LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Classroom 13 3 Books in 1!

Classroom 13 3 Books in 1!

Author: Honest Lee, Matthew J. Gilbert Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/02/2020

The Classroom 13 series is about the students of a very unlucky classroom. The first title starts when unlucky teacher Ms. Linda LaCrosse wins the lottery and shares her winnings with her class - giving each student over a BILLION DOLLARS! You might think this was nice but it was not. It was a nasty idea. As the students of Classroom 13 are about to learn, winning the lottery is not always lucky and will lead to many disastrous moments in the future. The easy-to-read chapters are full of humour, action, secret codes and fun - and will prompt hours of conversation among friends, families and classmates. The final chapter encourages young readers to write their own chapter and send it in to the author, Honest Lee. This book includes The Unlucky Lottery Winners of Classroom 13, The Disastrous Magical Wishes of Classroom 13, and The Fantastic and Terrible Fame of Classroom 13.

Born Bad

Born Bad

Author: CK Smouha, Stephen Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/02/2020

Wolf wasn't happy being Wolf. When he looked in the mirror he looked BAD. And when he looked bad, he felt bad, and when he felt bad, he acted bad. Wolf wants to change but he's not sure how. He meets members of the animal kingdom who share their own experiences. With their help, Wolf challenges his own preconceptions about identity and finally finds the courage to undergo a magnificent transition....

The Old Truck

The Old Truck

Author: Jerome Pumphrey, Jarrett Pumphrey Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/02/2020

When is an old truck something more? On a small, bustling farm, a resilient and steadfast pickup works tirelessly alongside the family that lives there, and becomes a part of the dreams and ambitions of the family's young daughter. After long days and years of hard work leave the old truck rusting in the weeds, it's time for the girl to roll up her sleeves. Soon she is running her own busy farm, and in the midst of all the repairing and restoring, it may be time to bring her faithful childhood companion back to life. With an eye-catching retro design and cleverly nuanced illustrations, The Old Truck celebrates the rewards of determination and the value of imagination.

A Sprinkle of Sorcery

A Sprinkle of Sorcery

Author: Michelle Harrison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

From the bestselling author of A PINCH OF MAGIC comes another spellbinding adventure that will take your breath away and make you believe in magic. A missing sister, a secret island and ... a sprinkle of sorcery. The family curse has been lifted and the Widdershins sisters: Betty, Fliss and Charlie are free to leave the misty prison isle of Crowstone. But when a mysterious girl arrives at the Poacher's Pocket with a pocketful of hagstones and accompanied by a will-o'-the-wisp, it seems another adventure has landed on their doorstep. And when Charlie goes missing, it's up to Betty and Fliss to journey through misty marches, past wisp catchers and on to a secret island that doesn't exist on any map... Praise for A Pinch of Magic: 'BRILLIANT' Emma Carroll, author of Letters From The Lighthouse 'Simply phenomenal!' Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs 'I was utterly captivated by the Widdershins sisters' Lisa Thompson, author of The Goldfish Boy 'Gutsy and rude, full of warts-and-all family love, Harrison's latest has the wry enchantment of an E Nesbit classic' Guardian 'A fabulous magical adventure' Sunday Express 'Fantasy and adventure appear on every page of this spellbinding tale' Daily Mail

Unstoppable

Unstoppable

Author: Dan Freedman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Fourteen-year-old twins, Roxy and Kaine, have only one thing in common. They HATE each other. Kaine is loud, brash and brilliant at football. Roxy is heading for tennis superstardom. When tragedy strikes, their worlds are ripped apart. Can they come together before it's too late?

Pride

Pride

Author: Ibi Zoboi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny, gorgeous retelling of the classic, starring all characters of color, from Ibi Zoboi, National Book Award finalist and author of American Street. Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable. When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with their two teenage sons, even as her older sister, Janae, starts to fall for the charming Ainsley. She especially can't stand the judgmental and arrogant Darius. Yet as Zuri and Darius are forced to find common ground, their initial dislike shifts into an unexpected understanding. But with four wild sisters pulling her in different directions, cute boy Warren vying for her attention, and college applications hovering on the horizon, Zuri fights to find her place in Bushwick's changing landscape, or lose it all. In a timely update of Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, critically acclaimed author Ibi Zoboi skillfully balances cultural identity, class, and gentrification against the heady magic of first love in her vibrant reimagining of this beloved classic.

Misadventures of Max Crumbly 3 Masters of Mischief

Misadventures of Max Crumbly 3 Masters of Mischief

Author: Rachel Renee Russell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

When we last left our courageous hero, Max Crumbly, and his trusty sidekick Erin, they had just finished foiling the plans of some bumbling thieves. But Max and Erin were trapped in a smelly, dangerous dumpster of doom and about to be discovered by the last people they wanted to find them. Now in this latest installment of Max's journals, Max and Erin face foes both new and old as their misadventures continue. Can the two friends avoid detection-and detention!-while keeping South Ridge Middle School safe from bullies and criminals?

Guinea Pig Superstar!

Guinea Pig Superstar!

Author: Ali Pye Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Join Harry Stevenson - small guinea pig and unlikely hero - on two BIG new adventures. Harry Stevenson is VERY excited. He's off to school with his best friend Billy! Billy can't wait to show Harry off in Show and Tell but when another classmate brings in his pet snake, chaos ensues! Can this small guinea pig survive his first day at school? And when a thief - dressed up as a chicken - steals Sparky FC's championship cup, Harry Stevenson finds himself caught up in a real-life robbery! Can Harry stop the thief and save the day?

Here in the Real World

Here in the Real World

Author: Sara Pennypacker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

From the author of the highly acclaimed, bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving novel that is an ode to introverts, dreamers, and misfits everywhere, ideal for readers aged 9-12. Ware can't wait to spend summer 'off in his own world' and generally being left alone. But then his parents sign him up for dreaded Rec camp, where he must endure Meaningful Social Interaction and whatever activities so-called 'normal' kids do. On his first day Ware meets Jolene, a tough, secretive girl planting a garden in the rubble of an abandoned church next to the camp. Soon Ware starts skipping Rec, creating a castle-like space of his own in the church lot. Jolene scoffs, calling him a dreamer - he doesn't live in the 'real world' like she does. As different as Ware and Jolene are, though, they have one thing in common: for them, the lot is a refuge. And when their sanctuary is threatened, Ware vows to save the lot. But what does a hero look like in real life? And what can two misfit kids do?

Toffee

Toffee

Author: Sarah Crossan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

'Utterly sublime' Cecelia Ahern 'Impossible not to read it in a single gulp' The Times 'Undoubtedly one of the best books of the year' Irish Times 'Compelling and beautifully wrought' The Sunday Times 'A book that changes its reader for the better' Guardian 'One of our most original writers' John Boyne When Allison runs away from home she doesn't expect to be taken in by Marla, an elderly woman with dementia, who mistakes her for an old friend called Toffee. Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. But as her bond with Marla grows, Allison begins to ask herself -where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who am I, really?

Where The World Turns Wild

Where The World Turns Wild

Author: Nicola Penfold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Juniper Greene lives in a walled city from which nature has been banished, following the outbreak of a deadly man-made disease many years earlier. While most people seem content to live in such a cage, she and her little brother Bear have always known about their resistance to the disease, and dream of escaping into the wild. To the one place humans have survived outside of cities. To where their mother is. When scientists discover that the siblings provide the key to fighting the disease, the pair must flee for their lives. As they cross the barren Buffer Zone and journey into the unknown, Juniper and Bear can only guess at the dangers that lie ahead. Nature can be cruel as well as kind... Will they ever find the home they've been searching for? A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from a fresh new voice in children's fiction. Perfect for fans of THE EXPLORER, THE LAST WILD and THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING.

Sofa Surfer

Sofa Surfer

Author: Malcolm Duffy Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Written with humour and heart, Sofa Surfer looks at what it means to be homeless. Malcolm Duffy's debut novel Me Mam. Me Dad. Me., about domestic violence, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2019, longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2019 and selected for World Book Night. 15-year-old Tyler's teenage angst turns to outright rebellion when his family leave London for a new life in Yorkshire. He's angry with his parents about the upheaval and furious at losing his home. With only the dog to confide in, Tyler has no idea that a chance meeting with a skinny girl called Spider will lead him into a world he never even knew existed. Spider is living on the streets and Tyler finds himself spinning a tangled web of lies in his efforts to help her escape from this dark and dangerous place. Sofa Surfer shows how empathy and action can help those sleeping rough. As with his widely praised debut Me Mam. Me Dad. Me., Malcolm Duffy finds humour and heart even in dire situations. Relevant, warm and rewarding Sofa Surfer is about what happens when going home isn't an option.