LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from General fiction (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great General fiction (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Flember The Secret Book

Flember The Secret Book

Author: Jamie Smart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A mysterious island. A strange and mystical power called FLEMBER. A boy-inventor called Dev, who uncovers a long forgotten secret. And a GIANT, RED ROBOT BEAR?! The sleepy village of Eden is about to descend into HILARIOUS chaos - can disastrous Dev save his brand new best friend? Find out in this fully illustrated mad-cap adventure.

Shauna's Great Expectations

Shauna's Great Expectations

Author: Kathleen Loughnan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Shauna is in her final year at an elite private school and has great expectations. She holds an Indigenous scholarship and is determined to be the first member of her family to go to university, no matter what. The year is off to an excellent start, and she and her friends are dreaming big about life after school and a trip to Paris. But suddenly she's faced with a choice that threatens to throw all her plans into disarray. As pressure builds from every corner of her world, Shauna wonders what she'll have to sacrifice to keep hold of her dreams... Can she fulfil her own promise and still keep her promises to others? Will all her expectations be ripped away?

Scars Like Wings

Scars Like Wings

Author: Erin Stewart Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ... 16-year-old Ava Gardener is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She's used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there's one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn't mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn't? When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she's not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle for survival, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she's chasing has more to do with the girl in the glass-or the people by her side. The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that's being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green.

Winnie and Wilbur: The Santa Surprise

Winnie and Wilbur: The Santa Surprise

Author: Laura Owen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

As they get ready for Chrsitmas Winnie and Wilbur go an epic quest to make sure Santa gets a present, too. A brand new story in a fabulous new format with stylish full colour illustrations, this is the perfect purchase for Winnie and Wilbur fans at Christmas. Part of the bestselling series that celebrates the wonderful relationship shared by Winnie and her cat, Wilbur. Since 1987 they have been delighting children and adults all over the world and more than 7 million books have been sold.

One Christmas Wish

One Christmas Wish

Author: Katherine Rundell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

NOMINATED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2019 NOMINATED FOR THE CILIP GREENAWAY MEDAL 2019 It's Christmas Eve and Theo - left at home with a babysitter - sees an odd-looking star out of his window and decides to make a wish. He wishes that he had some friends to keep him company. Moments later the Christmas decorations begin to disentangle themselves from the tree behind him, ready to wreak a little havoc ... Written with generous helpings of warmth and humour, this is a timeless Christmas story about treasuring the people and values that really matter at this time of year. With breathtaking illustrations by Emily Sutton capturing the magic of the season in stunning detail, this modern classic from master storyteller and bestselling children's author Katherine Rundell makes the perfect Christmas gift.

Spooky Story Collection (Super Monsters - Netflix)

Spooky Story Collection (Super Monsters - Netflix)

Author: Scholastic Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Super Monsters Spooky Story Collection includes four exciting adventures starring all the Pitchfork Pines Preschoolers. After sunset at Pitchfork Pines Preschool, all the kids transform into Super Monsters! They're ready to learn how to be the best monsters they can be. This spooktacular collection of stories is perfect for whenthe sun goes down!

My Big Book of the World's Greatest Art

My Big Book of the World's Greatest Art

Author: Louise Lockhart Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

This children's book is the perfect stepping stone to a lifelong appreciation of art. Each major art period unfolds in a gently colored spread featuring famous artists and artworks while other spreads present specific scenes that incorporate similar details. In this book, kids will learn how the earliest artists mixed pigments; how ancient civilizations worshiped their gods; how religion drove artistic efforts in the middle ages; and scientific discoveries inspired Renaissance painters and sculptors. They'll observe artists playing key roles in revolutions both historic and cultural and they'll visit a modern museum to see what today's artists are creating. Packed with endless possibilities for learning, this book offers kids a new way to engage with and understand the art they experience every day.

The Camelot Code, Book 2 Geeks and the Holy Grail

The Camelot Code, Book 2 Geeks and the Holy Grail

Author: Mari Mancusi Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The Big Book of Everything You Need to Get the Job Done

The Big Book of Everything You Need to Get the Job Done

Author: Mia Cassany Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Children love to group, name, identify, and discover, which is the perfect way to explore vast topics, such as the jobs people do. Filled with hundreds of meticulously and stylishly rendered items, this book takes a fun approach to a serious subject. Each spread is ingeniously populated with objects that pertain to a different career: from musician, astronaut, and doctor, to builder, chef, and gardener. The artwork will keep young readers occupied and entertained for hours. Best of all, it will encourage endless discussion about the many unique and interesting things people need to get their jobs done.

Totem Spirit Animals of Ancient Civilisations

Totem Spirit Animals of Ancient Civilisations

Author: Mia Cassany Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Ancient cultures regarded animals as emblems of power and magic. An array of animals helped shape entire societies and religions. Now, this boldly inventive book helps young readers grasp just how important animals were to those that came before us. Each civilization is depicted in double-page spreads that feature captivating drawings alongside informative texts. As readers travel from culture to culture, they will learn the ways animals have been worshiped, feared, and mythologized. They can explore how Native Americans believed eagles had control over nature, how Greek gods turned themselves into animals, why oxen are considered holy in India, and what dogs meant to the Inuit. From ancient Persia and Japan to Viking and Mayan civilizations, this absorbing book combines art, mythology, and natural history to shine a light on the vital interplay between human and animal. Enlightening and world-expanding, this book will change the way kids think of the animals who share our planet.

Scars Like Wings

Scars Like Wings

Author: Erin Stewart Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Everyone has scars. Some are just easier to see ... 16-year-old Ava Lee is heading back to school one year after a house fire left her severely disfigured. She's used to the names, the stares, the discomfort, but there's one name she hates most of all: Survivor. What do you call someone who didn't mean to survive? Who sometimes wishes she hadn't? When she meets a fellow survivor named Piper at therapy, Ava begins to feel like she's not facing the nightmare alone. Piper helps Ava reclaim the pieces of Ava Before the Fire, a normal girl who kissed boys and sang on stage. But Piper is fighting her own battle for survival, and when Ava almost loses her best friend, she must decide if the new normal she's chasing has more to do with the girl in the glass-or the people by her side. The beautiful, life-affirming debut from Erin Stewart that's being called the YA answer to Wonder. Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Nicola Yoon and John Green.

Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Discover the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers - brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Priestley in this striking and funny package. Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity that is their school. But when a meteorite crash-lands in the school grounds, things become even stranger than they have ever been before! Not only do a group of schoolgirls and their teacher turn up needing somewhere to stay, but further investigation of the meteorite soon proves that it might be a spaceship. Could aliens be hiding in the school grounds somewhere? (You might have spotted them already!) Plus, has anyone noticed a giant eyeball floating about the place? Most importantly, can Mildew and Sponge save the day - and the school - once more? This hugely funny, deliciously creepy and action-packed series is perfect for 8+ readers who like their mysteries with a twist. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Chris Riddell will love Maudlin Towers. Have you read all of Mildew and Sponge's adventures? Maudlin Towers: Curse of the Werewolf Boy Maudlin Towers: Treasure of the Golden Skull Maudlin Towers: Attack of the Meteor Monsters