LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

In the Service of Dragons 3

In the Service of Dragons 3

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Will Jakeman and his Marvellous Mechanimals

Will Jakeman and his Marvellous Mechanimals

Author: Nick Ward Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Will Jakeman is an extraordinary inventor, perhaps the best there has ever been! People come from far and wide to buy his 'Mechanimals' - incredible machines that come to life and perform all sorts of amazing tasks. For example, Steel-Skull the gorilla, perfect for dealing with bullies, and The Armoured Armadillo, a magnificent machine that can barge through most obstacles and is even armed with a gunge gun...Learn all about Will Jakeman's childhood, the terrible fate of his parents, and discover whether the evil Ida Gripp ever gets her hands on his marvellous mechanimals...

Mission Multiverse

Mission Multiverse

Author: Rebecca Caprara Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/05/2021

Back to the Future meets Stranger Things in this middle-grade multiverse odyssey! With Earth's destruction a mere 30 days away, the fate of humankind rests in the hands of a group of trumpet-wielding band geeks During a school field trip to NASA headquarters, five middle school band geeks-Dev, Austin, Tessa, Isaiah, and Meryl-are accidently sent to an alternate universe when a project-in-progress goes haywire. The five Space Cadets find themselves in the hands of the Inter Galactic Planning Committee, who inform them that their own universe's destruction is imminent. Against all odds they must find a way to rescue their families-and all of humankind.

In the Service of Dragons 4

In the Service of Dragons 4

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/05/2021

Boy in a White Room

Boy in a White Room

Author: Karl Olsberg Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2021

A gripping YA sci-fi thriller perfect for fans of Ready Player One. A boy wakes to find himself locked in a white room. He has no memories, no idea who he is and no idea how he got here. A computer-generated voice named Alice responds to his questions - through her, he is able to access the internet. He gradually pieces together his story - an abduction, a critical injury, snippets of his past ... But how can the boy tell what's real and what's not? Who is he really?

Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion

Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion

Author: Gregory Mone Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/04/2021

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Mr. Lemoncello's Library, Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion launches an exciting, action-packed new series about the underwater lost city Kaya, raised in the undersea, high-tech world of Atlantis, has always been fascinated by the legends about life above the water. Despite the government's insistence that they're only stories, she can't help but dream about the Sun People-and when a group of officials known as Erasers move to bury those legends for good, Kaya sets out to the surface to uncover the truth once and for all. In the world above, where climate change has led to giant tsunamis that threaten Earth's coasts, all Lewis wants is to spend more time with his scientist father. When he stows away on his dad's top-secret research trip, he finds himself thrown headfirst into an adventure much bigger than he bargained for. Fast-paced and action-packed, The Accidental Invasion brings readers into a world unlike anything they've seen before. Bonus content includes real scientific information about genetic modification, earthquakes, nuclear power, and plate tectonics.

Journey Beyond the Beyond

Journey Beyond the Beyond

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Illustrated edition

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Illustrated edition

Author: Douglas Adams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

'One of the greatest achievements in comedy. A work of staggering genius' David Walliams Gorgeous 42nd Anniversary gift edition of Douglas Adams's pop-culture classic, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, stunningly illustrated throughout by Costa Award-winner Chris Riddell. It's an ordinary Thursday lunchtime for Arthur Dent until his house gets demolished. The Earth follows shortly afterwards to make way for a new hyperspace express route, and Arthur's best friend has just announced that he's an alien. At this moment, they're hurtling through space with nothing but their towels and a book inscribed in large, friendly letters: DON'T PANIC. The book is The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and the weekend has only just begun . . . Douglas Adams's mega-selling pop-culture classic sends logic into orbit, plays havoc with physics and twists time, but most importantly it's very, very funny.

Girls with Rebel Souls

Girls with Rebel Souls

Author: Suzanne Young Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The girls make their final stand in this third and final novel in the thrilling, subversive near-future series from New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young about a girls-only private school that is far more than it appears to be. There is no one who can save your rebel soul... The girls of Innovations Academy escaped the confines of their unethical school, fought against the system protecting predators who targeted girls for harassment, and they're not done yet. They're still not free. Reeling from one revelation after the next, Mena and her friends begin to unwind the truth of their existence and, as a result, their destiny. The men from Innovations Corporation still hunt them, the woman who created them still wants control over them, and worst of all, Mena realizes that through all her pain, all her tears, the world of men has not changed. There is no more time to hope for the best. The girls know they are in a battle for their lives, a war for their very existence. The girls of Innovations Academy have sharpened their sticks to fight back, they have fought for justice with blood from their razor hearts. And now, the girls will choose their true nature...and how they define their rebel souls.

The Last Generation

The Last Generation

Author: Miles Bavin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/04/2021

Earth is dying, and the most important academic year in Ellie's life is about to begin. The divisive examination process of the 'Level Twelves' promises admission aboard the 'flight-to-freedom' programme, for those who pass. But what of those who fail? When Ellie lip-reads two teachers discussing the possibility of the programme being abolished, she grows curious about the motives behind the faceless 'Legion'. With mounting fears that Legion selection may come down to more stringent testing, and questions over the unexplained whereabouts of past students, Ellie starts to notice a worrying pattern. Ellie's distrust of everyone around her deepens when the dynamics of her friendship group are altered with a new arrival, but her fear for the future of mankind must take priority. With so much to lose, Ellie must find a way to save herself, as well as those closest to her to make sure she is not one of the very last generation.

In the Service of Dragons 3

In the Service of Dragons 3

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/04/2021

The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches 3

The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches 3

Author: Robert Stanek Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/04/2021