LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Fairy Tales of Remnant

Fairy Tales of Remnant

Author: E.C. Myers Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Fans of Rooster Teeth's hit animated series RWBY will want to pore over every page of this gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve short fairy tales! In addition to classic tales from the show, such as The Story of the Seasons and The Tale of the Two Brothers, readers can immerse themselves in eight never-before-told stories from RWBY's show writers. Vibrant artwork throughout completes the collection, offering new insights into the strange, beautiful and dangerous world of Remnant. This deluxe edition also happens to be the personal copy of Professor Ozpin, complete with a foreword from the former Beacon headmaster himself. Fans won't want to miss this must-have collection, sure to reveal more secrets about RWBY and the stunning world of the show!

LEGO (R) Harry Potter (TM) Magical Treasury (with exclusive LEGO minifigure)

LEGO (R) Harry Potter (TM) Magical Treasury (with exclusive LEGO minifigure)

Author: Elizabeth Dowsett Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Explore the magical world of LEGO Harry Potter in charming detail. A spellbinding book featuring the very best sets and minifigures in the LEGO Wizarding World - plus an exclusive minifigure from the LEGO Harry Potter theme for your collection. Packed with sets, minifigures and magical accessories from the LEGO Wizarding World, DK's LEGO Harry Potter Magical Treasury covers the very best of the LEGO Harry Potter theme - from a Hogwarts castle with over 6,000 pieces to a perfectly moulded minifigure-sized wand. Learn how these magical sets are created in a behind-the-scenes chapter, which features an interview with the award-winning LEGO Harry Potter team. (c) & (TM) Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc. Publishing Rights (c) JKR. (s20). (c)2020 The LEGO Group.

Harklights

Harklights

Author: Tim Ellis Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

All his life, Wick has been raised in the brutal Harklights Match Factory and Orphanage, run by the monstrous Old Ma Bogey. But when he finds and rescues a tiny baby, small enough to fit inside an acorn, he is visited by the Hobs, a miniature race of people who are also caretakers of the forest. They are so grateful to Wick that they offer him the chance of a lifetime - to escape from Harklights and begin a new life with them in the wild...

The Accidental Wizard

The Accidental Wizard

Author: Kimberly Pauley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

A raucously funny middle grade adventure for fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman... Twig is the last surviving apprentice of the great wizard Ripplemintz, which, as a job, is just as terrifying as it sounds. Oh Ripplemintz always means well, but for a wizard of such high regard he really does make an awful lot of mistakes. And who's always left to clear them up? That's right - Twig. So when Ripplemitz's most powerful spell is let loose on the world, off Twig goes to catch it. And catch it he does, except... not quite in the way that he intended. Because, instead of catching it in an enchanted jar, Twig sort of... well... catches it in... HIMSELF. Brilliantly funny, with bags and bags of heart, The Accidental Wizard is destined to leave you completely spellbound.

Tamarind & the Star of Ishta

Tamarind & the Star of Ishta

Author: Jasbinder Bilan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

From the author of the Costa Award-winning Asha & the Spirit Bird comes a breathtaking journey across India ... Tamarind never knew her Indian mum, Chinty, who died soon after she was born. So when she arrives at her ancestral home, a huge mansion in the Himalayas surrounded by luxuriant gardens, she's full of questions for her extended family. But instead of answers, she finds an ominous silence - and a trickle of intriguing clues: an abandoned hut, a friendly monkey, a glowing star ring, and a strange girl in the garden who calls herself Ishta. Slowly, Tamarind unravels a mystery at the heart of who she is ... PRAISE FOR ASHA & THE SPIRIT BIRD 'An evocative debut novel' Guardian 'A vivid adventure' Observer '... the final ending is as perfect as any fairy tale.' BookTrust

The Midnight Howl

The Midnight Howl

Author: Benjamin Read, Laura Trinder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

The second adventure in Benjamin Read and Laura Trinder's magical Midnight Hour series! 'A fantastic magical adventure featuring a cast of Ghibli-esque characters, a feisty heroine and a hedgehog. I loved it.' M.G. LEONARD, author of BEETLE BOY on book 1 'Fans of Nevermoor will love this quirky debut, fizzing with humour, scares and vivid world-building.' THE BOOKSELLER on book 1 Emily needs to work out why magic is leaking from the Midnight Hour - but her shape-shifting Pooka relatives and a terrifying haunting aren't making things easy, not to mention the fact that she's supposed to be grounded. Officer-in-training Tarkus and pet hedgehog Hoggins are on hand to help - but if they can't work out what's going wrong, it will be the end of the midnight world ...

Twin Daggers

Twin Daggers

Author: MarcyKate Connolly Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Aissa's life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, a magical people most believe to be extinct. And they're on a mission for revenge. This action and adventure spy thriller-a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly-is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession! By day, Aissa and Zandra play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find and kidnap the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless-a person born without a working heart who survives via a mechanical replacement-and has been hidden since birth. Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she's never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties and missions ... and risking everything by trusting her sworn enemies.

Monsters Like Us

Monsters Like Us

Author: Amy Huntington Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2020

Wishweaver

Wishweaver

Author: J. H. Winter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2020

Fairy Flights and Neverland Nights

Fairy Flights and Neverland Nights

Author: J. H. Winter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/09/2020

Where Dreams Descend

Where Dreams Descend

Author: Janella Angeles Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2020

The Fall Fairy Gathering

The Fall Fairy Gathering

Author: Liza Gardner Walsh Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2020

Now that the fairies have made the most of spring and summer, shepherding the growing things through the warm months, what do they do when autumn comes and the growing things begin to settle in to rest? How do the fairies prepare for winter? Beloved fairy writer Liza Gardner Walsh explores the matter in a charming picture book of rhyming questions. Paired with warm and whimsical illustrations by Hazel Mitchell, this delightful book will help children discover just how fairies celebrate the harvest season. And while the fairies do love to add some fun to everything they do, there's also a gentle reminder here of our human connection to nature and the importance of nurturing it.