LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

All You Need is Love

All You Need is Love

Author: Emma Chichester Clark Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Plum loves everyone. She loves her mummy and daddy and she especially loves her best friends, Rocket, Esther, Bean and Jakey. Her favourite part of the day is when she chases her best friends around the park. But when new dogs try to join in, Plum isn't so sure. Do they really need new friends? Especially ones as big as Otto, as old as Bounder, or as tiny as Milly? In this heartwarming tale, Plum learns what it really means to be a friend and how much fun new ones can be - especially when you give them a chance.

The Boy with the Butterfly Mind

The Boy with the Butterfly Mind

Author: Victoria Williamson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Jamie Lee wants to be normal. But his ADHD makes him feel like his brain is full of butterflies. Elin Watts wants to be perfect. If she can be, surely her dad will come home. When Jamie and Elin's families blend, the polar opposites of chaotic Jamie and ordered Elin collide. As their lives spiral out of control, Jamie and Elin discover that they're actually more alike than they'd admit. Maybe there's no such thing as normal, or perfect. And perhaps, just like families, happy-ever-afters come in all shapes and sizes. Uplifting and moving, The Boy with the Butterfly Mind is an inspiring story of acceptance, blended families, and discovering that in the end, being yourself is more than enough.

Home Games

Home Games

Author: Benjamin Markovits Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Award-winning adult author Benjamin Markovits delivers a poignant coming-of-age middle grade story that will give comfort to anyone feeling like a small fish in a Texas-size sea. Perfect for fans of Kevin Henkes, Rebecca Stead, and Kate DiCamillo. Twelve-year-old Ben is a shy, quiet kid. His life isn't perfect, but he feels at home in his New York City apartment. Then his dad takes a job in London, and everything changes. His parents separate, and Ben's mom moves them back to her hometown of Austin, Texas. Ben's simple life is suddenly complicated. He misses his apartment, his best friend, Jake, and his dad. Then he meets Mabley, who becomes a bright spot to Ben's day. But when his mom starts working at his new school and making friends with his teacher, Ben finds himself at the center of all the problems the adults around him can't resolve-and even some of his own. That includes joining the school's basketball team, where Mabley's best friend is the star player. After being pushed around, looking for his place, Ben will have to learn how to stand his ground.

Tollerton Mill

Tollerton Mill

Author: Joe Rosenthal Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/03/2020

Three Things I Know Are True

Three Things I Know Are True

Author: Betty Culley Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Fans of Jandy Nelson and Marieke Nijkamp will love this deeply moving novel in verse about the aftermath of a gun accident. Life changes forever for Liv when her older brother, Jonah, accidentally shoots himself with his best friend Clay's father's gun. Now Jonah needs round-the-clock care just to stay alive, and Liv feels like she's the only person who can see that her brother is still there inside his broken body. With Liv's mom suing Clay's family, there are divisions in the community that Liv knows she's not supposed to cross. But Clay is her friend, too, and she refuses to turn away from him-just like she refuses to give up on Jonah. This powerful novel is a stunning exploration of tragedy, grief, compassion, and forgiveness.

Talking to the Moon

Talking to the Moon

Author: S. E. Durrant Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Iris's grandmother, Mimi, has started to put jam on her scrambled eggs and tie yellow ribbons around her fingers to remind her of stuff. Her house, always full of things, is becoming harder and harder to navigate, and when Iris goes to stay, she feels as if a whole life is becoming muddled up. As her grandmother's memory fades, a mystery is uncovered. Who is Coral, and what happened to her?

The Faraway Truth

The Faraway Truth

Author: Janae Marks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

From debut author Janae Marks comes a warm, wise and captivating mystery full of heart, as one girl searches for the truth in the face of great opposition. Zoe Washington never met her father, who was sent to prison right before she was born. When she receives a letter from him on her twelfth birthday, it's a huge surprise. Zoe's mom always told her that Marcus was a liar, a monster, but he sounds ... nice. Zoe starts to investigate the crime - and the deeper she digs, the more she doubt the conviction. Is her father innocent? Or is he a liar? Zoe is determined to find out.

Mommy, Daddy, and Me!

Mommy, Daddy, and Me!

Author: Eve Tharlet Format: Board book Release Date: 01/03/2020

Baby Belly

Baby Belly

Author: Patricia Martin Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Get Ready Board Book. This new series of cleverly wordless board books with bright illustrations will delight little ones and their parents and provides an endless opportunity to engage in toddlers their own storytelling and interpretation of what they see in the book. Super cute and appealing, little kids will see themselves in the stories as both books capture a family's experience. Baby Belly is a precious story about the pregnancy experience for a sibling that features a big brother who wonders what's inside his moms belly-maybe it's a balloon? As mommy's belly gets bigger and bigger he waits for the arrival of a baby sister or brother.

Sleepy Time

Sleepy Time

Author: Patricia Martin Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Get Ready Board Book. This new series of cleverly wordless board books with bright illustrations will delight little ones and their parents and provides an endless opportunity to engage in toddlers their own storytelling and interpretation of what they see in the book. Super cute and appealing, little kids will see themselves in the stories as both books capture a family's experience. Sleepy Time is a comforting snuggle up book, perfect to read to young kids to develop calm daily routines. Bathing, putting on pajamas, using the potty, brushing teeth, reading a story, and being afraid. With a parent as instructor, protector, and safe-keeper, this book is for every kid.

Swap'd A Click'd Novel

Swap'd A Click'd Novel

Author: Tamara Ireland Stone Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/02/2020

Grandma Cuddles With Touch-and-Feel Animals!

Grandma Cuddles With Touch-and-Feel Animals!

Author: Cee Biscoe Format: Board book Release Date: 22/02/2020

Bedtime routines are more fun with Grandma! In this sweet board book, different grandma and grandbaby animal pairs prepare for bed, from bath time to story time. Invite your little one to feel the crocodile's scales, for instance, as you read aloud, Grandma makes my bath time fun While I get nice and clean. We splash each other till at last, My scales are gleaming green! Me and Grandma love to cuddle, Splashy, splooshy, soapy cuddles! Then cuddle up for the night as you say I love you one more time. The cute rhymes, adorable art, and fun tactile elements make this book the perfect gift from a grandma to her little one, for a first-time grandma, or in celebration of Grandparents Day. Snuggle in! Even bedtime is better with Grandma.