LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Adventure stories (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Whoas Hiding In This Box?

Whoas Hiding In This Box?

Author: Giuliano Ferri Format: Board book Release Date: 01/03/2020

Treasure in the Trunk A Wordless Picture Book

Treasure in the Trunk A Wordless Picture Book

Author: Linda MacRitchie Graf Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2020

Treasure in the Trunk A Wordless Picture Book

Treasure in the Trunk A Wordless Picture Book

Author: Linda MacRitchie Graf Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/03/2020

Peak Marcello Adventure: Descent

Peak Marcello Adventure: Descent

Author: ,Roland Smith Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/03/2020

Holly & Woody go to California!

Holly & Woody go to California!

Author: Paul Watkins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Alice & Sidney go to Papua New Guinea!

Alice & Sidney go to Papua New Guinea!

Author: Paul Watkins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Joey

Joey

Author: Dana Lynn Coles Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Joey is a little yellow aeroplane with a bright red nose who lives on the small island of Guernsey. He loves flying more than anything and it's what he does best. One sad day, Joey is told that he is no longer fit to fly and he is heartbroken. He has to move to a play barn, leaving his best friends Dash and Dornie behind at the airport. In the play barn, to which he is retired, Joey is suspended from the ceiling by cables, leaving him without the freedom to fly. He is lonely and frightened, until Brick, a kind and trustworthy kiln, finds and befriends him. Brick, who almost always feels 'utterly potterly and totally brickety', knows of fairies who make magic-the Pouque Fairies. The 12 Pouque Fairies, each 'larger than a moment, but smaller than a thought', live at The Fairy Ring on the southwest coast and Brick believes that their magic might just make it possible for Joey to fly again. Join Joey and Brick on their wondrous adventure as they discover the meaning of friendship, the value of kindness and the power of hope.

The Funnies

The Funnies

Author: Paul A. Mendelson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Twelve-year-old Marius is on the run from the Government. He's the only one in the whole nation that values his sense of humour. Everyone else was de-humoured at birth - well, most people were. Yet somehow with Marius there was a glitch. He is captured on the run, but this time it's not the soldiers. He has been taken by The Funnies - renegades who, like him, somehow escaped the `zappers' at birth, but were betrayed by their loved ones. Marius meets their leader - Clown, plus Punchline, Slapstick, Stand-Up, Dummy (and his wooden owl, Too-Wit), Corny, Sick, Sarky, Mimic, Poo (yes, sorry) and Mime. He is entranced - kindred spirits - fellow laughers. His loyalties are put to the test when The Funnies snatch his best friend Peter, humourless son of Mr. J, the Deputy Minister of Humour. Marius dreams of being able to make Peter laugh. Could the de-humouring be reversible and if so, could he restore the humour of an entire population?

Giraffe Box Jorge

Giraffe Box Jorge

Author: Gerry Rose Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

A special birthday deserves a special birthday treat! Olivia has just turned ten-years-old. Her father takes her to London for a fun day out in the big city. As they begin their journey on the London Underground, Olivia spots an intriguing looking man who is carrying a little square box on his lap. Curious by nature, she is stunned to discover that the man is famous in London and that he goes by the name `Giraffe Box Jorge'. Excited by what the man might be doing and where he is off to with his little box, Olivia persuades her father to leave the train when Jorge does - and so their race across London begins. A race that sees them follow Jorge to Downing Street, the Tate Modern Gallery and eventually to Canary Wharf where Giraffe Box Jorge runs The World's only Miniature Zoo . But they are stopped in their tracks when they realise that they've been discovered...

Sir Ryan and the Dragon

Sir Ryan and the Dragon

Author: Joseph Wesdock Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/02/2020

Join young Sir Ryan on his first Knightly adventure as he saves a tiny village from a ferocious and scary dragon! Sir Ryan and his faithful horse White Cloud courageously offer to help terrified villagers face a terrible dragon that is hiding in a nearby cave. Can you imagine walking into a dark cave to fight a dragon? What happens next is exciting and surprising! Come along on Sir Ryan's adventure and learn lessons of courage, kindness, and teamwork. This book offers a morals-themed story suitable as a bedtime story for older preschool or younger school-age children.

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue Book 2

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue Book 2

Author: Shane Hegarty Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

For fans of Toy Story and Charlie Changes into a Chicken, this is the second hilarious, warm-hearted story about a small robot on a big adventure. With illustrations by Ben Mantle bringing Boot's world to life, this is an unforgettable tale of resilience and hope. 'Fast, funny and furious. These are definitely my favourite robots.' Eoin Colfer Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose? A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles. Have you read the first BOOT story, which was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award?

TURBO Racers: Trailblazer

TURBO Racers: Trailblazer

Author: Austin Aslan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 20/02/2020

In Turbo Racers: Trailblazer, twelve-year-old Mace Blazer gets the chance to pilot a state-of-the-art vehicle that transforms at the touch of a button from race car to jet plane to single-person sub, in the biggest race in the world. The roar of the crowd, the glow of the spotlight, the thrill of the race-Mace Blazer dreams of going TURBO. TURBOnauts thrive on the thrum of trimorphers's rocket engines as the vehicles morph from super-powered race cars to speeding jet aircrafts to torpedo-fast submarines, while they race full-throttle around every bend. And Mace believes he's got what it takes to join their ranks-he only needs the chance to prove it. So when a reclusive retired racer chooses Mace to try out to be part of the next generation of TURBOnauts, Mace knows that this is his moment to show what he can do. But the path to his big shot means facing down the best and the brightest from around the world. Mace will have to live more fearlessly, hone quicker reflexes, be revolutionary-but will it be enough? Mace quickly realizes that everything he's ever hoped for comes at a price. He'll have to decide between what is right and what is easy. Every morph counts in the first book in this exhilarating new adventure series by the acclaimed author of The Islands at the End of the World, Austin Aslan. This is the first title in a high-stakes middle-grade two-book series!