LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Picture books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Picture books category. Presented with a red border are the Picture books books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Picture books books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

You Matter

You Matter

Author: Christian Robinson Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/09/2020

Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen, this sensitive and impactful picture book about seeing the world from different points of view, from award-winning author-illustrator Christian Robinson. In this bright and beautiful picture book, many different perspectives around the world are deftly and empathetically explored - from a pair of bird-watchers to the pigeons they're feeding, from the hugest dinosaur to the tiniest fly. Young readers will be drawn into the luminous illustrations inviting them to engage with the world in a new way and see how everyone is connected and that everyone matters.

How to Get a Daddy to Sleep

How to Get a Daddy to Sleep

Author: Amy Parker Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/09/2020

Dance Like a Flamingo

Dance Like a Flamingo

Author: Moira Butterfield Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/09/2020

Learn how to move and groove like the animals do with this bright, fun and silly book aimed at younger readers to engage them in movement! Scuttle sideways like a crab, leap like a lemur, and waggle dance like a bumble bee. Meet a collection of animals from around the world and discover how they move, and why. The book features a different creature on each spread, along with step-by-step actions to help the kids move just like the animal. The perfect book to read aloud one-to-one, or as a fun activity to engage a group of young children and get them stretching, hopping, wriggling and jumping!

How To Get A Mommy To Sleep

How To Get A Mommy To Sleep

Author: Amy Parker Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/09/2020

My Baby Loves Halloween

My Baby Loves Halloween

Author: Jabari Asim Format: Board book Release Date: 17/09/2020

The perfect Halloween gift for your baby or toddler! With My Baby Loves Halloween, celebrate all the lovely things that Baby discovers about Halloween: Baby loves the crisp autumn air. Baby loves candles in pumpkins that grin. Baby loves candy... Celebrate all the sweet things that Baby discovers about Halloween. This Own Voices board book, the perfect gift for a new baby, features rhythmic poetry from Jabari Asim and adorable art from Tara Nicole Whitaker.

Every Color of Light

Every Color of Light

Author: Hiroshi Osada Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/09/2020

By employing landscapes in lieu of human or animal characters, Osada and Arai ask readers to look-really look-at the rain, the way the changing weather transforms the visible spectrum, and the magnificence of the night sky, phenomena all too often unseen in a hurry-up world. The result is a story that sharpens the senses and quiets the soul. -STARRED REVIEW, Publishers Weekly Gentle and lyrical, Every Color of Light is a bedtime story told by the elements. Every Color of Light opens on a lush, green forest in the rain. Illustrated by the masterful Ryoji Arai, the calm is shattered when the wind picks up and lightning cuts the sky. Yet out of this turbulence, the day blooms bright, the flowers open, and raindrops roll and drip down to the forest floor. The sun sets. The moon rises, and in a pool of water we see its reflection. We go to sleep with the forest, sinking into the pool, into the calm reflection of the moon. Harmonizing our human experience to the natural world, Arai invites the reader to hold imaginative space for our oneness with the natural world.

The Run

The Run

Author: Barroux Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

A boy dawdling in the bathroom to read is taken by surprise when the characters in his book come to life in this quirky picture book perfect for young readers with a silly sense of humor or beginning potty training! A young boy takes a new book into the bathroom to read. But what a strange story! One by one, all sorts of animals-a cow, a polar bear, a lion, and more-race across the pages. But where are they running to? Then, the boy's reading is interrupted by a loud knock on the bathroom door. The very same creatures are outside, lined up to use the toilet! This story within a story is sure to have kids giggling with its potty humor and shenanigans.

The Golden Treasure

The Golden Treasure

Author: Marie Voigt Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

An uplifting tale of bravery, friendship and self-belief, from the creator of The Light in the Night. Max knows that the best thing ever to take into school for show-and-tell would be the glowing treasure chest he's spotted on the Unreachable Shelf, but how will he ever get there? Max and his cuddly dog Toffee set off on a magical quest for the golden treasure, only to discover that sometimes the treasure you've been looking for has been with you all along . . . Perfect for fans of Tom Percival and David Litchfield, The Golden Treasure is a warm and inviting read that encourages children to appreciate what they have.

The Littlest Yak

The Littlest Yak

Author: Lu Fraser Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

An endearing story for anyone who's ever wanted to grow up too quickly - and why you're perfect, just as you are! Gertie is the littlest yak in the herd, feeling stuck in her smallness - she wants to grow UP and have bigness and tallness. But when it turns out that there are some things that only Gertie can do, might she come to see that she's perfect, just the way she is? This rollicking, rhyming, heartwarming and reassuring story from debut author, Lu Fraser is gorgeously illustrated by much-loved illustrator, Kate Hindley.

The Littlest Yak

The Littlest Yak

Author: Lu Fraser Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Gertie is the littlest yak, feeling stuck in her smallness - she wants to grow UP and have bigness and tallness. But when it turns out that there are some things that only Gertie can do, might she come to see that she's perfect, just the way she is? A rollicking, rhyming, heartwarming and reassuring story from debut author, Lu Fraser and much-loved illustrator, Kate Hindley.

Pacho Nacho

Pacho Nacho

Author: Silvia Lopez Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Mama and Papa could not agree on a name for their first baby, and everyone in the family had an opinion. That's how the name Pacho-Nacho-Nico-Tico-Melo-Felo-Kiko-Rico came to be, and Pacho's parents insisted that everyone use his full name. But when Pacho finds himself in trouble, his younger brother Juan must quickly find help, which isn't easy when you have to keep saying Pacho-Nacho-Nico-Tico-Melo-Felo-Kiko-Rico. The themes of family values, community connections and brotherly love are all intertwined in this interactive, energetic and silly picture book.

Spooky School

Spooky School

Author: Sam Lloyd Format: Board book Release Date: 03/09/2020

Spooky school is open, welcome everyone! Here you'll learn to scare and creep while having lots of fun. Welcome to Spooky School! It's the scariest school around, where all the creepiest creatures come to dust off their skills and become the best they can be. Join your friends and learn how to fly like a wicked witch on a broomstick, howl like a werewolf and jiggle like a skeleton to all the best Halloween tunes. The friends you make will stay with you forever - because sometimes scaring is caring! Packed with Halloween delights from creepy spiders to stomping monsters, this brilliantly spooky and accessible board book is perfect for Halloween!