LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Second World War fiction

See below for a selection of the latest books from Second World War fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Second World War fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading. With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Second World War fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

Mister Roberts A Novel

Mister Roberts A Novel

Author: Thomas Heggen, Thomas J. Cutler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/11/2019

The novel, Mister Roberts, was an instant hit after being published in 1946 and was quickly adapted for the stage and screen. The title character, a Lieutenant Junior Grade naval officer, defends his crew against the petty tyranny of the ship's commanding officer during World War II. Nearly all action takes place on a backwater cargo ship, the USS Reluctant, that sails, as written in the play, from apathy to tedium with occasional side trips to monotony and ennui. This irreverent, often hilarious story about the crew of the Reluctant has enjoyed wide and enduring popularity. Heggen based his novel on his experiences aboard the USS Virgo in the South Pacific during World War II, and began as a collection of short stories. It was subsequently adapted as a play, a feature film, a television series, and a television movie. The film version with Henry Fonda, James Cagney and Jack Lemmon is one of the most well-known movies of WWII. About the Author Thomas Heggen wrote Mister Roberts as a young naval officer on board the USS Virgo in 1944. After the war, he struggled with writing after his early success and died tragically in 1949.

The Long Flight Home a heartbreaking wartime story inspired by true events

The Long Flight Home a heartbreaking wartime story inspired by true events

Author: A.L. Hlad Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/10/2019

A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird. A testament to the power of courage in our darkest hours, inspired by true events 'A fresh slant on heroism in WWII' Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author *** Hope flies behind enemy lines... September 1940. As enemy fighter planes blacken the sky, Susan Shepherd finds comfort at her home in Epping Forest, where she and her grandfather raise homing pigeons. Of all Susan's birds, it's Duchess who is the most extraordinary, and the two share a special bond. Thousands of miles away, Ollie Evans, a young American pilot decides to travel to Britain to join the Royal Air Force. But Ollie doesn't expect his quest to bring him instead to the National Pigeon Service - a covert new operation involving homing pigeons - and to Susan. The National Pigeon Service has a dangerous mission to air-drop hundreds of pigeons into German-occupied France. Despite their growing friendship Ollie and Susan must soon be parted - but will Duchess's devotion and sense of duty prove to be an unexpected lifeline between them? Based on true events, The Long Flight Home is an uplifting and timeless wartime novel, that reminds us how, in times of hardship, hope is never truly lost.

Eastern Concealment

Eastern Concealment

Author: Pu Zong Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/10/2019

The Children's Block Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor

The Children's Block Based on a true story by an Auschwitz survivor

Author: Otto B Kraus Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2019

'We lived on a bunk built for four but in times of overcrowding, it slept seven and at times even eight. There was so little space on the berth that when one of us wanted to ease his hip, we all had to turn in a tangle of legs and chests and hollow bellies as if we were one many-limbed creature, a Hindu god or a centipede. We grow intimate not only in body but also in mind because we knew that though we were not born of one womb, we would certainly die together.' Alex Ehren is a poet, a prisoner and a teacher in block 31 in Auschwitz-Birkenau, the children's block. He spends his days trying to survive while illegally giving lessons to his young charges while shielding them as best he can from the impossible horrors of the camp. But trying to teach the children is not the only illicit activity that Alex is involved in. Alex is keeping a diary... Originally published as THE PAINTED WALL, Otto Kraus's autobiographical novel, tells the true story of 500 Jewish children who lived in the Czech Family Camp in Auschwitz-Birkenau between September 1943 and June 1944.

Sandra Eden's War

Sandra Eden's War

Author: Mike Low Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2019

Sandra Eden's War tells the story of an SOE (Special Operations Executive) agent who is parachuted into France a few weeks before D-Day, in 1944, to co-ordinate French Resistance operations in disrupting German troop movements in and around Normandy. This is necessary in order to assist the Allied soldiers soon to be landing on the Normandy beaches. The tale is one of bravery and resourcefulness, and gives an insight into the actions of the SOE, which was set up by Winston Churchill in 1940 to 'set Europe ablaze'. There were a number of female SOE agents who served with honour and distinction during World War II. The author was inspired to write Sandra's story after reading a number of true stories regarding SOE agents during the war, including The White Mouse, an autobiography of Nancy Wake who served in the SOE with great merit. Nancy was one of the most highly decorated women of World War II. She died in 2011.

Beyond the Horizon A Novel

Beyond the Horizon A Novel

Author: Ella Carey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/10/2019

The Disappearance

The Disappearance

Author: Katherine Webb Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

'Gripping, heart-wrenching and painfully real. An absolute triumph' Iona Grey What was hidden will be revealed...When Frances' best friend Bronwyn disappeared over twenty years ago, her body was never found. The mystery over what happened has cast a shadow over Frances' life ever since. Now, it's 1942 and bombs are raining down on Bath. In the chaos a little boy - Davy Noyle - goes missing. Frances was meant to be looking after him and she is tortured by guilt at his disappearance. Where has he gone, and could he possibly have survived? But bombs conceal, and they reveal - and as quiet falls and the dust settles, a body is disturbed from its hiding place. What happened all those years ago? And can Frances put the wrongs of the past right again...? Praise for The Disappearance: 'A wonderful wartime story . . . A huge treat' Kate Riordan 'I couldn't have loved it more. Riveting, haunting, beautifully written . . . a stunner!' Jenny Ashcroft 'Evocative. Totally transporting. This is a rich and delicious multi-layered read' Eve Chase 'A beautifully written and emotionally involving mystery...highly recommended' Amanda Jennings 'Immersive, powerful and beautifully written, The Disappearance had me hooked from the first page to the last. I loved it' Judith Kinghorn Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart' Kate Williams 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

Plenty Under The Counter

Plenty Under The Counter

Author: Kathleen Hewitt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

London, 1942. Flight-Lieutenant David Heron, home in London on convalescent leave, awakes to the news that a murder victim has been discovered in the garden of his boarding house. With a week until his service resumes, David Sets out to solve the murder. Drawn into a world of mystery and double dealing, can he solve the mystery before his return to the skies?

Eight Hours from England

Eight Hours from England

Author: Anthony Quayle Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Autumn 1943. Realising that his feelings fro his sweetheart are not reciprocated, Major John Overton accepts a posting behind enemy lines in Nazi-occupied Albania. As he struggles to complete his mission amidst a chaotic backdrop, Overton is left to ruminate on loyalty, comradeship and the futility of war.

The Bridge

The Bridge

Author: Robert Radcliffe Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

'A born storyteller' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH. Young paratrooper Theo Trickey has had a remarkable war. Boy soldier, commando, intelligence officer - fighting from northern France to the African desert and in the mountains of Italy. He has already done more than should be asked of any man in war. But D-Day is looming and British intelligence have one more misson for Trickey: to negotiate with his extraordinary old acquaintance, General Erwin Rommel. There are rumours that Germany's greatest general wants to save the Fatherland by any means possible... The Bridge is the final instalment of Radcliffe's Airborne trilogy which tells the extraordinary story of a young soldier, a new regiment and how, together, they changed the course of a war.

From The City, From The Plough

From The City, From The Plough

Author: Alexander Baron Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

January 1944, the south coast of England. The Fifth Battalion, Wessex Regiment wait patiently and nervously for the order to embark. There is boredom and fear, comedy and pathos as the men - all drawn from different walks of life - await the order to move. From The City, From The Plough is a vivid and moving account of the fate of these men as they set off for Normandy and advance into France.

Trial By Battle

Trial By Battle

Author: David Piper Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

October 1941. Twenty-one-year-old Alan Mart is posted to India and taken under the wing of the dogmatic, overbearing Acting-Captin Sam Holl. Following the Japanese advance on Singapore, the men are deployed to Malaya. What follows is a quietly shattering and searingly authentic depiction of the claustrophobia of jungle warfare and the futility of war.