LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Let Justice Descend

Let Justice Descend

Author: Lisa Black Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2019

The Case of the Careless Aliens

The Case of the Careless Aliens

Author: Archit Taneja Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2019

Charlie Palmer Says

Charlie Palmer Says

Author: Beverley Bowry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2019

Ten-year-old Nathan Clark is stunned when he dashes outside on Christmas Day to use his new metal detector and finds himself faced with a ghost called Charlie Palmer. But he soon promises to do all he can to help Charlie when he discovers that his near neighbours, the Kimbles, were Charlie's killers and are about to carry out an armed raid. When Nathan's parents go away for the weekend leaving his no-nonsense big sister in charge, the family jewels are stolen and Charlie instantly gets the blame. The police are decidedly skeptical when Nathan tells them the truth that Charlie revealed to him. The only person listening is French scientist Monsieur Dupont, the one hundred and twenty-eight year old former owner of Nathan's house. Will Nathan be able to save the day or will he end up the same way as Charlie?

Now Entering Addamsville

Now Entering Addamsville

Author: Francesca Zappia Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/10/2019

Amelia Fang and the Lost Yeti Treasures

Amelia Fang and the Lost Yeti Treasures

Author: Laura Ellen Anderson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

`The perfect mix of funny, foul and fearful' Metro `Brilliantly imagined . . . laugh-out-loud funny' Sunday Express The fifth book in the bestselling, gorgeously gothic and wickedly funny Amelia Fang series - perfect for readers of 7+ Meet Amelia Fang! Everyone's favourite little vampire. When Amelia and her friends are invited to Florence's grandmother 350th birthday party, they are very excited! Grand-yeti Clemence lives in the Yeti Pits, a maze of candle-lit tunnels and caves carved into Yeti Mountain. But not long after arriving, the precious glittery treasures of the ancient yetis start to go missing. And when Tangine goes missing too he becomes the prime suspect! Not only that but the tunnels of Yeti Mountain have started to collapse on themselves and it looks like Florence and her family will have to move far away. It's looking like the gang might never see each other again! Will Amelia be able to solve the mystery of the missing yeti treasure? And will she and her friends survive the perils of the crumbling Yeti Mountain and all the booby traps on the way? Join Amelia, Florence, Grimaldi, Pumpy and Tangine on the adventure of a lifetime! Also available in the Amelia Fang series: Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball Amelia Fang and the Unicorn Lords Amelia Fang and the Memory Thief Amelia Fang and the Half-Moon Holiday Amelia Fang is perfect for fans of Witch Wars, The Worst Witch and Isadora Moon When she's not trying to take over the world or fighting sock-stealing monsters, Laura Ellen Anderson is a bestselling children's book author & illustrator, with an increasing addiction to coffee. She spends every waking hour creating and drawing, and would quite like to live on the moon when humans finally make it possible. Laura is the creator of EVIL EMPEROR PENGUIN and illustrator of WITCH WARS, as well as many other children's books. The bestselling AMELIA FANG is her first series as author-illustrator.

Murder Most Fowl

Murder Most Fowl

Author: Jed Lynch Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Seamus is a shamus - a private investigator who just happens to be a turkey - and a little down on his luck. When Ms Ermine - a fur-coat wearing cat with plenty of cash - asks Seamus to take on a case investigating some shady characters, he jumps at the chance. What luck! But what follows is a dark, clever and hilarious tale of murder, conspiracy and crooked creatures. A playful and brilliantly funny take on detective noir fiction with an all-animal cast of characters.

The Off-Islander

The Off-Islander

Author: Peter Colt Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/09/2019

The Silver Serpent

The Silver Serpent

Author: Lena Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

A third mystery for thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly - a bold, determined heroine, and the star of this stylish new detective series. Agatha Oddlow is on the case with yet another adventure! An assistant at the National Gallery has gone missing, but when Agatha begins investigating, she uncovers a plot bigger than she could ever have imagined. Join Agatha as she travels throughout London and into the very heart of the mystery...

Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection

Author: Stephan Pastis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Timmy Failure takes to the road in the fourth book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid, Tom Gates and Barry Loser. Shenanigans abound when Timmy Failure finds himself on a road trip with none other than notorious criminal Molly Moskins. Travelling halfway across the country to help your mother's boyfriend settle into his new job would be inconvenient for any detective, let alone the founder, president and CEO of Total Failure, Inc., the world's greatest detective agency. So when Timmy receives some unexpected news, there's only one thing for it - he must go on the run. After all, Timmy has a case to solve, and nothing can stand in his way.

The Secret Key

The Secret Key

Author: Lena Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2019

Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly - a bold, determined heroine, and the star of a stylish new detective series. Agatha Oddlow has been a detective for as long as she can remember - she's just been waiting for her first big case. And nothing gets bigger than saving the City of London from some strange goings-on. With a scholarship to the prestigious St Regis School, a cottage in the middle of Hyde Park, a room full of beloved sleuthing novels, and a secret key that gives her access to a whole hidden side of London, Agatha is perfectly poised to solve the mystery of what's going on. But just who can she trust when no one is quite who they seem...

The Last Secret

The Last Secret

Author: Sophie Cleverly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2019

A brand-new mystery for fans of Harry Potter and Murder Most Unladylike children's books, The Last Secret is the sixth and final book in the Scarlet and Ivy series. When Scarlet and Ivy return to school after the holidays, they quickly realise that the school is in danger. The twins will need to confront enemies from their past and present if they are to have any chance of it surviving. Could the last secret at Rookwood be the one that brings it down? Or will Scarlet and Ivy be able to untangle the trails of clues and red herrings in time to save it? The Last Secret is the thrilling finale to the mesmerising Scarlet and Ivy series, perfect for children aged 9 and up and fans of Harry Potter, Holly Webb and Robin Stevens.

Dead Voices

Dead Voices

Author: Katherine Arden Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/09/2019

Having survived sinister scarecrows and the malevolent Smiling Man in Small Spaces, newly minted best friends Ollie, Coco, and Brian are ready to spend a relaxing winter break skiing together with their parents at Mount Hemlock Resort. But when a snowstorm sets in, causing the power to flicker out and the cold to creep closer and closer, the three are forced to settle for hot chocolate and board games by the fire. Ollie, Coco, and Brian are determined to make the best of it, but odd things keep happening. Coco is convinced she has seen a ghost, and Ollie is having nightmares about frostbitten girls. Then Mr. Faland, a mysterious reporter and ghost hunter, arrives in the midst of the storm. Ollie, Coco, and Brian want to trust him, but Ollie's watch, which helped save them from the Smiling Man before, has a new cautionary message: BEWARE. With Mr. Faland's help, Ollie, Coco, and Brian reach out to the dead voices at Mount Hemlock who may need their help - but not all ghosts can or should be trusted. Dead Voices is a creep-tastic follow-up to Small Spaces with thrills and chills galore and the captive foreboding of a classic ghost story.