LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & home stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

My Dad is Fantastic

My Dad is Fantastic

Author: Roald Dahl Format: Board book Release Date: 14/05/2020

My Dad is FANTASTIC He's clever, kind and wise. You'll know he's really smiling By the twinkle in his eyes! A read-aloud rhyming board book that celebrates dads everywhere - from their most FANTASTIC moments to their most magnificent WHIZZPOPS!

44 Tiny Secrets

44 Tiny Secrets

Author: Sylvia Bishop Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE BOOKSHOP GIRL. Betsy Bow-Linnet is determined to become a world famous concert pianist like her parents. There's just one problem: no matter how hard she practises she doesn't share their musical talents. So when a mysterious letter arrives from a woman claiming to know of an unusual Method that will make Betsy's playing 'stupendous', Betsy jumps at the chance. There's just one condition: she must keep the Method a secret. But it isn't just one secret - it's forty-four tiny secrets in the shape of a boxful of pygmy mice! Betsy is mystified - how are they going to help her play the piano and - more importantly - how on earth can she keep them all a secret? Gorgeously illustrated in two-colour, this is a warm, funny and pitch-perfect story about the true nature of family love and finding your real talents in the most unexpected of places. Perfect for fans of ISADORA MOON, AMELIA FANG, OTTOLINE and HARPER.

Bat and the End of Everything

Bat and the End of Everything

Author: Elana K. Arnold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

The third book in the funny and joyful series Katherine Applegate has called tender and important, by National Book Award finalist Elana K. Arnold. Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat) has been the caretaker for Thor, the best skunk kit in the world...but the last day of third grade is quickly approaching, and Thor is almost ready to be released into the wild. The end of school also means that Bat has to say good-bye to his favorite teacher, and he worries about the summer care of Babycakes, their adorable class pet. Not only that, but his best friend is leaving for a long vacation in Canada. Summer promises good things, too, like working with his mom at the vet clinic and hanging out with his sister, Janie. But Bat can't help but feel that everything is coming to an end. National Book Award finalist Elana K. Arnold returns with the third story starring an unforgettable boy on the autism spectrum.

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson

The Remarkable Inventions of Walter Mortinson

Author: Quinn Sosna-Spear Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Contains elements of Oz and Harry Potter with a healthy dollop of Willy Wonka thrown into the mix. -Kirkus Reviews In this sweeping and inventive debut novel that's perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman, and Tim Burton, a prodigal inventor flees his home to find his destiny. In the humdrum town of Moormouth, Walter Mortinson's unusual inventions cause nothing but trouble. After one of his contraptions throws the town into chaos, Walter's mother demands he cut the nonsense and join the family mortuary business. Far off on Flaster Isle, famed inventor Horace Flasterborn plans to take Walter under his wing, just as he did Walter's genius father decades ago. When a letter arrives by unusual means offering Walter an apprenticeship, it isn't long before Walter decides to flee Moormouth to meet his destiny. Walter runs away in the family hearse along with Cordelia, the moody girl next door with one eye and plenty of secrets. Together they journey through a strange landscape of fish-people, giantess miners, and hypnotized honeybees in an adventure that will not only reveal the truth about Walter's past, but direct his future.

The Time of Green Magic

The Time of Green Magic

Author: Hilary McKay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

From acclaimed author and Costa winner Hilary McKay comes The Time of Green Magic: a beautiful, spell-binding novel about family, magic, an old house and a mysterious visitor . . . Abi and her two step-brothers, Max and Louis, find that strange things happen when they are alone in their eerie, ivy-covered new house. Abi, reading alone, finds herself tumbling deep into books, while Louis summons a startling guest through his bedroom window. Even Max has started to see shapes in the shadows . . . Their busy parents see none of it - but Louis' secret visitor is growing too alarming to keep secret, and he finds he cannot manage without Max and Abi's help. Can they find out where the mysterious creature has come from - and how to get it back there?

Bedtime Daddy!

Bedtime Daddy!

Author: Sharon Giltrow Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/05/2020

Putting Daddy to bed can be hard work. Especially when he starts crying! This story will show you how to wrestle your daddy into his pajamas and read just one more bedtime story. I'm thirrrrrrrrssssssty, says Daddy. I need to poop ... I'm hungry ... But I'll miss you, he says, while he looks at you with cutie eyes. You'll have to battle the bedtime excuses and use go-away monster spray until Daddy finally goes to sleep. Bedtime can be a mission for many, but with these gorgeous illustrations of a little bear and his dad, this is the perfect role-reversal bedtime story to help put any fussy child to bed in a fun and positive way. Full of heart and humour, Bedtime, Daddy! is for anyone who wants to try and put a grown-up to bed.

The List of Things That Will Not Change

The List of Things That Will Not Change

Author: Rebecca Stead Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Despite her parents' divorce, her father's coming out as gay, and his plans to marry his boyfriend, ten-year-old Bea is reassured by her parents' unconditional love and is excited about getting a stepsister. But she's also haunted by something she did last summer at her father's lake house.

Hope Jones Saves the World

Hope Jones Saves the World

Author: Josh Lacey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

My name is Hope Jones. I am ten years old. I am going to save the world. Hope Jones' New Year's resolution is to give up plastic, and she's inspiring others to do the same with her website hopejonessavestheworld.com. When she realises her local supermarket seems to stock more unnecessary plastic than food, she makes it her mission to do something about it. She may be just one ten-year-old with a homemade banner, but with enough determination, maybe Hope Jones really can save the world.

Dot Unplugged

Dot Unplugged

Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

It's pouring with rain and now the power's gone out at Dot's house. What should they do to pass the time with no tech? It turns out that improvised game keeps Dot's family so entertained, they just might decide to stay unplugged a bit longer!

The Peddler and the Baker

The Peddler and the Baker

Author: Yael Molchadsky Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2020

_ Hallelujah for a brand new day and the wondrous smell that floats my way.'_ A poor but happy peddler lives in the attic of a bakery. Whilst he does not have much, he is content with his life. Every morning, he wakes up to the wonderful smell of freshly-baked bread and loudly exclaims his joy through the open window. The baker, however, grows ever more irate that the peddler should enjoy the smell of his bread without ever paying for it. He asks the Rabbi for help. The Rabbi summons the peddler and instructs him to return in one week with enough money to pay the baker back for all the times he has enjoyed the smell of his challah. The peddler works harder than ever that week. On Friday morning, when he returns with as much money as he can scrape together, the rabbi takes his coin-pouch and shakes it for the baker to hear. The sound of the coins is payment, the Rabbi says, for the smell of the bread. Sound and smell, just like Shabbat, are free for everyone in the world to enjoy. A delightful retelling of an inspiring folktale, _The Peddler and the Baker_ teaches the importance of sharing and inclusivity, the beauty of Shabbat and the idea that anyone, regardless of their circumstances, has the right to find joy in the world. A recipe for challah follows the story.

All the Fun of the Fair

All the Fun of the Fair

Author: Sophy Henn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/04/2020

The second book in the wickedly funny series for ages six and up from the creator of Where Bear?, Pass It On and the Pom Pom series, with colour illustrations throughout. Hi! I'm Jeanie - 7 3/4 years old, and a BIG fan of badges. BAD NANA is one of my three grandmas (yes, three). Of course, Bad Nana isn't actually her actual name - but it's what everyone has been calling her for MILLIONS of years. If I had MY way, I would call her Fun Nana , because she is actually brilliant. Yes, she's a bit NAUGHTY sometimes, but in an EXCELLENT way. My Dad says she really should know better, but I think she's so bad, she's GOOD! The second instalment in the wickedly funny series, from superstar author and illustrator Sophy Henn

Rissa the Right Whale Friends Helping Friends

Rissa the Right Whale Friends Helping Friends

Author: Marjorie McMahon Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/04/2020

A young calf named Rissa loves making friends among the other whale calves, turtles, and seals in the area. In her first adventure away from her mom, Rissa meets Tessa Turtle with her twin leatherbacks. As she expands her territory, she learns that danger lurks in the coastal waters. With the guidance of her mom and new friends, Rissa quickly understands that nobody does it alone. This is a story of friendship, full of fun facts about right whales. Rissa's tale provides a journey that adventurous readers will want to take again and again.