LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Historical romance

See below for a selection of the latest books from Historical romance category. Presented with a red border are the Historical romance books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Historical romance books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Beauty Tempts the Beast

Beauty Tempts the Beast

Author: Lorraine Heath Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Lorraine Heath ends her bestselling Sins for All Seasons series with the hero readers have been waiting for! She wants lessons in seduction Althea Stanwick was a perfect lady destined to marry a wealthy lord, until betrayal left her family penniless. Though she's lost friends, fortune, and respectability, Althea has gained a scandalous plan. If she can learn to seduce, she can obtain power over men and return to Society on her terms. She even has the perfect teacher in mind, a man whose sense of honor and dark good looks belie his nickname: Beast. But desire like this can't be taught Benedict Trewlove may not know his parentage but he knows where he belongs-on the dark side of London, offering protection wherever it's needed. Yet no woman has ever made such an outrageous request as this mysterious beauty. Althea is out of place amongst vice and sin, even if she offers a wicked temptation he can't resist. But as the truth of his origin emerges at last, it will take a fierce, wild love to overcome their pasts.

My Kind of Earl

My Kind of Earl

Author: Vivienne Lorret Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

USA Today bestselling author Vivienne Lorret continues her charming new trilogy with a bluestocking whose search for information on the mating habits of scoundrels has her stumbling upon the missing heir to an earldom... in the London underworld. Jane Pickerington never intended to start a brawl in a brothel. She only wanted to research her book. Yet when her simple study of scoundrels goes awry, she finds herself coming to the rescue of a dark, enigmatic stranger... who turns out to be far more than an average rake out for a night of pleasure. He's positively wild! Only the most feral and cunning could have survived foundling homes and work houses. Orphaned as an infant, Raven never had another name. At least... not until he meets her. Now he's face-to-face with the one person who recognizes the strange birthmark on his arm and can reinstate him to his blue-blooded birthright. All at once, Raven's life takes a turn. His knowledge of dark alleys and gaming hells never prepared him for gilded ballrooms. So Jane becomes his tutor. Yet, the more lessons in decorum she offers, the more this untamed scoundrel wants to teach her all the ways to be wicked.

A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald

A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald

Author: Natasha Lester Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

IN 1920s NEW YORK, EVERYONE IS CHASING A DREAM . . . The Roaring 20s - a time for glamour, frivolity and freedom for women. But for Evie Lockhart, a small-town girl who is determined to become one of the first female doctors, it means turning her back on her family and the only life she's ever known. In a desperate attempt to support herself through Columbia University's medical school, Evie auditions for the infamous late-night Ziegfeld Follies on Broadway. But if she gets the part, what will it mean for her new relationship with Upper East Side banker Thomas Whitman - a man Evie thinks she could fall for, if only she lived a less scandalous life . . . Captivating and inspirational, A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald is a love story starring a woman ahead of her time, set against the backdrop of Jazz Age New York. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Kate Furnivall. PRAISE FOR NATASHA LESTER... 'A fantastically engrossing story. I love it' KELLY RIMMER 'Intrigue, heartbreak... I cannot tell you how much I loved this book' RACHEL BURTON 'A gorgeously rich and romantic novel' KATE FORSYTH 'If you enjoy historical fiction (and even if you don't) you will love this book' SALLY HEPWORTH 'Utterly compelling' Good Reading

Under The Warrior's Protection

Under The Warrior's Protection

Author: Ella Matthews Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Letting down her guard... Might save her life... With their family name in tatters, Katherine Leofric and her sister are headed for a new life at their brother's estate. They are escorted by the hardened Jarin, Earl of Borwyn, whom Katherine believes is only after her dowry! Then her sister is abducted on their treacherous journey, and Katherine must rely on Jarin's protection. Now, seeing a different side to the man she's sworn to hate, it's her heart that's most at risk!

Her Night with the Duke

Her Night with the Duke

Author: Diana Quincy Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Desire knows no reason... When Lady Delilah Chambers finds herself stranded at a country inn on a rain-swept evening, she's forced to fend off a group of ruffians with the help of a handsome gentleman. Irresistibly drawn to each other, Leela and the stranger spend one reckless night in each others' arms-and then go their separate ways. But the very next day Leela receives the shock of her life when she meets the duke who is set on wedding her beloved stepdaughter. When it finds two destined hearts... One night isn't enough with a woman as fierce, fiery, and brilliant as Leela. Elliot Townsend, Duke of Huntington, cannot believe his good fortune when their chance encounter leads to an unforgettable evening of passion. Yet Hunt's luck runs out when he is introduced to his prospective mother-in-law. Dowagers aren't supposed to look like this... Leela and Hunt are determined to keep each other at arm's length, which should be easy enough for two intelligent adults with reputations to uphold. The problem is all logic is lost when it comes to a passion that refuses to be ignored.

The Viscount's Yuletide Bride

The Viscount's Yuletide Bride

Author: Carol Arens Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

A Christmas Wedding... A for ever vow? Faced with losing his ward if he remains unmarried, Isaiah Maxwell must find a bride! With spinsterhood beckoning, Felicia Penneyjons is the perfect candidate for a marriage in name only-which is all it can ever be, as Isaiah renounced love the Christmas Day his mother left him. But Felicia is getting under his skin. And, as Christmas approaches, Isaiah's usual painful memories give way to uncharted desire...for his convenient wife!

Regency Scandal: Disreputable Secrets

Regency Scandal: Disreputable Secrets

Author: Gail Whitiker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Seduced by scandal Lady Annabelle Durst may be beautiful, but at four-and-twenty she's firmly-and contentedly!-unmarried. But when Anna's family is embroiled in scandal she must turn to Sir Barrington Parker to save her family's honour. He has a reputation for exposing society's most disreputable secrets, but Anna will do anything to persuade this dangerous man to help... * When Alexander, Viscount Stewart, arrives on Emma Darling's doorstep, protesting his brother's engagement to her sister, she's furious! Emma cares not a jot that Alex is the heir to an earldom and she's a society unknown-he has no right to interfer. But if their younger siblings' match is considered unsuitable, what will society think of a relationship between the two of them...

One Snowy Night With Lord Hauxton

One Snowy Night With Lord Hauxton

Author: Laura Martin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Secluded and snowed in ...with the brooding Earl Runaway debutante Henrietta Harvey will never live down the mortification of accidentally slipping into Lord Hauxton's bed. So imagine her horror upon discovering they're snowed in together the next morning! And yet Henrietta comes to find this gruff, cold man has an intriguingly warmer side. Still, hiding a secret that would shock the ton, she's resigned to becoming a spinster. Unless she can trust him with the truth before the snow melts...

A Shopkeeper For The Earl Of Westram

A Shopkeeper For The Earl Of Westram

Author: Ann Lethbridge Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

From lowly shopkeeper... To society lady? Linked to The Widows of Westram. When the Earl of Westram accuses antique-seller Harriet Godfrey of peddling fakes, she accepts his grudging offer to help bring her supplier to justice. Only spending time with Westram sparks in her an irresistible attraction... As an earl, he's destined for a suitable society match-and she never wants to give up her independence. So perhaps this is the last chance for both of them to experience true passion...?

Christmas Cinderellas

Christmas Cinderellas

Author: Sophia James, Virginia Heath, Catherine Tinley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

'You shall go to the ball!' ...with these three Christmas Cinderella stories!

Tempted By Her Viking Enemy

Tempted By Her Viking Enemy

Author: Terri Brisbin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

'What do I get if I help you?' 'Whatever I have to give...'

Emmerdale at War

Emmerdale at War

Author: Pamela Bell Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/10/2020

Emmerdale at War is a must for fans of ITV's Emmerdale, and readers who love heartwarming and heartbreaking stories set during wartime. Britain is at war once again and the families of Emmerdale are trying their best to cope with a new way of life. Rationing has been introduced across the country, two million more men have been called up for service, and blackouts, evacuees and military training camps have become the norm. In Beckindale, three young women are about to find their lives changed forever... Annie Pearson is working on Emmerdale Farm, while her love, Edward Sugden is at the front line. Lily Dingle has found purpose in joining the ATS, though she may get more than she bargained for. And Meg Warcup, now teaching at the local school, has taken in two children evacuated from Hull. They have adjusted to their new way of life until one day a German plane comes crashing down in the village... and changes everything in the village of Beckindale. The third novel in the Emmerdale series transports us to the Yorkshire Dales in the midst of World War II, exploring the lives of Emmerdale's much-loved families. Will the nation's favourite village overcome adversity to deal with the loves and lives lost?