LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Author: Matthew Quick Format: Paperback Release Date: 16/01/2014

A powerful and important book for fans of Mark Haddon, THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and Jay Asher. How would you spend your birthday if you knew it would be your last? Eighteen-year-old Leonard Peacock knows exactly what he'll do. He'll say goodbye. Not to his mum - who he calls Linda because it annoys her - who's moved out and left him to fend for himself. Nor to his former best friend, whose torments have driven him to consider committing the unthinkable. But to his four friends: a Humphrey-Bogart-obsessed neighbour, a teenage violin virtuoso, a pastor's daughter and a teacher. Most of the time, Leonard believes he's weird and sad but these friends have made him think that maybe he's not. He wants to thank them, and say goodbye. In this riveting and heart-breaking book, acclaimed author Matthew Quick introduces Leonard Peacock, a hero as warm and endearing as he is troubled. And he shows how just a glimmer of hope can make the world of difference.

ebook of the month
Clark the Shark Gets a Pet

Clark the Shark Gets a Pet

Author: Bruce Hale Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2020

In this funny rhyming story, Clark the Shark is excited about his new pet, Lulu the dogfish. He can't wait to teach Lulu tricks and feed her lots of treats. But Clark discovers there's more to having a pet than he thought! Young animal owners and ones hoping for a pet will enjoy this funny book about pets and caring for them. With easy-to-read text and Clark's trademark rhymes, this Level One shark tale will have beginning readers ready to take a bite out of reading! Also included are fun, bite-sized facts about different types of sharks. Clark the Shark Gets a Pet is a Level One I Can Read, which means it's perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Share this leveled reader with the pet or shark fan in your home or classroom!

Double Dork Diaries #6

Double Dork Diaries #6

Author: Rachel Renee Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2020

A special bumper edition of dorkiness featuring Frenemies Forever and Crush Catastrophe from the bestselling DORK DIARIES series - now with over 45 million copies in print worldwide! Join Nikki as she navigates crush dramas and mean-girl showdowns in her own fabulously dorky way! Get ready to dive into Nikki's dork-tastic life and embrace your inner dork with this fabulous two-in-one bind-up. Have you read all the DORK DIARIES series? Dork Diaries Dork Diaries: Party Time Dork Diaries: Pop Star Dork Diaries: How To Dork Your Diary Dork Diaries: Skating Sensation Dork Diaries: Dear Dork Dork Diaries: Holiday Heartbreak Dork Diaries: OMG! All About Me Diary! Dork Diaries: TV Star Dork Diaries: Once Upon a Dork Dork Diaries: Drama Queen Dork Diaries: Puppy Love Dork Diaries: Frenemies Forever Dork Diaries: Crush Catastrophe Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama Dork Diaries: Spectacular Superstar Dork Diaries: I Love Paris! - Out October 2020 - pre-order now!!

The Liar's Daughter

The Liar's Daughter

Author: Megan Cooley Peterson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/12/2020

The Saint's Magic Power Is Omnipotent (Light Novel) Vol. 1

The Saint's Magic Power Is Omnipotent (Light Novel) Vol. 1

Author: Yuka Tachibana Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/12/2020

A charming isekai tale about a woman's magical entrepreneurship in a fantasy world--which is soon to be an anime! (And don't miss the manga, also available from Seven Seas!) Could workaholic office lady Sei be a legendary Saint? Not according to the crown prince of another world who summoned her and quickly declared a different girl was the real Saint! That suits Sei just fine--she would much rather spend her days quietly helping people with her unbelievably powerful magic. But how long can Sei live her ideal life of leisure before her true nature is revealed?

Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash (Light Novel) Vol. 14

Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash (Light Novel) Vol. 14

Author: Ao Jyumonji Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/12/2020

SEEING THINGS Scattered once again in Parano, the other world where dream monsters and mages run wild, Haruhiro and his comrades must push through trickery and illusions alone, without their trusty comrades by their sides. Can they make it back to Grimgar--and what awaits them if they do?!

Cat Kid Comic Club

Cat Kid Comic Club

Author: Dav Pilkey Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/12/2020

The next graphic novel series by Dav Pilkey, the internationally bestselling author and illustrator of the DOG MAN and CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS series. Welcome to the Cat Kid Comic Club, where Li'l Petey (LP), Flippy, and Molly introduce twenty-one rambunctious, funny, and talented baby frogs to the art of comic making. As the story unwinds with mishaps and hilarity, readers get to see the progress, mistakes, and improvements that come with practice and persistence. Squid Kid and Katydid, Baby Frog Squad, Gorilla Cheese Sandwich, and Birds Flowers Tree: A Haiku Photo Comic are just some of the mini-comics that are included as stories-within-the-story, each done in a different style, utilizing humour and drama, prose and poetry, illustrated in different media including acrylics, pastels, coloured pencils, felt-tip markers, clay, hand-made cardboard sculptures, photographs, pipe cleaners, construction paper collages, and cookies. Readers of all ages will be inspired to dream up their own stories and unleash their own creativity as they dive into this pioneering graphic novel adventure from Dav Pilkey and his heartfelt, humorous, and amazing cast of characters in the Cat Kid Comic Club.

Woof Woof Story: I Told You to Turn Me Into a Pampered Pooch, Not Fenrir!, Vol. 5 (light novel)

Woof Woof Story: I Told You to Turn Me Into a Pampered Pooch, Not Fenrir!, Vol. 5 (light novel)

Author: Inumajin, Kochimo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2020

In an odd twist of fate, two of the demon lord's generals have entered the service of the mansion. So, surely Routa can take a break and finally enjoy his pampered pooch life, right...? Of course not. With the recent spike in magical activity, a Hero has come sniffing around Feltbelk Forest. What ever will the famed monster hunter do when faced with Fenrir himself?

I Dig Being Kind

I Dig Being Kind

Author: Michele Robbins Format: Board book Release Date: 01/12/2020

A Slug Story

A Slug Story

Author: Mandi Kujawa Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2020

The Violin Players

The Violin Players

Author: Eileen Bluestone Sherman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/2020

Smart and savvy high school junior Melissa Jensen is unprepared when life takes a turn for the seemingly tragic: her father accepts a teaching assignment in a small town in the Midwest, far from her home and friends (and bagels) in New York City. She's too old to throw a tantrum, and her father's offer of letting her live in New York with her grandparents is simply not an option. No way will she follow their strict Orthodox Jewish rules when her own parents didn't even make her go to Hebrew school. Melissa's reluctant arrival in Henryville brings some surprises. To her amazement the college town offers more than she ever anticipated, including a fantastic school orchestra and the chance to star in the school play, not to mention her immediate popularity with the coolest kids in school. And then there's Daniel Goodman, the remarkable boy who shares Melissa's passion for acting and playing the violin. Everything seems too good to be true, until Melissa comes across something she has never experienced before-antisemitism. No one in the school suspects she is Jewish, but when Daniel is taunted by a bigoted schoolmate, Melissa must make a decision. Her choice to speak out should be clear-cut, but life is never that simple. The Violin Players examines the price we pay when bigotry is met with silence.

Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty)

Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty)

Author: Diana Ma Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/12/2020

The first book in an epic and romantic YA series following the fictionalized descendants of the only officially recognized empress regent of China Gemma Huang is a recent transplant to Los Angeles from Illinois, having abandoned plans for college to pursue a career in acting, much to the dismay of her parents. Now she's living with three roommates in a two-bedroom hovel, auditioning for bit roles that hardly cover rent. Gemma's big break comes when she's asked to play a lead role in an update of M. Butterfly filming for the summer in Beijing. When she arrives, she's stopped by paparazzi at the airport. She quickly realizes she may as well be the twin of one of the most notorious young socialites in Beijing. Thus kicks off a summer of revelations, in which Gemma uncovers a legacy her parents have spent their lives protecting her from-one her mother would conceal from her daughter at any cost.