that's not exactly a summertime paradise. When the skies open up and the water starts to rise, the Heffleys wonder if they can save their vacation - or if they're already in too deep. And don't miss Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure, an all-new fantasy from Greg's best friend - the follow-up to the instant #1 bestseller Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)

Author: Jeff Kinney Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/10/2020

In The Deep End, book 15 of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series from #1 international bestselling author Jeff Kinney, Greg Heffley and his family hit the road for a cross-country camping trip, ready for the adventure of a lifetime. But things take an unexpected turn, and they find themselves stranded at an RV park that's not exactly a summertime paradise. When the skies open up and the water starts to rise, the Heffleys wonder if they can save their vacation - or if they're already in too deep. And don't miss Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure, an all-new fantasy from Greg's best friend - the follow-up to the instant #1 bestseller Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal.

The 130-Storey Treehouse

The 130-Storey Treehouse

Author: Andy Griffiths Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/10/2020

There are lots of laughs at every level in The 130-Storey Treehouse, the tenth amazing book in the number one bestselling Treehouse series. Andy and Terry have added another thirteen levels of crazy fun to their every-growing treehouse. Join millions of readers worldwide in this wacky new adventure - a laugh-out-loud story told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations in a shiny 10th book special edition! With 130 amazing levels to discover in the Treehouse series and a World of Treehouse Activity series too, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

The 130-Storey Treehouse

The 130-Storey Treehouse

Author: Andy Griffiths Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/10/2020

There are lots of laughs at every level in The 130-Storey Treehouse, the tenth book in the number one bestselling Treehouse series from Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton. Andy and Terry have added another thirteen levels of crazy fun to their ever-growing treehouse. Join the adventure in this laugh-out-loud story told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations. With 130 amazing levels to discover in the Treehouse series, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom

The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom

Author: Colleen AF Venable Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2020

No matter where you are, you can find the perfect instrument and join this band! A winning pick for young readers who adore books by Jory John, Mac Barnett, and Christian Robinson. The band director knows everything about all the instruments, and he can't wait to help find the perfect one for you. But an irrepressible young girl keeps interrupting with enthusiastic BOOM BOOM BOOMS on her drum. At least until the band director introduces one instrument that's even louder. This laugh-out-loud picture book from National Book Award-longlisted author Colleen AF Venable is packed with boundless energy and giggle-worthy jokes-as well as information about eight instruments commonly played in school bands. Illustrator Lian Cho's exuberant artwork matches the text note for note and practically leaps off the page. This joyous picture book will leave young readers eager to pick up an instrument and learn how to play! The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom celebrates music and will entertain young readers in the home and classroom alike. Each child in the band is inspired by a real-life musician, and biographies are included at the end of the book.

Claude at the Palace

Claude at the Palace

Author: Alex T. Smith Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Meet Claude, the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior and ITVBe. Claude and Sir Bobblysock just happen to wander accidentally into the royal palace on a very special day indeed - the Queen's birthday! Unfortunately the royal nanny, Nanny Stern-Bloomers, has had to take herself off for a lie-down and there's no one to make sure the royal children stay neat and tidy for the big party. But . . . Claude and Sir Bobblysock could step in to babysit, couldn't they? After all, princes and princesses are always on their best behaviour . . . The tenth book in this hilarious bestselling series. Perfect for new readers and also great for sharing! Praise for the Claude series: 'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times 'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' Metro Claude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014. Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Squishy McFluff: On with the Show

Squishy McFluff: On with the Show

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

From the funniest voice in young fiction today, the seventh in this irresistible series for young readers about imaginary friends in hilarious rhyming text and with adorable illustrations by Ella Okstad. 'In a change to our scheduled programme tonight, I proudly present, for your joy and delight . . .' (in the glare of the bulbs, Ava tipped her tall hat) 'AMAZING AVA! AAAAAAND . . . HER INVISIBLE CAT!' Ava and Squishy are going to see the circus, but when one of the acts doesn't turn up they must perform in his place! Another joyful, hilarious, instant classic of a tale for five year olds and upwards, stunningly illustrated by Ella Okstad. 'A surefire hit.' Guardian 'Charming.' The Times 'Bound to ensure catisfaction.' Independent 'Cleverly bridging the gap between picture books and longer fiction, the lovable Squishy is certain to be a success with under-sevens.' BookTrust 'In delightful rhyme reminiscent of Dr Seuss, this charmingly illustrated book is bound to become a bedtime fave.' Gurgle

The Orphans of St Halibut's

The Orphans of St Halibut's

Author: Sophie Wills Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Unfortunate accidents, fishy villains and a very grumpy goat. Can these crafty kids outsmart the adults and save their home? Life has been perfect ever since the orphans of St Halibut's buried their matron - don't look like that, it was an accident! Tig, Stef, Herc, and Pamela the goat just have to make sure nobody finds out they're on their own. Discovering that an Inspector is on his way, they'll need to convince him that everything is peachy or they'll be sent to the Mending House - where badly behaved orphans go, never to return. But the Inspector is not quite what he seems and things very quickly go from bad to spectacularly out of hand . . . Stolen cakes, major explosions and an unforgettable cast of characters - dive into this hilarious caper from debut author Sophie Wills and million-copy bestselling illustrator, David Tazzyman. 'Stupendous and hilarious! Deliciously disgusting at times and filled to the brim with dark humour' Hana Tooke, author of The Unadoptables 'A fabulously funny tale of clever orphans, rambling houses, angry goats and grizzly ends' Kirsty Applebaum, author of The Middler