LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Silver Serpent

The Silver Serpent

Author: Lena Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

A third mystery for thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly - a bold, determined heroine, and the star of this stylish new detective series. Agatha Oddlow is on the case with yet another adventure! An assistant at the National Gallery has gone missing, but when Agatha begins investigating, she uncovers a plot bigger than she could ever have imagined. Join Agatha as she travels throughout London and into the very heart of the mystery...

Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

Author: Stephan Pastis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Timmy Failure takes to the road in the fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser. Shenanigans abound when Timmy Failure finds himself on a road trip with none other than notorious criminal Molly Moskins. Travelling halfway across the country to help your mother's boyfriend settle into his new job would be inconvenient for any detective, let alone the founder, president and CEO of Total Failure, Inc., the world's greatest detective agency. So when Timmy receives some unexpected news, there's only one thing for it - he must go on the run. After all, Timmy has a case to solve, and nothing can stand in his way.

The Secret Key

The Secret Key

Author: Lena Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2019

Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly - a bold, determined heroine, and the star of a stylish new detective series. Agatha Oddlow has been a detective for as long as she can remember - she's just been waiting for her first big case. And nothing gets bigger than saving the City of London from some strange goings-on. With a scholarship to the prestigious St Regis School, a cottage in the middle of Hyde Park, a room full of beloved sleuthing novels, and a secret key that gives her access to a whole hidden side of London, Agatha is perfectly poised to solve the mystery of what's going on. But just who can she trust when no one is quite who they seem...

The Last Secret

The Last Secret

Author: Sophie Cleverly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2019

A brand-new mystery for fans of Harry Potter and Murder Most Unladylike children's books, The Last Secret is the sixth and final book in the Scarlet and Ivy series. When Scarlet and Ivy return to school after the holidays, they quickly realise that the school is in danger. The twins will need to confront enemies from their past and present if they are to have any chance of it surviving. Could the last secret at Rookwood be the one that brings it down? Or will Scarlet and Ivy be able to untangle the trails of clues and red herrings in time to save it? The Last Secret is the thrilling finale to the mesmerising Scarlet and Ivy series, perfect for children aged 9 and up and fans of Harry Potter, Holly Webb and Robin Stevens.

Haunted House Murder

Haunted House Murder

Author: Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/08/2019

The Missing Ones

The Missing Ones

Author: Edwin Hill Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/08/2019

Sleuth & Solve: 20+ Mind-Twisting Mysteries

Sleuth & Solve: 20+ Mind-Twisting Mysteries

Author: Ana Gallo Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/08/2019

Ready, set, investigate! Welcome to the world of Sleuth & Solve, where clues are in the details and crafty twists put readers' wits to the test. This first book in a new series of mind-bending mini-mysteries encourages readers of all ages to practice deductive reasoning, consider the most subtle details, and always think outside the box. Readers may play alone or with friends, collecting points for cracking each case and determining whose sleuthing skills reign supreme. Read the clues, then lift the flap to reveal the answer to each mystery! This compelling collection of clever, inference-based mysteries makes the perfect gift for puzzle lovers and super-sleuths of every age.

Top Marks For Murder

Top Marks For Murder

Author: Robin Stevens Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

The brilliant new mystery from the bestselling, award-winning author of Murder Most Unladylike. Daisy and Hazel are finally back at Deepdean, and the school is preparing for a most exciting event: the fiftieth Anniversary. Plans for a weekend of celebrations are in full swing. But all is not well, for in the detectives' long absence, Deepdean has changed. Daisy has lost her crown to a fascinating new girl - and many of the Detective Society's old allies are now their sworn enemies. Then the girls witness a shocking incident in the woods close by - a crime that they're sure is linked to the Anniversary. As parents descend upon Deepdean, decades-old grudges, rivalries and secrets begin to surface, and soon Deepdean's future is at stake. Can the girls solve the case - and save their home?

The Haven: Revolution Book 2

The Haven: Revolution Book 2

Author: Simon Lelic Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

You don't know it exists, but when you have nowhere else to turn, the Haven will find you ... An adrenaline-fuelled adventure, second in the Haven series, by top thriller writer Simon Lelic. Our city. Our secret. Our rules. When pupils start going missing from a prestigious boarding school, Ollie Turner knows it's a job for the Haven. Below the city streets, the Haven is a sanctuary for kids run by kids. Ollie and the Haven's investigations team put their lives on the line, going undercover to find the missing children. But little do they realise that a deadly enemy awaits them - one with plans to destroy everything they hold dear. What they're saying about The Haven: 'What a cool idea. Modern street kids doing it for themselves and kicking adult butt.' Charlie Higson 'One of those grab 'em by the throat thrillers that takes off on the first page.' Eoin Colfer 'Adventurous, and thrilling.' Harsh Budhdeo, age 11, LoveReading4Kids 'An action-packed book, rammed full of adventure and danger. I loved reading this book.' Bella Rix-Clancy, age 11, LoveReading4Kids 'A riveting read - fast-paced from the off and with breathless action. A perfect haven for young readers!' Chris Bradford, author of Young Samurai An explosive and compelling read from the writer of thrillers THE HOUSE, THE LIAR'S ROOM and RUPTURE, this is the second in the HAVEN series.

G.E.M.S.: The Case of the Evil Engineer Book 1

G.E.M.S.: The Case of the Evil Engineer Book 1

Author: Ada Newton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

Girls Excelling at Maths and Science! Four friends use their smarts to solve mysteries. Young inventor Eden can't believe her luck - she's spending her summer holidays in California, at the high-tech headquarters of Vance Corps! She and the other clever campers get to build robots, do super-cool science experiments and test out awesome gadgets. But not everyone is a happy camper . . . Someone is sabotaging their robots, so Eden and her new friends - Gemma, Malika and Sophie - team up to catch the culprit. The science sleuths uncover dark secrets about the company and its mysterious owner, who is developing sinister software. Can the four girls outsmart the evil engineer and prevent a global disaster?

Spylark

Spylark

Author: Danny Rurlander Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2019

A boy. A drone. And the danger below ... Ever since the accident, Tom's struggled with his mobility. But he has a secret escape: Skylark, his drone - through this technology, he can fly above his Lake District home, exploring his world from a totally different perspective. But when he stumbles upon a terrorist plot, he knows no one will believe him. Maggie and Joel, a sister and brother on holiday in his aunt's cottage, are the only ones who can help ... but can they stop the plot in time?

Unsettled Grave, An

Unsettled Grave, An

Author: Bernard Schaffer Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/07/2019