LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Horrid Henry: Holiday Horrors

Horrid Henry: Holiday Horrors

Author: Francesca Simon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Number One for Fiendish Fun! Get up to mischief with Horrid Henry in this brilliant bind up of his best holiday themed stories! Keep busy in the school holidays with Horrid Henry! This book contains six of Henry's most horrible holiday stories, plus lots of fun jokes and activity pages to keep Horrid Henry fans of all ages entertained for hours. An irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure - the perfect gift for Horrid Henry fans everywhere.

Luna Rae is Not Alone

Luna Rae is Not Alone

Author: Hayley Webster Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

The thing about a new house is everything's new. That sounds really obvious, I know, but if you think about it, one of the things about where you live is that you build up all this stuff there ... You get used to old things. New things take getting used to. Luna Rae has moved to a new house and a new school. It's hard fitting in - especially when there's so much to worry about at home. She's SURE that the way to solve everything is by winning the school baking competition with her mum ... but there's a problem. Luna's mum has disappeared. A wise, warm and uplifting story about families and friendship, from a beautiful new voice in children's fiction.

Proud of Me

Proud of Me

Author: Sarah Haggar-Holt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

An accessible child-centred story about self-acceptance and the importance of opening up to those closest to you. Becky and Josh are almost-twins, with two mums and the same anonymous donor dad. Josh can't wait until he's eighteen, the legal age when he can finally contact his father, and he'll do anything to find out more - even if it involves lying. Becky can't stop thinking about her new friend, Carli. Could her feelings for Carli be a sign of something more? Becky and Josh both want their parents to be proud of them...but right now, they're struggling to even accept themselves.

I Love You, Mummy

I Love You, Mummy

Author: DK Format: Board book Release Date: 04/02/2021

This book features beautiful scenes of mothers and babies from all across the animal kingdom. From fluffy farmyard creatures to jungle animals, children will love meeting new mother and baby pairs on every page. Bright images of cute, cuddly animals are accompanied by rhyming text, ideal for reading aloud to your little one. Children will love listing all the things that mums do for them, and why they love them so much. And mummies will, too! This sweet board book is the perfect gift to show mums just how much we care about them.

Sadiq Pack A of 4

Sadiq Pack A of 4

Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 04/02/2021

From debut author Siman Nuurali comes fun-loving eight-year-old Sadiq and his lively Somali-origin family. Sadiq has many interests, from football to video games to cooking (and eating!) samosas. But he's always ready to try something new! In each book, Sadiq shares a new hobby with friends and neighbours. A natural connector and friend to all, Sadiq invites readers in on the fun of starting clubs and making friends.

Magpie

Magpie

Author: Eve Ainsworth Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

It has been a long time since Alice has felt safe. Because of him. Ross. But now she, Mum and her little brother Henry have finally moved far away, where Ross will never find them. It's a fresh start, Mum says. This time, she is never going back. Slowly Alice starts to build a life for herself, at a new school with new friends. But she can't escape the feeling she is being watched. That he might be lurking, waiting to ruin everything again. That Mum might be about to break her promise. That, just when Alice is starting to feel safe, everything will be taken away from her. A story about healing, home and new beginnings from acclaimed author Eve Ainsworth.

Opie Jones Talks to Animals

Opie Jones Talks to Animals

Author: Nat Luurtsema Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, My Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl 10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don't count the cat that gives her funny looks from next door (which she doesn't). So she is naturally very surprised when she is recruited to join The Resistance - a team of superheroes who can read minds, and have a dastardly brainwashing villain to defeat. HOWEVER& it turns out Opie can't read human minds, she can read ANIMAL ones. The other members of the Resistance are very disappointed. And a whole world of animal chat and demands is opening up to her. She's still a superhero, just one on her hands and knees in the mud, chatting to a pedantic worm. But when the brainwashing villain is out to get Opie and her friends, it might just be that listening to all the creatures great and small is what makes Opie Jones the right person to save the world.

Sadiq and the Perfect Play

Sadiq and the Perfect Play

Author: Siman Nuurali Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Sadiq's big sister, Aliya, was recently cast in a community theatre musical. When Sadiq and his friends hear her practising, they decide to put on their own play for their friends and family. Sadiq volunteers to be the director, but when he makes decisions without his friends' input, everyone starts to get annoyed. Can they resolve their issues before the big performance?

Sadiq and the Bridge Builders

Sadiq and the Bridge Builders

Author: Siman Nuurali Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Lately it seems to be raining constantly, making it difficult for Sadiq to play outside. When the librarian at his school starts a building club, Sadiq and his friends decide to join. They're tasked with building a city model designed to withstand a natural disaster. Inspired by the flooding happening in their own community, can Sadiq and friends come up with a solution?

The Super-Secret Diary of Holly Hopkinson: This Is Going To Be a Fiasco

The Super-Secret Diary of Holly Hopkinson: This Is Going To Be a Fiasco

Author: Charlie P. Brooks Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

A charming domestic comedy, with a dash of magic, and the occasional moment of mayhem! These are the memoirs of ME, Holly Hopkinson, aged almost ten, except without any of the rubbish adults usually put in, thank you very much. My dad just lost his job, which means me and the rest of my family have to leave London and move to the middle of nowhere, which is a TOTAL DISASTER! There's no Wi-Fi, the local kids are FERAL and there's animal poo EVERYWHERE. But then for my birthday, my eccentric aunt gave me a magic pocket watch, which I can use to hypnotise and CONTROL people. I actually wanted a new phone, but I won't complain because this new power is REALLY FUN and has led to the MOST unexpected things - including a visit to the QUEEN. Maybe the countryside isn't so bad after all...

Panda at the Door

Panda at the Door

Author: Sarah Horne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Paddington meets Mary Poppins in this modern-day family adventure from writer and illustrator Sarah Horne! Callum misses his Dad. He doesn't call on his birthday, and worse, the present he chooses for Cal is ... weird. It's a panda at Edinburgh Zoo. How can Cal 'adopt' a wild animal with the muddle his family is in? And what he doesn't expect is for the bear to take charge. Tired of doing roly-polys for the public, Ping-Ping wants to help a child who needs her ...

Looked After Boy

Looked After Boy

Author: Lynda M Brennan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2021

For readers 13+ Looked after Boy tackles difficult, but topical, issues. It is a gritty, but moving, tale of a marginalised group; that of children in the care system at risk of involvement in County Lines gangs. In this coming of age story, fourteen-year old Joe Mac struggles to find his own voice in a hostile world that constantly disempowers him. After years of neglect, Joe, his brothers and sisters are taken into care and separated. Despite betrayals and failures of the system supposedly protecting him, Joe vows to get all his family back together but nothing is straightforward in Joe's life and he must face more betrayal, danger and ultimately his own demons before he can look to a new future. Joe's unique voice and sparkly personality speaks out from every page and, despite the topics tackled, young readers will empathise with Joe as his story deals with familiar issues of fear, separation and loss. The story doesn't shirk away from the telling of Joe's experiences, but it does offer hope too.