LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Walking, hiking, trekking

See below for a selection of the latest books from Walking, hiking, trekking category. Presented with a red border are the Walking, hiking, trekking books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Walking, hiking, trekking books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Day Walks in the South Pennines 20 routes in West Yorkshire and beyond

Day Walks in the South Pennines 20 routes in West Yorkshire and beyond

Author: Paul Besley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Day Walks in the South Pennines features 20 circular walks between 5 and 18 miles (8km and 29 km) in length, spread across West Yorkshire, Lancashire and Greater Manchester. Researched and written by knowledgeable and experienced author Paul Besley, the walks range from gentle rambles to more challenging day walks, all through striking and varied terrain. The routes are split into two geographical areas - Southern Walks, including routes around Dovestones, Ramsden Clough and Holmfirth; and Northern Walks, including routes around Hebden Bridge, Hardcastle Crags and Ilkley Moor. Together with stunning photography, each route features Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 maps, easy-to-follow directions, details of distance and navigation information, and refreshment stops and local information.

Day Walks in the Peak District 20 new circular routes

Day Walks in the Peak District 20 new circular routes

Author: Norman Taylor, Barry Pope Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2020

Day Walks in the Peak District: 20 new circular routes features 20 circular walks, between 8 and 13 miles (14km and 21km) in length, suitable for hillwalkers of all abilities. The routes are split into three geographical areas - The High Moors, including the Kinder plateau and Bleaklow; Hills, Tors and Edges, including walks around the Eastern Edges such as Stanage and Burbage; and Limestone Country, with walks in the beautiful limestone dales and valleys of the Peak. Written by Peak District hillwalkers Norman Taylor and Barry Pope, each route features Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 maps, easy-to-follow directions, details of distance and navigation information, and refreshment stops and local information.

Hiking Lassen Volcanic National Park A Guide To The Park's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Hiking Lassen Volcanic National Park A Guide To The Park's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Author: Tracy Salcedo Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

From a challenging climb up Lassen Peak to easy rambles around crystal clear lakes, this indispensable guide covers the best of the Northern California national park with 59 hike descriptions. Information on campsites, backcountry permits, safety, trail finder table, and a list of the author's favorites, as well as the natural and human history of the park, make this an essential guide for visitiors to this national treasure.

Best Easy Day Hikes North Cascades

Best Easy Day Hikes North Cascades

Author: Erik Molvar Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Best Easy Day Hikes North Cascades features concise descriptions and easy-to-follow maps of twenty-three easily manageable hikes through this remote mountainous land clad in glaciers, azure lakes, and sparkling waterfalls-from the broad, green Skagit River to panoramic vistas such as those atop McGregor Mountain. Look inside for: * Half-hour strolls and full-day adventures * Hikes for everyone, including families * Hikes ranked from easiest to most challenging * GPS-compatible trail maps

Hiking Maine A Guide to the State's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Hiking Maine A Guide to the State's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Author: Greg Westrich Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Lace up your boots and sample seventy-two of the finest trails the Pine Tree State has to offer. From the beaches of Acadia National Park and historic routes through Belfast or Portland to scenic treks up Mount Katahdin and backpacking along the Bigelow Range, Maine has routes to please hikers of every stripe. Hiking Maine describes trails that vary in length from an easy one-hour stroll along a quiet nature trail to challenging treks in the backcountry.Use this guide for up-to-date trail information, accurate directions to popular as well as less-traveled trails, difficulty ratings for each hike, detailed trail maps, tips about hiking with children and information on barrier-free trails for hikers with special needs. Whether you are a day-tripper or long-distance hiker, old hand or novice, you'll find trails suited to every ability and interest throughout Maine. Look inside to find: *Hikes suited to every ability *Mile-by-mile directional cues *Difficulty ratings, trail contacts, fees/permits, and best hiking seasons *Full-color photos throughout

Best Hikes Austin and San Antonio The Greatest Views, Wildlife, and Forest Strolls

Best Hikes Austin and San Antonio The Greatest Views, Wildlife, and Forest Strolls

Author: Keith Stelter Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Who says you have to travel far from home to go on a great hike? In Best Hikes Austin and San Antonio author Matt Forster details the best hikes within an hour's drive of the greater Austin/San Antonio area perfect for the urban and suburbanite hard-pressed to find great outdoor activities close to home. Each featured hike includes detailed hike specs, a brief hike description, trailhead location, directional cues, and a detailed map.

Best Hikes San Francisco The Greatest Views, Wildlife, and Forest Strolls

Best Hikes San Francisco The Greatest Views, Wildlife, and Forest Strolls

Author: Linda Hamilton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Covering forty of the best hikes within an hour's drive of San Francisco, this revised and updated guide offers something for every hiker-from easy nature walks to strenuous day hikes. Each featured hike includes a route description; at-a-glance data such as distance and difficulty level; thorough directions to the trailhead; directional cues; and a detailed, accurate trail map. Inside you'll find full-color photos and maps; information on approximate hiking times, canine compatibility, and fees and permits required; and sidebars on local lore, points of interest, and area wildlife.

Best Wildflower Hikes New Mexico A Guide to the Area's Greatest Wildflower Hiking Adventures

Best Wildflower Hikes New Mexico A Guide to the Area's Greatest Wildflower Hiking Adventures

Author: Christina M. Selby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Best Wildflower Hikes New Mexico is the ultimate guide to the greatest nature adventures in the Land of Enchantment. Wildflower descriptions and full-color photography throughout complement detailed hiking profiles and maps to over forty scenic routes. Written by naturalist and outdoor writer Christina Selby, Best Wildflower Hikes New Mexico introduces readers to the spectacular beauty of the American Southwest.

Coastal Trails of the Carolinas

Coastal Trails of the Carolinas

Author: Johnny Molloy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

With hundreds of miles of beautiful beaches and barrier islands, the coastline of North and South Carolina is one of the most treasured shorelines in the country. Coastal Trails of the Carolinas celebrates this vibrant region by offering the best hikes along this gorgeous coast. Written by veteran guidebook author Johnny Molloy and including additional information on local sights and attractions, Coastal Trails of the Carolinas will offer everything hikers need to explore this treasured shoreline.

Best Hikes Rocky Mountain National Park A Guide to the Park's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Best Hikes Rocky Mountain National Park A Guide to the Park's Greatest Hiking Adventures

Author: Kent Dannen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2020

Best Hikes Rocky Mountain National Park features the best hiking throughout Rocky Mountain National Park. Detailed maps and trail descriptions make navigating these wonderful trails easy, from family-friendly strolls to popular vistas to hillier wooded pathways. FalconGuides have set the standard for outdoor guidebooks for more than thirty-five years. Written by top experts, each guide invites you to experience the adventure and beauty of the outdoors. Look inside to find: *Hikes suited to every ability *Mile-by-mile directional cues *Difficulty ratings, trail contacts, fees/permits, and best hiking seasons *An index of hikes by category-from easy day hikes to waterfalls *Invaluable trip-planning information, including local lodging and campgrounds *Full-color photos throughout *GPS coordinates

A Walking Life Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time

A Walking Life Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time

Author: Antonia Malchik Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/05/2020

For readers of On Trails an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace it I'm going for a walk. How often has this phrase been uttered by someone with a heart full of anger or sorrow? Or as an invitation, a precursor to a declaration of love? Our species and its predecessors have been bipedal walkers for at least six million years; by now, we take this seemingly arbitrary motion for granted. Yet how many of us still really walk in our everyday lives? Driven by a combination of a car-centric culture and an insatiable thirst for productivity and efficiency, we're spending more time sedentary and alone than we ever have before. If bipedal walking is truly what makes our species human, as paleoanthropologists claim, what does it mean that we are designing walking right out of our lives? Antonia Malchik asks essential questions at the center of humanity's evolution and social structures: Who gets to walk, and where? How did we lose the right to walk, and what implications does that have for the strength of our communities, the future of democracy, and the pervasive loneliness of individual lives? The loss of walking as an individual and a community act has the potential to destroy our deepest spiritual connections, our democratic society, our neighborhoods, and our freedom. But we can change the course of our mobility. And we need to. Delving into a wealth of science, history, and anecdote -- from our deepest origins as hominins to our first steps as babies, to universal design and social infrastructure, A Walking Life shows exactly how walking is essential, and how deeply reliant our brains and bodies are on this simple pedestrian act -- and how we can reclaim it.

Lancashire 40 Favourite Walks

Lancashire 40 Favourite Walks

Author: Alastair Ross Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/05/2020

Don't underestimate Lancashire! Although it is one of the UK's most populous counties, it is also largely a rural one, including no less than three Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and abutting the Pennines, Dales and Lake District, There is a huge variety of contrasting and inspiring walking country, from the coast to hills and from forests to moors. This collection of 40 favourite walks offers a remarkable range of excellent walking opportunities.