LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Mickey and the Animal Spies

Mickey and the Animal Spies

Author: Anne Miller Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Mickey is the type of kid who's always on the lookout for a code to crack. So it's her lucky day when she spots a strange poster on the bus home from school written completely in code. Within the strange jumble of letters is a curious message, one that leads to an exciting adventure-with diamond thieves, dognappers, and an extraordinary group of animal spies! This book contains real coded messages, can you crack the codes before Mickey does?

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Author: J.K. Rowling Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

This glorious paperback edition of Newt Scamander's Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is considered a classic throughout the wizarding world. It features an extraordinary array of magical creatures, from Acromantula to Yeti via ten different breeds of dragon - all beautifully illustrated in full colour by the brilliantly inventive, Greenaway Medal shortlisted Olivia Lomenech Gill. Famed Magizoologist Newt Scamander's years of adventure and exploration have yielded a work of unparalleled importance, admired by scholars, devoured by young witches and wizards, and even made available to Muggles in the early years of this century. With this dazzling illustrated edition, readers can explore the magical fauna of five continents from the comfort of their own armchairs. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is essential reading at Hogwarts. Now available in a stunning paperback edition with French flaps, this edition contains all of the mesmerising illustrations from the original edition and features the fully updated 2017 text including a foreword by J.K. Rowling, writing as Newt Scamander.

Graveyard Shift in Ghost Town

Graveyard Shift in Ghost Town

Author: Michael Pryor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

So, how's my gap year going? Is it giving me a taste of the ghost-hunting business or is it just dumping me into situations where I could end up dead, or worse? Lingerers. Moaners. Thugs. Weepers. So many ghosts. Not enough graveyard shifts in a night. When an extreme ghost plague descends on the city, Anton and Rani must work overtime to keep the city safe and to find the source of the new aggressive ghost outbreak. And it amps up to another level after ghost hunters become the hunted. Anton and Rani will need all their wits and wiles about them if they are to manage the ghost influx, get to the truth about the Elsewhere and navigate the night with all their limbs intact. Graveyard Shift in Ghost Town is thoroughly entertaining and full of nail-biting ghostly action and adventure.

What Kind of Girl

What Kind of Girl

Author: Alyssa Sheinmel Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

The girls at North Bay Academy are taking sides. It all started when Mike Parker's girlfriend showed up with a bruise on her face. Or, more specifically, when she walked into the principal's office and said Mike hit her. But the students have questions: Why did she go to the principal and not the police? Why did she stay so long if he was hurting her? Obviously, if it's true, Mike should be expelled. But is it true? Some girls want to rally for his expulsion - and some want to rally around Mike. The only thing that the entire student body can agree on? Someone is lying. And the truth has to come out. 'Thrillers can so often lean on a fuzzy sense of insanity to justify a character's behaviour, but the handling tends to be superficial; here it proves devastating. This is already one of my favourite books of the year' Irish Times on A Danger to Herself and Others 'Cunningly told . . . The author's cunning deployment of information keeps the reader guessing' Financial Times

The Year We Fell From Space

The Year We Fell From Space

Author: Amy Sarig King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Liberty Johansen is going to reinvent the way we look at the night sky. Most people only see the classic constellations - things they've been told to see. But Liberty sees new patterns, pictures, and possibilities. She feels she's on a different planet. Other planets in her solar system include: Her dad, who gave her the stars, who's drifted and is keeping secrets. Her mum, who's not imploding, like everyone expects. And her sister, who seems in a galaxy of her own. Liberty feels like gravity is collapsing around her. Can she save her system, before she spins off into oblivion?

Cookie and the Most Annoying Boy in the World

Cookie and the Most Annoying Boy in the World

Author: Konnie Huq Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

A brilliantly funny new series written and illustrated by BBC Blue Peter's Konnie Huq, featuring chaotic family life and madcap school science projects! Cookie's life is basically over. Her best friend in the whole world is moving to Solihull because one of her dads has a new job there. Solihull?! Where even is that?! Cookie begs her parents for a pet to fill the void but they have given her an absolute NO. It would be way too expensive and way way too messy. But Cookie has never been a fan of the word 'no' so she visits the pet shop anyway and sets her heart on the sweetest cutest kitteniest kitten ever: Bluey. But then . . . DISASTER! The most ANNOYING boy she's ever met in her entire nine years goes into the pet shop, buys Bluey and renames her Nigel! And then he joins her year at school! And if that wasn't bad enough, he moves in next door to her. AAAAGGGGHHHHH! But it's not all bad . . . Cookie gets the chance to go on her favourite TV show, Brainbusters. It's only a chance though - she'll have to win the school science competition first. It shouldn't be too hard . . . all she has to do is keep her head down, and not get too over-excited. Unfortunately that's not Cookie's strong point . . .

A Sprinkle of Sorcery

A Sprinkle of Sorcery

Author: Michelle Harrison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

From the bestselling author of A PINCH OF MAGIC comes another spellbinding adventure that will take your breath away and make you believe in magic. A missing sister, a secret island and ... a sprinkle of sorcery. The family curse has been lifted and the Widdershins sisters: Betty, Fliss and Charlie are free to leave the misty prison isle of Crowstone. But when a mysterious girl arrives at the Poacher's Pocket with a pocketful of hagstones and accompanied by a will-o'-the-wisp, it seems another adventure has landed on their doorstep. And when Charlie goes missing, it's up to Betty and Fliss to journey through misty marches, past wisp catchers and on to a secret island that doesn't exist on any map... Praise for A Pinch of Magic: 'BRILLIANT' Emma Carroll, author of Letters From The Lighthouse 'Simply phenomenal!' Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs 'I was utterly captivated by the Widdershins sisters' Lisa Thompson, author of The Goldfish Boy 'Gutsy and rude, full of warts-and-all family love, Harrison's latest has the wry enchantment of an E Nesbit classic' Guardian 'A fabulous magical adventure' Sunday Express 'Fantasy and adventure appear on every page of this spellbinding tale' Daily Mail

Yes No Maybe So

Yes No Maybe So

Author: Becky Albertalli, Aisha Saeed Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2020

From New York Times bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed comes a heart-warming, hilarious story about the power of love and resistance. Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state candidate - as long as he's behind the scenes. There's no way he'd ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes...until he meets Maya. Maya Rehman's having the worst Ramadan ever. Her best friend is too busy to hang out, her summer trip is cancelled, her parents are separating and now her mother thinks the solution to her problems is political canvassing - with some awkward guy she hardly knows ... Going door to door isn't exactly glamorous, but maybe it's not the worst thing in the world. After all, the polls are getting closer - and so are Maya and Jamie. Mastering local activism is one thing. Navigating the cross-cultural crush of the century is another thing entirely.

Kitty's Cuddles

Kitty's Cuddles

Author: Jane Cabrera Format: Board book Release Date: 03/02/2020

Puffin Nibbles: Poor Fish

Puffin Nibbles: Poor Fish

Author: Jane Godwin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/02/2020

Forest Queen

Forest Queen

Author: Betsy Cornwell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2020

From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on Robin Hood in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas. When sixteen-year-old Silvie's brother takes over management of their family's vast estates, Silvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.

Where Is Robin? San Francisco

Where Is Robin? San Francisco

Author: Robin Barone Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/02/2020