LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Fantasy

See below for a selection of the latest books from Fantasy category. Presented with a red border are the Fantasy books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Fantasy books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Light of All That Falls Book 3 of the Licanius trilogy

The Light of All That Falls Book 3 of the Licanius trilogy

Author: James Islington Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

The Light of All That Falls concludes the epic adventure that began in The Shadow of What Was Lost, the acclaimed fantasy blockbuster from James Islington. The Boundary is whole once again, but it may be too late. Banes now stalk Andarra, while in Ilin Illan, the political machinations of a generation come to a head as Wirr's newfound ability forces his family's old enemies into action. Imprisoned and alone in a strange land, Davian is pitted against the remaining Venerate as they work tirelessly to undo Asha's sacrifice - even as he struggles with what he has learned about the friend he chose to set free. And Caeden, now facing the consequences of his centuries-old plan, must finally confront its reality - heartbroken at how it began, and devastated by how it must end. The Licanius trilogy: The Shadow of What Was Lost An Echo of Things to Come The Light of all That Falls

The Glass Breaks

The Glass Breaks

Author: A. J. Smith Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

Seventeen-year-old Duncan Greenfire is alive. Three hours ago, he was chained to the rocks and submerged as the incoming tide washed over his head. Now the waters are receding and Duncan's continued survival has completed his initiation as a Sea Wolf. It is the 167th year of the Dark Age. The Sea Wolves and their Eastron kin can break the glass and step into the void, slipping from the real world and reappearing wherever they wish. Wielding their power, they conquered the native Pure Ones and established their own Kingdom. The Sea Wolves glory in piracy and slaughter. Their rule is absolute, but young Duncan Greenfire and duellist Adeline Brand will discover a conspiracy to end their dominion, a conspiracy to shatter the glass that separates the worlds of Form and Void and unleash a primeval chaos across the world. 'Epic fantasy at its scary, fun, sarcastic, shock-laden best' THE BOOKBAG.

Dragon Unleashed

Dragon Unleashed

Author: Grace Draven Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/12/2019

Dragonstar

Dragonstar

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

The thundering conclusion to Barbara Hambly's landmark quartet, The Winterlands, Dragonstar is a riot of magic, demons and dragons that will stay with you long after you turn the final page. Condemned to die for consorting with demons, dragonslayer Lord John Aversin sits in a dank prison cell and calculates the odds of escape, all the while smelling the smoke of the executioners' pyres. Far away in Winterlands, Jenny Waynest pays a heavy price for turning away from dragonkind and choosing to be human. She mourns the loss of her husband, Lord John even as she turns to face the dangers that engulf her family. But it is the season of the Dragon Star, and hope shines brightest in the dark. As a pitched battle between demons and humanity rages, Jenny and John will be given one last chance to understand all that has happened to them and why, who their true enemies and allies are, and most of all, who they were always meant to be. The thundering conclusion to Barbara Hambly's landmark quartet, The Winterlands, Dragonstar is a riot of magic, demons and dragons that will stay with you long after you turn the final page.

Knight of the Demon Queen

Knight of the Demon Queen

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

Knight of the Demon Queen is the third book in Barbara Hambly's fantasy tour de force, The Winterlands - an epic, classic quartet full of high stakes, magic and dragons. Once the most powerful mage in the land, defeater of dragons, Jenny Waynest is now a broken woman. She was possessed and corrupted by a demon, losing all she held dear - including her love's trust. Rebuilding her life seems impossible. Her husband, Lord John, now bears his own torment, far away: he tricked the beautiful and cruel Aohila a rival hell's demon queen, in order to free his wife from possession and now he is plagued by her memories. Condemned to death for making deals with demons, John cannot forgive himself for opening the door to a far greater evil - an evil that now haunts his dreams. And not only his dreams... For the vengeful Aohila needs mortal aid in realms beyond her power, and who better to provide it than John? Blackmailed into cooperating, John must fight his way through unimaginable horrors in a quest that may doom the world he has left behind... Knight of the Demon Queen is the third book in Barbara Hambly's fantasy tour de force, The Winterlands - an epic, classic quartet full of high stakes, magic and dragons.

Dragonshadow

Dragonshadow

Author: Barbara Hambly Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/12/2019

Dragonshadow is book two in the breath-taking The Winterlands - an epic, classic fantasy quartet full of whirlwind adventure, magic and dragons. Lord John Aversin and the mageborn Jenny Waynest continue to battle and study dragons. Many years have passed since their battle at Bel and while they remain strong, their love for one another has begun to wane with the passing seasons. But time moves against them in more ways than one. For a danger unlike any they have ever known in their long years of violence begins to stir. Demonspawn from a dark dimension have learned to drink the magic and the souls of mages and dragons alike, turning their victims into empty vessels. The demons are rising and have stolen the couple's young son. In desperation, John seeks the help of the eldest and strongest dragon: Morkeleb the Black. But it may not be enough. In the coming struggle, all will question what they believe in, and some may have to sacrifice what they value most in order to survive... Dragonshadow is book two in the breath-taking The Winterlands - an epic, classic fantasy quartet full of whirlwind adventure, magic and dragons.

The Light of All That Falls Book 3 of the Licanius trilogy

The Light of All That Falls Book 3 of the Licanius trilogy

Author: James Islington Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/12/2019

'Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire' Guardian on The Shadow of What Was Lost James Islington's bestselling debut The Shadow of What Was Lost began an epic tale of three friends who embraced forbidden powers to confront an ancient evil. The adventure continued in An Echo of Things to Come as armies clashed and magic collided. Now the final battle - and the fate of the world - is at hand in The Light of All That Falls, the gripping final volume in the Licanius trilogy. The Licanius trilogy: The Shadow of What Was Lost An Echo of Things to Come The Light of All That Falls

Hollow Empire

Hollow Empire

Author: Sam Hawke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2019

I've Been Killing Slimes for 300 Years and Maxed Out My Level, Vol.6

I've Been Killing Slimes for 300 Years and Maxed Out My Level, Vol.6

Author: Kisetsu Morita, Benio Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2019

My slow life (mis)adventures just won't stop. Natalie somehow roped me into going to a dating party with her, Laika's participating in a martial arts tournament, and we even went to visit Halkara's hometown! At least we're going on vacation in the south soon!

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime, Vol. 7 (light novel)

That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime, Vol. 7 (light novel)

Author: Fuse, Mitz Vah Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/12/2019

News of demon lord Clayman's defeat by Rimuru shakes the Holy Empire of Lubelius to its core, especially since the Chief Knight of their Holy Imperial Guard, Hinata Sakaguchi, had once attacked Rimuru not long ago. In an attempt to avoid total warfare at all costs, Hinata shoulders the blame for all the bloodshed and decides of her own accord to head for Tempest...!

Wicked Hour An Heirs of Chicagoland Novel

Wicked Hour An Heirs of Chicagoland Novel

Author: Chloe Neill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2019

Vampires were made, not born, until Elisa Sullivan came along. The only vampire child in existence, she grew up with a heavy legacy, and she thought she could flee her past. But then trouble came for Chicago, and Elisa came home. Alongside shifter Connor Keene, the only son of North American Central Pack Apex Gabriel Keene, she faced down a great evil and accepted her true self. Months after the deadly attacks, while tempers are still cooling, Elisa is surprised when Connor invites her to a Pack initiation in the north woods of Minnesota, and by the warm welcome she receives from Connor's family--even though she's a vampire. But the peace doesn't last; the initiation celebration turns to chaos when a mangled body is deposited at the Pack's home. Elisa and Connor find themselves in the middle of a shifter fight, and the stakes get even higher when Elisa makes a vampire in the middle of Pack territory. Now Elisa's life, the Pack, and its vampire alliance are at risk.

Where Gods Fear to Go Book 3 of the West of West Trilogy

Where Gods Fear to Go Book 3 of the West of West Trilogy

Author: Angus Watson Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/12/2019

The David Gemmell Award-shortlisted author of Age of Iron returns with the final book in his West of West trilogy, in which a mismatched group of refugees must battle monsters, an unforgiving land and each other as they cross a continent to fulfil a prophecy Battling across the Shining Mountains, the questers discover a land more terrifying and filled with more dangerous creatures than they could ever have imagined - and they've fought thunder lizards. The tentatively allied Wootah and Calnians must survive monster attacks, flash floods and tornados to uncover the secret of The Meadows. And then comes the hard part. To save themselves and everybody else they will travel west of west, deeper into danger, and do all that they can to defeat a goddess who has already killed all the other gods. Praise for Angus Watson: 'Unflinchingly bloodthirsty and outrageously entertaining' Chris Brookmyre 'It simply grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let go' Bibliosanctum 'Watson's tale is gore-soaked and profanity-laden - full of visceral combat and earthy humour' Publishers Weekly 'Would I read the next one? Yes, absolutely. Bring me my hammer, bring my beer, bring it on!' SF Crowsnest 'Fun and addictive' Fantasy Faction