LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Picture storybooks

See below for a selection of the latest books from Picture storybooks category. Presented with a red border are the Picture storybooks books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Picture storybooks books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Just Like You

Just Like You

Author: Jo Loring-Fisher Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

I have one nose, two eyes and two ears. My feet can take me a long, long way. Sometimes I am very happy and at other times so sad. But when I'm cuddled I feel cosy.... One little girl is going on a journey, but wherever she is in the world, she is just like you. This beautiful story, woven through with a surprise, is full of empathy, warmth - and hope.

Standing on Her Shoulders

Standing on Her Shoulders

Author: Monica Clark-Robinson Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

A stunning love letter to the important women who shape us - from our own mothers and grandmothers to the legends who paved the way for girls and women everywhere. Standing on Her Shoulders is a celebration of the strong women who influence us - from our mothers, sisters, aunts and grandmothers to the women who fought for equality and acceptance. Monica Clark-Robinson's lyrical text encourages young girls to learn about the powerful and trailblazing women who laid the path for their own lives and empowers them to become role models themselves. Acclaimed illustrator Laura Freeman's remarkable art showcases a loving intergenerational family and encourages girls to find female heroes in their own lives. Standing on Her Shoulders will inspire girls of all ages to follow in the footsteps of these amazing women.

Mole in a Black and White Hole

Mole in a Black and White Hole

Author: Tereza Sediva Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

When Mole looks around his underground home, all he sees is the black-and-white world of his cold, dark hole. Mole digs and digs, dreaming of finding something colourful, but day after day, he is disappointed. One day, Mole finds a radish poking through the top of his tunnel like a chandelier. They start chatting, and as Mole listens to the descriptions of life above ground, he imagines bright clothes, red roofs, vibrant green trees, pastel flowers and the blush of the sun as it sinks through the sky. The next morning, Mole is distraught to discover that his chandelier is gone, leaving a hole in its place. He crawls out of the hole and into the world above - and into a place more colourful than he ever dreamed possible. Printed in vivid pantones and with an inventive die-cut hole in the cover, Mole in a Black and White Hole tells a charming tale about what awaits us when we seek out the light in the darkness.

Do Not Let Your Dragon Spread Germs

Do Not Let Your Dragon Spread Germs

Author: Julie (Editor) Gassman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Your dragon loves to hug and high-five and shake hands and sing and blow bubbles and share happiness everywhere she goes. Dragons want to spread joy to everyone! But some of those actions are also spreading germs. It's time to wash your hands, mask up and teach your dragon how to share joy in a safe and healthy way. Author Julie Gassman uses rhyming text, relatable examples and a diverse cast of characters to teach readers about germs in the sixth book in the Do Not Take Your Dragon picture book series.

Fergal is Fuming!

Fergal is Fuming!

Author: Robert Starling Format: Board book Release Date: 04/02/2021

A dragon with a short temper is not a good combination, as Fergal's family and friends soon find out. He burns the dinner (literally), reduces the football goal to ashes and absolutely cannot play a nice, quiet board game. It is only when he starts to notice other animals have clever tricks to calm down that Fergal begins to win back his friends, especially when he discovers dragons can cool off in a very handy way.

No! Said Rabbit

No! Said Rabbit

Author: Marjoke Henrichs Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Rabbit is happy doing his own thing, and he doesn't want to listen to his mum telling him to get up, get dressed, have breakfast, play outside, come inside and least of all... have a bath! NO, NO, NO! he says. But at last they hit on something they both love doing together. This picture book is perfectly pitched and re-assuring for parents whose child is being contrary; it provides interactive, ironic drama for fans of Jon Klassen, with the emotional pay off of 'The Hug' (McLaughlin and Dunbar).

The Huffalots

The Huffalots

Author: Eve Coy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

When Mum wakes up her Huffalots, nothing is right - they don't like their clothes, their breakfast is yucky and they just don't like each other. When one of them trips over, the other offers a hug and they magically transform into Huffalittles, then Lovealittles, and finally, with a big cuddle they become Lovealots. But it's been a long day and Mum is now grumpy and tired. Good thing the Lovealots know exactly what to do... A gorgeous picture book that explores how moods change through the day, and what we can do to help others feel better.

The Incredible Painting of Felix Clousseau

The Incredible Painting of Felix Clousseau

Author: Jon Agee Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Outrageous! the judges cried. Ridiculous! Who would dare enter a portrait of a duck in the Grand Contest of Art? But when Felix Clousseau's painting quacks, he is hailed as a genius. Suddenly everyone wants a Clousseau masterpiece, and the unknown painter becomes an overnight sensation. That's when the trouble begins. The concept and plot are clever and beautifully constructed with twists and turns, and Jon Agee's trademark wit, humour and sense of the surreal. A playful examination of what realism in art actually means, and the difference between 2 and 3 dimensional

Ruffles and the Red, Red Coat

Ruffles and the Red, Red Coat

Author: David Melling Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Laugh with Ruffles as he faces all the tricksy troubles of toddler life in this brightly coloured new picture book series from award-winning author and illustrator, David Melling. Ruff! Ruff! Hello, Ruffles! Ruffles is a typical toddler who experiences all the highs and lows of preschool life as he learns about the world around him. There are lots of things he likes . . . and lots of things he doesn't! He LOVES scratching, digging and chewing but he does NOT like wearing his coat on rainy days. No, no, no, no, NO! But when Ruffles wants to splash in puddles with his best friend, Ruby, he soon learns that some things are definitely worth wearing your coat for! With brilliantly observed and hilarious animal illustrations by David Melling, whose series, Hugless Douglas, has sold over 5 million copies worldwide.

Not an Alphabet Book: The Case of the Missing Cake

Not an Alphabet Book: The Case of the Missing Cake

Author: Eoin McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

A graphic, bright, imaginative alphabet book, with a smart and laugh-out-loud whodunit twist. This was meant to be a simple alphabet book but something has happened. Something horrible. The most terrible crime! The world's most completely delicious, tongue-jinglingly, chocolaty cake has been ... STOLEN! As Bear travels from A to Z, visiting all sorts of characters, objects and extraordinary places along the way, can YOU help him search for the culprit? But, wait! Are those crumbs on Bear's page? And are those Bear-shaped pawprints next to the empty cake stand? It seems our narrator might not be as reliable as we first thought...

The Lipstick

The Lipstick

Author: Laura Dockrill Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/02/2021

They say they always know you're up to something when the house goes quiet... Exploring his mother's dressing table, a little boy discovers THE LIPSTICK. It begins on his lips, where it looks very good - MWAH! But then it goes for a little walk ... squiggle, squiggle ... on the mirror ... scribble scribble ... on the shiny floorboards ... smudge smudge. And even on the fluffy cat. Uh-oh! What will happen when Mum, Dad and big sister sees all this mess? From the team behind Angry Cookie comes a hilarious and joyous story all about artistic expression, self-confidence and supportive, accepting parenting.

Gnome

Gnome

Author: Fred Blunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Mr Gnome is a grumpy little fellow. He's really quite rude and he is definitely NOT cute. So when Miss Witch asks him to kindly stop fishing in her pond, Mr Gnome is in danger of finding out exactly what happens to gnomes who say 'NO!' From the author of Santa Claus vs The Easter Bunny comes this laugh-out-loud cautionary tale, told in conversational syle, perfect for fans of Kes Gray and Jim Field's Oi, Frog series. Praise for Santa Claus vs The Easter Bunny: 'Wonderfully bonkers' JIM FIELD