LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Evernight

Evernight

Author: Ross MacKenzie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Thousands of years ago, the Evernight came to the Silver Kingdom and turned everything to darkness and chaos. It was only defeated thanks to the skill and bravery of the Witches. But now the Evernight is about to return, released by the evil Mrs Hester, and the only spell that might stop it is lost, deep below the great city of King's Haven. Then orphan Larabelle Fox stumbles across a mysterious wooden box while treasure-hunting in the city's sewers. Little does she realise she is about to be catapulted into an adventure, facing wild magic and mortal danger - and a man who casts no shadow . . .

Here be Wizards The Snowdonia Chronicles: Book Three

Here be Wizards The Snowdonia Chronicles: Book Three

Author: Sarah Mussi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Ellie's dreams of being with Henry, her ONE TRUE LOVE, are not going to happen. Not while Henry is trapped under a mountain BATTLING with his arch-enemy, the EVIL WHITE DRAGON. But when FLAMES from the FAE LANDS of Annwyn incinerate Snowdon, Ellie needs Henry to stop the fire spreading and that means defeating the White Dragon ONCE AND FOR ALL. With her best friends, dependable George and embarrassing/brave Rhi, Ellie sets out to locate a MAGICAL SWORD, find a WIZARD who can slay a dragon and finally FREE Henry. As WILDFIRE sweeps through the mountains, Ellie and her friends have little time to journey into the LETHAL REALM of the Fae Lands and SAVE their beloved SNOWDONIA. Here be Wizards is the tremendous climax to the Snowdonia Chronicles trilogy by award-winning author Sarah Mussi.

Puppies of Blossom Meadow: Fairy Friends (Puppies of Blossom Meadow #1)

Puppies of Blossom Meadow: Fairy Friends (Puppies of Blossom Meadow #1)

Author: Catherine Coe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

An exciting new animal series set in the same world as the magical Blossom Wood. Erin, Amber and Kayla are best friends who LOVE dogs. So when they discover an enchanted collar that transforms them into adorable puppies and whisks them to the beautiful Blossom Meadow, it's the best day ever! But someone is stealing all the bluebells - can the girls stop the flower thieves and save the day?

Cinders and Sparks: Goblins and Gold

Cinders and Sparks: Goblins and Gold

Author: Lindsey Kelk Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

In the third sensational and side-splitting Cinders & Sparks adventure, Cinders and her companions continue their quest to find Fairyland - but the scary Hunstman is close on their tail . . . Perfect for readers of 7-9 and fans of Shrek and Frozen. Cinders, her talking-dog, Sparks, a horse called Mouse, and Hansel (who accidentally - on purpose - ate some of a witch's gingerbread house) continue their quest to find Fairyland. But even the bravest questers get hungry, and when the quartet stop at a market for lunch, calamity and chaos ensue. Cinders is kidnapped by a greedy goblin, Mouse is turned back into a mouse, and Cinders's fairy godmother, Brian, pairs up with Prince Joderick to rescue her. Will Cinders escape the evil goblin? Will Sparks sing karaoke? Will the Huntsman find and capture them? The answers are: yes, not really and kind of.

Darkwhispers: A Brightstorm Adventure

Darkwhispers: A Brightstorm Adventure

Author: Vashti Hardy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The thrilling sequel to the acclaimed BRIGHTSTORM: A SKY SHIP ADVENTURE. The Brightstorm twins are back for another adventure! Eudora Vane has organized an explorer fleet to search the Eastern Isles, the last known destination of missing adventurer Ermitage Wrigglesworth. Harriet Culpepper and the crew of the Aurora join the mission, but they don't believe that Eudora has good intentions. What is she really looking for? Arthur is determined to find out, and when disaster strikes and the Brightstorm twins are separated, will he and Maudie be able to find their way back to each other?

Unicorn Muddle

Unicorn Muddle

Author: Hannah Shaw Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Welcome to Twinkleland Kingdom, where everything is 100% perfect. Except Princess Pea - she loves getting muddy and having fun and she's not keen on choosing her own perfect unicorn at the Royal Unicorn Parade. Until the final unicorn turns out to be a podgy, pongy, proud, magic-horned...pig? And so the adventures of Princess Pea and Unipiggle begin!

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Author: Dominique Valente Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The most spellbinding new children's fantasy series now in paperback, with beautiful black-and-white inside illustrations by Sarah Warburton. Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Nevermoor. Willow Moss, the youngest and least powerful sister in a family of witches, has a magical ability for finding lost things - like keys, or socks, or wooden teeth. Useful, but not exactly exciting . . . Then the most powerful witch in the world of Starfell turns up at Willow's door and asks for her help. A whole day - last Tuesday to be precise - has gone missing. Completely. And, without it, the whole universe could unravel. Now Willow holds the fate of Starfell in her rather unremarkable hands . . . Can she save the day - by finding the lost one? Step into Starfell, a world crackling with warmth, wit and magic, perfect for readers aged 8-12.

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

Author: Joseph Elliott, Levente Szabo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

A brave new voice in fantasy fiction. Sally Green, author of Half Bad If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver. A sublimely plotted, windswept adventure ... told with heart and humour, in beautifully sparse prose, this book made me laugh with delight and gasp with surprise. Cerrie Burnell This book is a triumph. Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

Mermaid School

Mermaid School

Author: Lucy Courtenay Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

It is Marnie Blue's very first day at Lady Sealia Foam's Mermaid School, and she's terrified. What if she can't make any new friends, or if she's asked to ride a seahorse? What's more, her famous diva aunt Christabel was a notorious rebel at the same school, and got up to all sorts of naughtiness. Marnie is soon branded a troublemaker by her grumpy octopus music teacher and wants nothing more than to clam up. But when a fellow pupil finds herself in danger, it's up to Marnie to show that daring runs in the family and swim to the rescue. Filled with fabulous fishy fun, Mermaid School is perfect for fans of Unicorn Academy and Dork Diaries!

Joe Quinn's Poltergeist

Joe Quinn's Poltergeist

Author: David Almond Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

A beautifully imagined story for fans of Neil Gaiman, by the dream team of bestselling author, David Almond and award-winning artist, Dave McKean. Joe Quinn tells everyone about the poltergeist in his house, but no one believes him. No one that is, except for Davie. He's felt the inexplicable presence in the rooms, he's seen random objects fly through the air. And there's something else ... a memory of his beloved sister, and a feeling deep down that somehow it might be possible for ghosts to exist.

Hollowpox The Hunt for Morrigan Crow Book 3

Hollowpox The Hunt for Morrigan Crow Book 3

Author: Jessica Townsend Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Return to the magical world of Nevermoor, where Morrigan Crow's adventures continue - a perfect gift for all book lovers. Morrigan Crow and her friends have survived their first year as proud scholars of the elite Wundrous Society, helped bring down the nefarious Ghastly Market, and proven themselves loyal to Unit 919. Now Morrigan faces a new, exciting challenge: to master the mysterious Wretched Arts, and control the power that threatens to consume her. But a strange and frightening illness has taken hold of Nevermoor, turning infected Wunimals into mindless, vicious Unnimals on the hunt. As victims of the Hollowpox multiply, panic spreads. And with the city she loves in a state of fear, Morrigan quickly realises it's up to her to find a cure for the Hollowpox, even if it will put her - and everyone in Nevermoor - in more danger than she ever imagined.

Hollowpox The Hunt for Morrigan Crow Book 3

Hollowpox The Hunt for Morrigan Crow Book 3

Author: Jessica Townsend Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Return to the magical world of Nevermoor, where Morrigan Crow's adventures continue - a perfect gift for all book lovers. Morrigan Crow and her friends have survived their first year as proud scholars of the elite Wundrous Society, helped bring down the nefarious Ghastly Market, and proven themselves loyal to Unit 919. Now Morrigan faces a new, exciting challenge: to master the mysterious Wretched Arts, and control the power that threatens to consume her. But a strange and frightening illness has taken hold of Nevermoor, turning infected Wunimals into mindless, vicious Unnimals on the hunt. As victims of the Hollowpox multiply, panic spreads. And with the city she loves in a state of fear, Morrigan quickly realises it's up to her to find a cure for the Hollowpox, even if it will put her - and everyone in Nevermoor - in more danger than she ever imagined.