LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Just Annoying

Just Annoying

Author: Andy Griffiths Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

Is this the right book for you? Take the ANNOYING TEST and find out! 1) Do you ask 'Are we there yet?' over and over on long car trips? 2) Do you like to drive people mad by copying everything they say and do? 3) Do you hog the shower and use up all the hot water? 4) Do you enjoy asking silly questions that have no real answers? 5) Do you swing on the washing line whenever you get the chance? SCORE: One point for each yes answer. 3-5 You are a practical joking genius. You will love this book. 1-2 You are a good practical joker. You will love this book. 0 You are not a practical joker. You will love this book. Just Annoying is the second book in this hilarious series of stories about the world's most annoying practical joker - from the creators of the bestselling Treehouse series, Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton.

Sam Wu is Not Afraid of Zombies

Sam Wu is Not Afraid of Zombies

Author: Katie Tsang, Kevin Tsang Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

The brilliantly funny fifth book in the SAM WU series, starring the bravest scaredy-cat in the world! Perfect for reluctant readers and fans of Tom Fletcher, Pamela Butchart and Humza Arshad's Badman. There's hardly anything that Sam Wu is afraid of. Unless you count ghosts, sharks, the dark and maybe even spiders. But definitely NOT zombies. Except for actual real ones maybe. So when Sam's arch nemesis, Ralph Zinkerman the Third announces that he has zombie werewolves living in his basement, for the first time ever, Sam really isn't sure if he wants to be the one to save the day. Ralph has always been pretty mean to him and, well, just one little nibble from the zombie werewolves wouldn't hurt that much, would it? Common childhood fears dealt with in a hilarious, sensitive and accessible way. Also by Katie and Kevin Tsang: Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of Ghosts 9781405287517 Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of Sharks 9781405287524 Sam Wu is NOT Afraid of the Dark 9781405287531 Sam W is NOT Afraid of Spiders 9781405294287 Katie and Kevin Tsang met in in 2008 while studying at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Since then they have lived on three different continents and travelled to over 40 countries together. They currently live in London. Kevin was born in Copenhagen and grew up in Atlanta, Georgia. Some of Sam Wu's experiences are based on Kevin's childhood (he's feeling much more confident now). Katie was born and raised in Southern California. She has previously worked at Booktrust, the UK's largest children's reading charity, and also writes YA fiction as Katherine Webber.

Reading Champion: Pirate Bill Independent Reading Yellow 3

Reading Champion: Pirate Bill Independent Reading Yellow 3

Author: Katie Woolley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE) Pirate Bill has a treasure map. He digs everywhere but cannot find the gold. Perhaps it will be somewhere he does not expect... Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills. Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

The Day I Started a Mega-Robot Invasion

The Day I Started a Mega-Robot Invasion

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

A nine-year-old inventor is about to have her worst day ever in this laugh-a-minute mega-robot adventure! Molly should be doing her homework, but instead, she builds a robot to do it for her. The robot is pretty clever ... so clever that it decides to make another robot. Then that robot makes another one. Before long, an army of slightly-too-clever-for-their-own-good robots are running around town causing chaos. But when robot number one gets wind of Molly's plan to shut them down, the mechanical army set out to get rid of the humanoid once and for all. Now, Molly must race against time to stop the mega-robot invasion ... and hand in her homework!

Captain Underpants: Two Pant-tastic Novels in One (Full Colour!)

Captain Underpants: Two Pant-tastic Novels in One (Full Colour!)

Author: Dav Pilkey Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/01/2020

TWO CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS ADVENTURES NOW IN FULL COLOUR! George and Harold have created the greatest superhero in the history of their school - and now they're about to bring him to life! MEET CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS! HIS TRUE IDENTITY IS SO SECRET, EVEN HE DOESN'T KNOW WHO HE IS! FIGHTING FOR TRUTH, JUSTICE AND ALL THINGS PRE-SHRUNK AND COTTONY!

The Long-Lost Secret Diary of the World's Worst Hollywood Director

The Long-Lost Secret Diary of the World's Worst Hollywood Director

Author: Tim Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/01/2020

Meet Clara--a girl living in Los Angeles, California, in 1915. Major motion-picture companies have moved out to Hollywood, and she's right in the middle of all the action. When she finds herself working behind the scenes in the film industry for a big-shot producer named Mr. Cheeseman, she's determined to make it to the top in showbiz as a renowned director, no matter what. The hilarious Long-Lost Secret Diary series puts readers inside the heads of unlucky people in unfortunate situations. The accessible, irreverent stories will keep young readers laughing as they learn the importance of not being afraid to learn from their mistakes. Get Real fact boxes featured throughout, as well as a glossary and additional back matter, provide historical context and background.

The Long-Lost Secret Diary of the World's Worst Hollywood Director

The Long-Lost Secret Diary of the World's Worst Hollywood Director

Author: Tim Collins Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/01/2020

Meet Clara--a girl living in Los Angeles, California, in 1915. Major motion-picture companies have moved out to Hollywood, and she's right in the middle of all the action. When she finds herself working behind the scenes in the film industry for a big-shot producer named Mr. Cheeseman, she's determined to make it to the top in showbiz as a renowned director, no matter what. The hilarious Long-Lost Secret Diary series puts readers inside the heads of unlucky people in unfortunate situations. The accessible, irreverent stories will keep young readers laughing as they learn the importance of not being afraid to learn from their mistakes. Get Real fact boxes featured throughout, as well as a glossary and additional back matter, provide historical context and background.

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

The Crims #2: Down with the Crims!

Author: Kate Davies Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/12/2019

The crime-loving Crims are back in the second installment of this hilarious trilogy, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Pseudonymous Bosch! Imogen Crim has moved back home with her family and resumed her commitment to crime. But coming back to Blandington isn't quite so easy. Between Big Nana's crime theory assignments, regular schoolwork, and keeping up with her new archenemy Ava Gud, Imogen can't find a spare moment to participate in the family's new Crime Directive. And the Crims have even been bumped from the top spot on Blandington's Most Wanted list! Oh, the injustice! Then various Crims start disappearing without a trace, and Big Nana is convinced that the Kruk family is behind the kidnappings. Imogen will need to use all her shadiest and shiftiest skills if she's ever to see her family again...

Ali Cross

Ali Cross

Author: James Patterson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

_____________________________ The son of Alex Cross follows in his father's footsteps in this exciting new YA thriller from globally bestselling author James Patterson LIKE FATHER, LIKE SON Alex Cross The brilliant DC detective who never loses a case. Ali Cross The tenacious twelve-year-old who's determined to follow in his father's footsteps. The Case That Finally Gives Him a Chance Ali knew Gabe Qualls better than anyone, so when his friend goes missing, Ali jumps right into action. Being Alex Cross's son has taught him the values he needs to solve the mystery: intelligence, persistence, and logic. One thing he didn't inherit? Patience. Because Ali knows that with every day that passes without the police finding Gabe, the less likely it is that he'll ever be found. And being Alex Cross's son, he refuses to accept those odds.

The Real Mccoys Two'S a Crowd

The Real Mccoys Two'S a Crowd

Author: Matthew Swanson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/12/2019

A Budget Pirate Adventure

A Budget Pirate Adventure

Author: Tom S. Johnson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2019

Life on the waves as a pirate is boring and profitless for Declan. So surely taking charge by single-handedly murdering his captain could only improve the situation? Limited experience and the desire for riches mean very little when you're faced against torrential weather, killer wildlife, starvation, monsters, the law, and that one guy who really wants to kill you for some reason. A comedy adventure for Young Adults. If you, or the person you are thinking of buying it for, likes pirates then this is the book to get. If you aren't that fussed about pirates, then get it because it is just funny. If you like neither pirates nor comedy, then get the book because it has a nice cover.

Stick Cat: Two Cats to the Rescue

Stick Cat: Two Cats to the Rescue

Author: Tom Watson Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2019

Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the Stick Dog books, Tom Watson's hilarious series continues with Stick Cat: Two Cats to the Rescue-a backyard adventure involving a curious baby, two daring cats, and a pack of hungry pups! Millie needs Stick Cat's help. When little Millie wanders off, Stick Cat needs to get her back. It's a rescue mission with too many obstacles to count. There's a runaway butterfly, a pole-vaulting adventure, and a growling beast in the woods. Yikes. And, of course, there's Edith. Oh, Edith. Will Stick Cat be able to navigate around her wacky plans, fragile ego and peculiar ways? Just when he's doubting his chances, five familiar dogs burst onto the scene to help this rescue mission succeed. Fans of the Stick Dog series and other quick, funny reads will delight in this funny, furry, feline fracas. Stick Cat is ready to go! Check out Stick Cat and Edith in these other adventures: Stick Cat: A Tail of Two Kitties Stick Cat: Cats in the City Stick Cat: Two Catch a Thief Stick Cat: Two Cats and a Baby