LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Poetry (Children's / Teenage)

See below for a selection of the latest books from Poetry (Children's / Teenage) category. Presented with a red border are the Poetry (Children's / Teenage) books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Poetry (Children's / Teenage) books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Olympic Poems 100% Unofficial!

Olympic Poems 100% Unofficial!

Author: Brian Moses, Roger Stevens Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/06/2020

A brilliant, funny and inspiring collection of poems about sport by Brian Moses and Roger Stevens! There are poems about winning and about taking part; poems about having all the right kit, but no talent; poems that show that coming first in the egg and spoon race really is as important to your mum and dad as being an Olympic athlete; poems about being a team player and poems about being an individual hero. In fact, this book is packed with sporting gems of all kinds. Perfect for any young poet or aspiring olympian.

Hatful of Dragons, A And More Than 13.8 Billion Other Funny Poems

Hatful of Dragons, A And More Than 13.8 Billion Other Funny Poems

Author: Vikram Madan Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/05/2020

Ideal for fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein, this collection of hilarious poems features delicious vocabulary and a wide range of subjects, as well as recurring characters and subplots in the art that weave the poems together and add to the merriment. This funny poetry book is chockful of unusual characters: panda and pangolin musicians, mail-order eggs that hatch (surprise!) dinosaurs, ten aliens with a garden-gnome pal, a robot uncle, lots and lots of dragons, and a professor who uses his Page Machine to travel to multiple pages within the book. Vikram Madan's ingenious poems take many forms, from limerick to rebus to a fill-in-the-blank poem that offers more than 13.8 billion funny combinations. All feature clever wordplay, impeccable rhythm and rhyme, and riotous punchlines. This is a quirky collection of poems that readers will laugh their way through again and again.

The Adventures of Septamus Book 1: Seaside Tales

The Adventures of Septamus Book 1: Seaside Tales

Author: Stephanie Harper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2020

Meet Septamus, a seven-legged Octopus. But Septamus is no ordinary sea creature... Septamus is a dynamic and charismatic superhero who can swim to the bottom of the deepest sea, glide over the earth and even fly way up beyond the clouds. He can also change colour and even camouflage himself, which comes in handy for his series of adventures with his friends, Crabbie, the crab, and Buttie, the butterfly. The five tales, Trouble Underwater, Catching Stars, Crabbie's Treasure, Rainbow's End and Beyond the Shore, see Septamus, Crabbie and Buttie above the shore searching for a rainbow, high up in the clouds and exploring under the sea. Full of exciting adventures, some leading them to danger, but Septamus is always there to save the day!

Football 4 Every 1

Football 4 Every 1

Author: Paul Cookson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

A brilliant collection of funny upbeat poems about football - playing it, supporting it, living it, breathing it. Perfect to enjoy as you follow your team in Euro 2020. From the excitement of going to your first game, to the thrill of playing with your mates in the park, this book captures all the emotions involved in following the beautiful game.

The Bee Is Not Afraid Of Me Poems About Insects

The Bee Is Not Afraid Of Me Poems About Insects

Author: Isabel Galleymore Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

Ida the Spider

Ida the Spider

Author: Rosamund Browne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/04/2020

Have you ever seen a spider on a bike? Well, I've seen a picture of a spider sitting on the saddle of an old rusty bike, but I've never seen a spider actually riding a bike and doing her makeup and holding an umbrella at the same time. Ida the Spider is very silly. She should be looking where she's going and watching out for cars and bikes on the road; but she's always in a hurry, loves doing her face and hair and hates getting wet. She thinks she is beautiful, but if she doesn't keep an eye on the road, she's going to have a nasty accident. If her umbrella slips and she can't see where she's going she might just fall off her bright red bike and what then? She could end up in hospital feeling sore. It is important to have one leg or hand you can take off the handlebars or the pedals to stop the bike from wobbling and it is never a good idea to hold an umbrella and do your makeup on a bike. You need to look where you're going. A playful poetry book for 0 - 5 years, introducing a bright and amusing character!

After Dark Poems about Nocturnal Animals

After Dark Poems about Nocturnal Animals

Author: David L. Harrison Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/04/2020

This collection of 22 poems explores the fascinating lives of North American nocturnal animals. When the sun goes down, many animals come out. Crickets chirp their crickety song hoping to attract a mate. Cougars bury their leftovers for later, leaving few clues for others to follow. Armadillos emerge from their dens to dig for worms, leaving holes in the lawns they disturb. This collection of poetry from acclaimed children's author and poet David L. Harrison explores the lives of animals who are awake after dark. Stephanie Laberis's beautifully atmospheric illustrations will draw in readers, and extensive back matter offers more information about each animal.

SLAM! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This

SLAM! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This

Author: Nikita Gill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/04/2020

It's time to reclaim poetry. Collected by international poetry sensation Nikita Gill, SLAM! You're Gonna Wanna Hear This is a joyful celebration of the ground-breaking poets making their voices heard in the spoken word scene. Empowering, inspiring and often hilarious, SLAMs are a platform for well-known and emerging talent from all walks of life where every style of poetry has a home. With poets such as Raymond Antrobus and Dean Atta guest starring alongside up-and-coming poets in the SLAM scene, this is the perfect introduction to world of modern poetry. Each poet will introduce their poem, tell you a little bit about themselves and give you a tip for preparing brilliant poetry for SLAMs.

A Child's Introduction to Poetry (Revised and Updated) Listen While You Learn About the Magic Words That Have Moved Mountains, Won Battles, and Made Us Laugh and Cry

A Child's Introduction to Poetry (Revised and Updated) Listen While You Learn About the Magic Words That Have Moved Mountains, Won Battles, and Made Us Laugh and Cry

Author: Michael Driscoll Format: Hardback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Poetry can be fun -- especially when we can read it, hear it, and discover its many delights. A Child's Introduction to Poetry joyously introduces kids (and parents) to the greatest poets in history - from Homer and Shakespeare to Langston Hughes and Maya Angelou - and provides excellent examples of their work and commentary on what makes it so special and everlasting. The book covers every style of poem, from epics and odes, to nonsense verse and haikus and is filled with examples of each one. This multimedia package encourages children to listen, read, and learn and opens the door to a lifetime of appreciation of a rich literary tradition. Also included is a removable, fold-out poster of Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll, one of history's most iconic poems.

Follow the Recipe Poems About Imagination, Celebration, and Cake

Follow the Recipe Poems About Imagination, Celebration, and Cake

Author: Marilyn Singer Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/04/2020

A joyful collection of poems by the author of Mirror Mirror, in the form of recipes both simple and allegorical. This delicious collection of poems by the innovative Marilyn Singer is accompanied by vibrant splashy artwork by two-time Caldecott honoree Marjorie Priceman. Presented in a small-size format to appeal to older readers (as well as young), the book has the look of a vintage collector's compendium that includes pictures, ephemera and annotations to add interest. Even young children are familiar with recipes--a series of steps to help them make something--and the book begins with simple dishes and ideas (such as a recipe for reading a recipe and a recipe for measuring), and then adds more ideas and grows in sophistication until the last recipes broach lofty concepts (such as a recipe for understanding and a recipe for peace). A treasure of words and images and ideas.

P is for Poetry Poems from Irish Poets

P is for Poetry Poems from Irish Poets

Author: Seamus Cashman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2020

Selected poems from bestselling Something Beginning with P in a beautiful new format edition. Originally published in 2004, the award-winning Something Beginning with P was a collection of new poems for children including poems from leading Irish poets such as Seamus Heaney, Paula Meehan, Rita Ann Higgins, Nuala ni Dhomhnaill, Frank McGuinness and Peter Fallon. This new, specially curated, edition of P is for Poetry includes best-loved poems and poets taken from the original collection as well as new additions that are sure to become beloved new favourites.

Cast Away Poems for Our Time

Cast Away Poems for Our Time

Author: Naomi Shihab Nye Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/04/2020

Acclaimed poet and Young People's Poet Laureate Naomi Shihab Nye shines a spotlight on the things we cast away, from plastic water bottles to those less fortunate, in this collection of more than eighty original and never-before-published poems. A deeply moving, sometimes funny, and always provocative poetry collection for all ages. Nye at her engaging, insightful best. -Kirkus (starred review) How much have you thrown away in your lifetime already? Do you ever think about it? Where does this plethora of leavings come from? How long does it take you, even one little you, to fill the can by your desk? -Naomi Shihab Nye National Book Award Finalist, Young People's Poet Laureate, and devoted trash-picker-upper Naomi Shihab Nye explores these questions and more in this original collection of poetry that features more than eighty new poems. I couldn't save the world, but I could pick up trash, she says in her introduction to this stunning volume. With poems about food wrappers, lost mittens, plastic straws, refugee children, trashy talk, the environment, connection, community, responsibility to the planet, politics, immigration, time, junk mail, trash collectors, garbage trucks, all that we carry and all that we discard, this is a rich, engaging, moving, and sometimes humorous collection for readers ages twelve to adult. Features an index.