LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Cure for Wereduck Wereduck #2

Cure for Wereduck Wereduck #2

Author: Dave Atkinson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2020

Kate is an odd duck-literally. When the full moon arrives, the rest of her family turns into wolves, but she is a happy wereduck. Relatively happy, that is. Her family has been uprooted from their cozy backwoods cabin to a placid farming community thanks to a fellow werewolf, Marcus, selling them out to sleazy tabloid journalist Dirk Bragg. When Kate discovers her great-great-grandmother's recipe A Cure for Werewolf, she can't help but wonder-is it really possible? Could she one day resist the call of the moon? Could she be free from the constant threat of exposure? When Marcus's werewolf son, John, books a desperate train journey at the full moon, the ancient recipe and its arcane ingredients are put to the test. Will Dirk Bragg finally corner Kate and John in their were-forms and expose them to the world, or will Cure for Werewolf keep them safe? A rare sequel that is as full of action and revelations as its predecessor, 'Cure for Wereduck' is imaginative, exciting, and peppered with Dave Atkinson's delightful humour.

Wereduck Wereduck #1

Wereduck Wereduck #1

Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2020

Kate's family has told her that on the first full moon after her thirteenth birthday she'll hear the whoooo call of the moon, howl back, and become a werewolf just like them. But Kate doesn't want to be a wolf. She's always felt more like a...duck. On the night of her first full moon, Kate stands near her family's cabin in the woods and hears the moon calling-but it sounds like more of a whooo? as in who are you? So Kate does what she's always wanted to do-she quacks. Her family tries to understand Kate's new full-moon form, but they are also busy integrating themselves with some new, edgy werewolves in town. Engaging, hilarious, and utterly believable, Wereduck is a thrilling addition to the were-canon.

The Pioneer

The Pioneer

Author: Bridget Tyler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Packed with action and unexpected twists, this addictive page-turner is perfect for fans of Illuminae and Defy the Stars! When Jo steps onto planet Tau Ceti e for the first time, she's ready to put the past behind her and begin again. After all, as a pioneer, she has the job of helping build a new home away from Earth. But underneath the idyllic surface of their new home, there's something very wrong. And when Jo accidentally uncovers a devastating secret that could destroy everything they've worked for, suddenly the future doesn't seem so bright. With the fate of the pioneers in her hands, Jo must decide how far she's willing to go to expose the truth-before the truth destroys them all.

Supernova

Supernova

Author: Marissa Meyer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

You can't wear a mask forever. Love and Anarchy won't allow it. With their alter egos at war, their allies at each other's throats and their feelings for one another growing, Nova and Adrian battle to keep their secret identities under wraps as their greatest fears are realized. Anarchy is once again heading for Gatlon City, and this time it may not survive. Supernova is Marissa Meyer's fearless finale to the Renegade trilogy - you won't want to miss this.

Honor Lost

Honor Lost

Author: Rachel Caine, Ann Aguirre Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster or lose everyone she loves in the finale of this acclaimed trilogy from New York Times bestselling authors Rachel Caine and Ann Aguirre. Perfect for fans of Illuminae and The Fifth Wave. Space renegade Zara Cole may have finally met her match. Lifekiller-a creature that can devour entire planets-is spreading terror throughout the universe, and it seems nothing can stand in the monstrous godking's way. Zara's street smarts may not be enough when their enemy could be anywhere, destroying civilizations and picking his teeth with the bones. With human enemies, alien creatures, and mechanical stalkers on her tail, it's down to the wire for Zara to save the galaxy-and the people she calls home-before the godking consumes them all.

Girls with Razor Hearts

Girls with Razor Hearts

Author: Suzanne Young Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/03/2020

It's time to fight back in this second novel in a thrilling, subversive near future series from New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young about a girls-only private high school that is far more than it appears to be. Make me a girl with a razor heart... It's been weeks since Mena and the other girls of Innovations Academy escaped their elite boarding school. Although traumatized by the violence and experimentations that occurred there, Mena quickly discovers that the outside world can be just as unwelcoming and cruel. With no one else to turn to, the girls only have each other-and the revenge-fueled desire to shut down the corporation that imprisoned them. The girls enroll in Ridgeview Prep, a private school with suspect connections to Innovations, to identify the son of an investor and take down the corporation from the inside. But with pressure from Leandra, who revealed herself to be a double-agent, and Winston Weeks, an academy investor gone rogue, Mena wonders if she and her friends are simply trading one form of control for another. Not to mention the woman who is quite literally invading Mena's thoughts-a woman with extreme ideas that both frighten and intrigue Mena. And as the girls fight for freedom from their past-and freedom for the girls still at Innovations-they must also face new questions about their existence...and what it means to be girls with razor hearts.

Girls with Sharp Sticks

Girls with Sharp Sticks

Author: Suzanne Young Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/03/2020

Enough plot twists to give a reader whiplash. -Cosmopolitan From New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young comes the start of a thrilling, subversive new series about a girls-only boarding school with a terrifying secret and the friends who will stop at nothing to protect each other. Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. The Girls of Innovations Academy are beautiful and well-behaved-it says so on their report cards. Under the watchful gaze of their Guardian, they receive a well-rounded education that promises to make them better. Obedient girls, free from arrogance or defiance. Free from troublesome opinions or individual interests. But the girls' carefully controlled existence may not be quite as it appears. As Mena and her friends uncover the dark secrets of what's actually happening there-and who they really are-the girls of Innovations Academy will learn to fight back. Bringing the trademark plot twists and high-octane drama that made The Program a bestselling and award-winning series, Suzanne Young launches a new series that confronts some of today's most pressing ethical questions.

Off Balance

Off Balance

Author: Aileen Erin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/03/2020

EDGE: Galaxy Warriors: Space Rap

EDGE: Galaxy Warriors: Space Rap

Author: Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2020

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y. In Space Rap the baddies detect the whereabouts of our heroes thanks to their loud rap music. When Jet and Tip realise they're in trouble they summon the help of ... Grandmaster Boss - the bigest rap star in the galaxy! From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

EDGE: Galaxy Warriors: Movie Star Set-up

EDGE: Galaxy Warriors: Movie Star Set-up

Author: Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2020

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y. In Movie Star Set-Up, our intergalactic heroes grab their chance to star in a movie ... but they soon realise the action is real and so is the danger! From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded (Gold 9) and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Star Wars: Choose Your Destiny: A Han & Chewie Adventure

Star Wars: Choose Your Destiny: A Han & Chewie Adventure

Author: Cavan Scott Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Choose Your Destiny in this exciting, interactive Star Wars adventure. With twenty possible outcomes, children aged 7 and up will return to this book again and again! Jump inside the Millennium Falcon and help Han and Chewie as they journey across the galaxy on a simple smuggling job. But nothing is ever simple with Han Solo, and when things go wrong, Han pretends to be Jabba the Hutt to save himself, Chewie, and the Millennium Falcon. And that's when things go from bad to worse! With over twenty possible outcomes, readers will have to think like a true smuggler to keep Han and Chewie safe from Imperial TIE fighters, Mandalorian mercenaries, and so much more! With so many different story paths, the adventures never end!

Boon on the Moon

Boon on the Moon

Author: John Huddles Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/03/2020

The Barnetts are a contemporary clan: Mr. Barnett is Anglo; Mrs. Barnett (the former Bianca Barcelona) is Latina; Boon's teenage brother, Taji, is adopted from Kenya; and Boon himself is a one-of-a-kind. Also moving to the moon is Boon's crabby partner-in-crime: Jose Ignacio, a seven-foot-tall, old-school robot. In reality, Jose Ignacio is a twelve-inch toy, but in Boon's fantasy life, the robot is one half of a danger-seeking, dimension-hopping duo. Danger is looming as a stellar phenomenon wiggles to life in open space and starts bombing the lunar city with chunks of gobbled planets. Colonists pile into the lunar life-raft to escape-except for the Barnetts and their friends, who get left behind. Boon insists he knows how to save everybody, but here's the problem: people tend not to believe him about stuff. His parents have been lecturing him for a while now on the dividing line between using his imagination for fun and using it as an excuse for bad behavior. Suddenly it's the dividing line between life and death.