LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family history, tracing ancestors

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family history, tracing ancestors category. Presented with a red border are the Family history, tracing ancestors books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family history, tracing ancestors books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Mothering Sunday

Mothering Sunday

Author: Sara James Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/03/2021

One crisp and bright Mothering Sunday, Alexandra Abbott's now elderly mother, Elizabeth, reveals a secret that she has kept buried for over 50 years... April 1963: Aspiring artist Kitty Campbell has recently given birth to her first child in a mother and baby home. Kitty is to give her baby away for adoption but, when the day comes, she can't bring herself to part with her tiny daughter. In desperation, Kitty flees. She stops at a tea shop to feed her hungry baby and meets the owner, Bet - a mother with her own heartache to bear. But Bet is kind to Kitty, holding the baby and offering a listening ear. Then Kitty makes a decision that will change all their lives for ever. Several decades later, can the truth from that day finally right the past and bring a mother and daughter together? A heart-rending family drama perfect for fans of Fern Britten, Rachel Hore and Dilly Court.

Sharing Your Family History Online

Sharing Your Family History Online

Author: Chris Paton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/01/2021

For many enthusiasts pursuing their family history research, the online world offers a seemingly endless archive of digitised materials to help us answer the questions posed by our ancestors. In addition to hosting records, however, the internet also offers a unique platform on which we can host our research and lure in prospective cousins from around the world, to help build up a larger shared ancestral story. In Sharing Your Family History on the Internet, genealogist and best-selling author Chris Paton will explore the many ways in which we can present our research and encourage collaboration online. He will detail the many organsiations and social media applications that can permit co-operation, describe the software platforms on which we can collate our stories, and illustrate the many ways in which we can publish our stories online. Along the way, Chris Paton will also explore how we can make our research work further for us, by drawing in experts and distant cousins from around the world to help us break our ancestral brick walls, not just through sharing stories, but by accessing uniquely held documentation by family members around the world, including our very own shared DNA.

Fashion and Family History

Fashion and Family History

Author: Jayne Shrimpton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/11/2020

Studying dress history teaches us much about the past. In this skilfully-illustrated, accessible and authoritative book, Jayne Shrimpton demonstrates how fashion and clothes represent the everyday experiences of earlier generations, illuminating the world in which they lived. As Britain evolved during the 1800s from a slow-paced agrarian society into an urban-industrial nation, dress was transformed. Traditional rural styles declined and modern city modes, new workwear and holiday gear developed. Women sewed at home, while shopping advanced, novel textiles and mass-produced goods bringing affordable fashion to ordinary people. Many of our predecessors worked as professional garment-makers, laundresses or in other related trades: close to fashion production, as consumers they looked after their clothes. The author explains how, understanding the social significance of dress, the Victorians observed strict etiquette through special costumes for Sundays, marriage and mourning. Poorer families struggled to maintain standards, but young single workers spent their wages on clothes, the older generation cultivating their own discreet style. Twentieth-century dress grew more relaxed and democratic as popular culture influenced fashion for recent generations who enjoyed sport, cinema, music and dancing.

Jacob's Children

Jacob's Children

Author: Eli Malka Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/11/2020

The Book of Myself (New edition)

The Book of Myself (New edition)

Author: Carl Marshall, David Marshall Format: Hardback Release Date: 26/11/2020

An updated edition of the perfect do-it-yourself memoir that helps you record and preserve the experiences and knowledge of a lifetime for years to come. Divided into Early, Middle, and Later Years, this keepsake volume contains 201 questions that guide you through the process of keeping memories on subjects such as family and friends, learning and education, work and responsibilities, and the world around you. Created by a grandson and grandfather, The Book of Myself is the perfect way for you, or someone close to you, to remember the turning points and everyday recollections of a lifetime and share them with future generations. The new edition has been updated with reordered questions to start with more objective, easy-to-answer prompts, then move to reflective queries, followed by deeper interpretive questions. It also includes aunts, uncles, and those who did not have children.

Discover Your Scottish Ancestry

Discover Your Scottish Ancestry

Author: Graham S. Holton, Jack Winch Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/11/2020

This illuminating guide to discovering your Scottish family history has been fully revised and updated to take account of changes to resources and methods for researching your Scottish ancestry over the last few years. Accessible in style and comprehensive in coverage, this new edition stresses the importance of traditional methods of family history research while also embracing the exciting possibilities afforded by new technologies, sources and developments in genetic science. Indispensable to both the fledgling researcher and the more experienced family history specialist in Scotland or elsewhere, this book provides a guide to the very latest resources available to assist with research. Covering Scottish primary and secondary sources in full detail, this book also provides illustrative case studies of family history research, lists of useful websites and archives, and family history organisations and societies. Highlights of this new edition: *An updated chapter dedicated to aspects of recording, scanning and storing information *New insight into accessing English, Irish, emigrant and immigrant records *An update on developments in DNA genetics of relevance to the genealogist *A substantial and broad-ranging bibliography essential for those who want to take their research even further.

The Family Story Workbook

The Family Story Workbook

Author: Kris Spisak Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Allen

Allen

Author: Iain Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/10/2020

Burnett

Burnett

Author: Iain Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/10/2020

McKinney

McKinney

Author: Iain Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/10/2020

Khan

Khan

Author: Iain Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/10/2020

Singh

Singh

Author: Iain Gray Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/10/2020