LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Traditional stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Over the Moon: The Novelization

Over the Moon: The Novelization

Author: Wendy Wan-Long Shang Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Based on the Netflix original animated film, this illustrated novel retells the story of Over the Moon and includes original concept art! Fueled with determination and a passion for science, a bright young girl named Fei Fei builds a rocket ship to the moon to prove the existence of a legendary Moon Goddess. There she ends up on the adventure of a lifetime and discovers a whimsical land of fantastical creatures. Directed by animation legend Glen Keane, and produced by Gennie Rim and Peilin Chou, Over the Moon is an exhilarating musical adventure about moving forward, embracing the unexpected, and the power of imagination.

Over the Moon: Let Love In

Over the Moon: Let Love In

Author: Colin Hosten, Sia Dey Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Based on the Netflix original film Over the Moon, this spellbinding illustrated picture book retells the moving story of main characters Fei Fei and Chang'e. Fueled with determination and a passion for science, a bright young girl named Fei Fei builds a rocket ship to the moon to prove the existence of a legendary Moon Goddess. There she ends up on the adventure of a lifetime and discovers a whimsical land of fantastical creatures. Directed by animation legend Glen Keane, and produced by Gennie Rim and Peilin Chou, Over the Moon is an exhilarating musical adventure about moving forward, embracing the unexpected, and the power of imagination.

The Robin and the Fir Tree

The Robin and the Fir Tree

Author: Jason Jameson Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

The Fir Tree grows in a forest far away from the bustle of the town. It is a beautiful place, but he dreams of the excitement of the outside world. His friend the Robin tells him stories of the places she has seen, and the forest animals dress him up with berries and leaves, but he is still not happy. One day he is cut down and taken away to be a beautiful Christmas tree in the middle of town. He thinks his dreams have come true, but what will happen when his decorations are put away? A lyrical story of friendship and new life with an ultimately uplifting ending. Jameson's pre-Raphaelite inspired illustrations make this a Christmas picture book of great beauty.

Santa Gets a Second Job

Santa Gets a Second Job

Author: Michele D'Ignazio Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Times are tough for Santa. He's tightened his belt, made the reindeer redundant and now it's time to get a second job. But finding work is not easy at all, even if you're Santa - he tries being a waiter a party entertainer, and even works in a call centre. He finally finds the perfect job to be useful to the community - the bin man! Santa discovers that waste can conceal wonderful gifts, and he is soon back on his sled delivering toys made from recycled materials. When Santa finds some lost letters from years ago in the bin, begging to meet him, he sets out to find their owner. Will he be able to find them and finally grant their wish before Christmas Day? Hilarious and heartwarming, Santa Gets a Second Job is the perfect present for Santa fans of all ages from Michele D'Ignazio and Sergio Olivotti.

The Cinder Queen

The Cinder Queen

Author: Gena Showalter Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

In book 2 of The Forest of Good and Evil trilogy, heroes may be villains and villains may be the most unexpected heroes. This fairy tale mashup is not for the faint of heart. For fans of Cassandra Clare, Holly Black and Brigid Kemmerer. Enter the Forest of Good and Evil once again as Cinderella goes to war with Everly and Roth from The Evil Queen and attempts to overthrow her stepfamily to stake her claim as the rightful Dragon Queen. Enchantia may burn to ashes and cinders before this reluctant heroine-turned-rebel learns who she is and what she believes...and saves her queendom.

The Silent Songbird

The Silent Songbird

Author: Melanie Dickerson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Evangeline is gifted with a heavenly voice, but she is trapped in a sinister betrothal until she embarks on a daring escape and meets brave Westley le Wyse. Can he help her discover the freedom to sing again Desperate to flee a political marriage to her cousin King Richard II's closest advisor, Lord Shiveley-a man twice her age with shadowy motives-Evangeline runs away and joins a small band of servants journeying back to Glynval, their home village. Pretending to be mute, she gets to know Westley le Wyse, their handsome young leader, who is intrigued by the beautiful servant girl. But when the truth comes out, it may shatter any hope that love could grow between them. More than Evangeline's future is at stake as she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue that threatens England's monarchy. Should she give herself up to protect the only person who cares about her If she does, who will save the king from a plot to steal his throne

Hijab and Red Lipstick

Hijab and Red Lipstick

Author: Yousra Imran Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

You cannot do anything in this country without my permission. Being a teenager isn't easy. And it doesn't help when you have a mega strict Egyptian dad who tells you that everything is haram a.k.a. forbidden. All Sara wants to do is experiment with makeup and read fashion magazines, but her dad's conservative interpretation of Islam makes it impossible. Things get even harder when her dad lands himself a job in the Arabian Gulf and moves Sara and her family to a country where the patriarchy rules supreme. In a country where you have to have your father's permission for everything, every door feels like it is being closed on Sara's future. Can Sara find her voice again? Will she ever be free?

Book of Selkie

Book of Selkie

Author: Briana Corr Scott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

Stories about the selkie have been told for hundreds of years by those who live near the North Atlantic and North Sea. Sometimes called seal folk, the selkie, as humans, are tall and strong with dark hair and eyes. Extremely private, they keep their seal coats hidden away until they get restless and are called to the sea, and take on their seal forms. Find out what Selkie likes to eat, where she lives, how she spends her time on land and in the sea, and learn a Selkie lullaby. Lilting and lyrical, with acrylic paintings that recall the ocean's depths, this magical book is ideal for both bedtime and playtime. Features a paper doll, clothes, and seal.

The Sword in the Stone

The Sword in the Stone

Author: Tracey Mayhew Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Includes QR codes to the FREE audiobooks Retellings that share the legends with a younger generation Engaging illustrations by the illustrator of the Horrible Geography series Introduces children to the adventures of King Arthur and Merlin and a world of legendary characters Based on one of the greatest English legends

No Ordinary Boy

No Ordinary Boy

Author: Tracey Mayhew Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

About the series: Epic battles, thrilling quests and forbidden love combine in the medieval story of the boy who would be king. A retelling of the Arthurian legends, adapted and illustrated to introduce children aged 7+ to classic folklore. Great to share aloud, just like the original tales. All titles have been leveled for classroom use, including GRLs. All Merlin knows is the village where he mixes potions for wary customers, and dreams strange dreams that sometimes come true. Then a mysterious hooded man appears, seeking a boy with no mortal father, and Merlin is taken far away, to a crumbling tower and a ruthless king.To a place where his is not the only magic.

Classic Tales from India

Classic Tales from India

Author: Vatsala Sperling, Harish Johari Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Eight beautifully illustrated traditional stories that immerse the reader in the ancient culture of India as well as impart important life lessons * Shares classic tales from India, including stories drawn from the Mahabharata, the Ramayana, and the Puranas, translated by the authors * Illustrated throughout with glowing full-color paintings in traditional Indian style prepared according to the traditional Hindu canon With this full-color illustrated collection of classic tales from India, you will learn about the playful, loyal, strong, loving, and wise gods, goddesses, and heroes of India. You will discover how the deity Ganesh, the remover of obstacles, got his elephant head, how the goddess Parvati won the heart of the great god Shiva, and how the goddess Ganga came to Earth from Heaven in the form of the holy Ganges River. You will discover how Krishna's childhood as superhero and mischievous boy prepared him to fulfill his destiny as an avatar of the god Vishnu. In two tales drawn from the Ramayana, you will learn about prince Ram and his victory over the ten-headed demon king Ravana and how the monkey-god Hanuman moved a medicine mountain to save Ram's brother. In two stories from the famous epic the Mahabharata, you will discover how Karna became the greatest archer in the world to help good triumph over evil and how Arjuna compassionately fought his own cousins to bring peace to the kingdom of Hastinapur. The glowing illustrations, executed in transparent watercolors and tempera paints, are done in a centuries-old method traditional to India. Richly detailed, they bring to life the colorful cast of characters--humans, gods, and demons alike--and allow the reader to become immersed in the mystical world of ancient India.

The Dark Sorceress

The Dark Sorceress

Author: Tracey Mayhew Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Includes QR codes to the FREE audiobooks Retellings that share the legends with a younger generation Engaging illustrations by the illustrator of the Horrible Geography series Introduces children to the adventures of King Arthur and Merlin and a world of legendary characters Based on one of the greatest English legends