LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Fizzlebert Stump and the Girl Who Lifted Quite Heavy Things

Fizzlebert Stump and the Girl Who Lifted Quite Heavy Things

Author: A. F. Harrold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Roald Dahl, this highly successful and widely praised series featuring a boy, a circus and a lot of silliness is now available in a bright new package. 'Freewheeling frivolity' - Financial Times 'Once, and once only, there was a boy whose name was Fizzlebert.' Fizzlebert Stump lives in a circus and it's the great Circus of Circuses competition, but Fizzlebert Stump has no act. He's no longer the Boy Who Puts His Head In The Lion's Mouth (the lion retired) and putting his head in a crocodile's mouth instead didn't work out for some reason. Can Fizz find a new act in time? A story of circus rivalry, learning who you really are, and the problem of oddly shaped vegetables. Brilliantly bonkers and perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Lemony Snicket.

Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment

Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment

Author: Dav Pilkey Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

The next great Dog Man adventure from the worldwide bestselling author and artist Dav Pilkey. You'll howl with laughter! The Supa Buddies bamboozled the baddies, but all's not right in the world. Dog Man has a new problem to pound, and he's going to need his entire pack to help him. Will he go barking up the wrong tree? Dav Pilkey's wildly popular Dog Man series appeals to readers of all ages and explores universally positive themes, including empathy, kindness, persistence, and the importance of doing good.

The Medusa Project: The Hostage

The Medusa Project: The Hostage

Author: Sophie McKenzie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

The second chapter in Sophie McKenzie's bestselling series, back with a fresh new cover design! Meet Nico, Ketty, Ed and Dylan - four psychic teens brought together by government agents to create the secret crime-fighting force The Medusa Project. After a narrow escape from the evil clutches of Jack Linden, the gang are back and the stakes are even higher. Ketty's brother Lex has stumbled into a dangerous game involving his boss and a hidden bomb. It's up to Ketty to save him without letting on what she knows to the rest of the team. But can she control her psychic visions, and her feelings for Nico, without getting the team's cover - and herself - blown sky high?

Yasmin the Friend

Yasmin the Friend

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Yasmin knows exactly what she wants to play when her friends come over. But it turns out her friends have their own ideas. Could a creative compromise make everyone happy?

Kind PB

Kind PB

Author: Alison Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Imagine a world where everyone is kind - how can we make that come true? With gorgeous pictures by a host of the world's top illustrators, Kind is a timely, inspiring picture book about the many ways children can be kind, from sharing their toys and games to helping those from other countries feel welcome. The book is endorsed by The Gruffalo illustrator Axel Scheffler, and fifty pence from the sale of each printed copy will go to the Three Peas charity, which gives vital help to refugees from war-torn countries.

Fiend of the Seven Sewers

Fiend of the Seven Sewers

Author: Steven Butler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Welcome to The Nothing to See Here Hotel! Book your stay now for this fabulously funny series full of mayhem, monsters and more than a little bit of magic by bestselling author Steven Butler and illustrated by Steven Lenton. Life is never dull for Frankie Banister and the weird and wonderful guests of The Nothing to See Here Hotel - the no.1 holiday destination for magicals! But when Frankie is kidnapped and dragged off to a secret cistern-city deep in the dookiest depths of the sewers, things get a whole lot weirder! What has Frankie done to offend the mysterious 'Boss'? Is he doomed to spend the rest of his life griping in the piping? Will he ever escape the dark and disgusterous dungeons? And what exactly is the gut-gurglingly named Poodly-Pipe? One thing's for sure, Frankie is going to have to outwit old enemies and rely on new friends if he ever wants to see his HONKHUMPTIOUS home again... PRAISE FOR THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL series: 'This book is so good you won't blunking believe it!' Tom Fletcher 'Hilariously funny and inventive, and I love the extraordinary creatures and the one thirty-sixth troll protagonist...' Cressida Cowell 'A rip-roaring, swashbuckling, amazerous magical adventure. Comedy Gold.' Francesca Simon 'This hotel gets five stars from me' Liz Pichon 'A splundishly swashbungling tale of trolls, goblins and other bonejangling creatures. Put on your wellies and plunge into the strangest hotel you will ever encounter. This is a hotel I hope I never find! Wonderfully, disgustingly funny.' Jeremy Strong 'What a fun hotel! Book me in immediately!' Kaye Umansky 'Exuberant story and witty illustrations, this is my kind of book!' Chris Riddell 'Giggles guaranteed' Nick Sharratt

Ballet Bunnies: Mille's Birthday

Ballet Bunnies: Mille's Birthday

Author: Swapna Reddy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

It's Millie's birthday, and the Ballet Bunnies are coming to stay at her house! She's going to have a ballet-themed party with all of her friends-all she's got to do is keep the Ballet Bunnies hidden from everyone, including her mum. How hard can that be? But when everyone arrives Millie starts to feel a bit anxious. Everyone is so loud, and she feels a bit out of control. Can the Ballet Bunnies help her to find her courage, and get into the party spirit? With a Ballet Bunny on your side, fun and laughter are never far away. Beautifully-illustrated stories with heart; perfect for newly emerging readers who love ballet and bunnies!

Yasmin the Football Star

Yasmin the Football Star

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Everyone in Yasmin's gym class is excited to play football . . . except for Yasmin. She's seen the pros play and it looks scary! When Yasmin is chosen as goalie, will she step up or back out? Courage, Yasmin!

Creepshow: The Taker

Creepshow: The Taker

Author: Elley Cooper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Inspired by the breakout TV series Creepshow from executive producer Greg Nicotero (The Walking Dead), this fright-filled volume contains two all-new, chilling tales! When Bea moves to a new town, she is determined to do two things: get on the dance team at school and find new friends. What she doesn't expect is for one of those friends to be a ghost, or for that ghost to be jealous of her dance crew. If Bea wants to keep the peace, she has to do what her new friends want. But at what cost? Casey has always loved animals. Dogs and cats are fine enough - not that his dead-beat dad has ever let him have one. But what he really wants is an African Grey Parrot. When he finally gets his wish, it's almost too good to be true. The parrot, Dorian, sings and talks and learns new tricks so fast. Dorian is incredibly smart - maybe too smart for his, and Casey's, own good... This collection includes two terrifying novels inspired by Creepshow, Shudder's anthology TV series based on the 1982 horror comedy classic. Perfect for fans of the show as well as fans of the horror genre in general, it's the most fun you'll ever have being scared!

Wrecked

Wrecked

Author: Louisa Reid Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Joe and Imogen seem like the perfect couple - they've been in a relationship for years and are the envy of their friends at school. But after accidentally becoming involved a tragic fatal accident, they become embroiled in a situation out of their control, and Joe and Imogen's relationship becomes slowly unravelled until the truth is out there for all to see ... Structured around a dramatic and tense court case, the reader becomes both judge and jury in a stunning and page-turning novel of uncovering secrets and lies - who can be believed?

Case Closed #3: Haunting at the Hotel

Case Closed #3: Haunting at the Hotel

Author: Lauren Magaziner Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Pick-your-own-path and puzzle-packed mystery collide in the third book in Lauren Magaziner's hilarious and interactive middle grade series in which the reader must help Carlos and his friends hunt ghosts at a haunted hotel. In this wildly entertaining adventure, YOU pick which suspects to interview, which questions to ask, and which clues to follow. You pick the path-you crack the case! Carlos Serrano is now officially an apprentice detective at Las Pistas Detective Agency. He finally earned his mom's trust, but his next case will be his most difficult one yet. Guests at a creepy mountain hotel are complaining of weird disturbances, threatening messages, and hair-raising howls! Carlos, along with his best friend, Eliza, and her wacky little brother, Frank, arrive on the scene to investigate a . . . ghost? What secrets is this haunted hotel hiding? With tricky puzzles, ghoulish secrets, ectoplasmic enemies, and dozens of impossible choices, these junior detectives need your sleuthing skills! Can you help Carlos and his friends unravel the mystery before it's too late? Or will it be case closed?

Tashi 25th Anniversary

Tashi 25th Anniversary

Author: Anna Fienberg, Barbara Fienberg Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

OVER ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD! For twenty-five years Tashi has been telling fabulous stories. He escaped from a war lord in a faraway place and flew to this country on the back of a swan. And he wished he would find a friend just like Jack. In this first book of his daring adventures, Tashi tells Jack about the time he tricked the last dragon of all. Now, a whole generation of readers will know that when Tashi says, 'Well, it was like this ...' an exciting new adventure is about to begin. This special anniversary edition includes the stories 'Tashi and the Silver Cup' and 'Kidnapped!' together for the first time. 'The Tashi stories are some of my all-time favourites: a world within a world and a magical place for children to lose themselves in.' Sally Rippin, bestselling author of Polly and Buster and Billie B. Brown 'All children should meet Tashi. He can be their mentor on the road to reading, feeding their imaginations with fantastic stories. The Tashi stories have the evergreen qualities of classics.' Magpies