LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical fiction

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Historical fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Golden Hour

The Golden Hour

Author: Beatriz Williams Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

From the New York Times bestselling author: a dazzling WWII epic spanning London, New York and the Bahamas and the most infamous couple of the age, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor The Bahamas, 1941. Newly-widowed Lulu Randolph arrives in Nassau to investigate the Governor and his wife for a New York society magazine whose readers have an insatiable appetite for news of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, that glamorous couple whose love affair nearly brought the British monarchy to its knees five years earlier. But beneath the glitter of Wallis and Edward's marriage lies an ugly - and even treasonous - reality. In the middle of it all stands Benedict Thorpe: a handsome scientist of tremendous charm and murky national loyalties. When Nassau's wealthiest man is murdered in one of the most notorious cases of the century, Lulu embarks on a journey to discover the truth behind the crime. The stories of two unforgettable women thread together in this extraordinary epic of sacrifice, human love and human courage, set against a shocking true crime... and the rise and fall of a legendary royal couple.

The Winter of the Witch

The Winter of the Witch

Author: Katherine Arden Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A magical and captivating coming of age novel set in medieval Russia - perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. One girl can make a difference... Moscow is in flames, leaving its people searching for answers - and someone to blame. Vasilisa, a girl with extraordinary gifts, must flee for her life, pursued by those who blame their misfortune on her magic. Then a vengeful demon returns, stronger than ever. Determined to engulf the world in chaos, he finds allies among men and spirits. Mankind and magical creatures alike find their fates resting on Vasya's shoulders. But she may not be able to save them all. 'heart-stoppingly good...beautifully written, this adventure shimmers and shines with magic of all kinds. Unmissable.' Sunday Express 'If you're a lover of fairytales you are in for an absolute treat. It's truly magical' The Pool 'Katherine Arden's Winternight Trilogy isn't just good-it's hug-to-your-chest, straight-to-the-favourites-shelf, reread-immediately good, and each book just gets better. 'Laini Taylor

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Author: Sonia Velton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

'Sumptuous and moving. Velton weaves her tale with the threads of betrayal, thwarted dreams and good intentions gone awry' Laura Purcell 'A richly imagined and brilliantly twisty tale' Anna Mazzola 'A plot as finely detailed as Spitalfields silk' Stacey Halls WHEN ESTHER THOREL, the wife of a Huguenot silk-weaver, rescues Sara Kemp from a brothel she thinks she is doing God's will. Sara is not convinced being a maid is better than being a whore, but the chance to escape her grasping 'madam' is too good to refuse. INSIDE THE THORELS' tall house in Spitalfields, where the strange cadence of the looms fills the attic, the two women forge an uneasy relationship. The physical intimacies of washing and dressing belie the reality: Sara despises her mistress's blindness to the hypocrisy of her household, while Esther is too wrapped up in her own secrets to see Sara as anything more than another charitable cause. IT IS SILK that has Esther so distracted. For years she has painted her own designs, dreaming that one day her husband will weave them into reality. When he laughs at her ambition, she unwittingly sets in motion events that will change the fate of the whole Thorel household and set the scene for a devastating day of reckoning between her and Sara. THE PRICE OF a piece of silk may prove more than either is able to pay.

Sword of Kings

Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 03/10/2019

The Scorpion's Strike: Empire X

The Scorpion's Strike: Empire X

Author: Anthony Riches Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

With his compelling Centurions trilogy complete, Anthony Riches returns to his bestselling Empire sequence of novels with his storytelling skills polished to perfection. Set in the second century AD, The Scorpion's Strike continues the story of Marcus Aquila's fight for justice for a family ripped asunder by imperial assassins. Still seeking revenge, Marcus finds himself thrown back into the heart of the chaos that is shaking the Roman Empire to its roots. Fresh from their close escape from imperial betrayal in the German forest, Marcus and the Tungrians are ordered to Gaul, where an outlaw called Maturnus is wreaking havoc. Havoc that may be more than mere banditry, as deserters and freed slaves flock to his cause: rebellion is in the air for the first time in a generation. And if escape from Rome's memories is a relief for the young centurion, he soon discovers that danger has followed him west to Gaul. The expedition is led by Praetorians whom he has every cause to hate. And to fear, if they should discover who he really is. 'A masterclass in military historical fiction' Sunday Express on Retribution

The Man on a Donkey

The Man on a Donkey

Author: H.F.M. Prescott, John Cooper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

'A classic of historical fiction' HILARY MANTEL. 'By widespread assent, one of the finest historical novels ever written. It may even be the finest' TLS. Sir John Uvedale had business at Coverham Abbey in Wensleydale, lately suppressed, so he sent his people on before him to Marrick, to make ready for him, and to take over possession of the Priory of St. Andrew from the Nuns, who should all be gone by noon or thereabouts. In 1536, Henry VIII was almost toppled when Northern England rose to oppose the Dissolution of the Monasteries. An enthralling novel about a moment in history when England's Catholic heritage was scattered to the four winds by a powerful and arrogant king.

The Silken Rose The Rose Trilogy

The Silken Rose The Rose Trilogy

Author: Carol McGrath Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

1236 Beautiful Ailenor of Provence, cultured and intelligent, is only thirteen when she marries Henry III. Aware of the desperate importance of providing heirs to secure the throne from those who would snatch it away, she is ruthless in her dealings with Henry's barons. As conflict escalates between them, Ailenor's shrewd and clever Savoyard uncles come to support her but her growing political power is threatened when Henry's half-siblings also arrive at court. Henry and Ailenor become embroiled in an unpopular war to protect Gascony, last English territory on the continent, sparking conflict with warrior knight, Simon de Montfort, the King's seneschal. Ailenor, desperate to protect Gascony for her son, strives to treat with France and bring peace to Gascony. Caught in a web of treachery and deceit, `she-wolf' Ailenor's courage is tested to the limit. Can she find the strength to control her destiny and protect her all that she holds dear?

Sword of Kings

Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Sword of Kings

Sword of Kings

Author: Bernard Cornwell Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

The Chocolate Maker's Wife A Novel

The Chocolate Maker's Wife A Novel

Author: Karen Brooks Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Australian bestselling novelist Karen Brooks rewrites women back into history with this breathtaking novel set in 17th century London-a lush, fascinating story of the beautiful woman who is drawn into a world of riches, power, intrigue...and chocolate. Damnation has never been so sweet... Rosamund Tomkins, the illegitimate daughter of a nobleman, spends most of her young life in drudgery at a country inn. To her, the Restoration under Charles II, is but a distant threat as she works under the watchful eye of her brutal, abusive stepfather . . . until the day she is nearly run over by the coach of Sir Everard Blithman. Sir Everard, a canny merchant, offers Rosamund an opportunity like no other, allowing her to escape into a very different life, becoming the linchpin that will drive the success of his fledgling business: a luxurious London chocolate house where wealthy and well-connected men come to see and be seen, to gossip and plot, while indulging in the sweet and heady drink. Rosamund adapts and thrives in her new surroundings, quickly becoming the most talked-about woman in society, desired and respected in equal measure. But Sir Everard's plans for Rosamund and the chocolate house involve family secrets that span the Atlantic Ocean, and which have already brought death and dishonor to the Blithman name. Rosamund knows nothing of the mortal peril that comes with her new title, nor of the forces spinning a web of conspiracy buried in the past, until she meets a man whose return tightens their grip upon her, threatening to destroy everything she loves and damn her to a dire fate. As she fights for her life and those she loves through the ravages of the Plague and London's Great Fire, Rosamund's breathtaking tale is one marked by cruelty and revenge; passion and redemption-and the sinfully sweet temptation of chocolate.

Black Cotton Star A Graphic Novel of World War II

Black Cotton Star A Graphic Novel of World War II

Author: Yves Sente, Steve Cuzor Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2019

The Queen's Promise

The Queen's Promise

Author: Brenda Rickman Vantrease Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/09/2019