LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Beverly, Right Here

Beverly, Right Here

Author: Kate DiCamillo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Revisiting once again the world of Raymie Nightingale and Louisiana's Way Home, No.1 New York Timesbestselling author Kate DiCamillo turns her focus to the tough-talking, inescapably tenderhearted Beverly Tapinski. Beverly put her foot down on the gas. They went faster still. This was what Beverly wanted - what she always wanted. To get away. To get away as fast as she could. To stay away. Beverly Tapinski has run away from home plenty of times, but that was when she was just a kid. By now, she figures, it's not running away ... it's leaving. Determined to make it on her own, Beverly finds a job and a place to live and tries to forget about her dog, Buddy, now buried underneath the orange trees back home; her friend Raymie, whom she left without a word; and her mum, Rhonda, who has never cared about anyone but herself. Beverly doesn't want to depend on anyone, and she definitely doesn't want anyone to depend on her. But despite her best efforts, she can't help forming connections with the people around her - and, gradually, she learns to see herself through their eyes. In a touching, funny and fearless conclusion to her sequence of novels about the beloved Three Rancheros, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo tells the story of a character who will break your heart and put it back together again.

Bridesmaids Club: Beach Wedding Bliss Book 1

Bridesmaids Club: Beach Wedding Bliss Book 1

Author: Posy Diamond Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

You are invited to join in the wedding fun with Sophie, Shanti, Cora and Emily! Can the Bridesmaids Club friends surprise Sophie's mum and dad with a brilliant beach wedding? Sophie is excited that her parents are finally getting married - she and her siblings have been nagging them to tie the knot for years. Her parents met at the beach, so are planning a lavish tropical wedding abroad. But when her dad loses his job, the wedding is called off. With the help of her Bridesmaids Club friends, can Sophie surprise her parents with a home-made beach wedding? The Bridesmaids Club series is the perfect marriage of family, friendship and fun!

A Home for Goddesses and Dogs

A Home for Goddesses and Dogs

Author: Leslie Connor Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/04/2020

A unique masterpiece about loss, love, and the world's best bad dog, from award winner Leslie Connor, author of the National Book Award finalist The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle. This novel sings about loss and love and finding joy in new friendships and a loving family, along with the world's best bad dog. An uplifting middle grade novel about recovery featuring strong female characters, an adorable dog, and the girl who comes to love him. It's a life-altering New Year for thirteen-year-old Lydia when she uproots to a Connecticut farm to live with her aunt following her mother's death. Aunt Brat and her jovial wife, Eileen, and their ancient live-in landlord, Elloroy, are welcoming-and a little quirky. Lydia's struggle for a sense of belonging in her new family is highlighted when the women adopt a big yellow dog just days after the girl's arrival. Wasn't one rescue enough? Lydia is not a dog person-and this one is trouble! He is mistrustful and slinky. He pees in the house, escapes into the woods, and barks at things unseen. His new owners begin to guess about his unknown past. Meanwhile, Lydia doesn't want to be difficult-and she does not mean to keep secrets-but there are things she's not telling... Like why the box of paper stuff she keeps under her bed is so important... And why that hole in the wall behind a poster in her room is getting bigger... And why something she took from the big yellow dog just might be the key to unraveling his mysterious past-but at what cost? * Junior Library Guild Selection *

A Nervous Night

A Nervous Night

Author: Fran Manushkin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Katie Woo is so excited about spending the night at her grandparents' house. But once she gets to their house, she feels a bit nervous. How will she ever spend a whole night in the strange house?

Monelli & Me

Monelli & Me

Author: Teena Raffa-Mulligan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/03/2020

The Wonder That Is You

The Wonder That Is You

Author: Glenys Nellist Format: Board book Release Date: 30/03/2020

A heartwarming book that beautifully captures the universal love and joy parents feel as they celebrate the arrival of their new child. A perfect gift for baby showers, baptisms, adoptions, birthdays, or any time you want to tell your little one how much they are loved. Every parent dreams of embracing their new child. When that dream comes true, it's as if all of creation rejoices with them. In the tradition of Nancy Tillman's On The Night You Were Born and Emily Winfield Martin's The Wonderful Things You Will Be comes The Wonder That Is You by critically-acclaimed author Glenys Nellist. Something special happens when a child is in your arms as you read them this book. Something you and your little one will never, ever forget. It felt as if the world stood still The day my dream came true, And all creation paused to see The wonder that is you. Wonder That Is You is: Not only a perfect gift for new babies, but also a precious story to read aloud with big brothers and sisters in anticipation of the new arrival A heartwarming way to tell your children or grandchildren of any age how special they are and how much that are loved A soothing bedtime book that will have your little ones falling fast asleep in your loving arms

The Boy with the Butterfly Mind

The Boy with the Butterfly Mind

Author: Victoria Williamson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Jamie Lee wants to be normal. But his ADHD makes him feel like his brain is full of butterflies. Elin Watts wants to be perfect. If she can be, surely her dad will come home. When Jamie and Elin's families blend, the polar opposites of chaotic Jamie and ordered Elin collide. As their lives spiral out of control, Jamie and Elin discover that they're actually more alike than they'd admit. Maybe there's no such thing as normal, or perfect. And perhaps, just like families, happy-ever-afters come in all shapes and sizes. Uplifting and moving, The Boy with the Butterfly Mind is an inspiring story of acceptance, blended families, and discovering that in the end, being yourself is more than enough.

Home Games

Home Games

Author: Benjamin Markovits Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Award-winning adult author Benjamin Markovits delivers a poignant coming-of-age middle grade story that will give comfort to anyone feeling like a small fish in a Texas-size sea. Perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Rebecca Stead, and Kate DiCamillo. Twelve-year-old Ben is a shy, quiet kid. His life isn't perfect, but he feels at home in his New York City apartment. Then his dad takes a job in London, and everything changes. His parents separate, and Ben's mom moves them back to her hometown of Austin, Texas. Ben's simple life is suddenly complicated. He misses his apartment, his best friend, Jake, and his dad. Then he meets Mabley, who becomes a bright spot to Ben's day. But when his mom starts working at his new school and making friends with his teacher, Ben finds himself at the center of all the problems the adults around him can't resolve-and even some of his own. That includes joining the school's basketball team, where Mabley's best friend is the star player. After being pushed around, looking for his place, Ben will have to learn how to stand his ground.

All You Need is Love

All You Need is Love

Author: Emma Chichester Clark Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Plum loves everyone. She loves her mummy and daddy and she especially loves her best friends, Rocket, Esther, Bean and Jakey. Her favourite part of the day is when she chases her best friends around the park. But when new dogs try to join in, Plum isn't so sure. Do they really need new friends? Especially ones as big as Otto, as old as Bounder, or as tiny as Milly? In this heartwarming tale, Plum learns what it really means to be a friend and how much fun new ones can be - especially when you give them a chance.

Tollerton Mill

Tollerton Mill

Author: Joe Rosenthal Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/03/2020

Your Parents' Love

Your Parents' Love

Author: Abbie Mabary Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/03/2020

Swap'd A Click'd Novel

Swap'd A Click'd Novel

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/03/2020