LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Classic horror & ghost stories

See below for a selection of the latest books from Classic horror & ghost stories category. Presented with a red border are the Classic horror & ghost stories books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Classic horror & ghost stories books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

The Classic H. P. Lovecraft Collection

The Classic H. P. Lovecraft Collection

Author: H. P. Lovecraft Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 01/11/2020

The Undying Monster

The Undying Monster

Author: Jessie Douglas Kerruish Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

With a vengeful werewolf and a dark family secret this is an early horror original crawling with supernatural suspense. An ancient family curse and a demonic creature are the focus of this horror mystery penned by the imaginative Jessie Douglas Kerruish. An unknown monster lurking in the misty pine forests has plagued the Hammands for as long as they can remember, and when Oliver is savagely attacked, his sister acts in desperation to save him from madness or death.The only possible help is Luna Bartendale, a supersensitive detective who soon unravels more to the mystery than anyone thought possible. Uncovering occult items, strange burials and dark family secrets, the shadow of the monster draws ever nearer. Soon they realize they must risk everything to discover the chilling truth if they are to survive and prevent the monster from killing again. FLAME TREE 451: From mystery to crime, supernatural to horror and fantasy to science fiction, Flame Tree 451 offers a healthy diet of werewolves and mechanical men, blood-lusty vampires, dastardly villains, mad scientists, secret worlds, lost civilizations and escapist fantasies. Discover a storehouse of tales gathered specifically for the reader of the fantastic. Each book features a brand new biography and glossary of Literary, Gothic and Victorian terms.

Dracula's Guest

Dracula's Guest

Author: Bram Stoker, Florence Stoker Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2020

British Weird

British Weird

Author: James Machin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/10/2020

Following the success of Handheld Press's 2019 best-selling anthology Womens Weird, British Weird is a new anthology of classic Weird short fiction by British writers, first published between the 1890s and the 1930s. Embracing the famous and the undeservedly obscure, this collection - curated by James Machin, author of Palgrave Gothic's Weird Fiction in Britain, 1880-1939 - assembles stories to thrill, entertain, and chill. Featured stories include: 'Man-Size in Marble' by Edith Nesbit (1893) 'No-Man's Land', John Buchan (1900) 'The Willows', by Algernon Blackwood 'The Man Who Went Too Far', by E F Benson (1912) 'N' by Arthur Machen (1934) 'Mappa Mundi' by Mary Butts (1937) The collection also includes Mary Butts' influential essay 'Ghosties and Ghoulies' (1933), on British supernatural writing. Machin's introduction describes the background for these excellent stories in the Weird tradition, and identifies their use of peculiarly British preoccupations in supernatural short fiction.

Visions of the Vampire

Visions of the Vampire

Author: Sorcha Ni Fhlainn Format: Hardback Release Date: 22/10/2020

The vampire is one of the great enemies of humanity, a nightmarish figure who feeds on the living in order to sustain themselves. Born from ancient folklore, writers in the nineteenth century gave form to the vampire as we know it today. Still haunting our subconscious in the twentieth century, a new wave of writers continued to develop the imagery and traditions of the vampire -- and the vampire continued to evolve. From John Polidori's iconic short story 'The Vampyre' and tales of parasitic female companions to experimental and freshly thrilling takes by Robert Bloch, Angela Carter and Anne Rice, this new collection sets out to present the enrapturing range of the vampire story and our undying fascination with the monster at its heart.

The Lost Ones

The Lost Ones

Author: Anita Frank Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2020

Some houses are NEVER at peace... 'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel' Sunday Times 'With wonderful characters... This is a brilliantly gothic adventure and the perfect page-turner' Sunday Mirror England, 1917 Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion. Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house. Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side... In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spellbinding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption. Praise for The Lost Ones: 'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel ... reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks' Sunday Times 'With wonderful characters... This is a brilliantly gothic adventure - and the perfect winter page-turner' Sunday Mirror 'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer' OK! 'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps...' Lisa Hall, the bestselling author 'If you liked The Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' Woman & Home 'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings 'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox 'I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

Petra's Ghost

Petra's Ghost

Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/10/2020

Part ghost story, part travel novel, an enticing tale of exorcising one's demons and learning to put the past to rest, for fans of Shirley Jackson and Susan Hill. A woman has vanished on the Camino de Santiago, the ancient five-hundred-mile pilgrimage that crosses northern Spain. Daniel, an Irish expat, walks the lonely trail carrying his wife Petra's ashes, along with the damning secret of how she really died. When he teams up with vibrant California girl Ginny, she seems like the perfect antidote for his grieving heart. But a nightmare figure begins to stalk them, and Daniel's mind starts to unravel as they are pursued by things he cannot explain. Unexpected twists and turns echo the path of the ancient trail they walk upon. The lines begin to blur between reality and madness, between truth and the lies we tell ourselves.

Chill Tidings

Chill Tidings

Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/10/2020

The gifts are unwrapped, the feast has been consumed and the fire is well fed - but the ghosts are still hungry. The ghosts are at the door. Welcome to the second new collection of dark Christmas stories in the Tales of the Weird series, ushering in a fresh host of nightmarish phantoms and otherworldly intruders bent on joining or ruining the most wonderful time of the year. Featuring classic tales from Algernon Blackwood, Rosemary Timperley, Sheridan Le Fanu and Elinor Glyn alongside rare pieces from the sleeping periodicals and literary magazines of the Library collection, it's time to open the door and let the real festivities begin.

Carmilla

Carmilla

Author: Sheridan Le Fanu Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2020

In a lonely castle deep in the Styrian forest, Laura leads a solitary life with only her elderly father for company - until a moonlit night brings an unexpected guest to the schloss. At first Laura is glad to finally have a female companion of her own age, but her new friend's strange habits and eerie nocturnal wanderings quickly become unsettling, and soon a ghastly truth is revealed. Suffused with gothic horror and sexual tension, Carmilla predated Dracula by 26 years, has inspired generations of writers and is the foundation of the lesbian vampire myth.

Tell-Tale Heart

Tell-Tale Heart

Author: Edgar Allan Poe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/09/2020

Charles Dickens Supernatural Short Stories

Charles Dickens Supernatural Short Stories

Author: Charles Dickens, Emily Bell Format: Hardback Release Date: 28/09/2020

Charles Dickens is a much-loved author for his vast and important contributions to English literature. This collection brings together his supernatural short stories, some of which were included in his longer works, and others that originally featured in magazines, including 'The Bagman's Story', 'The Ghost in the Bride's Chamber' and 'To Be Read at Dusk', among others. They are all fantastically gripping stories from one of the greatest writers of all-time. Essential collaborations with his acolytes Wilkie Collins and Elizabeth Gaskill are also included.

Queens of the Abyss

Queens of the Abyss

Author: Mike Ashley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/09/2020

It is too often accepted that during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries it was the male writers who developed and pushed the boundaries of the weird tale, with women writers following in their wake - but this is far from the truth. This new anthology follows the instrumental contributions made by women writers to the weird tale, and revives the lost authors of the early pulp magazines along with the often overlooked work of more familiar authors. See the darker side of The Secret Garden author Frances Hodgson Burnett and the sensitively-drawn nightmares of Marie Corelli and Violet Quirk. Hear the captivating voices of Weird Tales magazine contributors Sophie Wenzel Ellis, Greye La Spina and Margaret St Clair, and bow down to the sensational, surreal and challenging writers who broke down the barriers of the day. Featuring material never before republished, from the abyssal depths of the British Library vaults.