LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Horror & ghost stories, chillers (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

World of the Unknown: Ghosts

World of the Unknown: Ghosts

Author: Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

First published in 1977, this cult classic has been reissued for a new generation of ghost-hunters. This book is for anyone who has shivered at shadowy figures in the dark, heard strange sounds in the night or felt the presence of a mysterious `something' from the unknown. Ghost stories are as old as recorded history and exist all over the world; described in this book are haunting spirits, screaming skulls, phantom ships, demon dogs, white ladies, gallows ghosts and many more.

Zippel The Little Keyhole Ghost

Zippel The Little Keyhole Ghost

Author: Alex Ruhle Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Paul returns home from school one day to discover a tiny ghost is living in the keyhole of his front door. He names him Zippel, and the little ghost is curious about everything, from food and clothes to how the toilet flushes! But Paul's parents want to change the locks - can Paul find Zippel a new home in time? Filled with colourful pictures from best-loved illustrator Axel Scheffler, Zippel is a charming story about finding friends in the most unexpected of places.

Rules for Vanishing

Rules for Vanishing

Author: Kate Alice Marshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Do you want to play the game? Once a year, a road appears in the woods at midnight and the ghost of Lucy Gallows beckons, inviting those who are brave enough to play her game. If you win, you escape with your life. But if you lose... It's almost a year since Becca went missing. Everyone else has given up searching for her, but her sister, Sara, knows she disappeared while looking for Lucy Gallows. Determined to find her, Sara and her closest friends enter the woods. But something more sinister than ghosts lurks on the road, and not everyone will survive. Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project in this gripping ghost thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Harrison, Lauren James and Frances Hardinge.

The Wind in the Wall

The Wind in the Wall

Author: Sally Gardner Format: Hardback Release Date: 19/09/2019

'I have no idea how long I have been incarcerated in these ancient walls . . . Let me explain how I find myself in this predicament . . .' Set in the hot houses of a stately home in eighteenth century England, a gardener falls from grace when the Duke sets him the impossible task of growing prize pineapples fit to show off in high society. The gardener's star falls further when he is replaced by Mr Amicus, a pineapple 'specialist', whom he believes to be a charlatan and a trickster - but nevertheless miraculously produces fruit to delight the Duke. Determined to uncover Mr Amicus's tricks, the gardener sneaks into the pineapple house to uncover the mysterious shrouded birdcage Mr Amicus carries with him. And what he finds changes his life for ever . . . A cautionary tale with echoes of myth and fairy tale, this bewitching fable will make you careful what you wish for.

Ghost Town

Ghost Town

Author: Marcus Walters Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/09/2019

Hazel is a ghost, who lives with all her friends in Ghost Town. They shop at the ghostery store, they go to ghost school and at night they sleep in a big room, all together. Within a simple narrative, this interactive book invites young readers to engage with each page in a different way. Who is not sleeping? Who is feeling sad? How many ghosts are playing in the playground today? Clean, bold collage illustrations have a sweetly vintage vibe and are packed full of surprises that will delight toddlers and early readers. A neon pantone brings a contemporary edge.

Minor Prophets

Minor Prophets

Author: Jimmy Cajoleas Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/09/2019

After their mother's death, two siblings must navigate the strange world of the occult in this thrilling YA mystery Lee has always seen visions: cats that his mother promises aren't really there, a homeless man who he's convinced is out to get him, and three men who give him ominous warnings in the woods. His mother and his sister Murphy try to keep him grounded in the real world. But when his mother dies in a car accident and her horrible husband tries to adopt them, Lee and Murphy flee to their grandmother's ranch, which they've only heard about in stories. But is there a reason why their mother never brought them there? And what horrid truths lurk behind Lee's haunting visions? Thrilling, twisty, and poignant, Minor Prophets will keep readers guessing until the final page.

Wiggott's Wonderful Waxworld 2: Fire Flight

Wiggott's Wonderful Waxworld 2: Fire Flight

Author: Terry Deary Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Welcome back to the strange town of Wildpool... There's a new mayor in Wildpool (though not necessarily the one that everyone voted for!) and something very mysterious is afoot and there's a danger the Ladies Who Crunch will be forced to move home and that Wiggott's Wonderful Waxworld - about to be reopened - will actually be demolished. Can Molly and Boy save the day? Will Wildpool ever be the same? The second in a spellbinding new fiction series from bestselling Horrible Histories author, Terry Deary.

Tunnel of Bones (City of Ghosts #2)

Tunnel of Bones (City of Ghosts #2)

Author: Victoria Schwab Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

The thrilling sequel to Victoria Schwab's New York Times bestselling City of Ghosts! Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual. She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass's parents are filming their TV show about the world's most haunted cities. Sure, it's fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there's true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs. When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter -- and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger. And if Cass fails, the force she's unleashed could haunt the city forever. New York Times bestselling author Victoria Schwab returns to the spooky and heart-pounding world of City of Ghosts, delivering thrilling new adventures and an unforgettable spin on friendship. (Because sometimes, even psychic ghost best friends have secrets...)

The Painting

The Painting

Author: Charis Cotter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

The Ghostly Game

The Ghostly Game

Author: Maggie Pearson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Alone in the house one night, four friends make up a ghost story. It's all fun and games until the messages start to appear. And as the shadows get darker and the ghost looms closer, soon come the accidents... The Ghostly Game is a spine-tingling tale of haunting messages and the possibility that ghosts may be very, very real. Bloomsbury High Low books encourage and support reading practice by providing gripping, age-appropriate stories for struggling and reluctant readers, those with dyslexia, or those with English as an additional language. Printed on tinted paper with a dyslexia friendly font, The Ghostly Game is aimed at readers aged 11+ and has a manageable length (88 pages) and reading age (9+). Produced in association with reading experts at Catch Up, a charity which aims to address underachievement caused by literacy and numeracy difficulties.

Dreams Come to Life

Dreams Come to Life

Author: Adrienne Kress Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

The official spine-tingling prequel novel based on the hit horror video game, Bendy and the Ink Machine! Buddy Lewek has spent most of his life dreaming of escaping the slums of 1939 New York City. Counting pennies to survive, it doesn't seem likely that Buddy's dreams of becoming an artist will ever be realized, but that all changes when he meets Mr Joey Drew, the eccentric owner of an animation studio. Mr D takes Buddy under his wing as an apprentice, and Buddy couldn't be happier - maybe, as Mr D says, dreams do come true. But not everything at the studio is as picture-perfect as it seems. Something is going bump at night in the studio, something that leaves behind trails of thick, dark ink. Buddy is determined to find out just what is tormenting the studio after-hours, even if it means tracking the trail to Mr D himself. Don't miss this official pulse-pounding story from award-winning author Adrienne Kress, developed with theMeatly, Mike Mood and Bookpast!