LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Science fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Science fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Deep-Sea Duke

The Deep-Sea Duke

Author: Lauren James, Helen Crawford-White Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Hugo is spending the holidays on his friend Dorian's home planet, Hydrox. Although thrilled at the invitation, Hugo is still astonished that Duke Dorian could possibly want to be friends with an android watchmaker like him. But when the pair land on Hydrox along with their friend Ada, they soon discover that there are much bigger problems afoot. A race of butterflies from a neighbouring star system have evacuated their now-uninhabitable planet, and Hydrox is struggling to find space for the growing number of refugees. Meanwhile, deep in the seas beneath Dorian's home, a strange creature is on a path of destruction ... Can the unlikely trio step in before the crisis gets out of control? Dive into a strange new world in this truly imaginative companion to The Starlight Watchmaker.

Monstrous Devices

Monstrous Devices

Author: Damien Love Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/01/2021

'I enjoyed everything about Damien Love's debut.' Anthony Horowitz, bestselling author of the Alex Rider series 'Hugely original, exciting debut novel... a fantastical but entirely believable world with scary killer robots oiled to perfection with automaton history, surprising characters and dry humour... Get hold of a copy, wind it up and let yourself go.' The Times 'An effortless, atmospheric evocation of place and history combine in an unforgettable, immersive reading experience.' Guardian When twelve-year-old Alex receives an old tin robot in the post, the note from his grandfather simply reads: 'This one is special'. But as strange events start occurring around him, it doesn't take Alex long to suspect that the small toy is more than special; it might also be deadly. Just as things are getting out of hand, Alex's grandfather arrives, whisking him away from his otherwise humdrum life and into a world of strange, macabre magic. From Paris to Prague, they flee across snowy Europe in a quest to unravel the riddle of the little robot, and outwit relentless assassins of the human and mechanical kind. How does Alex's grandfather know them? And can Alex safely harness the robot's power, or will it fall into the wrong, wicked hands?

Amari and the Night Brothers

Amari and the Night Brothers

Author: BB Alston Format: Hardback Release Date: 21/01/2021

Sharp, funny and brightly imaginative - a big adventure filled with magic and heart Jessica Townsend, New York Times bestselling author of the Nevermoor series An epic middle grade supernatural adventure series, soon to be a major movie starring Marsai Martin. Perfect for readers aged 8+ and fans of Percy Jackson, Nevermoor and Men in Black! Amari Peters knows three things. Her big brother Quinton has gone missing. No one will talk about it. His mysterious job holds the secret ... So when Amari gets an invitation to the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she's certain this is her chance to find Quinton. But first she has to get her head around the new world of the Bureau, where mermaids, aliens and magicians are real, and her roommate is a weredragon. Amari must compete against kids who've known about the supernatural world their whole lives, and when each trainee is awarded a special supernatural talent, Amari is given an illegal talent one that the Bureau views as dangerous. With an evil magician threatening the whole supernatural world, and her own classmates thinking she is the enemy, Amari has never felt more alone. But if she doesn't pass the three tryouts, she may never find out what happened to Quinton ... Cover artwork by Brittany Jackson B. B. Alston lives in Lexington, SC. Amari and the Night Brothers is his debut middle grade novel. When not writing, he can be found eating too many sweets and exploring country roads to see where they lead. Cover illustrations from rising star artist Brittany Jackson.

Forever Ends on Friday

Forever Ends on Friday

Author: Justin Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

Justin A. Reynolds, author of Opposite of Always, returns with Forever Ends on Friday, another charming and powerful YA contemporary novel with a twist. What if you could bring your best friend back to life - but only for a short time? Jamal's best friend, Q, doesn't know that he died, and that he's about to die . . . again. He doesn't know that Jamal tried to save him. And that the reason they haven't been friends for two years is because Jamal blames Q for the accident that killed his parents. But what if Jamal could have a second chance? A new technology allows Q to be reanimated for a few weeks before he dies . . . permanently. And Q's mom is not about to let anyone ruin this miracle by telling Q about his impending death. So how can Jamal fix everything if he can't tell Q the truth? Forever Ends on Friday weaves together loss, grief, friendship, and love to form a wholly unique homage to the bonds that bring people together for life - and beyond. Forever Ends on Friday is published in the US as Early Departures

Five Children and It

Five Children and It

Author: Edith Nesbit Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

A set of 6 much-loved stories from classic English literature for children, brought together by Puffin Classics in beautiful paperback cover designs. When Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and their baby brother go digging in the gravel pit, the last thing they expect to find is a Psammead - an ancient sand fairy! Having a sand fairy for a pet means having one wish granted each day, but the children don't realize all the trouble wishes can cause... In the same collection: PETER PAN THE GREAT ADVENTURES OF SHERLOCK HOLMES OLIVER TWIST ALICE'S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND FIVE CHILDREN AND IT GULLIVER'S TRAVELS

The End and Other Beginnings

The End and Other Beginnings

Author: Veronica Roth Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

From the best-selling author of Divergent and Carve the Mark comes a stunning collection of futuristic short stories. Illustrated throughout with striking black-and-white illustrations. Within this masterful collection, NO WORLD IS LIKE THE OTHER. Full of friendship and revenge, each story and setting is more strange and wonderful than the last, brimming with new technologies and beings. And yet, in these futuristic lands, the people must still confront deeply human emotions and dilemmas. Veronica Roth reaches into the unknown and immerses readers into six short stories that feel startlingly familiar and profoundly beautiful. With two new stories from the Carve the Mark universe, this collection has something for everyone.

Hawk: A Maximum Ride Novel

Hawk: A Maximum Ride Novel

Author: James Patterson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

Maximum Ride lost her fight to save the world. But from the ashes of the old world, a phoenix has risen... she calls herself Hawk. Hawk doesn't know her real name. She doesn't know who her parents were, or where they went. The only thing she remembers is that they told to wait on a street corner until they came back for her. That was ten years ago. The day that she finally gives up waiting is the moment her life changes for ever. Because the promise becomes reality: someone is coming for her. But it's not a rescue. It's an execution.

The Boy I Am

The Boy I Am

Author: K. L. Kettle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2021

They say we're dangerous. But we're not that different. Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite. But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits. Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him. Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom. But at what price? A speculative YA thriller, tackling themes of traditional gender roles and power dynamics, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O'Neill and THE POWER.

Escaping Eleven

Escaping Eleven

Author: Jerri Chisholm Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/01/2021

In Compound Eleven, the hierarchy of the floors is everything. My name is Eve Hamilton, and on my floor, we fight. Which at least is better than the bottom floor, where they toil away in misery. Only the top floor has any ease in this harsh world; they rule from their gilded offices. Because four generations ago, Earth was rendered uninhabitable--the sun too hot, the land too barren. Those who remained were forced underground. While not a perfect life down here, I've learned to survive as a fighter. Except my latest match is different. Instead of someone from the circuit, my opponent is a mysterious boy from the top floor. And the look in his eyes tells me he's different...maybe even kind. Right before he kicks my ass. Still, there's something about him--something that says he could be my salvation...or my undoing. Because I'm no longer content to just survive in Eleven. Today, I'm ready to fight for more than my next meal: I'm fighting for my freedom. And this boy may just be the edge I've been waiting on.

The Ballad of Ami Miles

The Ballad of Ami Miles

Author: Kristy Dallas Alley Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/01/2021

Billy Christmas

Billy Christmas

Author: Mark A. Pritchard Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/12/2020

The Gumazing Gum Girl!, Book 4 Cover Blown

The Gumazing Gum Girl!, Book 4 Cover Blown

Author: Rhode Montijo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2020