LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Everything's Not Fine

Everything's Not Fine

Author: Sarah Carlson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

Horrid Henry: Midsummer Madness

Horrid Henry: Midsummer Madness

Author: Francesca Simon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

Number One for Fiendish Fun! Get ready for a bumper edition of mayhem with this totally awesome collection of six favourite Horrid Henry stories! Spend your summer holidays with Horrid Henry! This book contains six favourite stories, plus lots of fun jokes and activity pages to keep Horrid Henry fans of all ages entertained for hours. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure - the perfect gift for Horrid Henry fans everywhere.

Summer of a Thousand Pies

Summer of a Thousand Pies

Author: Margaret Dilloway Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt's failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree-and The Great British Baking Show. When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn't even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn't sure what to expect. Cady isn't used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad. Now she's staying in her mother's old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell's own pie shop-and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs. Then she finds out that Aunt Shell's shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she's ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can't fix? Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

We Dream of Space

We Dream of Space

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/06/2020

The Truth According to Blue

The Truth According to Blue

Author: Eve Yohalem Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/06/2020

Like every other thirteen-year-old, Blue is struggling to become comfortable with her changing body. Unlike every other thirteen-year-old, she's also dealing with a life-threatening endocrine system, a super cute diabetic alert dog named Otis, and a pair of way too overprotective parents. On top of all that, she's still reeling from the recent death of her beloved, treasure-hunting-obsessed grandfather, who made her promise that she'd never stop looking for their family's mythical fortune.Desperate to honor his legacy, Blue vows to spend every day of the summer searching the ocean for the treasure with Otis by her side. But then she's saddled with Jules, the spoiled thirteen-year-old daughter of a vacationing movie star, who refuses to leave her side. While Blue initially resents having to babysit this new intruder, the two soon become friends, especially once Jules proves she knows her way around an adventure or two.With Jules and Otis by her side, will Blue learn how to get out of her own way, make new friends, and find a legendary treasure in the process? Or is she destined to be nothing more than 'the girl with diabetes' forever?

The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

Author: Dan Gemeinhart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/06/2020

The Secrets of Magnolia Moon

The Secrets of Magnolia Moon

Author: Edwina Wyatt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Magnolia Moon is nine years old, likes Greek mythology, her best friend Imogen May (who understands the importance of questions like, If you could be one fruit, any fruit, what would you be? ), wishing trees, and speaking crows. She knows instinctively that buffadillos are armadillos crossed with buffalos and believes there are walramingos living in her garden. She's also the kind of person who can be entrusted with a great many secrets. Each chapter in this novel, which captures Magnolia's year of being nine and ends on Chapter Almost 10, reveals a secret that Magnolia is keeping. But the novel also chronicles a year of change for Magnolia. From her best friend moving to the birth of her little brother Finnegan, Magnolia navigates every challenge and secret that comes her way with the kind of authenticity and innocence that comes from being nine years wise.

Clementine and Rudy

Clementine and Rudy

Author: Siobhan Curham Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Their poetry and art will change the world. Rudy is a street artist; Clementine is a poet. The day after Rudy sneaks out late one night and posts her first piece of artwork, Clem discovers it, awestruck. She takes a photo, writes a poem in response and posts them together on Instagram. Soon the two fifteen-year-olds meet and begin their unique friendship, one that nurtures creativity and results in a special creative collaboration. The girls may be from very different backgrounds, and experiencing difficulties at home, but each strives to be true to herself and follow her dreams.

A Forever Home for Fluffy

A Forever Home for Fluffy

Author: Linda Chapman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Grace and Jack have a new pet to rehome. But despite being the cutest-looking kitten ever. Fluffy is not all she seems and the forever Homes rehoming service faces a real challenge to find the perfect owner for her. The second story in this great new series is full of adventure and surprises.

10 Things I Hate About Pinky

10 Things I Hate About Pinky

Author: Sandhya Menon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/06/2020

Pinky Kumar wears the social justice warrior badge with pride. From raccoon hospitals to persecuted rockstars, no cause is too esoteric for her to champion. But a teeny tiny part of her also really enjoys making her conservative, buttoned-up corporate lawyer parents cringe. Samir Jha might have a few . . . quirks remaining from the time he had to take care of his sick mother, like the endless lists he makes in his planner and the way he schedules every minute of every day, but those are good things. They make life predictable and steady. Pinky loves lazy summers at her parents' Cape Cod lake house, but after listening to them harangue her about the poor decisions (aka boyfriends) she's made, she hatches a plan. Get her sorta-friend-sorta-enemy - who is a total Harvard-bound Mama's boy - to pose as her perfect boyfriend for the summer. When Samir's internship falls through, leaving him with an unplanned summer, he gets a text from Pinky asking if he'll be her fake boyfriend in exchange for a new internship. He jumps at the opportunity; Pinky's a freak, but he can survive a summer with her if there's light at the end of the tunnel. As they bicker their way through lighthouses and butterfly habitats, sparks fly, and they both realize this will be a summer they'll never forget.

Five Sisters

Five Sisters

Author: Stephanie Campisi Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Papa, Daddy, and Riley

Papa, Daddy, and Riley

Author: Seamus Kirst Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/05/2020

Riley is Papa's princess and Daddy's dragon. She loves her two fathers! When Riley's classmate asks her which dad is her real one, Riley is confused. She doesn't want to have to pick one or the other. Families are made of love in this heartwarming story that shows there are lots of ways to be part of one.