LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical romance

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical romance category. Presented with a red border are the Historical romance books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical romance books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Romantic Orpheus

Romantic Orpheus

Author: John F. Fetzer Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/02/2021

This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press's mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1974.

Romantic Orpheus

Romantic Orpheus

Author: John F. Fetzer Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/02/2021

This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press's mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1974.

The Hiding Game

The Hiding Game

Author: Naomi Wood Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

The Hiding Game is an intoxicating story of love and betrayal, set in the Bauhaus art school. Heady, gripping and unforgettable, Naomi Wood's third novel explores the perils of secrecy in a changing and increasingly dangerous world. In Roaring Twenties Germany, Paul, Charlotte and Walter meet at the Bauhaus art school. The trio form a close-knit group, in which passions and rivalries collide. But when Walter is betrayed, he makes a terrible mistake - a secret he will keep from Paul and Charlottefor as long as he can. As political tensions escalate and the Nazis gain power, Walter's secret - hidden in notebooks, paintings and blueprints - ultimately threatens the very lives of his friends, with devastating consequences. Shortlisted for the Historical Writers' Association Gold Crown Award.

The Reluctant Heiress

The Reluctant Heiress

Author: Dilly Court Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

The brand-new unforgettable romance saga from the No.1 bestselling author - available to pre-order now! Taking deep breaths of the cold city air, Katherine whispered, 'This isn't the London I know.' East-End London, 1858. In London's twisting streets, it's hard to tell friend from foe. And for Katherine Martin, arriving back in London after years away, the city is far crueller than she remembers. Her eyes opened to the plight of London's poor, Kate is determined to do what she can to help - even if it means defying her parents. In secret, she opens a soup kitchen. But there is a world of criminals within London's poorest alleys. Catching the notice of Harry Trader and his gang, Kate is out of her depth. Until she begins to discover that her true enemies might not be who she thought...

Trouble for the Leading Lady

Trouble for the Leading Lady

Author: Rachel Brimble Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Bath, 1852. As a girl, Nancy Blume would go to Bath's Theatre Royal, sit on the hard wooden benches and stare in awe at the actresses playing men as much as the women dressed in finery. She longed to be a part of it all and when a man promised her parents he could find a role for Nancy in the theatre, they believed him. His lie and betrayal led to her ruin. Francis Carlyle is a theatre manager, an ambitious man always looking for the next big thing to take the country by storm. A self-made man, Francis has finally shed the skin of his painful past and is now rich, successful and in need of a new female star. Never in a million years did he think he'd find her standing on a table in one of Bath's bawdiest pubs. Nancy vowed never to trust a man again. Francis will do anything to make her his star. As they engage in a battle of wits and wills, can either survive with their hearts intact? The second in Rachel Brimble's thrilling new Victorian saga series, Trouble for the Leading Lady will whisk you away to the riotous, thriving underbelly of Victorian Bath.

The Dressmaker of Paris

The Dressmaker of Paris

Author: Georgia Kaufmann Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/01/2021

'Involving, immersive and unputdownable' - bestselling author Jill Mansell I need to tell you a story, ma chere. My story. Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her. What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York. A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer. Breathtaking and utterly enthralling, The Dressmaker of Paris is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies. 'The Dressmaker of Paris is a delicious book: elegantly structured, beautifully written and with a fascinating protagonist. Georgia Kaufmann has created a beautiful and compelling novel that had me hooked until the very last page. And that ending: wow!' - Gill Thompson, bestselling author of The Oceans Between Us 'Sensuous, sweeping and utterly engrossing, The Dressmaker of Paris is as dazzling and finely crafted as a Dior gown' - Rachel Rhys, bestselling author of Dangerous Crossing

Ravish Me with Rubies

Ravish Me with Rubies

Author: Jane Feather Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/01/2021

Her Banished Knight's Redemption

Her Banished Knight's Redemption

Author: Melissa Oliver Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

A lady's need for protection A knight's chance for redemption Exiled Knight William Geraint answers only to himself. Yet a mission to find lost heiress Lady Isabel de Clancey and reunite her with her family is Will's chance finally to atone for the torment of his past. With every rushed mile, their intense attraction becomes more dangerously thrilling. But he has sworn to protect Isabel, not seduce her, and their desire for each other could threaten the redemption he's worked so hard to achieve...

The German Nurse

The German Nurse

Author: M.J. Hollows Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

A powerful and heartbreaking WWII historical novel for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky. A secret past. A forbidden love. A terrifying choice. Her past could kill you. Guernsey, 1940. As war storms through Europe, Churchill orders the evacuation of all military personnel from the island. Boats ferry soldiers and vulnerable young children to England, leaving their parents and loved ones behind to face the invading German army on their own. Her love could save you. One of the few remaining policemen on the island, Jack must protect not only his friends and family, but also the woman he loves: Johanna, a Jewish nurse from Germany, whose secret faith could prove fatal to them both. Her fate is in your hands. When the Nazis arrive, everything changes. Jack is forced to come to terms with the pain and loss of a world re-making itself around him. And then a list of Jews on the island is drawn up, and he must make an awful choice: write down Johanna's name and condemn her, or resist and put his family in immediate danger...

Regency Scandal: Never Trust A Rake

Regency Scandal: Never Trust A Rake

Author: Annie Burrows Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

A reformed rake? The Earl of Deben needs an heir and must set aside his reputation as the most notorious rake in London to find an innocent woman to seduce. But if Lord Deben expects Henrietta Gibson to respond to the click of his fingers he can think again. For she knows perfectly well that she must avoid gentlemen of his bad repute for she can never trust a rake...can she? * Viscount Rothersthorpe can't believe his past has reappeared in the form of beautiful Lydia Morgan! Lydia's equally shocked-the man who once uttered a marriage proposal has returned. But when he stuns her with a second, outrageous but now wickedly delicious proposal, it is clear that despite the rumours the rake from her past has not reformed!

Resisting Her Enemy Lord

Resisting Her Enemy Lord

Author: Helen Dickson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

A tumultuous journey A tale of war, betrayal and passion... Despite her unhappy marriage, Catherine Stratton defended her husband's castle for six years while he was at war. Now widowed, she must travel with John, her late husband's cousin-who fought on the opposing side. Facing danger at every turn, she's stunned by the heat burning between them. Is this just lust, which will pass...or is this enemy lord a man she can trust with her life...her future?

Her Gallant Captain At Waterloo

Her Gallant Captain At Waterloo

Author: Diane Gaston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/01/2021

From vicar's son To captain of her heart! Lady Helene Barnes travels to Brussels to bring her battle-seeking younger brother home-only to collide with Rhys Landon, her ex fiance! Gone is the penniless vicar's son, transformed into a combat-hardened captain. The spark still burns between them, but Rhys has a new love now-the army. Until, on the eve of battle, with Napoleon's troops advancing, the emotional turmoil of their past explodes into a night of passion!