LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Crime & mystery fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Case Closed #2: Stolen from the Studio

Case Closed #2: Stolen from the Studio

Author: Lauren Magaziner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Lauren Magaziner's hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a touch of Hollywood glamor! Pick-your-own-path and puzzle-packed mystery collide in this star-studded sequel in which the reader must help Carlos and his friends solve the disappearance of a famous teen actress. In this wildly entertaining and interactive adventure, YOU pick which suspects to interview, which questions to ask, and which clues to follow. You pick the path-you crack the case! Carlos Serrano needs your help-again! His mother has received an urgent assignment to find the missing star of a wildly popular TV show, but she won't let Carlos investigate! With his genius friend, Eliza, and her little brother, Frank, along for the case, Carlos is excited to examine the studio for clues and interrogate suspects on the set of Teen Witch, but he has to keep his detective work hidden from his mother's laser-sharp gaze. And just like before, he can't do it without you! Can you help Carlos and his friends solve the puzzles and stay out of trouble long enough to save Layla Jay? Or will it be case closed?

A Girl Called Justice: The Smugglers' Secret

A Girl Called Justice: The Smugglers' Secret

Author: Elly Griffiths Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her second spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton. When Justice returns for spring term at Highbury House, it's not long before murder is back on her mind. Assigned to look after the elderly Mr Arthur in Smugglers' Lodge on the other side of the marshes from school, Justice is initially dismayed. But dismay quickly gives way to intrigue as she finds herself drawn to Mr Arthur and his stories of piloting in the First World War - and especially when Dorothy, who lives nearby, tells her that the lodge is haunted. But when Mr Arthur dies in mysterious circumstances, Justice soon has a list of questions in her journal: why hasn't he been given a proper military funeral? Why does the new Matron not seem to know much about First Aid? And what secrets does Smugglers' Lodge really hold? Justice sets out to uncover the deadly truth in this brilliant follow-up to A Girl Called Justice.

The Young Magicians and the 24-Hour Telepathy Plot

The Young Magicians and the 24-Hour Telepathy Plot

Author: Nick Mohammed Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2020

The Young Magicians are back - and this time the mystery is an attempted murder! The second fabulously funny, trick-filled adventure from rising-star comedian and actor, Nick Mohammed! Follow Alex, Jonny, Zack and Sophie as they use their amazing real magic skills to get to the bottom of an impossible-seeming crime. The gang are away at a magic convention when thy discover something unspeakable - someone is trying to poison the president of the Magic Circle! The secret society is stumped - but can our intrepid illusionists get to the bottom of who's trying to do in President Pickle?

The Mystery of the Moon Tower

The Mystery of the Moon Tower

Author: Francesco Sedita, Prescott Seraydarian Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2020

Summer camp just became a whole lot more interesting when five curious kids accept a mysterious project: work together as a team to uncover a series of strange clues, reveal a secret path--and follow its twists and turns to a legendary treasure! Join in the fun in this lively, clever debut graphic novel sure to appeal to fans of the Last Kids on Earth and Lumberjanes series. Kyle is a new kid in town who likes to draw. Vic is a cool cheerleader who's secretly a math whiz. Quiet Beth is a history buff, while goofball Harry likes performing magic tricks, with the help of his patient wingman, Nate. Five kids unlikely to form a team, for sure. But then they're thrown together at summer camp, where they watch a grainy old movie about the history of their town, Windrose, and one of its illustrious citizens of a bygone era: the intrepid explorer-inventor Henry Merriweather. He's the one who established their camp. Merriweather's Camp Pathfinders' motto? Plus Ultra more beyond! The five kids soon find there is indeed more beyond in their pokey town with its weird weather and sudden geysers of smelly air. Deciphering a route of historical markers leads them to Merriweather's old castle, which is lined with ornate, beautiful tiles in hallways that lead to secret rooms full of odd objects--and where time itself is warped! Kyle, Vic, Beth, Harry, and Nate witness scenes from Merriweather's past and realize his experiments and eccentricities are pointing toward a path--that could lead to the rumored lost treasure of Windrose. This is the path our heroes are meant to follow, on a journey that will take them back and forth through time, through woods, and across waterways revealed by moonlight, right up to the looming Moon Tower itself--which holds Merriweather's secret . . . and the treasure!

Perfect Daughter

Perfect Daughter

Author: Joseph Souza Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/04/2020

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton

The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton

Author: Richard Fifield Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/04/2020

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner's Dilemma (2020 reissue)

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner's Dilemma (2020 reissue)

Author: Trenton Lee Stewart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Book 3 in the New York Times bestselling series! 'This book reminded me of some of the children's books I grew up with, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryand The Phantom Tollbooth.' RICK RIORDAN, author of the PERCY JACKSON series on book 1 Reynie, Kate, Sticky and Constance are back - but so is Mr Curtain, with another devious scheme! Can the Mysterious Benedict Society thwart Mr Curtain's plans, even whilst held prisoner? Join them on their adventure as they face all sorts of dilemmas, in a bid to save Stonetown ...

The Black Coats

The Black Coats

Author: Colleen Oakes Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

ROSES ARE RED, VIOLETS ARE BLUE. IF YOU HURT US, WE'RE COMING FOR YOU. Moxie meets Female of the Species in this powerful, thrilling, and deeply resonant novel about a secret society of girls who plot revenge on the men who hurt them. The enigmatic Black Coats have been exacting vengeance on men who have hurt girls and women for years. The killer of Thea's cousin went free, and Thea has just received an invitation to join the Black Coats' balancings-acts of revenge meant to teach a lesson. Justice for Natalie has never felt so close. But as the balancings escalate in brutality, Thea's clear-cut mission begins to unravel and she must decide just how far she is willing to go for justice. Because when the line between justice and revenge is paper thin, it's hard not to get cut.

Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

Detective Dan: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Vivian French Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

A quirky school comedy from Vivian French. Perfect for fans of Wigglesbottom Primary and Kes Grey's Daisy books. When Dan gets into trouble at school for being untidy, he teams up with his best friend Billy to find out who's throwing his lunchbox on the floor. With chalk fingerprints and missing sardine sandwiches as clues, Detective Dan is on the case! This humorous mystery from award-winning author Vivian French has appealing black-and-white illustrations by Daniel Duncan and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Brown Ideal for ages 7+ Quizzed for Accelerated Reader

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of the Ages

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of the Ages

Author: Trenton Lee Stewart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

The New York Times bestselling Mysterious Benedict Society series returns for a triumphant fifth adventure! After starring in three adventures, the inimitable quartet of Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance haven't had a mission together in some time. But with the arrival of a new Society member - and a new threat - they must reunite to face dilemmas more dangerous than ever before, including the return of the villainous Mr Curtain and his Ten Men and a formidable enemy with a mystifying ability to track their every move.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey (2020 reissue)

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey (2020 reissue)

Author: Trenton Lee Stewart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Book 2 in the New York Times bestselling series! 'This book reminded me of some of the children's books I grew up with, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factoryand The Phantom Tollbooth.' RICK RIORDAN, author of the PERCY JACKSON series on book 1 It should have been a celebration party, but now it's another mind-bending mission for the children of the Mysterious Benedict Society. Join Reynie, Kate, Sticky and Constance, as they race across the globe by train, bicycle and ship to save their beloved Mr Benedict. It's a perilous journey that will test all their unusual talents ...

Unsettled Grave

Unsettled Grave

Author: Bernard Schaffer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/03/2020