LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Second World War fiction

See below for a selection of the latest books from Second World War fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Second World War fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Second World War fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Eight Hours from England

Eight Hours from England

Author: Anthony Quayle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Autumn 1943. Realising that his feelings fro his sweetheart are not reciprocated, Major John Overton accepts a posting behind enemy lines in Nazi-occupied Albania. As he struggles to complete his mission amidst a chaotic backdrop, Overton is left to ruminate on loyalty, comradeship and the futility of war.

The Bridge

The Bridge

Author: Robert Radcliffe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

'A born storyteller' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH. Young paratrooper Theo Trickey has had a remarkable war. Boy soldier, commando, intelligence officer - fighting from northern France to the African desert and in the mountains of Italy. He has already done more than should be asked of any man in war. But D-Day is looming and British intelligence have one more misson for Trickey: to negotiate with his extraordinary old acquaintance, General Erwin Rommel. There are rumours that Germany's greatest general wants to save the Fatherland by any means possible... The Bridge is the final instalment of Radcliffe's Airborne trilogy which tells the extraordinary story of a young soldier, a new regiment and how, together, they changed the course of a war.

From The City, From The Plough

From The City, From The Plough

Author: Alexander Baron Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

January 1944, the south coast of England. The Fifth Battalion, Wessex Regiment wait patiently and nervously for the order to embark. There is boredom and fear, comedy and pathos as the men - all drawn from different walks of life - await the order to move. From The City, From The Plough is a vivid and moving account of the fate of these men as they set off for Normandy and advance into France.

Trial By Battle

Trial By Battle

Author: David Piper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

October 1941. Twenty-one-year-old Alan Mart is posted to India and taken under the wing of the dogmatic, overbearing Acting-Captin Sam Holl. Following the Japanese advance on Singapore, the men are deployed to Malaya. What follows is a quietly shattering and searingly authentic depiction of the claustrophobia of jungle warfare and the futility of war.

The Bells of Hell

The Bells of Hell

Author: Michael Kurland Format: Hardback Release Date: 30/08/2019

The Huntress

The Huntress

Author: Kate Quinn Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/08/2019

`If you enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, read The Huntress by Kate Quinn' The Washington Post `Fascinating, brilliantly written, enthralling - just phenomenal' Jill Mansell *From the bestselling author of The Alice Network* On the icy edge of Soviet Russia, bold and reckless Nina Markova joins the infamous Night Witches - an all-female bomber regiment. But when she is downed behind enemy lines, Nina must use all her wits to survive her encounter with a lethal Nazi murderess known as the Huntress. British war correspondent Ian Graham abandons journalism to become a Nazi hunter, yet one target eludes him: the Huntress. And Nina Markova is the only witness to escape her alive. In post-war Boston, seventeen-year-old Jordan McBride is increasingly disquieted by the soft-spoken German widow who becomes her new stepmother. Delving into her past, Jordan slowly realizes that a Nazi killer may be hiding in plain sight. Shining a light on a shadowy corner of history, The Huntress is an epic, sweeping Second World War novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network.

From One Hell to Another

From One Hell to Another

Author: Liz Cowley, Donough O'Brien Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2019

From Fascist Spain, to war again After a gruelling escape through the Pyrenees snow from the horrors of the Spanish civil war, Carmen and her Spanish family settle in the apparent peace of southern France. But relief is short-lived. Within months, France, too, is plunged into war - and, worse, a rapid defeat. Under the control of Hitler's puppet Vichy regime, the region is plagued by starvation, restrictions and atrocities, especially against Jews, propelling Carmen to join the Spanish - now bolstering the French resistance. With the help of the British S.O.E, and against huge odds, they win a spectacular victory over the Germans. Based on true but largely untold events, this sweeping adventure is a heady mix of romance, horror, betrayal and warfare.

Bomber

Bomber

Author: Len Deighton Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/08/2019

The classic novel of the Second World War that relates in devastating detail the 24-hour story of an allied bombing raid. Bomber is a novel of war. There are no victors, no vanquished. There are simply those who remain alive, and those who die. Bomber follows the progress of an Allied air raid through a period of twenty-four hours in the summer of 1943. It portrays all the participants in a terrifying drama, both in the air and on the ground, in Britain and in Germany. In its documentary style, it is unique. In its emotional power it is overwhelming. Len Deighton has been equally acclaimed as a novelist and as an historian. In Bomber he has combined both talents to produce a masterpiece.

Victory for the East End Angels

Victory for the East End Angels

Author: Rosie Hendry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/07/2019

The war is almost over - and it's up to the East End Angels to keep the home fires burning! Frankie's fiance, a doctor, is away looking after the troops in Europe - will he return safely home? Winnie has a happy secret - but can she carry on at Station 75 when she's going to have a baby? Bella is intrigued by her new friend, a Polish airman. As the war ends and victory is in sight, what next for the girls of Station 75? A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

The Sisters of St Croix

The Sisters of St Croix

Author: Diney Costeloe Format: Downloadable audio file Release Date: 11/07/2019

A gripping story of love, death and danger in Nazi-occupied France from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. When Adelaide Anson-Gravetty finds out her father is not the man who raised her, she is both shocked and intrigued. Determined to find out more about her new family, she travels to the convent of Our Lady of Mercy in France to meet her aunt, the Reverend Mother. But when France falls to the German army, Adelaide and the nuns are soon in the thick of a war that threatens both their beliefs and their lives. Collaborating with the Resistance, sheltering Jewish orphans, defying the rulings of Vichy France: these are dangerous activities in dangerous times. These courageous women must give all they've got in order to protect the innocent from the evil menace of the Nazi war machine. What readers are saying about THE SISTERS OF ST CROIX: 'I enjoyed this book from the beginning to its end ... Its portrayal of the horror and brutality of war and its effect on innocent people is masterly. The description of an occupied France in the Second World War is wonderfully real and the characters are so vivid and appealing ... I was captured by the strength of the prose and the pathos of the narrative ... This is a story that I would thoroughly recommend to anyone' 'I was absolutely mesmerised by the pace and the depth of the story telling ... A very moving story beautifully written' 'I have never been so affected by a book as I was by The Sisters of St Croix'.

The Fox

The Fox

Author: D. H. Lawrence Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2019

Nellie March and Jill Banford manage an ailing Berkshire farm at the time of the First World War, a task which is made all the more complicated by the frequent rampages of a local fox through their chicken coop. When a young soldier turns up and begins to interfere with the farm and the lives of the two women, they must find ways to react to this new fox in their midst. A compelling study of the question of power, gender and sexuality, as well as a realistic portrayal of wartime rural England, The Fox showcases Lawrence's inimitable gift for psychological observation and dramatic description.