LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Basketball

See below for a selection of the latest books from Basketball category. Presented with a red border are the Basketball books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Basketball books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

NBA 75

NBA 75

Author: Dave Zarum Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2020

The most iconic moments and stories of the NBA. In NBA 75, Sportsnet editor and basketball super fan Dave Zarum tells the 75-year story of The NBA (the National Basketball Association, the men's professional basketball league in North America) - from its early barnstorming days to the multibillion-dollar sports league it is today. Readers are treated to all the biggest moments and greatest superstars, with over 75 stories ranging from Jerry West's 33-win streak Lakers, through Jordan's repeat three-peat Bulls, to Steph Curry and the 73-win Warriors and beyond. But this retrospective doesn't shy away from the league's controversies, covering its struggles with racial bigotry, Magic Johnson's HIV diagnosis, Len Bias' tragic draft-night death and the cocaine-fuelled late seventies when the Finals were broadcast on tape delay. Each story is fully illustrated with iconic photos and accompanied by stat boxes and side stories of some of the Association's more curious and overlooked moments. Some of the events covered in NBA 75: 1946: The first professional basketball game between the New York Knicks and the Toronto Huskies; 1969: The legendary duels between Wilt Chamberlain and Bill Russell; 1976: The merger of the ABA and NBA;1980: The arrival of Larry Bird and Magic Johnson; 1993: Air Jordan and his Bulls dynasty; 2006: Kobe Bryant scores 81 points;2010: LeBron James makes his Miami decision; 2016: Steph Curry and the Warriors blow a 3-1 lead to lose the NBA Finals. NBA 75 is the definitive guide to the history of the NBA - perfect for anyone who wants to learn more about the league they love or simply catch up on what they've been missing.

Tony Parker: Beyond All of My Dreams

Tony Parker: Beyond All of My Dreams

Author: Tony Parker Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/11/2020

Three-Pointer!

Three-Pointer!

Author: Lukasz Muniowski Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

The three-point shot has been an NBA institution for more than 40 years, with the first long-distance bombs fired on October 12, 1979. The game has since changed dramatically, as action has moved gradually farther from the basket. Critics today contend that three-pointers have gotten out of hand. Attempts rose from 2.8 per game in the 1979-1980 season to 18.4 in 2011-2012 to 32 in 2018-2019. Charting this development, this volume focuses on examples of 12 performances by 12 exceptional shooters--with mention of many more. Starting with Chris Ford and ending with Steph Curry, the author shows how these athletes have changed the NBA one shot at a time.

The Knicks in the Nineties

The Knicks in the Nineties

Author: Paul Knepper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/2020

The Knicks of the 1990s competed like champions but fell short of their goal. An eclectic group who took divergent, in many cases fascinating paths to New York, they forged an identity as a rugged, relentless squad. Led by a superstar center Patrick Ewing and two captivating coaches--Pat Riley and Jeff Van Gundy--they played David to the Chicago Bulls' Goliath. Despite not winning a championship, they were embraced as champions by New Yorkers and their rivalries with the Bulls, Indiana Pacers and Miami Heat defined NBA basketball for a decade. Drawing on original interviews with players, coaches and others, this narrative rediscovers the brilliance of the Knicks, Ewing and his colorful supporting cast--Charles Oakley, John Starks, Larry Johnson and Latrell Sprewell--in the glory days of Madison Square Garden.

Rapture

Rapture

Author: Nick Nurse, Michael Sokolove, Phil Jackson Format: Hardback Release Date: 29/10/2020

As a rookie head coach leading a franchise that, though on a steady climb upwards, had largely been dismissed by the sports media, NBA fans had low expectations for Nick Nurse and his Raptors. But what those naysayers didn't realise was that Nurse had spent the past thirty years proving himself at every level of the game, from youth programs and college ball, to the NBA G League and Britain's struggling pro circuit. While few coaches have taken such a circuitous path to pro basketball's promise land, the journey-- which began at Keumper Catholic high school in Carroll, Iowa -- forged a coach who proved to be as unshakeable as he is personable. On the road, he is now known to bring his guitar and keyboard for late-night jazz and blues sessions. In the locker room, he's steadfast and even-keeled regardless of the score. On the court, he pulls out old school, underrated plays with astounding success. A rookie in name but a veteran in attitude, Nurse is seemingly above the chaos of the game and, with two seasons on his resume, -has established himself, incredibly, as one of the NBA's most admired head coaches. Now, in this revealing new book - which will be equal parts personal memoir, leadership manifesto, and philosophical meditation - Nurse tells his own story, while also whisking readers inside the Raptors' locker room and coach's office for an intimate study of the team culture he has built and promises to sustain. As much for readers of Ray Dalio as for fans of John Wooden and Pat Summit, the result promises to become necessary for anyone looking to forge their own path to success.

100 Things Wildcats Fans Should Know & Do Before They Die

100 Things Wildcats Fans Should Know & Do Before They Die

Author: Ryan Clark, Joe Cox Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/10/2020

Basketball (and Other Things)

Basketball (and Other Things)

Author: Shea Serrano Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/10/2020

A hardcover edition featuring new content for fans of the #1 New York Times bestseller Any fan of Shea Serrano's unconventional, hilarious, and insightful writing will want to add this hardcover edition of his wildly popular Basketball (and Other Things) to their collection. The book will feature a new cover and two new chapters as well as removable art that showcases Serrano's trademark creativity and Arturo Torres's inimitable illustration style. First released as a paperback in 2017, the book went on to become a #1 New York Times bestseller. This edition will be a keepsake for Serrano fans and basketball fans alike.

The Cap

The Cap

Author: Joshua Mendelsohn Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Today the salary cap is an NBA institution, something fans take for granted as part of the fabric of the league or an obstacle to their favorite team's chances to win a championship. In the early 1980s, however, a salary cap was not only novel but nonexistent. The Cap tells the fascinating, behind-the-scenes story of the deal between the NBA and the National Basketball Players Association that created the salary cap in 1983, the first in all of sports, against the backdrop of a looming players' strike on one side and threatened economic collapse on the other. Joshua Mendelsohn illustrates how the salary cap was more than just professional basketball's economic foundation-it was a grand bargain, a compromise meant to end the chaos that had gripped the sport since the early 1960s. The NBA had spent decades in a vulnerable position financially and legally, unique in professional sports. It entered the 1980s badly battered, something no one knew better than a few legendary NBA figures: Larry Fleisher, general counsel and negotiator for the National Basketball Players Association; Larry O'Brien, the commissioner; and David Stern, who led negotiations for the NBA and would be named the commissioner a few months after the salary cap deal was reached. As a result, in 1983 the NBA and its players made a novel settlement. The players gave up infinite pay increases, but they gained a guaranteed piece of the league's revenue and free agency to play where they wished-a combination that did not exist before in professional sports but as a result became standard for the NBA, NFL, and NHL as well. The Cap explores in detail not only the high-stakes negotiations in the early 1980s but all the twists and turns through the decades that led the parties to reach a salary cap compromise. It is a compelling story that involves notable players, colorful owners, visionary league and union officials, and a sport trying to solidify a bright future despite a turbulent past and present. This is a story missing from the landscape of basketball history.

The Hoops Whisperer

The Hoops Whisperer

Author: Idan Ravin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/08/2020

The Wizard Of Odds

The Wizard Of Odds

Author: Charley Rosen Format: Hardback Release Date: 14/08/2020

Lakota Hoops

Lakota Hoops

Author: Alan Klein Format: Hardback Release Date: 13/08/2020