LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Time to Go!

Time to Go!

Author: Carol Zeavin, Rhona Silverbush Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/11/2020

Sometimes toddlers don't want to go! This is a book for toddlers about leaving when they don't want to or ending an activity they don't want to stop. Includes information for parents and caregivers about helping you and toddlers have an easier time when it's time to go.

Potty!

Potty!

Author: Carol Zeavin, Rhona Silverbush Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/11/2020

This reassuring potty training book for toddlers offers insight into the many stages that kids can be in. Includes more information about supporting toddlers as they build the bridge to potty training.

Second Chance

Second Chance

Author: Terry Green Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/11/2020

This is the story of an English village which like so many villages is losing its identity, and all the component parts which make it up as a whole are suffering. The younger residents are leaving, due to their inability to afford local houses as prices rise steeply due to the influx of 'southerners' buying second homes. Due to the dwindling population the local public house may not survive. A local farmer is facing hardship and the village police officer's career has stalled, due to no fault of his own. The central character in this story is Jack, a thirteen year old boy who is basically a good person but this could change if he falls in with the wrong company. Jack and his parents have recently moved to the village, but are considered to be 'outsiders'. In an attempt to fit in Jack befriends a local 'tearaway' Rob who has no respect for people or property. Jack's very future is threatened due to his developing bad behaviour. Then, on a rainy evening, a mysterious stranger makes an appearance at the public house. Could things change for the better? Only time will tell.

Tell Tail

Tell Tail

Author: C K Smouha, Katie Brosnan Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/11/2020

Dex is a Staffie with an unruly tail. All the other members of Dex's family are tough as nails, but Dex is cut from a different cloth. He likes to chat and play, and when he does, his tail wags wildly. When he's sad, his tail tucks under. Everyone can see exactly how he's feeling. The rest of Dex's family find it very embarrassing, so Dex tries to rein his tail in - to no avail. One day at the park, Dex is doing his best to control his tail when a big red dog called Bailey bounds up to him. Bailey has the waggiest, most ridiculous tail Dex has ever seen. They have a marvellous time playing, until Dex catches sight of his dad's disapproving face. Dex runs and runs and runs, until he stops caring - about his tail - about anything. When Dad finds him, his tail is completely still. It doesn't wag, it doesn't tuck under. It's just there. After a couple weeks, Dad starts to feel uncomfortable. What could be wrong with Dex? Dad and Dex go back to the park, where with the help of Bailey, they rediscover the joys of self expression.

Zoku Owarimonogatari

Zoku Owarimonogatari

Author: NisiOisiN Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2020

Dark Curse

Dark Curse

Author: Danielle Rose Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/11/2020

Don't Touch My Hair!

Don't Touch My Hair!

Author: Sharee Miller Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/11/2020

An entertaining picture book that teaches the importance of asking for permission first as a young girl attempts to escape the curious hands that want to touch her hair. It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls; and even under the sea, in the jungle, and in space, she's chased by a mermaid, monkeys, and poked by aliens...until, finally, Aria has had enough! Author-illustrator Sharee Miller takes the tradition of appreciation of black hair to a new, fresh, level as she doesn't seek to convince or remind young readers that their curls are beautiful--she simply acknowledges black beauty while telling a fun, imaginative story.

Ana on the Edge

Ana on the Edge

Author: A. J. Sass Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/11/2020

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world. Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms fast. Still, Ana tries to focus on training and putting together a stellar routine worthy of national success. Once Ana meets Hayden, a transgender boy new to the rink, thoughts about the princess program and gender identity begin to take center stage. And when Hayden mistakes Ana for a boy, Ana doesn't correct him and finds comfort in this boyish identity when he's around. As their friendship develops, Ana realizes that it's tricky juggling two different identities on one slippery sheet of ice. And with a major competition approaching, Ana must decide whether telling everyone the truth is worth risking years of hard work and sacrifice.

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air series)

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air series)

Author: Holly Black Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/11/2020

An irresistible return to the captivating world of Elfhame from bestselling Folk of the Air author Holly Black, with stunning full-colour illustrations by Rovina Cai. Once upon a time, there was a boy with a wicked tongue ... Before Cardan was a cruel prince or a wicked king, he was a faerie child with a heart of stone. In this sumptuously illustrated tale, Holly Black reveals a deeper look into the dramatic life of Elfhame's enigmatic high king. This tale includes delicious details of life before The Cruel Prince, an adventure beyond The Queen of Nothing, and familiar but pivotal moments from The Folk of the Air trilogy, told wholly from Cardan's perspective. This new instalment in the Folk of the Air series is a return to the heart-racing romance, danger, humour and drama that enchanted readers everyw here. Each chapter is paired w ith lavish and luminous full-colour art, making this the perfect collector's item to be enjoyed by audiences both new and old.

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air series)

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air series)

Author: Holly Black Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/11/2020

Once upon a time there was a boy with a wicked tongue... Before Cardan was a cruel prince or a wicked king, he was a faerie child with a heart of stone. In this sumptuously illustrated tale, Holly Black reveals a deeper look into the dramatic life of Elfhame's enigmatic high king. This tale includes delicious details of life before The Cruel Prince, an adventure beyond The Queen of Nothing, and familiar but pivotal moments from The Folk of the Air trilogy, told wholly from Cardan's perspective. This new instalment in the Folk of the Air series is a return to the heart-racing romance, danger, humour and drama that enchanted readers everywhere.

Orange for the Sunsets

Orange for the Sunsets

Author: Tina Athaide Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

* A Chicago Public Library's Best of the Best Books of 2019 Selection * A Canadian Children's Book Center Best Books for Kids & Teens Pick * From debut author Tina Athaide comes a soaring tale of empathy, hope, and resilience, as two best friends living under Ugandan President Amin's divisive rule must examine where-and who-they call home. Perfect for fans of Half from the East and Inside Out and Back Again. Asha and her best friend, Yesofu, never cared about the differences between them: Indian. African. Girl. Boy. Short. Tall. But when Idi Amin announces that Indians have ninety days to leave the country, suddenly those differences are the only things that people in Entebbe can see-not the shared after-school samosas or Asha cheering for Yesofu at every cricket game. Determined for her life to stay the same, Asha clings to her world tighter than ever before. But Yesofu is torn, pulled between his friends, his family, and a promise of a better future. Now as neighbors leave and soldiers line the streets, the two friends find that nothing seems sure-not even their friendship. Tensions between Indians and Africans intensify and the deadline to leave is fast approaching. Could the bravest thing of all be to let each other go?

Junk Boy

Junk Boy

Author: Tony Abbott Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's YA novel-in-verse is an unflinching and heartbreaking look at a boy's junk-filled life, and the ways he finds redemption and hope, perfect for fans of The Crossover and Long Way Down. Junk. That's what the kids at school call Bobby Lang, mostly because his rundown house looks like a junkyard, but also because they want to put him down. Trying desperately to live under the radar at school-and at the home he shares with his angry, neglectful father-Bobby develops a sort of proud loneliness. The only buffer between him and the uncaring world is his love of the long, wooded trail between school and home. Life grinds along quietly and hopelessly for Bobby until he meets Rachel. Rachel is an artist who sees him in a way no one ever has. Maybe it's because she has her own kind of junk, and a parent who hates what Rachel is: gay. Together the two embark on journeys to clean up the messes that fill their lives, searching against all odds for hope and redemption. Narrated in Bobby's unique voice in arresting free verse, this novel will captivate readers right from its opening lines, urging them on page after page, all the way to its explosive conclusion.