LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fantasy & magical realism (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Memory Thief

The Memory Thief

Author: Lauren Mansy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2020

In the realms of The Memory Thief, memories are currency that can be traded for goods, services, skills, and experiences. A group of people-the Gifted-can steal and redistribute memories. Etta is secretly one of them, but she hasn't used her Gifted abilities since she left the rebel Shadows following her mother's accident two years ago. But when her mother is again in danger, Etta has no choice but to return to the underground group in order to complete her greatest heist and save her mother's life. Etta faces startling attacks, unexpected romance, and above all, her own past as she uncovers a conspiracy that challenges everything she knew about herself and the world around her. In a place where nothing is what it seems, can Etta ever become more than a memory thief? Readers, like Etta and her fellow citizens, will be challenged to contemplate the nature of truth ... A welcome addition to the YA fantasy canon, The Memory Thief is a suspenseful page-turner, delightfully chock full of unexpected twists and turns. - Shelf Awareness The Memory Thief: Is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Victoria Aveyard Brings readers on an unforgettable journey during which Etta must learn-often the hard way-just what it will take to save her city and her mother Is a clean, coming of age YA fantasy, with unexpected romance by up-and-coming author Lauren Mansy

Kevin's Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure

Kevin's Great Escape: A Roly-Poly Flying Pony Adventure

Author: Philip Reeve Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

When famous pop star Misty Twiglet moves to Bumbleford she wants to meet roly-poly flying pony, Kevin - it's so exciting - she promised him biscuits! But when Kevin is captured in Misty's back garden, things become serious and there isn't a biscuit in sight. Kevin's best friend Max and his sister Daisy must come to the rescue, and there's no way they're giving up on him without a fight.

Camp Jupiter Classified A Probatio's Journal

Camp Jupiter Classified A Probatio's Journal

Author: Rick Riordan Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2020

*A brand-new story in the world of Rick Riordan!* Mysterious incidents are wreaking havoc throughout Camp Jupiter. And if the Romans don't find out who-or what-is behind the episodes soon, the Twelfth Legion could implode. Suspicion falls on Claudia, the Fourth Cohort's newest probatio. After all, the mischief started shortly after she stumbled into camp. Plus, she's a daughter of Mercury, the god of thieves and tricksters. To find out the truth, see through Claudia's eyes the crime scenes, and watch as the bizarre events unfold - even when she discovers a secret so ancient not even the lares know about-a secret that holds the key to Camp Jupiter's safety...

Gregor the Overlander

Gregor the Overlander

Author: Suzanne Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The first in a gripping young fantasy series from the author of THE HUNGER GAMES, re-issued with a striking newly-designed cover. When eleven-year-old Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland, where spiders, rats and giant cockroaches coexist uneasily with humans. This world is on the brink of war, and Gregor's arrival is no accident. But Gregor wants no part of it - until he realizes it's the only way to solve the mystery of his father's disappearance. Reluctantly, Gregor embarks on a dangerous adventure that will change both him and the Underland forever.

The Magical Bookshop

The Magical Bookshop

Author: Katja Frixe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Mrs Owl had a knack for finding the perfect book for every customer, before they even realised what it was they were looking for. What do you do when your best friend moves away? Clara takes comfort in her favourite place: Mrs Owl's bookshop. Surrounded by books that spring to life, a rhyming cat and mounds of cinnamon buns, Clara never feels alone. But someone is determined to close the bookshop down. Now it's up to Clara and her new friends to save it.

Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods

Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods

Author: Suzanne Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The third in a gripping young fantasy series from the author of THE HUNGER GAMES, re-issued with a striking newly-designed cover. Gregor and Boots must return to the Underland to help ward off a plague. It is spreading fast, and when it claims one of Gregor's family, he begins to truly understand his role inthe Prophecy of Blood. Gregor must summon all his power to end the biological warfare that threatens the fate of every warmblooded creature.

Gregor and the Marks of Secret

Gregor and the Marks of Secret

Author: Suzanne Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The fourth book in a gripping young fantasy series from the author of THE HUNGER GAMES, with a striking newly-designed cover.It's only been a few months since Gregor and Boots returned from the Underland, leaving their mother behind to heal from the plague. Though Gregor's family receives frequent updates on her condition, they all know Gregor must return to fulfil his role as the warrior who is key to the Underlanders' survival. Accompanied by his now-talkative little sister Boots, still considered the honorary princess, Gregor joins forces with another princess - 12-year-old Luxa - and Ripred the rat to defend the Underlanders and the vulnerable Nibblers, or mice, from the rat army.

The Forest of Ghosts and Bones

The Forest of Ghosts and Bones

Author: Lisa Lueddecke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

This gorgeously evocative standalone fantasy from Lisa Lueddecke is inspired by the Hungarian myths of her childhood. Enter a world with a haunted castle, a dark and dangerous forest and poisoned rain, with two fiery protagonists to root for - a book perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Laini Taylor. You are the girl who can walk in the rain, and I am the boy who knows the way. The Eve of Saints approaches and the poison rain which shrouds Castle Marcosza strains at its boundaries. When Beata's brother is taken by the rain, Beata and her friend Benedek must make a perilous journey of discovery to uncover the root of her secret - why she is the only person who can walk through the rain unscathed. But Beata is soon caught up in a game of cat-and-mouse with mysterious Liljana, a girl with hidden powers of her own. And with magic outlawed in Marcosza, can the pair find a way to work together to harness their forbidden ability and unleash its full potential? Or will they find themselves seduced by power and all that it offers...

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

Author: Suzanne Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The second in a gripping young fantasy series from the author of THE HUNGER GAMES, re-issued with a striking newly-designed cover. Spies have reported the sighting of a Rat King in the Underland, a character who has been legendary since the Middle Ages. Recognizable by its tremendous size and snow-white coat, the Rat King is destined to bring war to the Underland. But when Gregor eventually comes face to face with the Rat King, he finds he is unable to kill him. Gregor's heart tells him he's making the right decision. Will it be one he lives to regret?

Gregor and the Code of Claw

Gregor and the Code of Claw

Author: Suzanne Collins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The stunning conclusion to the riveting Gregor the Overlander series, re-issued with a striking newly-designed cover. Everyone in the Underland has been taking great pains to keep The Prophecy of Time from Gregor. Gregor knows it must say something awful but he never imagined just how awful: it calls for thewarrior's death. Now, with an army of rats approaching, and his mum and sister still in Regalia, Gregor the warrior must gather up his courage to help defend Regalia and get his family home safely. The entire existence of the Underland is in Gregor's hands, and time is running out. There is a code to be cracked, a mysterious new princess, Gregor's burgeoning dark side, and a war to end all wars.

The Midnight Howl

The Midnight Howl

Author: Benjamin Read, Laura Trinder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The second adventure in Benjamin Read and Laura Trinder's magical Midnight Hour series! 'A fantastic magical adventure featuring a cast of Ghibli-esque characters, a feisty heroine and a hedgehog. I loved it.' M.G. LEONARD, author of BEETLE BOY on book 1 'Fans of Nevermoor will love this quirky debut, fizzing with humour, scares and vivid world-building.' THE BOOKSELLER on book 1 Emily needs to work out why magic is leaking from the Midnight Hour - but her shape-shifting Pooka relatives and a terrifying haunting aren't making things easy, not to mention the fact that she's supposed to be grounded. Officer-in-training Tarkus and pet hedgehog Hoggins are on hand to help - but if they can't work out what's going wrong, it will be the end of the midnight world ...

The Lost Witch

The Lost Witch

Author: Melvin Burgess Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

Bea has started to hear and see things that no one else can - creatures, voices, visions. Then strangers visit Bea and tell her she is different: she has the rare powers of a witch. They warn her she is being hunted. Her parents think she is hallucinating and needs help. All Bea wants to do is get on with her life, and to get closer to Lars, the mysterious young man she has met at the skate park. But her life is in danger, and she must break free. The question is - who can she trust? Carnegie Medal-winner Melvin Burgess returns with a powerful, thrilling fantasy for young adults about magic, myth and following your instincts.