desmond elliott 2017 second sister summer reading eligible curtis sittenfeld granchester

Historical fiction books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Historical fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

Felix Wild A Foundling on Board HMS Warrior by Peter Broadbent Felix Wild A Foundling on Board HMS Warrior


Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

The Wolf Trial by Neil Mackay The Wolf Trial

Hieronymous Bosch meets Mary Shelley in this brilliant historical epic about the true case of the world's first serial killer.
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

The Strawberry Girl by Lisa Stromme The Strawberry Girl

Summer 1893. In a small Norwegian fishing village, local girl Johanne dutifully gathers berries for tourists and poses barefoot for painters as 'The Strawberry Girl'. When Johanne becomes a maid for the wealthy Ihlen family, their wayward daughter recruits her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

Wings of the Storm (The Rise of Sigurd 3) by Giles Kristian Wings of the Storm (The Rise of Sigurd 3)

Norway, AD 785. A wild place, a place of blood, a place where the gods must be favoured ...Sigurd Haraldarson and his oathsworn band are winning fame and reputation. But to confront his hated enemy - the oath-breaker and betrayer...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

For the Winner by Emily Hauser For the Winner

Some three thousand years ago, in a time before history, the warriors of Greece journeyed to the ends of the earth in the greatest expedition the world had ever seen. One woman fought alongside them. Abandoned at birth on the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

Red Sky at Noon by Simon Sebag Montefiore Red Sky at Noon

Imprisoned in the Gulags for a crime he did not commit, Benya Golden joins a penal battalion made up of Cossacks and convicts to fight the Nazis. He joins the Russian cavalry, and on a hot summer day in July...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

Gideon's Credo by Ben Laffra Gideon's Credo


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 15/06/2017

Chameleons An Untold World War II Story by Marcus a Nannini Chameleons An Untold World War II Story


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 15/06/2017

The Outcasts of Time by Ian Mortimer The Outcasts of Time

From the author described by The Times as 'the most remarkable historian of our time', the publication of Ian Mortimer's first work of historical fiction is a hugely exciting event. A stunningly high-concept story that is both as daring as...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

Sacred Country by Rose Tremain Sacred Country

1952. Standing in a cold Suffolk field with her family, six-year-old Mary Ward has a revelation: I am not Mary. I am not a girl. I'm a boy. So begins Mary's heroic struggle to change gender. In this book, her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie by Cecily Ross The Lost Diaries of Susanna Moodie


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 15/06/2017

Fata Morgana by Steven R. Boyett, Ken Mitchroney Fata Morgana
,
Fata Morgana—the epic novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time.At the height of the air war in Europe, Captain Joe Farley and the baseball-loving, wisecracking crew of the B-17 Flying Fortress Fata Morgana are in...
Format: eBook - Released: 13/06/2017

The Latin Orgy by Felicien Champsaur The Latin Orgy


Format: Paperback - Released: 12/06/2017

Legends of Persia by Jennifer Macaire Legends of Persia

After winning a prestigious award, Ashley is chosen to travel through time and interview a historical figure. Choosing her childhood hero Alexander the Great, she is sent back in time for less than a day. He mistakes her for Persephone,...
Format: eBook - Released: 02/06/2017

Blameless by Claudio Magris Blameless

From one of Europe's most revered authors, a tale of one man's obsessive project to collect the instruments of death, evil, and humanity's darkest atrocities in order to oppose them
Format: Hardback - Released: 02/06/2017

Coming Soon

Echobeat Second Book in Echoland Trilogy by Joe Joyce Echobeat Second Book in Echoland Trilogy


Format: Paperback - Released: 26/06/2017

Dark Lady by Charlene Ball Dark Lady

Emilia Bassano has four strikes against her: she is poor, beautiful, female, and intelligent in Elizabethan England. To make matters worse, she comes from a family of secret Jews. When she is raped as a teenager, she knows she probably...
Format: eBook - Released: 27/06/2017

Broken Lives by Malcolm McGowan Broken Lives

There is a loud knock at the door. The Germans have arrived to take this Jewish family away.
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

In the Feudal Spirit by Taz Shakir In the Feudal Spirit

A vivid fictional journey that takes readers through the vastly different settings of life in Bombay.
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

The Gothic Line Italy Winter of 1944 by Arno Baker The Gothic Line Italy Winter of 1944

American troops are stuck during the winter of 1944 on the Gothic Line dividing Italy in two. Can a romance even be possible in these conditions? An American soldier falls in love with a beautiful woman, but there is no...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

Captain Swing and the Blacksmith by Beatrice Parvin Captain Swing and the Blacksmith

The story begins in 1839 and the West Country is in the grip of poverty, haunted by memories of the Swing riots nine years before when labourers smashed and burned property in a desperate attempt to increase starvation wages.
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

Treadmill by Hiroshi Nakamura Treadmill

Treadmill is a unique and historically significant novel--the only book written about life in Japanese and Japanese-American internment camps during World War II written at the time by an internee. Nakamura exquisitely captures the thinking and mood of the people...
Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 28/06/2017

Legacy of a Duelist by T. C. Sutton Legacy of a Duelist

Will the challenge to claim a family legacy prove too much?
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

The Happening Man by The Happening Man

It is one man's saga in which he uses all his guile, experience and physical ability to create his fortune.
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

No Turning Back by Fred Smith No Turning Back

The second instalment into the trials and tribulations of James Williams' life
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2017

The Woman in the Wood by Lesley Pearse The Woman in the Wood

**PREORDER THE NEW NOVEL FROM LESLEY PEARSE NOW** Fifteen-year-old twins Maisy and Duncan Mitcham have always had each other. Until the fateful day in the wood ...One night in 1960, the twins awake to find their father pulling their screaming...
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/06/2017

Beneath a Burning Sky A Gripping Mystery and a Beautiful Love Story That Ticks All the Boxes by Jenny Ashcroft Beneath a Burning Sky A Gripping Mystery and a Beautiful Love Story That Ticks All the Boxes

A beautiful and gripping story of love and betrayal and mystery. Perfect for fans of Patricia Wilson, Dinah Jefferies and Rosanna Ley
Format: Paperback - Released: 29/06/2017

Bit of Candy in Hard Times by Blaine Beveridge Bit of Candy in Hard Times

Set in the late 1920s, at the height of prohibition, this is the story of Emmett Dougal, fisherman and rumrunner who, after having his boat shot out from under him by the Coast Guard off the coast of Maine, decides...
Format: eBook - Released: 29/06/2017

There Was a Time by Frank White There Was a Time

From an author who lived through - and served in - the conflict, a brilliant novel set in an English village at a turning point of the Second World War.
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/06/2017

A Gathering of Ravens by Scott Oden A Gathering of Ravens

To the Danes, he is skraelingr; to the English, he is orcneas; to the Irish, he is fomoraig. He is Corpse-maker and Life-quencher, the Bringer of Night, the Son of the Wolf and Brother of the Serpent. He is Grimnir,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/06/2017

Other books in this genre

Antonia de Veneza by Ellyn Peirson Antonia de Veneza

Muito poucas pessoas conheceram Antonia, apesar da fama alcancada como &quote;La Stella di Venezia&quote;. Antonia de Veneza e um romance que fala de amor, almas gemeas, musica, poder e tragedia.A histria atrai o leitor para a beleza e a decadncia...
Format: eBook - Released: 21/05/2017

The Legend of the Sleeping Dinosaur by Christopher J Barnes The Legend of the Sleeping Dinosaur


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 21/05/2017

The Womb Rebellion by P W Long The Womb Rebellion


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 20/05/2017

Three Sisters by Daphanie Carol Taylor Three Sisters


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 19/05/2017

The Last Innocent Hour by Margot Abbott The Last Innocent Hour


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 19/05/2017

Goblin by Ever Dundas Goblin

Ian McEwan's Atonement meets Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth in this extraordinary debut.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

The Value of Equality 2nd Edition by Cristie M Locsin The Value of Equality 2nd Edition


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 18/05/2017

Crimson and Bone by Marina Fiorato Crimson and Bone

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, for readers of Perfume, Sarah Waters' Fingersmith and Michael Faber's The Crimson Petal and the White.
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017

Before the Rains by Dinah Jefferies Before the Rains

A romantic, heart-wrenching tale of love against the odds from the Number One Sunday Times bestselling author 1930, Rajputana, India. Since her husband's death, 28-year-old photojournalist Eliza's only companion has been her camera. When the British Government send her to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Six Tudor Queens 2 by Alison Weir Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession Six Tudor Queens 2

The stunning second novel in the Six Tudor Queens series by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir
Format: Hardback - Released: 18/05/2017

Runaway Sage by H R Norrod Runaway Sage


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 18/05/2017

Solitaire A Captivating Novel of Intrigue and Survival in Wartime Paris by Jane Thynne Solitaire A Captivating Novel of Intrigue and Survival in Wartime Paris

The fifth novel in the brilliant Clara Vine series from acclaimed author Jane Thynne
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Stolen Beauty A Novel by Laurie Lico Albanese Stolen Beauty A Novel

An exhilarating novel of love, art, war, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind Gustav Klimt's most remarkable paintings.
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Engerlings Nacht by Rita Maria Fust Engerlings Nacht


Format: Paperback / softback - Released: 18/05/2017

The Watercolourist by Beatrice Masini, Oonagh Stransky, Clarissa Ghelli The Watercolourist
, ,
Winner of the Premio Selezione Campiello prize and the Premio Alessandro Manzoni award for best historical novel, The Watercolourist is the irresistible Italian bestseller from Beatrice Masini. Nineteenth-century Italy. A young woman arrives at a beautiful villa in the countryside...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/05/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now