LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Beast of Harwood Forest

The Beast of Harwood Forest

Author: Dan Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/05/2021

When Pete, Nancy and Krish arrive at Heathland Camp for a school trip, they're in for an adventure - just not the kind they were expecting. Nearby sits the abandoned Harwood Institute. The crumbling buildings reek of secrets and at night strange screams come from the surrounding forest. Nobody knows what experiments took place at the institute during the war, so Pete and his friends make it their mission to find out . But the forest is hiding a sinister secret, and the trio could be in real danger ... Are some mysteries best left undisturbed?

The Surprise of Haruhi Suzumiya (light novel)

The Surprise of Haruhi Suzumiya (light novel)

Author: Nagaru Tanigawa, Nagaru Tanigawa Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2021

Where Haruhi goes, trouble follows! The two storylines from The Disassociation of Haruhi Suzumiya continue, introducing a new inductee into the S.O.S. brigade who may be more than just the eager freshman she appears to be. As the two realities converge, the SOS Brigade learns that the new member may have the ability to bring the two story timelines together... and save the world in the process. This book was originally published as two separate volumes in Japan, but the U.S. version will feature both volumes for the price of one.

Zed and the Cormorants

Zed and the Cormorants

Author: Clare Owen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2021

The Fall of a Sparrow

The Fall of a Sparrow

Author: Griselda Heppel Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/04/2021

11 year-old Eleanor has been sent away to a spooky old school run by a great-aunt she's never met. Shunned by the other girls, dismayed by Great-Aunt Margaret's coldness, Eleanor struggles with loneliness; so when a strange, skinny little boy, all flapping arms and nodding head, greets her as a long-lost friend, it feels great to have an ally, however quirky his behaviour. As Davey follows her around, begging her to play games and climb the lime tree 'like they used to,' Eleanor is baffled; then bewilderment turns to horror when she realises the boy knows things about her he can't possibly know, things no one should know... Susanna, her one friend, helps her face the truth. Unravelling the mystery draws Eleanor into a dark web of family history, awakening a tragic past that soon threatens to engulf her.

The Last Girl

The Last Girl

Author: Goldy Moldavsky Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/04/2021

Scream meets Gossip Girl with a dash of One of Us is Lying! When it comes to horror movies, the rules are clear: - Avoid abandoned buildings, warehouses, and cabins at all times. - Stay together: don't split up, not even just to check something out.... - If there's a murderer on the loose, do NOT make out with anyone ... New girl Rachel Chavez turns to horror movies for comfort, preferring them to the bored rich kids of her fancy New York High School. But then Rachel is recruited by the Mary Shelley Club, a mysterious student club that sets up terrifying Fear Tests; elaborate pranks inspired by urban legends and horror movies. But when a sinister masked figure appears, Rachel realises that her past has caught up with her. It's time for the ultimate prank to play out ... A delightfully wicked thrill ride that had me on the edge of my seat. The Last Girl beckons the shadows and laughs in the face of fear. I didn't want it to end! Chelsea Pitcher, bestselling author of This Lie Can Kill You The Last Girl is like my favourite teen horror movies in book form. It's a tense, cinematic read that gripped me from the very beginning and is one of the best books I've read this year. Amy McCaw, author of Mina and the Undead

Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers)

Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers)

Author: Lana Popovic Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/04/2021

Book 2 in the Lady Slayers series, about French murderess and fortune teller Catherine Monvoisin In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled jeweler's wife with a peculiar taste for the arcane. She lives a comfortable life, far removed from a childhood of abject destitution--until her kind spendthrift of a husband lands them both in debt. Hell-bent on avoiding a return to poverty, Catherine must rely on her prophetic visions and the grimoire gifted to her by a talented diviner to reinvent herself as a sorceress. With the help of the grifter Marie Bosse, Catherine divines fortunes in the IIle de la Citee--home to sorcerers and scoundrels. There she encounters the Marquise de Montespan, a stunning noblewoman. When the Marquise becomes Louis XIV's royal mistress with Catherine's help, her ascension catapults Catherine to notoriety. Catherine takes easily to her glittering new life as the Sorceress La Voisin, pitting the depraved noblesse against one other to her advantage. The stakes soar ever higher when her path crosses with that of a young magician. A charged rivalry between sorceress and magician leads to Black Masses, tangled deceptions, and grisly murder--and sets Catherine on a collision course that threatens her own life.

Mina and the Undead

Mina and the Undead

Author: Amy McCaw Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

'A dark and thrilling tale of the paranormal. With haunted houses, family secrets and murder galore, this delicious and gruesome tale of the macabre will ignite a whole new generation of vampire fans.' Lauren James 'Brimful of nostalgia and cinematic atmosphere. A thrilling read and a clever new twist on the vampire stories you love.' Laura Wood New Orleans Fang Fest, 1995. Mina's having a summer to die for. 17-year-old Mina, from England, arrives in New Orleans to visit her estranged sister, Libby. After growing up in the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie. She can't wait to explore the city's darkest secrets - vampire tours, seedy bars, spooky cemeteries, disturbing local myths... And it gets even better when Mina lands a part-time job at a horror movie mansion and meets Jared, Libby's gorgeous housemate, co-worker and fellow horror enthusiast. But the perfect summer bliss is broken when, while exploring the mansion, Mina stumbles upon the body of a girl with puncture marks on her neck, clutching a lock of hair that suspiciously resembles Libby's... Someone is replicating New Orleans' most brutal supernatural killings. Mina must discover the truth and prove her sister's innocence before she becomes the victim of another myth. The unmissable YA Gothic horror of 2021, perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Stranger Things.

Werewolf Hotel

Werewolf Hotel

Author: Steve Brezenoff Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

The Full Moon Resort in western Canada looks all but abandoned when Hunter, his twin sister, Maeve, and their parents arrive. The outdoor pool is in disrepair and the cabins are overgrown with strange plants. What a dump! And to make matters worse, Hunter and Maeve's aunt and uncle, as well as their two kids, fail to show up for the family holiday. What is going on and why did they have to come all the way out to the sticks anyway? Before long, the spooked-out siblings find out why - and it's a very hairy situation indeed!

Invisible Ink

Invisible Ink

Author: Michael (Author) Dahl Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

The Eraser, sworn enemy of the Library of Doom, has come up with a wicked new scheme. He's created a powerful gas that will turn ink invisible and render all books empty and useless. Will the Librarian be able to stop the villain's criminal concoction? Uncover hidden dangers and dark mysteries with SECRETS OF THE LIBRARY OF DOOM, a page-turning chapter book series from best-selling author Michael Dahl.

The Watchers of Whitmore Way

The Watchers of Whitmore Way

Author: Megan Atwood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

Ellie may be new to the gated community of Whitmore Way, but she can tell right away that something about her neighbours is very, very wrong. They dress perfectly. They speak perfectly. They even act perfectly - much too perfectly, in fact. And that's not all. Every time she looks around, they are watching her. They even have a Neighbourhood Watch group they want her parents to join. What is up with these weird people? And why do the mirrors in her house seem like they are watching her too? Mystery abounds as Ellie uncovers the ghastly truth behind the watchers of Whitmore Way!

The Index Insects

The Index Insects

Author: Michael (Author) Dahl Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

An extremely evil book marked with an X has unleashed a swarm of X-winged insects, and the bugs are on the hunt for their favourite food - books! When the hungry horde targets a bookmobile and the humans inside, can the expert Librarian force the deadly pests to exit? Or will they turn him into an ex-librarian? Uncover hidden dangers and dark mysteries with SECRETS OF THE LIBRARY OF DOOM, a page-turning chapter book series from best-selling author Michael Dahl.

The Backstagers and the Final Blackout (Backstagers #3)

The Backstagers and the Final Blackout (Backstagers #3)

Author: Andy Mientus Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2021

Based on the showstopping graphic novels, the Backstagers return for more action-packed, paranormal theater adventures! The Backstagers are back for a thrilling third act! They've dealt with the ghost haunting their theater and faced o against the sinister siblings trying to steal the famous Designer's Journal during their production of Tammy, but now, a mysterious masked man has taken all the ancient theater artifacts that they've collected. They don't know what he wants or how to stop him-but the Backstagers will have to use all their skills and know-how to solve the mystery and save the day! Each Backstager brings their own unique skills to the team: Mischievious Sasha can always spare a smile; no-nonsense Aziz keeps everyone on task; over-caffeinated Beckett is organized like no other; flirtatious Hunter is their official stage manager and unofficial leader; sweet Jory can work his way through any problem; and clever Reo is an expert on all things spooky. Effortlessly inclusive and full of fun, The Backstagers and the Final Blackout is sure to get a standing ovation!