LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Reading Champion: Birthday Riddles

Reading Champion: Birthday Riddles

Author: Katie Dale Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

It's the twins' birthday and they are very excited. But where are their presents? Mum and Dad have set a treasure trail, and the twins will have to solve the riddles to find them! Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills. Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Independent Reading 11 stories are the perfect introduction to first chapter books for children aged 6+ who are reading at book band 11 in classroom reading lessons. The Key Stage 2 Reading Champion Books are suggested for use as follows: Independent Reading 11: start of Year 3 or age 7+ Independent Reading 12: end of Year 3 or age 7+ Independent Reading 13: start of Year 4 or age 8+ Independent Reading 14: end of Year 4 or age 8+ Independent Reading 15: start of Year 5 or age 9+ Independent Reading 16: end of Year 5 or age 9+ Independent Reading 17: start of Year 6 or age 10+ Independent Reading 18: end of Year 6 or age 10+

Rule of Threes

Rule of Threes

Author: Marcy Campbell Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Part family drama, part contemporary thriller, Rule of Threes is a middle grade story about what happens when perfect is out of your control. An interior design enthusiast, twelve-year-old Maggie Owens is accustomed to living her life according to her own precise plans. But when she learns about Tony, a mysterious half-brother her own age who needs a place to stay, any semblance of a plan is shattered. Tony's mom struggles with an addiction to opioids, and now she's called upon Maggie's dad-who is also Tony's dad-to take him in. On top of everything, Maggie must also come to terms with the Alzheimer's afflicting her beloved grandmother. While Maggie can strive for-and even succeed in-a picture perfect design, when it comes to family, there is no such thing as perfection. To work through the sudden struggles rocking her world, Maggie must learn the importance of having an open heart. * A heart-wrenching, authentic, and darkly funny coming-of-age story * Addresses hard-hitting topics-such as divorce and substance abuse-with care and honesty * From Marcy Campbell, author of Adrian Simcox Does NOT Have a Horse Merci Suarez Changes Gears meets The Thing About Jellyfish in this compulsively readable novel. * Perfect for ages 10 and up * Appeals to those interested in stories about friendship and non-traditional families * Great for readers who love a bold and self-aware protagonist

Digger and Me

Digger and Me

Author: Ros Roberts Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Where do I feel at home? When I'm sitting with my dog, Digger. James splits his life between his mum's and his dad's houses. It's far from perfect. Especially now Dad doesn't have time for bike rides with him any more and Mum's always with her new boyfriend. The constant is Digger, his dog and best friend. He's the glue that holds the two halves of James's life together. So when James finds a lump on Digger's leg, everything changes. Digger is the one he can talk to about anything. But when it's Digger he needs to talk about, where can he turn? A touching story about family, friendship and finding your voice, for readers of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and I, COSMO.

The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife

The Exploding Life of Scarlett Fife

Author: Maz Evans Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

From the bestselling Maz Evans comes a new series about Scarlett Fife: logical, mathematical - but when it comes to her BIG FEELINGS, completely out of control ... Heartfelt and hilarious, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl's Matilda. 'A laugh-out-loud story full of warmth, Big Feelings and explosive results.' Dominique Valente, author of Starfell Scarlett Fife has BIG FEELINGS. And when she has BIG FEELINGS, they explode out of her like an over-squeezed stress ball. Scarlett's in big trouble after a BIG FEELINGS episode leads to a runaway hamster getting into the vicar's trousers at her aunty's engagement party. If she loses her temper ONE MORE TIME, she's going to miss out on her trip to Mega Awesome Sicky Fun World, the best theme park on the planet. But feelings are like slime in a party bag. No matter how much someone tells you to keep it in, it'll always find its way out. And very soon, Scarlett notices that every time she pushes her feelings down, something explodes. Like ... really, properly explodes. It might be her teacher's slimy green smoothie. A huge pot of purple paint. Or a massive pile of elephant poo at the zoo. And let's hope Scarlett doesn't get mad at Aunty's wedding - that wedding cake is HUGE ... Laugh-out-loud action for every child and parent who has ever lost control of their feelings - this is sparkling, heartwarming and beautifully illustrated throughout.

Hair Twins

Hair Twins

Author: Raakhee Mirchandani Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Every morning Papa combs through his daughter's waves like he does his own -- parting it down the middle, using coconut oil to get all the tangles out. Some days he braids her hair in two twists down the side of her face. Other days he weaves it into one long braid hanging down her back, just like a unicorn tail. But her favorite style is when he combs her hair in a tight bun on the top of her head, just like the joora he wears every day under his turban. They call this their hair twin look!

The Only Black Girls in Town

The Only Black Girls in Town

Author: Brandy Colbert Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Beach loving surfer Alberta has been the only black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend Laramie is the closest thing she has to a sister, but there are some things even she can't udnerstand. When the Bed and Breakfast next door finally finds new owners, Alberta is ecstatic to learn the new family is black, and they have a 12-year old daughter just like her. Alberta is positive she and the new girl, Edie, will be fast friends. But her dads are quick to warn her, all skinfolk ain't kinfolk . While Alberta is an upbeat sporty beach lover, Edie is a moody Wednesday Addams come to life. She wears black dresses and lipstick, and doesn't get any of Alberta's jokes. When the girls discover a collection of secret journals in Edie's attic, their curiosity gets the best of them and they put their differences aside. Soon they discover shocking and painful secrets, and the role the unrelenting violence of s racism played in it.

Crossing the Stream

Crossing the Stream

Author: Elizabeth Irene-Baitie Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/05/2021

Ato has always seen his father as a real-life Superman, maybe even with a bit of Iron Man and the Hulk mixed in. When he dies, Ato and his mother are devastated, and struggle to put the pieces of their lives back together. So when Ato's mother decides he should spend the summer with his grandmother, he isn't sure what to expect. It certainly isn't arriving to find her preparing to bury the family sofa. As the summer goes by, Nana tells stories about the couch that span generations and that are by turns hilarious and heartbreaking. In listening, Ato discovers his father's vibrant, complicated life, and learns to honor his past with hope for his future. Whimsical and wise, Crossing the Stream is a big-hearted story of loss and love set in contemporary Accra, from one of Ghana's most lauded children's book authors.

I Love You, Daddy

I Love You, Daddy

Author: DK Format: Board book Release Date: 06/05/2021

This book takes a lovely look at the love shared between fathers and babies everywhere. Children will adore meeting the cutest father and baby animal pairs, from monkeys in the rainforest to chickens on the farm. Bright photographs are accompanied by fun rhyming text perfect for reading aloud to your little one. Children will love to list all the different things their dads do for them, and why they love them so much. And daddies will, too! This adorable board book makes the ideal gift for amazing dads.

Earth Friends: River Rescue

Earth Friends: River Rescue

Author: Holly Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

The second fantastic book in this series about four friends who want to make the world a better place. Izzy and Willow are being taken for a walk along the river by Emily's boisterous dog, Billy, when he decides to chase after a water-rat. Both animals land in the river, which is so choked with rubbish that Billy can't get out. His paw is stuck in an old bike wheel and the girls must work to free him. The adventure gives Izzy a great idea for their next project, though, and it's a very very muddy one... A brilliant series about the small changes that make a big difference from bestselling author Holly Webb. With cover illustration by Owen Gildersleeve. Look out for: Earth Friends: Fair Fashion

Panda at the Door

Panda at the Door

Author: Sarah Horne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

Paddington meets Mary Poppins in this modern-day family adventure from writer and illustrator Sarah Horne! Pudding the Panda makes everyone smile at Edinburgh Zoo. But what would make her truly happy is a family to take care of - like her heroine, Mary Poppins. Meanwhile, Callum is having a hard time at home. His parents keep arguing, his sister is annoying and his ninth birthday gift is a certificate for an 'adopted' panda when all he wanted was Lego. Then by a twist of fate, the unbelievable happens and the two come together on Callum's front doorstep. Get ready for pandamonium ...

Have a Surprise Party

Have a Surprise Party

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2021

The Meanest of Meanies

The Meanest of Meanies

Author: Kristin Hensley, Jen Smedley Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/04/2021

From the beloved New York Times bestselling #IMomSoHard duo, Kristin Hensley and Jen Smedley, The Meanest of Meanies is a hilarious but heartfelt look at love and motherhood from the queens of modern motherhood themselves. The creators of the social media sensation #IMomSoHard, Kristin Hensley and Jen Smedley, know what it means to be a M.O.M.-the Meanest Of Meanies! It's cheering the loudest at the spelling bee, making crazy dinners because someone is a picky eater, bath time (enough said?), and only reading four books at bedtime when someone has piled up about eighty-two of them. Because the truth is that when you're a M.O.M. being mean . . . means . . . I love you.