LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Family & relationships

See below for a selection of the latest books from Family & relationships category. Presented with a red border are the Family & relationships books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Family & relationships books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Sisterhood A Love Letter to the Women Who Have Shaped Us

The Sisterhood A Love Letter to the Women Who Have Shaped Us

Author: Daisy Buchanan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2020

For fans of Bryony Gordon and Dolly Alderton, The Sisterhood is an honest and hilarious book which celebrates the ways in which women connect with each other. 'My five sisters are the only women I would ever kill for. And they are the only women I have ever wanted to kill.' Imagine living between the pages of Pride And Prejudice, in the Bennett household. Now, imagine how the Bennett girls as they'd be in the 21st century - looking like the Kardashian sisters, but behaving like the Simpsons. This is the house Daisy Buchanan grew up in, Daisy's memoir The Sisterhood explores what it's like to live as a modern woman by examining some examples close to home - her adored and infuriating sisters. There's Beth, the rebellious contrarian; Grace, the overachiever with a dark sense of humour; Livvy, the tough girl who secretly cries during adverts; Maddy, essentially Descartes with a beehive; and Dotty, the joker obsessed with RuPaul's Drag Race and bears. In this tender, funny and unflinchingly honest account Daisy examines her relationship with her sisters and what it's made up of - friendship, insecurity jokes, jealousy and above all, love - while celebrating the ways in which women connect with each other and finding the ways in which we're all sisters under the skin.

Where's My Happy Ending? Happily ever after and how the heck to get there

Where's My Happy Ending? Happily ever after and how the heck to get there

Author: Anna Whitehouse, Matt Farquharson Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/02/2020

Where is 'happily ever after'? And what do you do once you get there? Maybe you've just had a first date with 'the one', maybe you've been married for ten years. Either way, it's hard to know if they're really meant to be by your side until you both wear dentures. In Where's My Happy Ending? Anna Whitehouse and Matt Farquharson, authors of the Sunday Times bestseller Parenting the Sh*t Out of Life, set out to discover what it takes to make it to forever, by asking our greatest questions about love. They ask a former sex-worker and her ex-gigolo husband, celibate monks and free-loving hippies. They ask people who never wanted kids and people who have loads of them. They ask porn-makers and feminist academics, neurologists, psychologists and romance novelists. They ask a whelk fisherman and a lollipop lady. They speak to couples, throuples and singles; gay, straight and anywhere in-between. And in asking these questions, they are forced to confront their own relationship after a decade of marriage. Through tears, laughter, and one improperly discarded toenail clipping, Where's My Happy Ending? gets answers for anyone who's ever wondered 'what's next?' Join Anna and Matt on a searingly honest, belly-laugh inducing journey through love and relationships, social media and small children, expert advice and everyday exasperation, as they navigate the muddy waters of modern romance. Discover whether love and relationships could be simpler - or more complex - than we think in this study on what it really means to find and keep love today.

The Narcissist in Your Life Recognizing the Patterns and Learning to Break Free

The Narcissist in Your Life Recognizing the Patterns and Learning to Break Free

Author: Julie L. Hall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/01/2020

An estimated 6.2 per cent of the population is believed to suffer from Narcissistic Personality Disorder--and for each person diagnosed, there are dozens of family members who are affected and overwhelmed by their behaviour. Expert and survivor Julie Hall takes an in-depth look at causes and symptoms, as well as defining traits and behaviours. She dispels misconceptions about narcissism and provides real-life examples from experts, clinicians, and survivors, addressing issues such as: - Recognising abuse and manipulation - Handling specific behaviours such as projecting, shaming, and gaslighting - Dealing with narcissists online - Dealing with narcissistic parents and spouses - Navigating narcissism through caretaking, sibling divisions, and parental alienation Wise, affirming, and practical, The Narcissist in Your Life is a supportive, compassionate guide to help adult children, partners, siblings, and others with narcissistically abusive family members end the cycle and find healing.

American Fatherhood A History

American Fatherhood A History

Author: Jurgen Martschukat Format: Hardback Release Date: 31/12/2019

Explores the surprising diversity of fathers and fatherhood throughout American history and society The nuclear family has been endlessly praised as the bedrock of American society, even though there has rarely been a time in history when a majority of Americans lived in such families. This book deconstructs the myth of the nuclear family by presenting the rich diversity of family lives in American history from the American Revolution to the twenty-first century. To tell this story, Jurgen Martschukat focuses on fathers and their relations to families and American society. Using biographical close-ups of twelve different characters, each embedded in historical context, American Fatherhood provides a much more realistic picture of how fatherhood has been performed within different kinds of families. Each protagonist covers a crucial period or event in American history, presents a different family constellation, and makes a different argument with regard to how American society is governed through the family.

Being the Strong Man a Women Wants Timeless wisdom on being a man

Being the Strong Man a Women Wants Timeless wisdom on being a man

Author: Elliott Katz Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/12/2019

52 Gifts From Me to You Fresh Simple Expressions to Show Your Love

52 Gifts From Me to You Fresh Simple Expressions to Show Your Love

Author: North Light Books Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/11/2019

Tell the person you love exactly why they mean so much with 52 Gifts From Me to You. With a unique prompt for each week of the year, you'll dig deep into your memories and hopes to share the many ways your relationship is special. Whether it's remembering a good laugh or thinking about a time you were inspired, this book will help you find the words you need to show your love.

Modern Manhood Conversations About the Complicated World of Being a Good Man Today

Modern Manhood Conversations About the Complicated World of Being a Good Man Today

Author: Cleo Stiller Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/11/2019

Emmy and Peabody Award-nominated health reporter Cleo Stiller's fun(ny) and informative collection of advice and perspectives about what it means to be a good guy in the era of #MeToo. Here are a few self-evident truths: Predatory men need to go, sexual assault is wrong, and women and men should be equal. If you're a man and disagree with any of the aforementioned, then this book isn't for you. But if you agree, you're probably one of the good guys. That said, you might also be feeling frustrated, exasperated, and perhaps even skeptical about the current national conversation surrounding #MeToo (among many other things). You've likely found yourself in countless experiences or conversations lately where the situation feels gray, at best. You have a lot to say, but you're afraid to say it and worried that one wrong move will land you in the hot seat. From money and sex to dating and work and everything in between-it can all be so confusing! And when do we start talking about solutions instead of putting each other down? In Modern Manhood, reporter Cleo Stiller sheds light on all the gray areas out there, using conversations that real men and women are having with their friends, their dates, their family, and themselves. Free of judgment, preaching, and sugarcoating, Modern Manhood is engaging, provocative, and, ultimately, a great resource for gaining a deeper understanding of what it means to genuinely be a good man today.

Hurrah for Saturday

Hurrah for Saturday

Author: Paul Rice Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/11/2019