LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

A Hat Full of Sky

A Hat Full of Sky

Author: Terry Pratchett Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

*The second book in the incredible Tiffany Aching series. Now in a brand-new gift edition, part of the Discworld Hardback Library.* 'Fantastically inventive and humorous' The Sunday Times Something is coming after Tiffany. . . Tiffany Aching is ready to begin her apprenticeship in magic, but life isn't exactly what she thought it would be. She expects spells and magic - not chores and ill-tempered goats! Surely there must be more to witchcraft than this? And Tiffany will find that she needs her magic more than ever, to fight off the insidious, disembodied creature that is pursuing her. This time, neither Mistress Weatherwax (the greatest witch in the world) nor the fierce, six-inch-high Wee Free Men can protect her. In the end, it will take all of Tiffany's inner strength to save herself.

Max Einstein: Saves the Future

Max Einstein: Saves the Future

Author: James Patterson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Max Einstein is never going to be your average 12-year-old kid. She . . . is on the run from a group of villains talks to Albert Einstein spends time searching for information on her parents saves the world with the help of her genius friends Totally not ordinary stuff - unless you're Max Einstein! Now Max and her friends are back and ready to take on their biggest problem yet: world hunger. While the Change Makers tackle this huge issue, Max must also avoid the evil Corp and her nemesis, Dr. Zimm. But they're not the only ones looking for Max, and as she finds herself on the run, she discovers that Einstein created a time machine. And it might give her clues to her past - her distant past . . .

The Wee Free Men

The Wee Free Men

Author: Terry Pratchett Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

*The first book in the incredible Tiffany Aching series. Now in a brand-new gift edition, part of the Discworld Hardback Library!* 'A comic fantasy classic' Sunday Express A nightmarish danger threatens from the other side of reality . . . Armed with only a frying pan and her common sense, young witch-to-be Tiffany Aching must defend her home against the monsters of Fairyland. Luckily she has some very unusual help: the local Nac Mac Feegle - aka the Wee Free Men - a clan of fierce, sheep-stealing, sword-wielding, six-inch-high blue men. Together they must face headless horsemen, ferocious grimhounds, terrifying dreams come true, and ultimately the sinister Queen of the Elves herself . . .

Unti GM Novel #1 - DLJ

Unti GM Novel #1 - DLJ

Author: AUTHOR TBC Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Indigo Wilde and the Creatures at Jellybean Crescent

Indigo Wilde and the Creatures at Jellybean Crescent

Author: Pippa Curnick Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Enter the colourful world of Indigo Wilde and the magical creatures who live at Jellybean Crescent. When a highly dangerous new arrival goes missing, the race is on to catch it before disaster strikes ... A wonderfully wild new series for readers of 7+ and fans of Pippi Longstocking and Amelia Fang. Discovered in the Unknown Wilderness when she was just a baby, Indigo Wilde was adopted by World-Famous Explorers, Philomena and Bertram, who are always off adventuring. Home for Indigo and her little brother, Quigley, is 47 Jellybean Crescent, a crazy and colourful house full of magical creatures that her parents have taken in over the years. There's Fishkins, a purrmaid - half-cat, half-fish, and ALWAYS grumpy; Graham, a llama-corn with a particular taste for tinsel; Olli and Umpf - bright pink and blue yetis who can't blend in to the snow, and that's to name just a few of the creatures. And now Indigo's parents have sent another Monster Mail delivery to Indigo and Quigley. But this time, the box is empty, and the escaped creature is running rampage around the house. The race is on to catch the creature before it's too late ... First in a new series by Pippa Curnick, this is gorgeously illustrated in full colour throughout.

School Rules are Optional: The Grade Six Survival Guide 1

School Rules are Optional: The Grade Six Survival Guide 1

Author: Alison Hart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Tomoko Takes the Lead (The Derby Daredevils Book #3)

Tomoko Takes the Lead (The Derby Daredevils Book #3)

Author: Kit Rosewater Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Book 3 in this highly illustrated middle-grade series stars shy Tomoko and finds the team at roller derby summer camp in nearby Dallas School's out, and the Derby Daredevils are excited to spend all summer tearing up the track. But, the coaches have something special planned: the Austin league is heading to Dallas for a week of roller derby sleepaway camp! Tomoko could not be more excited-she loves roller derby and her team. Plus, she's been going camping with her uncle every summer since she can remember. She's got all the gear and the skills she needs for two weeks in the great outdoors. But roller derby camp isn't in the great outdoors. It's in the middle of the city. And it means meeting a bunch of new kids, which isn't exactly a strength for shy, introverted Tomoko. Disappointed, she puts her head down and skates hard until the team gets lost in the middle of Dallas-without a grown-up or a cell phone to guide them back to camp. Tomoko uses her wilderness skills and navigational know-how to lead them home and her calm demeanor to keep everyone feeling safe.

Thrills and Chills (Garbage Pail Kids Book 2)

Thrills and Chills (Garbage Pail Kids Book 2)

Author: R. L. Stine Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Goosebumps creator R.L. Stine teams up with the pop-culture phenomenon Garbage Pail Kids for the second volume in this all-new illustrated middle-grade series sure to amuse, entertain, and blow readers away! The Garbage Pail Kids are desperate to win the Smellville Pet Contest. But how can they compete against Good Boy, the perfect Chihuahua of the Perfect twins? Good Boy can stand on his head and do algebra problems blindfolded. But the whole thing goes out of control when our heroes meet five new kids who also call themselves the Garbage Pail Kids! Meet Windy Winston, Nat Nerd, Brett Sweat, Nasty Nancy, and Disgustin' Justin. They all share the grand prize-a free all-day trip to Six Thrills Amusement Park. Will anyone have a good time? And will anyone survive?

Something I Said

Something I Said

Author: Ben Bailey Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

From comedian, actor, rapper and screenwriter Ben Bailey Smith comes the biggest middle grade debut of the year - a blazingly funny, big-hearted story about family, friendship and how far one boy will go to get a laugh. For thirteen-year-old Carmichael Taylor, life is one big joke - in a good way. He just can't understand why no one else seems to find everything as funny as he does. When Car accidentally delivers a hilarious stand-up routine at the school talent show, targeting his family and his school, it goes viral. As fame and fortune beckon, it's up to Car to decide what or who he's willing to risk in pursuit of his dream of fame. A heart-warming and hilarious look at family, friendship and what really matters - perfect for fans of David Baddiel and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.

Wintersmith

Wintersmith

Author: Terry Pratchett Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/06/2021

*The third book in the incredible Tiffany Aching series. Now in a brand-new gift edition, part of the Discworld Hardback Library.* 'In every sense fantastic' Independent Saying it with frozen roses and icebergs Tiffany Aching leaps into a dance - and suddenly the spirit of winter is in love with her. He's showering her with snowflakes and offering her a crown of ice. Which is creepy, but also just a little bit . . . cool. Now she's dancing to his tune. She can't change the steps. But unless Tiffany can work out how to deal with the Wintersmith, there will never be another springtime . . .

Claude at the Palace

Claude at the Palace

Author: Alex T. Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/06/2021

Meet Claude, the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior and ITVBe. Claude and Sir Bobblysock just happen to wander accidentally into the royal palace on a very special day indeed - the Queen's birthday! Unfortunately the royal nanny, Nanny Stern-Bloomers, has had to take herself off for a lie-down and there's no one to make sure the royal children stay neat and tidy for the big party. But . . . Claude and Sir Bobblysock could step in to babysit, couldn't they? After all, princes and princesses are always on their best behaviour . . . The tenth book in this hilarious bestselling series. Perfect for new readers and also great for sharing! Praise for the Claude series: 'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times 'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' Metro Claude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014. Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Tea Party Parade

Tea Party Parade

Author: Nick Sharratt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/06/2021

Today's the day - it's the tea party parade! The kids are in their costumes and the teachers are marching too. Teacups are twirling, cake slices are spinning, and the big finale is going to be the best show of all! Join in with all the fun of the parade in Nick Sharratt's beautiful new Little Gem. Bursting with lots of rhyme, rhythm and energy for little ones to enjoy, it's the perfect book for a young reader's first steps on the path to reading independence.