Win £500 in book vouchers by helping us with a 7 minute reader survey click here.

Harry Potter House Eds books of the month
Search our site
The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn Read the opening extract of the brand new A. J. Finn book before its publication on 22/01/2018

Second World War fiction books

See below for a selection of the latest books from Second World War fiction category. Presented with a red border are the Second World War fiction books that have been lovingly read and reviewed by the experts at Lovereading.

With expert reading recommendations made by people with a passion for books and some unique features Lovereading will help you find great Second World War fiction books and those from many more genres to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!


Recently Published

The Boy Made of Snow `Haunting and thrilling . . . I loved it' Kate Hamer by Chloe Mayer The Boy Made of Snow `Haunting and thrilling . . . I loved it' Kate Hamer

'A haunting and thrilling read' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat, perfect for fans of Atonement, Suite Francaise and A Place Called Winter. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/11/2017

The Boy Made of Snow `Haunting and thrilling . . . I loved it' Kate Hamer by Chloe Mayer The Boy Made of Snow `Haunting and thrilling . . . I loved it' Kate Hamer

'A haunting and thrilling read' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat, perfect for fans of Atonement, Suite Francaise and A Place Called Winter. While the war rages abroad, different battles are fought on the home front,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/10/2017

The Evacuee Christmas by Katie King The Evacuee Christmas

A heart-warming story of friendship and family during the first Christmas of World War Two.
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/10/2017

Christmas with the Bomb Girls by Daisy Styles Christmas with the Bomb Girls

It's Christmas time with our favourite Bomb Girls at the Phoenix Munitions Factory . . . with trouble ahead can their wishes still come true?The festive season is approaching at the Phoenix Munitions Factory and Gladys, Kitty, Edna and the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/10/2017

Letters to the Pianist by S. D. Mayes Letters to the Pianist


Format: Paperback - Released: 06/10/2017

Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett Eye of the Needle

A special edition of Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett reissued with a bright retro design to celebrate Pan's 70th anniversary. It is 1944 and weeks before D-Day. The Allies are disguising their invasion plans with a phony armada...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Dance Your Troubles Away by Pamela Evans Dance Your Troubles Away

Pam Evans' wartime saga will lift your spirits as the people at the Cherry Ballroom in West London dance their troubles away.
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Fateless by Imre Kertesz Fateless

'While the average reader cannot pretend truly to understand the reality of those who suffered in concentration camps, Kertesz draws us one step closer' ObserverGyuri, a fourteen-year-old Hungarian Jew, gets the day off school to witness his father signing over...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Coming Soon

Aurore by Graham Hurley Aurore

Continuing Graham Hurley's trilogy charting the shadowy and often lethal pas de deux between rival Allied and German intelligence services during World War II.
Format: Paperback - Released: 11/01/2018

Breakout at Stalingrad by Heinrich Gerlach, Carsten Gansel Breakout at Stalingrad
,
The original version of the classic novel of the epic World War II battle, confiscated by the Russian secret services in 1949, and now rediscovered in the Russian archives.
Format: Hardback - Released: 11/01/2018

Other books in this genre

Persona Non Grata by Michael Doherty Persona Non Grata

A fact-based story exposing the experiences of one of many children (the author) who grew up inside the perimeter of a Nazi concentration camp which was built in Ireland before WW2 and was operating until 1974.
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/09/2017

Night in the Front Line And Other Second World War Stories by Ann-Marie Einhaus Night in the Front Line And Other Second World War Stories

This anthology introduces a selection of stories from the Second World War, unique representations of individual war experiences.
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

Airborne by Robert Radcliffe Airborne

The story of the Second World War as seen through the eyes of an extraordinary young man in quite extraordinary circumstances.
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/08/2017

To Die in Spring by Ralf Rothmann To Die in Spring

'[To Die in Spring] holds its own against [Gunter] Grass and [Erich Maria] Remarque; it is an excellent work, and one deserving of its wide readership.' Guardian Walter Urban and Friedrich 'Fiete' Caroli work side by side as hands on...
Format: Hardback - Released: 13/07/2017

Of Earth and Sky From farmer's boy to wartime service with the RAF by Owen Crispin Of Earth and Sky From farmer's boy to wartime service with the RAF

Based on the author's personal experiences, this is a vivid portrait of life in the RAF during the second world war.
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/07/2017

Red Sky at Noon by Simon Sebag Montefiore Red Sky at Noon

Imprisoned in the Gulags for a crime he did not commit, Benya Golden joins a penal battalion made up of Cossacks and convicts to fight the Nazis. He enrols in the Russian cavalry, and on a hot summer day in...
Format: Hardback - Released: 15/06/2017

Red Sky at Noon by Simon Sebag Montefiore Red Sky at Noon

Gripping storytelling allied with intimate, unsqueamish knowledge of Russian history - a special combination.' - AD Miller, author of Snowdrops'A GRIPPING tale ...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/06/2017

A View Across the Mersey by Anne Baker A View Across the Mersey

Anne Baker's dramatic Liverpool saga, A VIEW ACROSS THE MERSEY, is set between the First and Second World War and is sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/06/2017

Aurore by Graham Hurley Aurore

Continuing Graham Hurley's trilogy charting the shadowy and often lethal pas de deux between rival Allied and German intelligence services during World War II.
Format: Hardback - Released: 01/06/2017

Registered users have access to unique site features

Register now