LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Fart Monster and Me

Fart Monster and Me

Author: Tim Miller, Matt Stanton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Marigold Star

Marigold Star

Author: Elise Primavera Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

From New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Elise Primavera comes an imaginative young middle grade fantasy adventure bubbling with wit and whimsy. Marigold Star is destined for greatness. Everyone in Bramblycrumbly thinks so, her parents and pet dragon included. There's just one problem. Marigold can't do magic! Then one day she tries a new spell written in a very old book. It's called the Invis-O-Friend Spell, and it makes Marigold invisible to all but the friend who needs her most. To Marigold's surprise, the spell works! But now there's another problem. The spell sent Marigold to the human world. And to return home, she'll have to befriend a host of human children who are struggling to make friends. Marigold will have to hurry, or the line between her magical world and the human one might crumble until she has no home left to go back to.

Five Things About Ava Andrews

Five Things About Ava Andrews

Author: Margaret Dilloway Format: Hardback Release Date: 09/07/2020

From Margaret Dilloway, author of Summer of a Thousand Pies, comes a heartfelt and funny story about a shy eleven-year-old who learns to manage her anxiety through improv classes-and discovers her activist voice. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Lynda Mullaly Hunt, and Holly Goldberg Sloan. Eleven-year-old Ava Andrews has a Technicolor interior with a gray shell. On the inside, she bubbles with ideas and plans. On the outside, everyone except her best friend, Zelia, thinks she doesn't talk or, worse, is stuck-up. What nobody knows is that Ava has invisible disabilities: anxiety and a heart condition. Ava hopes middle school will be a fresh start, but when Zelia moves across the country and Ava's Nana Linda pushes her to speak up about social issues, she withdraws further. So Ava is shocked when her writing abilities impress her classmates and they invite her to join their improv group, making up stories onstage. Determined to prove she can control her anxiety, she joins-and discovers a whole new side of herself, and what it means to be on a team. But as Ava's self-confidence blossoms, her relationship with Zelia strains, and she learns that it isn't enough just to raise your voice-it's how and why you use it that matters.

My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich

My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich

Author: Ibi Zoboi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/07/2020

I Am Change

I Am Change

Author: Suzy Zail Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

They told her that her body belonged to men and her mind didn't matter. They were wrong. What if I don't want to marry? Lillian held her breath. She had never said the words out loud. Not want to marry? Her aunt frowned. What else would you do? Set in a Ugandan village, Lilian has learned to shrink herself to fit other people's ideas of what a girl is. In her village a girl is not meant to be smarter than her brother. A girl is not meant to go to school or enjoy her body or decide who to marry. Especially if she is poor. Inspired by and written in consultation with young Ugandan women, and addressing the difficult subject of FGM, I Am Change is the tragic but empowering story of how a young girl finds her voice and the strength to fight for change.

Our Emotions and Behaviour: I Hate Everything!: A book about feeling angry

Our Emotions and Behaviour: I Hate Everything!: A book about feeling angry

Author: Sue Graves Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

Sam is having a bad day and nothing is going right. Dad is too busy to play with him, he doesn't like his lunch and he doesn't enjoy Archie's party. Can Aunt Jen help him to stop feeling so angry This series introduces young children to different aspects of our emotions and behaviour. A fictional story is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk about, while a wordless storyboard encourages children to tell another story.

The Secrets of Magnolia Moon

The Secrets of Magnolia Moon

Author: Edwina Wyatt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2020

Magnolia Moon is nine years old, likes Greek mythology, her best friend Imogen May (who understands the importance of questions like, If you could be one fruit, any fruit, what would you be? ), wishing trees, and speaking crows. She knows instinctively that buffadillos are armadillos crossed with buffalos and believes there are walramingos living in her garden. She's also the kind of person who can be entrusted with a great many secrets. Each chapter in this novel, which captures Magnolia's year of being nine and ends on Chapter Almost 10, reveals a secret that Magnolia is keeping. But the novel also chronicles a year of change for Magnolia. From her best friend moving to the birth of her little brother Finnegan, Magnolia navigates every challenge and secret that comes her way with the kind of authenticity and innocence that comes from being nine years wise.

Ani's Light

Ani's Light

Author: Tanu Shree Singh Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/06/2020

Ani's stuck in a dark cloud. His friends and family try to brighten his mood, but nothing helps. When his mother finally comes home, missing her hair, Ani's light gets brighter and brighter, chasing away his dark cloud. The unconditional love between Ani and his mother shines through as the two enjoy their precious time together, whether it's forever, or just for now. Includes a Note to Parents and Caregivers explaining ways to help a child cope. This sensitive, hopeful story will help kids explore their sadness when a close family member is undergoing medical treatment, while highlighting sources of light that can bring stability during uncertain times. It is also a terrific resource for anyone who wants to understand how coping has its ups and downs.

Summer of a Thousand Pies

Summer of a Thousand Pies

Author: Margaret Dilloway Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt's failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree-and The Great British Baking Show. When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn't even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn't sure what to expect. Cady isn't used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad. Now she's staying in her mother's old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell's own pie shop-and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs. Then she finds out that Aunt Shell's shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she's ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can't fix? Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

Keep Dancing, Katie

Keep Dancing, Katie

Author: Fran Manushkin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Katie loves to dance, but when a new girl, Mattie, joins her dance class, dancing just isn't as much fun. Mattie can spin faster and jump higher than Katie, and Katie is jealous. Will Katie stop worrying about Mattie and remember how fun it is to just keep dancing?

The Tricky Tooth

The Tricky Tooth

Author: Fran Manushkin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Everyone in Katie Woo's class has lost a tooth, except her! She tries everything she can think of to make her wiggly tooth fall out, but nothing works. Will she ever lose her tricky tooth?

Tongue Twisters Pack A of 4

Tongue Twisters Pack A of 4

Author: Trisha Speed Shaskan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/06/2020

Each of these tongue twisting tales features first-rate giggles and groans using the same letter or phonetic sound that gets distorted the faster you say it.