LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Magnificent Homespun Brown A Celebration

Magnificent Homespun Brown A Celebration

Author: Samara Cole Doyon Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2020

Timmi in Tangles

Timmi in Tangles

Author: Shals Mahajan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2020

One Hug

One Hug

Author: Katrina Moore Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/01/2020

Told in joyful rhymes and bright illustrations, One Hug celebrates the many ways we embrace our loved ones. As a family wakes up to begin preparing for the arrival of their immigrant relatives, the littlest girl begins to feel left out and nervous. But an encouraging brother and the welcoming arms of her grandma help end the day with a belly full of food, jars full of fireflies, and all in cozy, snuggly slumber. From the dazzling talents of debut author Katrina Moore and illustrator Julia Woolf comes a fun, cuddly story that reminds readers how one simple hug can go a long, happy way. A perfect read-aloud to share in classrooms or at bedtime! Soft and strong, warm and snug, What's your favorite way to hug? Mom will SQUEEZE you like a bear; Dad will WHOOSH you through the air!

A House Without Walls

A House Without Walls

Author: Elizabeth Laird Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

A House Without Walls is a powerful story of family, hope and redemption amidst the refugee crisis in Syria from the award-winning Elizabeth Laird, illustrated by Lucy Eldridge. Thirteen-year-old Safiya and her family have been driven out of Syria by civil war. Safiya knows how lucky she is - lucky not to be living in a refugee camp, lucky to be alive. But it's hard to feel grateful when she's forced to look after her father and brother rather than go back to school, and now that she's lost her home, she's lonelier than ever. As they struggle to rebuild their lives, Safiya realizes that her family has always been incomplete and with her own future in the balance, it's time to uncover the secrets that war has kept buried.

Love You, Love You

Love You, Love You

Author: Alison Brown Format: Board book Release Date: 23/01/2020

Love You, Love You is a cute and cuddly board book that shows the love between family members of all kinds. With heartwarming read-aloud rhymes and sweet illustrations by international artist Alison Brown, Love You, Love You is the perfect way to say, I love you! to the little ones in your life any time of year. With an adorable cover case adorned with glitter, this book is perfect for Valentine's Day, baby showers, baptisms, birthdays, new parents or grandparents, aunts and uncles, brothers and sisters, or anyone who wants to express love to the precious child in their life. Love you, Love you, Mama squeaked. Into her nest she quickly peeked. Sleeping babies softly snore. I couldn't love you any more.

Our Emotions and Behaviour: I Don't Want to Wait!: A book about patience

Our Emotions and Behaviour: I Don't Want to Wait!: A book about patience

Author: Sue Graves Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

A gentle picture book that examines the issue of patience in a reassuring way - perfect for young children who struggle with waiting their turn. The story offers a way in to talk about our frustrations and how we can manage them, reinforcing good behaviour. At the end of the story, there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with the big emotions they experience. Maisy hates waiting for anything. She gets really cross if she has to wait her turn, at school or at home. When her sister Lola is late, and then Maisy has to wait for her to play, Maisy is really cross and upset. Lola teaches her some ways to be more patient. But will Maisy be able to show more patience at the park the following day? This book is part of a series, Our Emotions and Behaviour, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of identifying and discussing their emotions, boosting their confidence and helping social and emotional development. Each book has a fun story which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together and a wordless storyboard for children to tell a story themselves and reinforce the story's message. The series supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Nothing Ever Happens Here

Nothing Ever Happens Here

Author: Sarah Hagger-Holt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

This is Littlehaven. Nothing ever happens here. Until my dad. Izzy's family is under the spotlight when her dad comes out as Danielle, a trans woman. Izzy is terrified her family will be torn apart. Will she lose her dad? Will her parents break up? And what will people at school say? Izzy's always been shy, but now all eyes are on her. Can she face her fears, find her voice and stand up for what's right?

Snow Foal

Snow Foal

Author: Susanna Bailey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis. When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster-care family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she's not so alone after all. And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon . . . Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

Our Emotions and Behaviour: Why Should I?: A book about respect

Our Emotions and Behaviour: Why Should I?: A book about respect

Author: Sue Graves Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/01/2020

A gentle picture book that examines the issue of respect in a reassuring way - perfect for young children who struggle with respecting possessions, or other people's space or opinions. The story offers a way in to talk about what respect is and why it is important, reinforcing good behaviour. At the end of the story, there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with the big emotions they experience. Arin really struggles with showing respect for his own possessions or those of others. He doesn't see why he should respect other people's space or opionions either. But when everyone gets upset with him, Arin feels upset, too. Grandpa helps to explain how being respectful shows care for others, and how treating others how he wishes to be treated himself will make him, and others, feel happier. This book is part of a series, Our Emotions and Behaviour, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of identifying and discussing their emotions, boosting their confidence and helping social and emotional development. Each book has a fun story which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together and a wordless storyboard for children to tell a story themselves and reinforce the story's message. The series supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Dragonfly Eyes

Dragonfly Eyes

Author: Cao Wenxuan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

A family saga spanning fifty years and three generations, which takes the reader from the France of the Golden Age to poverty-stricken post-war Shanghai via the re-imagined rural China of the Cultural Revolution. Ah-Mei and her French grandmother, Nainai, share a rare bond. Maybe because Ah-Mei is the only girl grandchild, or maybe because the pair look so alike - and because neither look much like the rest of their Chinese family. Politics and war make 1960s Shanghai a hard place to grow up, especially when racism and bigotry are rife, and everyone is suspicious of Nainai's European heritage. Ah-Mei and her family suffer much in this time of political upheaval, and when the family silk business falters, they are left with almost nothing. But Ah-Mei and her grandmother are resourceful, and they have one another - and the tenderness they share brings them great strength.

The Boy Who Fooled the World

The Boy Who Fooled the World

Author: Lisa Thompson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

The brand new, read-in-one-sitting mystery from the bestselling author of THE GOLDFISH BOY. When a little white lie leads to a huge dose of trouble. Cole is the odd one out at school: the other kids have the latest gadgets and trainers while his family struggles to make ends meet. Until the day one of his paintings is talent-spotted and sells for thousands of pounds at a posh London gallery. Suddenly, Cole is the toast of the international art world, the star guest on TV shows, rich beyond his wildest dreams, hailed as a boy genius! Being famous is FANTASTIC. but Cole has a guilty secret that if exposed will bring everything crashing down around him. A story of fame and fortune, making mistakes and learning to be true to yourself.

Empire's End - A Roman Story (Voices #4)

Empire's End - A Roman Story (Voices #4)

Author: Leila Rasheed Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2020

A gripping Roman adventure told by a young North African girl who sets out on a danger-filled journey to Britain. When, Camilla, a young North African girl travels with her mother and father from Leptis Magna to Rome in 207 AD, she believes that she is going to the centre of the world. But just a few months later, the little family is dispatched to the very edge of it: Britannica. Tragedy strikes and, left alone with the Empress while her father travels north, Camilla has to navigate the tricky world of secrets and danger in this cold place she must now call home. In this heart-stopping adventure based on real historical events, Leila Rasheed shows us a dangerous and intriguing time in Britain that's sure to fascinate young readers. VOICES: A thrilling series showcasing some of the UK's finest writers for young people. Voices reflects the authentic, unsung stories of our past. Each shows that, even in times of great upheaval, a myriad of people have arrived on this island and made a home for themselves - from Roman times to the present day.