LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Honeyman and the Hunter

The Honeyman and the Hunter

Author: Neil Grant Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

The seas is inside his blood. Cursed, or blessed, on both sides. When sixteen-year-old Rudra Solace dredges up a long-hidden secretfin his father' trawl net, his life in the sleepy fishing village of Patonga shifts dramatically. It is not long before Rudra is leaving Australia behind, bound for India on a journey of discovery and danger. A wonderfully compelling tale of belonging and loss, of saltwater and mangroves, of migration and accepting change; a story of decisions that, once made, break through family histories like a cyclone swell.

The Liars

The Liars

Author: Jennifer Mathieu Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars. How can one family have so many secrets? It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

The Time of Green Magic

The Time of Green Magic

Author: Hilary McKay Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From acclaimed author and Costa winner Hilary McKay comes The Time of Green Magic: a beautiful, spell-binding novel about family, magic, an old house and a mysterious visitor . . . Abi and her two step-brothers, Max and Louis, find that strange things happen when they are alone in their eerie, ivy-covered new house. Abi, reading alone, finds herself tumbling deep into books, while Louis summons a startling guest through his bedroom window. Even Max has started to see shapes in the shadows . . . Their busy parents see none of it - but Louis' secret visitor is growing too alarming to keep secret, and he finds he cannot manage without Max and Abi's help. Can they find out where the mysterious creature has come from - and how to get it back there?

An Island of Our Own (2019 NE)

An Island of Our Own (2019 NE)

Author: Sally Nicholls Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From one of the brightest talents in children's fiction and the winner of the Waterstones Children's Book prize comes a new novel about family and friendship. Siblings Jonathan, Holly and Davy have been struggling to survive since the death of their mother, and are determined to avoid being taken into care. When the family's wealthy but eccentric Great-Aunt Irene has a stroke, they go to visit her. Unable to speak or write, she gives Holly some photographs that might lead them to an inheritance that could solve all their problems. But they're not the only ones after the treasure...

Ways to Live Forever (2019 NE)

Ways to Live Forever (2019 NE)

Author: Sally Nicholls Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

My name is Sam. I am eleven years old. I collect stories and fantastic facts. By the time you read this, I will probably be dead. Sam loves facts. He wants to know about UFOs and horror movies and airships and ghosts and scientists, and how it feels to kiss a girl. And because he has leukaemia he wants to know the facts about dying. Sam needs answers to the questions nobody will answer. WAYS TO LIVE FOREVER is the first novel from an extraordinarily talented young writer. Funny and honest, it is one of the most powerful and uplifting books you will ever read.

The Time of Green Magic

The Time of Green Magic

Author: Hilary McKay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From acclaimed author and Costa winner Hilary McKay comes The Time of Green Magic: a beautiful, spell-binding novel about a new families, a magical old house and a mysterious cat . . . When Tom and Polly marry, blending their single parent families together, their children find it hard to relinquish their old lives. Max realizes his birth dad will never come home now, while Abi suddenly finds herself a middle child, expected to share far too much - especially with grubby little Louis. The family start over together, stretching their finances to the limit and renting an eerie, ivy-covered house, big enough for all of them. But when the children are alone there, strange things start to happen. Worried, Louis summons comfort from outdoors, and a startling guest arrives - is it a cat, or an owl, or something else? Abi reads alone, tumbling deep into books. Max loses his best friend and falls in love. Meanwhile, Louis' secret visitor is becoming much too real. And when Max and Abi too start to see the great spotted cat-thing that arrives in the night, it becomes a problem the three of them must find a way to solve - together. But where has the creature come from, and how will he get back?

The Time of Green Magic

The Time of Green Magic

Author: Hilary McKay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

From acclaimed author and Costa winner Hilary McKay comes The Time of Green Magic: a beautiful, spell-binding novel about new families, a magical old house and a mysterious cat . . . When Tom and Polly marry, blending their single parent families together, their children find it hard to relinquish their old lives. Max realizes his birth dad will never come home now, while Abi suddenly finds herself a middle child, expected to share far too much - especially with grubby little Louis. The family start over together, stretching their finances to the limit and renting an eerie, ivy-covered house, big enough for all of them. But when the children are alone there, strange things start to happen. Worried, Louis summons comfort from outdoors, and a startling guest arrives - is it a cat, or an owl, or something else? Abi reads alone, tumbling deep into books. Max loses his best friend and falls in love. Meanwhile, Louis' secret visitor is becoming much too real. And when Max and Abi too start to see the great spotted cat-thing that arrives in the night, it becomes a problem the three of them must find a way to solve - together. But where has the creature come from, and how will he get back?

The M Word

The M Word

Author: Brian Conaghan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Moya. The M Word. Whisper it. Conceal it. But, please, never mention it ... Maggie Yates tells her best mate Moya everything. She tells her about Mum losing her job - how Mum's taken to crying in secret. She even tells her about her foolproof plan to cheer Mum up: find her a fella with cash to splash. Moya's with her every step of the way. I'll help, she smiles. Though you're surfing a rainbow if you think someone like that exists round here. But at the back of her mind Maggie knows that Mum's crying is more than sadness. That there are no easy fixes. And that she shouldn't be speaking to Moya any more. Because Moya died months ago. An unforgettable novel about grief and healing from Costa Children's and Irish Book Award-winner Brian Conaghan

Winter Cats

Winter Cats

Author: Janet Lawler Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2019

The Day Abuelo Got Lost

The Day Abuelo Got Lost

Author: Diane de Anda Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2019

Little Love

Little Love

Author: Rose Stanek Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2019