LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Contemporary non-Christian & para-Christian cults & sects

See below for a selection of the latest books from Contemporary non-Christian & para-Christian cults & sects category. Presented with a red border are the Contemporary non-Christian & para-Christian cults & sects books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Contemporary non-Christian & para-Christian cults & sects books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Strange Rites

Strange Rites

Author: Tara Isabella Burton Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/09/2020

In Strange Rites, Tara Isabella Burton takes a tour through contemporary American religiosity. As the once dominant totems of civic connection and civil discourse--traditional churches--continue to sink into obsolescence, people are looking elsewhere for the intensity and unity that religion once provided. We're making our own personal faiths - theistic or not - mixing and matching our spiritual, ritualistic, personal, and political practices in order to create our own bespoke religious selves. We're not just building new religions in 2019, we're buying them, from Gwyneth Paltrow's gospel of Goop, to the brilliantly cultish SoulCycle, to those who believe in their special destiny on Mars. In so doing, we're carrying on a longstanding American tradition of religious eclecticism, DIY-innovation and unchurched piety (and highly effective capitalism). Our era is not the dawn of American secularism, but rather a brand-bolstered resurgence of American pluralism, revved into overdrive by commerce and personalized algorithms, all to the tune of Hallellujah --America's most popular and spectacularly misunderstood wedding song.

The Formation of Candomble

The Formation of Candomble

Author: Luis Nicolau Pares Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2020

Interweaving three centuries of transatlantic religious and social history with historical and present-day ethnography, Luis Nicolau Pares traces the formation of Candomble, one of the most influential African-derived religious forms in the African diaspora, with practitioners today centered in Brazil but also living in Europe and elsewhere in the Americas. Originally published in Brazil and not available in English, The Formation of Candomble reveals cultural changes that have occurred in religious practices within Africa, as well as those caused by the displacement of enslaved Africans in the Americas. Departing from the common assumption that Candomble originated in the Yoruba orixa (orisha) worship, Pares highlights the critical role of the vodun religious practices in its formation process. Vodun traditions were brought by enslaved Africans of Dahomean origin, known as the Jeje nation in Brazil since the early eighteenth century. The book concludes with Pares's account of present-day Jeje temples in Bahia, which serves as the first written record of the oral traditions and ritual of this particular nation of Candomble.

The Origin and Development of the Pueblo Katsina Cult

The Origin and Development of the Pueblo Katsina Cult

Author: E. Charles Adams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2020

From Slogans To Mantras

From Slogans To Mantras

Author: Stephen A. Kent Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2020

This book takes a provocative look at the early 1970s - an often overlooked yet colorful period when the Vietnam War and student protests were on the wane as new religious groups grew in size and visibility. Certainly, religious strains were evident through postwar popular culture from the 1950s Beat generation into the 1960s drug counterculture, but the explosion of nontraditional religions during the early 1970s was unprecedented. This phenomenon took place in the United States (and at the edges of American-influenced Canadian society) among young people who had been committed to bringing about what they called the revolution but were converting to a wide variety of Eastern and Western mystical and spiritual movements. Stephen Kent maintains that the failure of political activism led former radicals to become involved with groups such as the Hare Krishnas, Scientology, Sun Myung Moon's Unification Church, the Jesus movement, and the Children of God. Drawing on scholarly literature, alternative press reportage, and personal narratives, Kent shows how numerous activists turned from psychedelia and political activism to guru worship and spiritual quest as a response to the failures of social protest - and as a new means of achieving societal change.

Scarred

Scarred

Author: Sarah Edmondson, Kristine Gasbarre Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/08/2020

The shocking and subversive memoir of a 12-year-NXIVM-member-turned-whistleblower, and her inspiring true story of abuse, escape, and redemption. Master, would you brand me? It would be an honor. Scarred follows actress Sarah Edmondson's account of her recruitment into the NXIVM cult, founded by Keith Raniere. It narrates in detail the 12 years she spent within the organization, during which she enrolled over 2,000 members, chronicling her breaking point and her harrowing fight to get out, help others, and heal. - Complete with personal photographs, this tell-all follows Sarah from the moment she takes her first NXIVM seminar, to the invitation she accepts from her best friend, Lauren Salzman, into DOS--a secret sisterhood within the cult--to her journey toward becoming a key witness in the federal case against its founders. - Readers will learn how cults like NXIVM get started, why people get involved (and stay), and the importance of whistleblowers who bring light to illegal and unethical practices. - Sarah Edmondson is a Canadian actress and playwright who has starred in the CBS series Salvation and more than 12 films for the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime. She is featured in the CBC podcast Uncover: Escaping NXIVM and The Vow, the upcoming HBO documentary series on NXIVM. Scarred isn't just about NXIVM. It is also a story about abuses of power, the role female friendships play in cults, and how sometimes the search to be better can override everything else. - A thrilling read for fans of true crime and cults, as well as listeners of podcasts like My Favorite Murder and Up and Vanished. - Great for fans of Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini, Escape by Carolyn Jessop, Beyond Belief by Jenna Miscavige Hill, and Bad Blood by John Carreyrou. - Evokes questions about friendship, ethics, good and evil, making it a perfect selection for book clubs. Audio edition read by the author.

Under the Tamarisk Tree

Under the Tamarisk Tree

Author: Flori Paquette Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/05/2020

Under the Tamarisk Tree

Under the Tamarisk Tree

Author: Flori Paquette Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/05/2020

Ordinarily Sarah

Ordinarily Sarah

Author: Sarah Elizabeth Rose Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/05/2020

Taking Up Serpents

Taking Up Serpents

Author: Troy Taylor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/04/2020

The Narrow Path

The Narrow Path

Author: Tara Chelioudakis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/03/2020

The Narrow Path

The Narrow Path

Author: Tara Chelioudakis Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/03/2020