LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Humorous stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Genius Aged 8 1/4

The Genius Aged 8 1/4

Author: Jeremy Strong Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Silly parents, silly teachers and a very silly Prime Minister! Alfie Poppleton (real name Squeaky Squawker Redface Slurpbottom) has got his work cut out dealing with a set of very silly adults. Can Alfie get the town of Underpants - and the rest of the country - sorted out? A brand-new lower reading age edition of this hilarious tale from comic genius Jeremy Strong. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 7+

Nappy the Pirate Baby

Nappy the Pirate Baby

Author: Alan MacDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Stinky McFlea, Irish Stew, Long Johns, Nitty Nora and Captain Spratt are pirates aboard the Salty Herring. They love nothing more than lazing about on deck and sailing the high seas - until one day, a strange wailing noise changes everything. There's a stowaway baby on board the ship, and the crew have decided to raise him like a proper pirate. But are they really up to the task of looking after a baby? And where exactly did Nappy come from? A motley crew of pirates take to parenthood in this whimsical Little Gem from the bestselling author of the Dirty Bertie series.

Johnny Ball: Undercover Football Genius

Johnny Ball: Undercover Football Genius

Author: Matt Oldfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

From the author of Ultimate Football Heroes comes the second book in the Johnny Ball series, funny reading for football-mad kids. Johnny Ball's got a super exciting new job: assistant manager for the Tissbury Tigers! But there's a catch. Johnny's brother, Daniel, is the Tiger's star player and he doesn't want his younger brother cramping his style. Daniel tells Johnny that no one on the team is ever allowed to know who he is. Can Johnny use his football genius to go undercover and lead the Tigers to victory in the League?

My Robot's Gone Wild

My Robot's Gone Wild

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

When Grandma creates a robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! Jake and Jess are on their way to Scotland to visit Robin, who's been hiding out near a remote loch with Grandma. Jake can't wait to see his favourite robot but is shocked by how much he's changed. Robin now spends most of his time camouflaged in bushes and can light a fire with a click of his fingers - he's gone wild! But when Grandma ropes the trio into a plan to catch a local gang of thieves in the act, it looks like Robin's new skills might just save the day... The fourth book in a brilliantly funny series, perfect for fans of David Solomons, RUNAWAY ROBOT, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL.

Magnificent Mabel and the Magic Caterpillar

Magnificent Mabel and the Magic Caterpillar

Author: Ruth Quayle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Meet Mabel - she's MAGNIFICENT. Sometimes life isn't fair for Mabel Chase. Like for instance it is NEVER her turn to look after the class caterpillar. And she's not allowed a pair of glasses, even though she is SURE that she needs them. And her big sister Meg KEEPS ignoring her to do homework. But none of that matters in the end ... because Mabel is still MAGNIFICENT. The third book in a hilarious new series, highly illustrated throughout and with three short stories, this is ideal for newly-confident readers. Look out for: Magnificent Mabel and the Rabbit Riot Magnificent Mabel and the Christmas Elf

Two Terrible Vikings

Two Terrible Vikings

Author: Francesca Simon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Francesca Simon had so much fun writing about two truly awful vikings she has decided to take the pair, now older, on further adventures - pitching the stories squarely at the Horrid Henry readership. Set in the snowy fjords of a Viking kingdom, the terrible pair are adored by their proud parents for causing havoc and demonstrating that they are the very best worst vikings. But of course, behaving appallingly often goes wrong: getting lost and ransacking their own village by mistake, ruining birthday parties and upsetting your friends . . . With whip-smart dialogue, and accompanied by Dennis the Menace style anarchic cartoon imagery, this series is as sharp, funny and compelling as you would expect from the reigning Queen of Comedy.

Uma and the Answer to Absolutely Everything

Uma and the Answer to Absolutely Everything

Author: Sam Copeland Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

The hilarious and moving new book from funny fiction superstar Sam Copeland, author of the bestselling Charlie Changes Into a Chicken. Uma Gnuderson has a world full of questions: How can I save my home from being sold? Will my dad ever start talking again? And how do alpacas get drunk? But since her mum died, Uma's life has been short on answers. Until one day she finds a mysterious Bluetooth earpiece, and starts to ask it questions. And it answers them. All of them. It knows everything, from the capital of Mongolia to the colour of her headteacher's underpants. The earpiece is actually an incredible high-tech artificial intelligence called Athena. Through Athena, Uma suddenly has the answer to every question she can imagine - and she's going to use them to save her home and her father. Along the way, Uma will have to confront the sinister inventor who will stop at nothing to get Athena back - and face up to the fact that not all questions have answers . . . Praise for Charlie Changes Into a Chicken: 'Belly-busting hilarity' The Guardian 'The modern masterpiece . . . this savvy, comic tale ticks every box' The Daily Telegraph 'The best kind of silly' The Observer 'Laugh-out-loud funny' The Mail on Sunday

Mr Men Little Miss: My Mummy

Mr Men Little Miss: My Mummy

Author: Adam Hargreaves Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

This very special Little Miss book is the perfect gift for Mother's Day. The Little Miss will help you show your mummy just how special she is to you. From making you smile, even when things are going wrong, to knowing just when hugs are needed, mummies are Splendid, Fun, Magic, Sunshine lots of the Little Miss rolled into one! Children can also add their own words to the story to make it a really personal gift. The perfect book for your mummy's birthday, a new mother, Mother's Day, or for giving and sharing any time you want to say I love you, too. Now with a shiny foil cover! The Mr Men and Little Miss have been delighting children for generations with their charming and funny antics. Bold illustrations and funny stories make Mr Men and Little Miss the perfect story time experience for children aged 2 years and up.

Amelia Bedelia's First Valentine Holiday

Amelia Bedelia's First Valentine Holiday

Author: Herman Parish Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/01/2021

Open your heart with Amelia Bedelia! This special edition of the funny and New York Times-bestselling picture book includes a fold-out poster, stickers, and punch-out cards perfect for sharing with your family, friends, classmates, and your Valentine. Hooray! Amelia Bedelia is very excited to celebrate her first Valentine's Day. After spending all afternoon working on cards for her classmates, Amelia Bedelia wakes up late, rushes to school, and forgets the cards on the bus. Oh, no! But with a little ingenuity and a lot of laughs, Amelia Bedelia's bad day transforms into the best Valentine's Day ever. This edition includes a big fold-out poster (17 inches x 25 inches) featuring Amelia Bedelia, a sticker sheet with 37 stickers, and 12 punch out cards to collect or send. Amelia Bedelia has been making readers laugh since 1963, when the first Amelia Bedelia book was published. Now, you can meet the young Amelia Bedelia. Come join the fun!

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Wrecking Ball (Book 14)

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Wrecking Ball (Book 14)

Author: Jeff Kinney Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

*The fourteenth laugh-out-loud, fully illustrated bestselling Wimpy Kid book!* Big changes are in store for Greg Heffley and his family. They are making home improvements! But with unwelcome critters, toxic mould and the walls coming down, soon Greg discovers renovations aren't all they are cracked up to be. When the dust finally settles, will the Heffleys be able to stay . . . or will they need to get out of town? ABOUT DIARY OF A WIMPY KID: * 50% words, 50% cartoons, 100% hilarious! * Hilarious stories that all readers can't wait to get their hands on * Laughter guaranteed * 200 million copies sold worldwide 'Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet' - Independent *Don't miss Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid , to read Greg's best friend Rowley's side of the story! *

Fizzlebert Stump and the Great Supermarket Showdown

Fizzlebert Stump and the Great Supermarket Showdown

Author: A.F. Harrold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Roald Dahl, this highly successful and widely praised series featuring a boy, a circus and a lot of silliness is now available in a bright new package. 'Freewheeling frivolity' - Financial Times 'Once, and once only, there was a boy whose name was Fizzlebert.' Fizzlebert Stump lives in a circus. But when the ringmaster sells Fizz's circus to the mysterious Mr Pinkbottle, disaster strikes! All the acts who aren't fired are forced to work in his supermarket. Not an easy task at all if your only skill is plate-spinning or being a trapeze artist, or indeed a sea lion! Will the ex-circus performers adjust to their new lives as shop assistants, or will Fizz find a way to save them all?

The Broken Leg of Doom

The Broken Leg of Doom

Author: Pamela Butchart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/01/2021

Hilarious, illustrated school-based antics where everything that happens leads to DRAMA and RUNNING AROUND and even some FAINTING! When a session of extreme dancing leaves Maisie in hospital with a broken leg, things take a turn for the weird! Strange noises in the ward at night, missing cuddly toys and a sandwich trolley that only ever has TUNA sandwiches. Could Maisie's leg be CURSED? If it is, and it DEFINITELY IS, then everything is DOOMED! Laugh-out-loud fun from Blue Peter Award winners Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham. Read more of Izzy's adventures! Baby Aliens Got My Teacher The Spy Who Loved School Dinners My Headteacher Is a Vampire Rat Attack of the Demon Dinner Ladies To Wee Or Not To Wee! There's a Werewolf In My Tent! The Phantom Lollipop Man! There's a Yeti in the Playground! Icarus Was Ridiculous