LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Seven Sisters

Seven Sisters

Author: Ayisha Malik Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/08/2021

High up in the trees seven sisters swing, swoop and swirl - each totally different and brilliant in their own way. The treetops are full of music, colour and life! Until one day the ground trembles and the trees shake. Something is changing... An enchanting story celebrating difference and creativity by Ayisha Malik, with stunning illustrations from Erika Meza.

Summer and July

Summer and July

Author: Paul Mosier Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

From the critically acclaimed author of Train I Ride and Echo's Sister comes a moving story of friendship between two girls looking for some happiness in a world that can be a little cruel. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Standish, and Erin Entrada Kelly. Twelve-year-old Juillet is preparing for the worst summer ever. She and her mom are staying in the seaside neighborhood of Ocean Park, California, for a month, where her mom will be working at the local hospital and Juillet will be on her own, like always. Her dad is off in Europe with his new girlfriend, and her best friend, Fern . . . well, Juiller isn't allowed to talk to Fern anymore. Fern took the blame for Juillet's goth-girl clothes and not-real fears, like sharks and rip currents and the number three. Then Juillet meets Summer, a local surfer girl who knows the coolest people and places around town. With free-spirited and adventurous Summer, Juillet begins to come out of her shell and face the things weighing her down. But when Summer reveals her own painful secret, it's Juillet's turn to be the strong and supportive friend.

Nurse Kenji Rules!

Nurse Kenji Rules!

Author: Fran Manushkin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

The Woos' neighbor, Mr Kenji, is training to be a nurse. He has a big test coming up, and Katie has offered to help him get ready. Hopefully Katie's help will lead to a high score on the big test for Mr Kenji.

The Elephant in the Room

The Elephant in the Room

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

Bamba Beach: A Bloomsbury Reader

Bamba Beach: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Pratima Mitchell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

A poignant, contemporary family story set in Goa, India, written by Pratima Mitchell. Hari's family make their living from fishing, but with no fish left in the bay, times are really hard. To catch the fish further away they need a better boat, but to get a better boat they need to sell fish... Despite family feuds and village superstitions standing in his way, Hari doesn't give up, and it isn't long before help arrives from the most unlikely source. This thought-provoking story from Pratima Mitchell has engaging black-and-white illustrations by David Dean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations, ideas for discussion points and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 'Patrice Lawrence, Tony Bradman, Margaret Mahy [...] any list that brings together such a quality line up of authors is going to be welcomed.' - Books for Keeps on the series Book Band: Dark Blue (Ideal for ages 9+)

Super-Duper Librarian

Super-Duper Librarian

Author: Fran Manushkin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

A rainy day brings Katie and the rest of the neighbourhood to the library. The librarian, Miss Bliss, is the best at finding the perfect book for each reader. But it's almost time to go, and Katie still doesn't have a book. What super-duper books will she find?

The Amazing Edie Eckhart

The Amazing Edie Eckhart

Author: Rosie Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

Edie Eckhart might be wobbly, but she's not going to let that stop her! A sparky middle-grade series from TV comedian Rosie Jones. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and DORK DIARIES. Do you like chicken? Oscar asked me. I nodded. Then take a wing . Oscar offered me his arm and we linked each other into the school hall. Edie has Cerebral palsy, but she's used to it because she's spent her whole life being a bit wobbly. She can't wait to start secondary school with her best friend Oscar and share sausage rolls with him at breaktime. But when Oscar scuppers these plans by getting his first ever girlfriend, GROSS, Edie eventually decides to stop feeling sorry for herself and find a boyfriend, so she can prove to Oscar she's grown up too. She muses: 'when Thor was stripped of his power and banished to Earth by Odin, did he mope around and throw his hammer out of the pram? No he got on with it, bossed around Earth and found love like an absolute legend'. But while she's plotting, she accidentally gets cast as the lead role in the school play. As Edie devotes her time to the performing arts, she finds a new friend, as well as talents - and feelings - she never knew she had. She soon realises that life in the spotlight might just be her thing after all ...

Sona Sharma, Looking After Planet Earth

Sona Sharma, Looking After Planet Earth

Author: Chitra Soundar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

Sona Sharma combats climate change. When Sona learns about the climate crisis at school and is very worried that no one is doing enough to combat it, she takes up the challenge herself. But Appa isn't amused when Sona throws out her baby sister's nappies and Thatha isn't happy when she tells him to get rid of his colour-coded plastic files. When Sona learns that many of the kolams - the traditional art that people draw in front of their homes to celebrate the winter months and the festival season - are not organic, she sets out to make some big changes by getting everyone involved.

Magnificent Homespun Brown

Magnificent Homespun Brown

Author: Samara Cole Doyon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/08/2021

With vivid illustrations by Kaylani Juanita, Samara Cole Doyon sings a carol for the plenitude that surrounds us and the self each of us is meant to inhabit.

La mascota perfecta (The Perfect Pet)

La mascota perfecta (The Perfect Pet)

Author: Christine Platt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2021

Ana & Andrew are getting a new pet! They research different pets before choosing the best pet for their family. Then they pick a name for it! With the name Ana & Andrew choose, they learn from a famous African American that skin color does not affect a person's abilities. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.

El violin magico (The Magic Violin)

El violin magico (The Magic Violin)

Author: Christine Platt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2021

Ana & Andrew are learning to play the violin! They are excited to join the youth orchestra. At first it is fun. But when they start to lose interest, Ana & Andrew learn from an important African American about the importance of practicing. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards.

Ana & Andrew Set 2 (Spanish) (Set of 4)

Ana & Andrew Set 2 (Spanish) (Set of 4)

Author: Christine Platt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2021

Ana & Andrew are always on an adventure! They live in Washington, DC with their parents, but with family in Savannah, Georgia and Trinidad, there's always something exciting and new to learn about African American history and culture. Aligned to Common Core standards and correlated to state standards.