LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Worst Class in the World

The Worst Class in the World

Author: Joanna Nadin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

A brand new, laugh-out-loud young fiction series from bestselling author Joanna Nadin. Perfect for fans of Horrid Henry and the Trouble with Daisy series. According to head teacher Mrs Bottomley-Blunt, 4B is the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. She says school is not about footling or fiddle-faddling or FUN. It is about LEARNING and it is high time 4B tried harder to EXCEL at it. But Stanley and Manjit didn't LITERALLY mean to make their whole class sick with homemade biscuits. And they definitely didn't LITERALLY mean for Manjit's dog Killer to eat their teacher's shoes or for Bruce Bingley's rat to escape. These things just happened even though they had a FOOLPROOF plan. You see, 4B may be the WORST CLASS IN THE WORLD. But you wouldn't want to be anywhere else. Highly illustrated and featuring two hilarious madcap adventures in one book, these books are just right for children ready for their first chapter books.

St Mary's Catholic School Presents The Vagina Monologues

St Mary's Catholic School Presents The Vagina Monologues

Author: Flynn Meaney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Hilarious, bold, sparky and surprising, this is the funniest feminist book you'll read all year. Alex is a rebel from the tip of her purple fauxhawk to the toes of her biker boots. She's tried everything she can to get expelled from her strict Catholic boarding school. Now, Alex has a new plan. Tired of the sexism she sees in every corner of St Mary's, Alex decides to stage the school's first ever production of The Vagina Monologues. Which is a challenge, as no one else at St Mary's can even bear to say the word 'vagina' out loud . . .

Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise Book 3

Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise Book 3

Author: Alex T. Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a hero like no other: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Mr Penguin is boarding a luxury cruise ship. He doesn't like water, and he can't swim, but his friend Colin is performing with the Ladies Choir on board - and anyway, Mr Penguin feels like a rest after some busy Adventuring. What's more, fish finger sandwiches are apparently available twenty-four hours a day. Heaven! But despite the glamorous film stars and party atmosphere, Mr Penguin can't help but feel that something shifty is happening on board. And when he befriends a young stowaway with a mystery of her own to solve, he soon finds that Adventures are lying in wait after all ... This is the third Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design. Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure: 'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian 'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - Scotsman

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

Author: Jenny Pearson Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/05/2020

Facts are everything to eleven-year-old Freddie Yates: once you know a fact it's yours to keep. After his grandmother dies and Freddie discovers his biological father might be alive and well in Wales, he decides to follow the facts. Together with his best friends Ben and Charlie, he sneaks off on the adventure of a lifetime (or at least, the summer holidays) to track down Freddie's father. Freddie doesn't expect any miracles-they're not real, after all. But when the three unwittingly set off a chain of inexplicable events via an onion-eating competition, a couple of superhero costumes, and some very angry antique thieves, Freddie discovers that some things can't always be explained-and sometimes what you're looking for has been with you the whole time. Propulsive and hilarious, The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates is a heartwarming story about the true meaning of family.

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Not One Tiny Bit Lovey-Dovey Moon Adventure

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Not One Tiny Bit Lovey-Dovey Moon Adventure

Author: A. L. Kennedy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The third book in a hilarious, heart-warming series for children from Costa Award-winning author A.L. Kennedy, illustrated by celebrated cartoonist Gemma Correll. Uncle Shawn and his best friend Badger Bill are back for another brilliantly bonkers adventure. They've seen off the nasty Dr P'Klawz with the help of their trusty llama pals, and now everything on their farm up on the sunny side of Scotland is just about perfect. Apart from the moon needing rescuing and a suspicious lady badger setting her sights on Bill... What could possibly go wrong?

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Olga and the Smelly Thing from Nowhere

Author: Elise Gravel Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Olga, animal-scientist-in-training, knows for sure that animals are better than humans. When she grows up she will be known as Genius Professor Olga, and will probably invent some new species herself. When she finds a pink, hairy creature living in her rubbish bin one day, it's a dream come true - she has discovered A WEIRD NEW SPECIES! It looks like a cross between a hamster and a potato, smells terrible and says only the word MEH! - it's the perfect subject for Olga's very scientific Observation Notebook (aka, this book). Wacky, laugh-out-loud cartoon storytelling for fans of Tom Gates, Barry Loser and Timmy Failure.

Things You Never Knew About Dinosaurs (NE PB)

Things You Never Knew About Dinosaurs (NE PB)

Author: Giles Paley-Phillips Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

If you love dinosaurs then you will LOVE this book! On every street in every town, perhaps next door to you, Dinosaurs are doing things you won't believe are true... What do you think dinosaurs get up to in their free time? I'll tell you something, they're not off eating leaves - they're out having fun! Whether it's trampolining, whizzing around on skates, becoming movie stars - or even astronauts - these dinosaurs have the best time ever. And you can join in the fun! From award-winning author Giles Paley-Phillips and award-winning and bestselling author-illustrator Liz Pichon, this new edition of an old favourite is a joy from start to finish.

The Postman From Space

The Postman From Space

Author: Guillaume Perreault Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2020

That's Life!

That's Life!

Author: Ame Dyckman Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/04/2020

From the New York Times bestselling author of Wolfie the Bunny comes a witty send-up of inspirational greeting card wisdom that reminds readers of life's unpredictability and messiness--and beauty. After Life literally knocks on their door, one kid discovers that Life is truly what you make it. It's weird and may not always cooperate, but Life's beauty becomes apparent when it's embraced for all of its quirks. This story is filled with tongue-in-cheek idioms that will appeal to readers of all ages and will impart deeper wisdoms about the many milestones and stages of life.

The Super-Secret Diary of Holly Hopkinson: This Is Going To Be a Fiasco

The Super-Secret Diary of Holly Hopkinson: This Is Going To Be a Fiasco

Author: Charlie Brooks Format: Hardback Release Date: 20/04/2020

A charming domestic comedy, with a dash of magic, and the occasional moment of mayhem! These are the memoirs of ME, Holly Hopkinson, aged almost ten, except without any of the rubbish adults usually put in, thank you very much. My dad just lost his job, which means me and the rest of my family have to leave London and move to the middle of nowhere, which is a TOTAL DISASTER! There's no Wi-Fi, the local kids are FERAL and there's animal poo EVERYWHERE. But then for my birthday, my eccentric aunt gave me a magic pocket watch, which I can use to hypnotise and CONTROL people. I actually wanted a new phone, but I won't complain because this new power is REALLY FUN and has led to the MOST unexpected things - including a visit to the QUEEN. Maybe the countryside isn't so bad after all...

The Berenstain Bears' Nature Rescue An Early Reader Chapter Book

The Berenstain Bears' Nature Rescue An Early Reader Chapter Book

Author: Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain, Mike Berenstain Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Save the birds! Save the trees! That's what the cubs are saying around Bear Country. If Squire Grizzly gets his way and cuts down the trees in Birder's Woods, the yellow popinjays will have nowhere to rest. They could disappear forever. It's up to the cubs to save this important part of nature before it's too late! The Berenstain Bears' Nature Rescue is an engaging early reader chapter book that features black and white illustrations alongside entertaining text and relatable characters. As read-alone or read-aloud, it helps kids connect plot to chapter structure and will have teachers and librarians asking for more. And as part of the beloved Living Lights series, it's the perfect segue for emerging readers and fans of the brand. When kids graduate from picture books to chapter books, it's a great moment. Mama, Papa, Brother, Sister, and Honey will captivate readers ages 6-10 who are ready to take the next step in their reading comprehension.

The Berenstain Bears and the Rowdy Crowd An Early Reader Chapter Book

The Berenstain Bears and the Rowdy Crowd An Early Reader Chapter Book

Author: Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain, Mike Berenstain Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Something's up with Brother Bear. He's talking tough, he's walking tough, and he has a new hobby: shooting hoops with Too-Tall and his trouble-making team. And basketball isn't the only new pastime Brother takes up when he falls in the wrong crowd. Will Brother realize who his true friends are before it's too late? The Berenstain Bears and the Rowdy Crowd is an engaging early reader chapter book that features black and white illustrations alongside entertaining text and relatable characters. As read-alone or read-aloud, it helps kids connect plot to chapter structure and will have teachers and librarians asking for more. And as part of the beloved Living Lights series, it's the perfect segue for emerging readers and fans of the brand. When kids graduate from picture books to chapter books, it's a great moment. Mama, Papa, Brother, Sister, and Honey will captivate readers age 6-10 who are ready to take the next step in their reading comprehension.