LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Adventures of Ellie & Boo

The Adventures of Ellie & Boo

Author: Millie Kerr Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Boo the tabby cat is born on a Lincolnshire farm and seems destined for a simple life. Everything changes when she's put up for adoption and taken in by Ellie Caldwell, an adventurous Cambridge graduate student who loves animals and is studying to become a wildlife conservationist. Between lectures, Ellie heads to the countryside for camping trips, her Instagram-anointed 'adventure cat' in tow. On rocky trails, Boo discovers that, like Ellie, she has a passion for the natural world, and because she's able to communicate with all animals, she can relate their challenges back to Ellie. But there's a serious problem: whenever Boo tries to tell Ellie something, all Ellie hears is Meow. Can they work out a communication system, and in doing so, save endangered animals from harm while encouraging public support of nature and wildlife?

Superteam

Superteam

Author: David Bedford Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Sage Cookson's Fishy Surprise

Sage Cookson's Fishy Surprise

Author: Sally Murphy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Sage Cookson is a ten-year-old with a pretty different lifestyle. Her parents are television chefs with, unsurprisingly, a passion for food. They spend a lot of their time travelling Australia and the world sampling the food, learning new cooking techniques and then sharing their new knowledge with their massive television audience. For Sage, this means she gets to embark on adventurous travels with her parents for much of the time.

The Magic Sword of Gung-Ho

The Magic Sword of Gung-Ho

Author: Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

The evil Crimson Trotter has crafted a deadly, magical sword, and bestowed it on the villainous Gung-Ho and his gang of bandits. They plan to take over the city and seize the emperor's palace! The Kung-Fu Pigs are determined to foil the plan and save the emperor, but what match are they for the unbeatable blade, without a little magic of their own...?

Banned!

Banned!

Author: David Bedford Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Masters of Soccer

Masters of Soccer

Author: David Bedford Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Hostages of the Jade Wolf

Hostages of the Jade Wolf

Author: Keith Brumpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

When Rinki's neighbours are pig-napped from their village, he's determined to rescue them - even if it means a treacherous quest through the forest... But it's not long before Rinki crosses paths with Stinki, courageous Samurai, and Dinki, beautiful pig priestess. Together they form the formidable Kung-Fu Pigs - a force to be reckoned with! Can they take on the wily Jade Wolf and win...?

The Toy Museum The Boy Who Gave His Birthdays Back

The Toy Museum The Boy Who Gave His Birthdays Back

Author: Mark Roland Langdale Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Alfie Jolly is 59 and unhappy with his life. More specifically, with his birthdays. You see, none of them have been any good and with his sixtieth on its way, Alfie can't help but think he's been wronged. Spur of the moment, Alfie decides he wants to return/recycle all of his old birthdays. The only trick now is to find out how. A trip the North Pole, a chat with Father Christmas, and a flight to Egypt later, Alfie meets Father Birthday who, eventually, agrees to help turn back the clock. Literally. Suddenly Alfie is a child again, reliving each birthday and making new and better memories. Like in 1966 when he and his family travel to Disney World, or go to the fair in 1967 or when he relives the moon landing where the love his life, pretty Suzy Gentry, sits next to him on the sofa. His life is great with dancing again in classes and racing around with his twin, but it isn't long before shadows start creeping in to this dream childhood of never-ending birthdays. Is it a case of be careful what you wish for or be grateful for every moment you have - before it ends?

Jenna's Truth

Jenna's Truth

Author: Nadia L. King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/07/2020

Our closest friends are the people we trust the most. We tell them our secrets and share our lives with them. But, what happens if our friends and our secrets turn against us? Jenna's Truth, inspired by Amanda Todd's tragic story of bullying, is a book that tells us what can happen when we discover our friends are no longer who we think they are. The internet age offers many opportunities and makes life easier, but it also put us in great danger. Every post creates a digital trail that can't always be erased. Nadia L. King has woven together a contemporary teenage story, a lesson of empathy and self-awareness, and a tale about the dangers of digital life to create a book that is utterly captivating. Jenna's Truth is both bleak and full of hope.

The Whistle, the Grave and the Ghost - The House With a Clock in Its Walls 10

The Whistle, the Grave and the Ghost - The House With a Clock in Its Walls 10

Author: John Bellairs Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2020

A camping trip with his Scout troop leads Lewis straight to a strange, old grave and a mysterious, magical silver whistle. When Lewis discovers that this whistle has the power to stop the boys in his Scout troop bullying him, he is overcome with relief - finally he can enjoy being part of the Scouts. What Lewis doesn't know is that the whistle also has a more sinister power: it summons a powerful vampire! Lewis is drawn into battle with this ancient evil, and with the help of Rose Rita, Unlce Jonathan and Mrs Zimmermann, he must save his own life and the lives of those he loves. Is Lewis strong enough to destroy the potent spirit? For fans of Goosebumps.

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond

Author: Alex English Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2020

Take to the skies in this thrilling new series from author Alex English. (BEWARE: THERE WILL BE PIRATES!) 11 year-old Echo Quickthorn has grown up believing that nothing exists outside the Kingdom of Lockfort, but everything changes when an eccentric professor parks his airship outside her window armed with a map that shows all the magical places that exist beyond the city walls. Together with her pet lizard, Gilbert, Echo sets off on an incredible adventure to find her missing mother; an adventure that will take her to unimaginable places filled with giant butterflies, mechanical dragons and . . . sky pirates! Praise for Sky Pirates: Echo Quickthorn and the Great Beyond: A charmingly madcap adventure, with endearing friendships, sparkling wit, and a swashbuckling journey across pirate-infested skies. I loved it. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Cogheart. - Hana Tooke, author of THE UNADOPTABLES A spirited protagonist, a charming side-kick and a believable villain come together in this tightly plotted, visual, treat for the senses. I want to soar over the rainbow rooftops of Port Tourbillon and the toadstooled forests of Tyrian in my very own airship. - Nizrana Farook, author of THE GIRL WHO STOLE AN ELEPHANT Sky Pirates is a fast-moving adventure story full of intrepid explorers, ingenious inventors, stolen treasure and mysterious undiscovered lands. If you like Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (and who doesn't?) you'll love Sky Pirates too! Kirsty Applebaum, author of THE MIDDLER From the very first page, I felt as if I'd been grabbed by the hand by a best friend and taken on the journey of a lifetime. Pacey, thrilling and endearing too. If I was ever to encounter sky pirates, I can think of no one I'd want by my side more than clever, brave Echo. - Joanna Nadin, author of the RACHEL RILEY series A breath-taking adventure and a wonderfully imagined story of friendship and danger in strange places. - Claire Fayers, author of THE VOYAGE TO MAGICAL NORTH

Ways to Make Sunshine

Ways to Make Sunshine

Author: Renee Watson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2020

Ryan Hart and her family live in Portland, Oregon, and her dad lost his job a while ago. He finally got a new one, but it pays less, and he'll have to work nights. And so they're selling the second car and moving to an (old) new house. The Harts are an everyfamily - a family with siblings who bicker, parents who don't always get it right, but a family that loves. A family working hard to make it in tough economic times, a family with traditions and culture, a family that tries new things. This is a black family growing up in middle class America. And Ryan is a girl who has much on her mind - school, family, friends, self-image - but who knows how to make sunshine out of setbacks. Packed with humour and heart alongside meaningful and thoughtful moments, Ryan Hart is the character everyone will want to be best friends with.