LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Tornado Slim and the Magic Cowboy Hat

Tornado Slim and the Magic Cowboy Hat

Author: Bryan Langdo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2019

A Map of Days Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

A Map of Days Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2019

__________ Things have started to get quite . . . peculiar . . . Having defeated the monstrous threat that nearly destroyed the peculiar world, Jacob Portman is back in Florida, where his story began. Joined by Miss Peregrine, Emma and their peculiar friends, life has become carefree. They spend days at the beach, and take part in 'normalling' lessons. But it's not meant to last. The discovery of Jacob's grandfather's subterranean bunker leads to clues about his double-life as a peculiar operative. Jacob begins to learn more about the dangerous legacy he's inherited, and the truths that were part of him long before he walked into Miss Peregrine's time loop. Now, the stakes are higher than ever as Jacob and his friends are thrust into the untamed landscape of American peculiardom - a world that none of them understand. New wonders, and dangers, await in this darkly brilliant next chapter for Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children, illustrated with haunting vintage photographs- in full colour. Praise for the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series: 'The popularity of the Miss Peregrine's book series cannot be overstated' Entertainment Weekly 'Creepy in the best way possible' The Guardian 'Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children' CNN 'A thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs' USA Today

EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem

EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem

Author: Tony Bradman, Jonny Zucker Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/10/2019

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, Gerneal Mayhem kidnaps Caleb in a ploy to trap his friends ... and she has a dangerous proposal for them once they find her! This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom

Author: Tony Bradman, Jonny Zucker Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/10/2019

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, Earth looks doomed when a huge asteroid is heading straight for the planet ... can Kid Force 3 use their powers to stop the deadly collision? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Mia Mayhem Breaks Down Walls

Mia Mayhem Breaks Down Walls

Author: Kara West Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Mia uses her super-strength to break down walls in this fourth adventure of the Mia Mayhem chapter book series! Mia is determined to be the best in her strength-training class, so she can learn how to lift cars, and climb super tall buildings! But when her own super strength gets the better of her, she ends up causing absolute mayhem. Will Mia be able to rebuild the walls she broke down, one-by-one? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Mia Mayhem chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Mia Mayhem vs. the Super Bully

Mia Mayhem vs. the Super Bully

Author: Kara West Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Mia and her best friends are up against a major super bully in this third adventure of the Mia Mayhem chapter book series! When a super annoying villain (who's actually another superhero) arrives at THE PITS and accuses Mia of not belonging, Mia doesn't know what to do. Will she be able to hold her ground when she goes up against the Super Bully? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Mia Mayhem chapter books are perfect for emerging readers.

Unicorn Magic: Snowstar and the Big Freeze Special 1

Unicorn Magic: Snowstar and the Big Freeze Special 1

Author: Daisy Meadows Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries. Snowstar is a little unicorn with a big problem - his mum has been kidnapped by evil unicorn Selena! Until he can get her back, all of Unicorn Valley is in danger. Can Aisha and Emily help Snowstar save his mum, and the rest of the kingdom, from an icy fate?

The Christmas Unicorn

The Christmas Unicorn

Author: Anna Currey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A heart-warming story, set in the days leading up to Christmas, about one little girl's magical encounter with a unicorn. Christmas is just days away. A little girl called Milly and her Mum are staying at Grandpa's house. Dad has been kept away but will join them just as soon as he can. But Milly feels a little forlorn, away from her friends and without her Dad. And then something wonderful happens. Milly meets Florian, a unicorn. One snowy night, he patters into Grandpa's house and transforms Milly's Christmas, filling it with friendship, surprise and sparkle. And somehow, Florian makes all Milly's wishes come true. Anna Currey has crafted a beautifully written and sensitively illustrated picture book that will delight every generation as families come together at Christmas.

Level Up: Block and Roll

Level Up: Block and Roll

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Videogame-obsessed Flo and her best friend, Max, get more than they bargained for when they find themselves INSIDE their favourite games! Having successfully battled spaceships, Max and Flo are excited to return home. But when they wake up, they're in Max's favourite game, Blocktopia. The friends are accepted into a city, where they are protected from the dangerous monsters that attack daily. Max is in his element - creating increasingly elaborate buildings - but Flo just wants to go home. Then she uncovers a secret. A secret which might just be the key to escaping the game... Praise for LEVEL UP: 'The fast paced action and likeable characters ensure that LEVEL UP has the potential to be a 'hook book' for many young readers.' From the award-winning author of BOYBAND OF THE APOCALYPSE comes a laugh-out-loud adventure with a technological twist, perfect for fans of I SWAPPED MY BROTHER ON THE INTERNET, David Baddiel, Minecraft and Fortnite.

FloodWorld

FloodWorld

Author: Tom Huddleston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

FloodWorld is a gripping, action-packed story for 10+ readers. Kara and Joe spend their days navigating the perilous waterways of a sunken city, scratching out a living in the ruins. But when they come into possession of a mysterious map, they find themselves in a world of trouble. Suddenly everyone's after them: gangsters, cops and ruthless Mariner pirates in their hi-tech submarines. The two children must find a way to fight back before Floodworld's walls come tumbling down... With cover illustration by Manuel Sumberac.

Field Trip Disaster

Field Trip Disaster

Author: Derek Fridolfs Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The first EVER Secret Hero Society volume narrated by Diana Prince (Wonder Woman)! When a foreign exchange student arrives at Justice Prep, Diana is excited to greet him! While Clark (Superman) is also curious to meet this shy student, Bruce (Batman) is wary. Bruce's suspicions are warranted when they are unable to find any record that this student even exists. When the three confront him, an accident transports them all the way to the 31st century! Now Diana, Clark, and Bruce get to meet the heroes of tomorrow ... the Legion of Super Students! Our displaced time travelling heroes will struggle to grasp future technology, homework assignments, and most importantly - bullies. Futuristic bullies who have a plan to go back in time and change the course of history! It's up to Clark, Diana and Bruce to stop their villainous plan before it happens and find their way back home in this newest Secret Hero Society adventure!

Beast Quest: A to Z of Beasts New Edition Over 150 Beasts

Beast Quest: A to Z of Beasts New Edition Over 150 Beasts

Author: Adam Blade Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

This full-colour book is packed with details, statistics and information about the amazing Beasts from the bestselling series - over 150 Beasts, from A to Z! Amazing value and the perfect gift for any Beast Quest fan, as well as a great introduction to the series for new readers.